DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18/408,757 filed on 01/10/2024 were examined. Examiner filed a non-final office action on 07/25/2025.
Applicant remarks and amendments were filed on 01/22/2025. Claims 1, 2, 19, and 20 are amended, claim 9 is cancelled, and claim 21 was newly added. Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103: Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 with respect to Mohlin et al. (US20110088509A1) in view of Rosenwald et al. (DE102019132224A1) have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohlin et al. (US20110088509A1) in view of Mott (US6267701B1), hereinafter referred to as Mohlin and Mott respectively.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Mohlin discloses A transmission system for a vehicle (“The application can provide a power train device with the double-clutch transmission device. The power train device can comprise one or more power source, such as an internal combustion engine, an electric motor, and a hybrid engine for generating a driving torque” [0028]), comprising:
a first gear assembly; a second gear assembly(“The odd forward gear speeds include a first gear speed, a third gear speed, a fifth gear speed and a seventh gear speed. The even gear speeds are a second gear speed, a fourth gear speed, a sixth gear speed. Since the different input shafts are connected to these two clutch discs respectively,” [0016]);
an intermediate unit comprising a first sprocket element, a second sprocket element, and a coupling element (“The DCT can further comprise a first sprocket gearwheel and a second sprocket gearwheel on separate layshafts that are coupled together via a drive chain.” [0015]);
and an output gear assembly with an output shaft ( “and an outer clutch disc non-rotatably connected to the outer input shaft.” [0018]),
wherein the second sprocket element is arranged radially to the first sprocket element and in communication with the first sprocket element through the coupling element to receive the input torque ( “The solid input shaft 20 is partially disposed inside the hollow input shaft 22 such that the hollow input shaft 22 surrounds the solid input shaft 20 radially around its longitudinal axis.” [0056]).,
wherein the first gear assembly is connected to the second sprocket element coaxially to convert the input torque to a first output torque (Both of the fixed wheel second gear 30 and the fixed wheel fourth gear 31 are joined to the solid input shaft 20 coaxially.” [0057-0058]),
wherein the second gear assembly is connected to the first sprocket element coaxially to convert the input torque to a second output torque (“Both of the fixed wheel second gear 30 and the fixed wheel fourth gear 31 are joined to the solid input shaft 20 coaxially.” [0057]),
wherein the output gear assembly is configured to selectively transfer the first output torque from the first gear assembly to the output shaft or the second output torque from the second gear assembly to the output shaft (“and an outer clutch disc 10, which can be brought into non-rotating engagement with the housing 4 via control elements that are not illustrated here.” [0105]) and “The coupling device 102 is configured to move along the shaft 104 to selectively engage any of the idler gears 101, 103 at one time. In other words, the idler gears 101, 103 can alternatively be brought into non-rotating engagement with the shaft 104 by the coupling device 102.” [0100])).
Mohlin does not explicitly teach wherein the first sprocket element is connected to an input shaft of a traction motor of the vehicle in an axial direction of the first sprocket element to receive an input torque and wherein the coupling element comprises a chain or a belt circumscribing the first sprocket element and the second sprocket element.
However, Mott does teach wherein the first sprocket element is connected to an input shaft of a traction motor of the vehicle in an axial direction of the first sprocket element to receive an input torque (“The chain assembly is utilized to drive, for example, an engine timing assembly, such as shown in FIGS. 7 and 8, that include a camshaft 62 and crankshaft 64, or a transfer case for four-wheel drive vehicles. On the crankshaft are mounted a pair of phased sprockets 66, 68, and corresponding phased sprockets 70, 72 are mounted on the camshaft. The sprockets provide the means of power transfer between the chain and the two shafts.” [Col.5 ln 55-62]),
And wherein the coupling element comprises a chain or a belt circumscribing the first sprocket element and the second sprocket element ( “In FIG. 11 crankshaft 100 provides output through crankshaft sprocket pairs 102 and sprocket pairs 104. First crankshaft sprocket pair 104 includes a pair of phased sprockets. These two sprockets both carry load or transmit power to chain assemblies (or chain pairs) 106.” [Col.6 ln38-46]). Both Mohlin and Mott teach methods for vehicles comprising a transmission system. However, Mott explicitly teaches wherein the first sprocket element is connected to an input shaft of a traction motor of the vehicle in an axial direction of the first sprocket element to receive an input torque And wherein the coupling element comprises a chain or a belt circumscribing the first sprocket element and the second sprocket element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle transmission system of Mohlin to also include wherein the first sprocket element is connected to an input shaft of a traction motor of the vehicle in an axial direction of the first sprocket element to receive an input torque And wherein the coupling element comprises a chain or a belt circumscribing the first sprocket element and the second sprocket element, as taught by Mott, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves vehicle transmission system (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Mott, Col.5-6]).
