DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argue that reference Kim et al [US 2019/0054851 A1] in view of Taleb-Bendiab [US 9,731,645 B1] does not teach or discloses “An apparatus for controlling a laser headlight of a vehicle, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to: obtain first reference information, wherein the first reference information comprises first map information, and at least one of first information sensed by a roadside device, second information sensed by a sensing device on the vehicle, or first control information in the vehicle, and wherein the first map information comprises information about a first driving environment in front of the vehicle during driving; determine, based on the first reference information, that the vehicle has a collision risk or that a collision occurs to the vehicle; and generate first indication information that is used to turn off the laser headlight of the vehicle.” (see page 9-12)
Examiner disagrees:
As broadly as claimed, the claim language “wherein the first map information comprises information about a first driving environment ([Examiner note: in paragraph [0136] of applicant specification “The first map information includes information about a first driving environment in front of the vehicle during driving, and the information about the first driving environment may indicate at least one of the following: a case in which an obstacle (such as a faulty vehicle, a littered item, or a road stone) exists on a road segment in front of the vehicle” Therefore as broadly as claimed, the examiner interpreting as objects on road) in front of the vehicle during driving” Therefore, Kim discloses the navigation system 770 may provide navigation information. The navigation information may include at least one of map information, set destination information, route information based on setting of a destination, information regarding various objects on a route, lane information, or information regarding a current location of a vehicle (see paragraph [0232]) and Fig. 10C, Referring to FIG. 10C, when the user notices an object OB1012 and inputs a full braking signal A1052, the controller 850 may control the laser diode 810 so that the lamps 800a and 800b for vehicles are turned off. (see paragraph [0426]) and
Kim discloses Fig. 11b, when the expected time to collision (TTC) is equal to or greater than a preset Off time T.sub.off and is less than a dimming time T.sub.dim, the controller 850 may control the laser diode 810 so that the amounts of light A1141 and A1142 output from the lamps 800a and 800b for vehicles are reduced (see paragraph [0435])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al [US 2019/0054851 A1] in view of Taleb-Bendiab [US 9,731,645 B1]
In regards to claims 1. Kim discloses an apparatus for controlling a laser headlight of a vehicle (Fig. 8, 810), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850); and
one or more memories (Paragraph [0363] “The reference information may be lamp information of the laser diode 810, which is in the normal state, and may be calculated by the controller 850, based on a control signal provided from the controller 850 to the lamp 800 for a vehicle. The reference information may be pre-stored information in a memory.”) coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) and storing programming instructions (Paragraph [0283] “The controller 850 may be implemented using at least one of Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), Digital Signal Processors (DSPs), Digital Signal Processing Devices (DSPDs), Programmable Logic Device (PLDs), Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), processors, controllers, micro-controllers, microprocessors, and electrical units for executing other functions.”) for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) to:
obtain first reference information (Fig. 7, 770 & Paragraph [0232]), wherein the first reference information (Fig. 7, 770 & Paragraph [0232]) comprises first map information (Fig. 7, 770 & Paragraph [0232]), second information sensed by a sensing device on the vehicle (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]), or first control information in the vehicle; and wherein the first map information comprises (Fig. 7, 770 & Paragraph [0232]) information about a first driving environment in front of the vehicle during driving (Paragraph [0232] “the navigation system 770 may provide navigation information. The navigation information may include at least one of map information, set destination information, route information based on setting of a destination, information regarding various objects on a route, lane information, or information regarding a current location of a vehicle”);
determine, based on the first reference information (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]), that the vehicle has a collision risk (Paragraph [0266-0269]) or that a collision occurs to the vehicle; and
generate first indication information (Paragraph [0015-16]) that is used to turn off the laser headlight of the vehicle (Paragraph [0444-0445]).
Kim does not specify first information sensed by a roadside device
Taleb-Bendiab discloses first information sensed by a roadside device (Column 8, in lines 40-67 “the TCU-IC can transmit information of special interest to nearby vehicles. For example, the TCU-IC may be located at a site where deer or other animals are known to frequently cross the roadway R, and the TCU-IC may transmit information indicating the presence of a deer or animal crossing. TCU's in vehicles receiving such information can compute the distances to the infrastructure component IC, and when a vehicle becomes sufficiently close” & Column 1, in lines 49-60 “Another object of the invention is to provide a telematics control unit that is configured and adapted to accurately measure distances between a vehicle and another vehicle, target, pedestrian, object or infrastructure in order to control a headlamp assembly in response thereto, thereby enhancing accurate beam shaping and generation and intensity.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Taleb-Bendiab with Kim to have first information sensed by a roadside device for purpose of improve position accuracy as disclosed by Taleb-Bendiab (Column 13, in lines 35-45).
In regards to claims 2. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) to: obtain second reference information (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]), wherein the second reference information (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]) comprises at least one of second map information, third information sensed by the roadside device, fourth information sensed by the sensing device on the vehicle (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]), or second control information in the vehicle; determine, based on the second reference information, that the collision risk is eliminated (Paragraph [0038]); and generate second indication information that is used to turn on the laser headlight (Paragraph [0476-0479]).
In regards to claims 5. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second information sensed by the sensing device on the vehicle (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]) comprises a first time-to-collision (TTC) (Paragraph [0266]); and wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) to: determine, based on a condition that the first TTC meets a first preset condition (Paragraph [0313 & 0326]), that the vehicle has the collision risk (Paragraph [0318-319]).
In regards to claims 6. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) to: if the first TTC is less than a first preset value (Paragraph [0319]), determine that the vehicle has the collision risk (Paragraph [0318-319]).
In regards to claims 9. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second information sensed by the sensing device on the vehicle (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]) comprises a first kinetics parameter (Paragraph [0236]); and wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) to: determine, based on a condition that the first kinetics parameter (Paragraph [0236]) meets a