Regarding claim 10, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 1, wherein the first sprocket element and the second sprocket element comprise different diameters (“The DCT can comprise a clutch housing that has a larger diameter around the inner clutch disc than that around the outer clutch disc.” [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 1, wherein the first gear assembly comprises a first coupling shaft extending coaxially to the second sprocket element (“Both of the fixed wheel second gear 30 and the fixed wheel fourth gear 31 are joined to the solid input shaft 20 coaxially.” [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 11, wherein the first gear assembly further comprises a first convey shaft concentric to the first coupling shaft(“The DCT can comprise a clutch housing that has a larger diameter around the inner clutch disc than that around the outer clutch disc. The clutch housing enables a more robust construction of the DCT.” [0027]),
wherein a first pinion element is mounted on the first convey shaft (“a first pinion that is mounted on the first layshaft” [0012]),
and wherein a first clutch member is configured to cause the first convey shaft to engage with the first coupling shaft, thereby converting the input torque to the first output torque, when activated (“The application can provide a power train device with the double-clutch transmission device. The power train device can comprise one or more power source, such as an internal combustion engine, an electric motor, and a hybrid engine for generating a driving torque.” [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 11, wherein a central axis of the first coupling shaft is arranged in parallel to a central axis of a second coupling shaft (“The DCT 1 comprises two input shafts 20, 22, a lower layshaft 50, an upper layshaft 40, a reverse gear layshaft 38, and an output shaft 14. These shafts are parallel to each other.” [0050]).
Regarding claim 14, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 1, wherein the second gear assembly comprises a second coupling shaft extending coaxially to the first sprocket element(“Both of the fixed wheel second gear 30 and the fixed wheel fourth gear 31 are joined to the solid input shaft 20 coaxially.” [0057]).
Regarding claim 15, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 14, wherein the input shaft is arranged concentrically inside the second coupling shaft, wherein a second pinion element is mounted on the second coupling shaft(“The DCT can comprise a clutch housing that has a larger diameter around the inner clutch disc than that around the outer clutch disc. The clutch housing enables a more robust construction of the DCT.” [0027]),
and wherein a second clutch member is configured to cause the input shaft to engage with the second coupling shaft, thereby converting the input torque to the second output torque, when activated (“The application can provide a power train device with the double-clutch transmission device. The power train device can comprise one or more power source, such as an internal combustion engine, an electric motor, and a hybrid engine for generating a driving torque.” [0028]).
Regarding claim 16, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 14, wherein the second coupling shaft is concentrically engaged with a carrier element(“The DCT can comprise a clutch housing that has a larger diameter around the inner clutch disc than that around the outer clutch disc. The clutch housing enables a more robust construction of the DCT.” [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 14, wherein a central axis of a first coupling shaft is arranged in parallel to a central axis of the second coupling shaft(“The DCT 1 comprises two input shafts 20, 22, a lower layshaft 50, an upper layshaft 40, a reverse gear layshaft 38, and an output shaft 14. These shafts are parallel to each other.” [0050]).
Regarding claim 18, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 1, wherein the input shaft is arranged concentrically inside a second coupling shaft(“The DCT can comprise a clutch housing that has a larger diameter around the inner clutch disc than that around the outer clutch disc. The clutch housing enables a more robust construction of the DCT.” [0027]),
wherein a second pinion element is mounted on the second coupling shaft (“The second gearwheel group comprises a fixed wheel second gear on one of the input shafts, meshing with an idler second gear on one of the layshafts that is mounted with the pinion for providing a second forward gear speed.” [0009]),
and wherein a second clutch member is configured to cause the input shaft to engage with the second coupling shaft, thereby converting the input torque to the second output torque, when activated(“The application can provide a power train device with the double-clutch transmission device. The power train device can comprise one or more power source, such as an internal combustion engine, an electric motor, and a hybrid engine for generating a driving torque.” [0028]).
Claims 2-8 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohlin in view of Rosenwald et al. (DE102019132224A1), hereinafter referred to as Mohlin and Rosenwald respectively.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 1, wherein the first gear assembly comprises a first pinion element engageable with the output gear assembly (“ One or more of the bearings are provided next to the pinion or the output gearwheel” [0025]).
Mohlin does not explicitly teach in a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly, or wherein the second gear assembly comprising a second pinion element engaged with the output gear assembly in a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly.
However, Rosenwald does teach in a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly, or wherein the second gear assembly (Fig. 1 : 21 ) comprising a second pinion element (Fig. 1 : 21 ) engaged with the output gear assembly(Fig. 1 : 3 ) in a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly (“describes a gearbox with “spur gears” (para. [0008]) where pinion elements engage output gears circumferentially” (Fig. 1 : 3 )). Both Mohlin and Rosenwald teach methods for vehicles comprising a transmission system. However, Rosenwald explicitly teaches a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly, or wherein the second gear assembly comprising a second pinion element engaged with the output gear assembly in a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle transmission system of Mohlin to also include a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly, or wherein the second gear assembly comprising a second pinion element engaged with the output gear assembly in a circumferential direction of the output gear assembly, as taught by Rosenwald, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves vehicle transmission system (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Rosenwald, 0001 - 0012]).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 2, wherein the first gear assembly comprises a first clutch member coaxially positioned at the second sprocket element from one side and attachable to the first pinion element from another side (“These idler gearwheels of seven forward gear speeds can be mounted on the same layshaft.” [0023]),
and wherein the first clutch member is configured to cause a delivery of the first output torque when being activated (“The DCT can comprise an eighth gearwheel group that comprises a fixed wheel eighth gear on one of the input shafts, meshing with an idler eighth gear on one of the layshafts with the pinion for providing an eighth forward gear speed.” [0024]).
Regarding claim 4, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 2, wherein the second gear assembly comprises a second clutch member at a side of the second pinion element opposite to the first sprocket element( “The DCT can comprise three pinions that are mounted onto the three layshafts respectively.” [0026]),
and wherein the second clutch member is configured to cause a delivery of the second output torque when being activated (“These three pinions mesh with the output gearwheel respectively for outputting a drive torque to a torque drain. The output gearwheel can be integrated into a transmission differential device without providing an intermediate output shaft of the differential.” [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 2, wherein the first gear assembly (“gearwheels of seven forward gear speeds can be mounted on the same layshaft.” [0023])
further comprises a first convey shaft concentric to a first coupling shaft, wherein the first pinion element is mounted on the first convey shaft (“The DCT can comprise a clutch housing that has a larger diameter around the inner clutch disc than that around the outer clutch disc. The clutch housing enables a more robust construction of the DCT. The DCT may also have two reverse gear speeds, which enables a specialized vehicle to be more maneuverable.” [0027]),
and wherein a first clutch member is configured to cause the first convey shaft to engage with the first coupling shaft, thereby converting the input torque to the first output torque, when activated (“The application can provide a power train device with the double-clutch transmission device. The power train device can comprise one or more power source, such as an internal combustion engine, an electric motor, and a hybrid engine for generating a driving torque.” [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 3, wherein the second sprocket element comprises a recess facing the first pinion element for receiving the first clutch member therein (“The DCT can comprise three pinions that are mounted onto the three layshafts respectively. These three pinions mesh with the output gearwheel respectively for outputting a drive torque to a torque drain. The output gearwheel can be integrated into a transmission differential device without providing an intermediate output shaft of the differential.” [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 4, wherein the second clutch member comprises a carrier element and an elastic element, and wherein the elastic element is arranged on the carrier element at a side opposite to the second pinion element (“The DCT can comprise a clutch housing that has a larger diameter around the inner clutch disc than that around the outer clutch disc. The clutch housing enables a more robust construction of the DCT. The DCT may also have two reverse gear speeds, which enables a specialized vehicle to be more maneuverable.” [0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Mohlin discloses The transmission system according to claim 7, wherein a second coupling shaft is concentrically engaged with the carrier element(“The DCT can comprise a clutch housing that has a larger diameter around the inner clutch disc than that around the outer clutch disc. The clutch housing enables a more robust construction of the DCT.” [0027]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AHMED ALKIRSHExaminer, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668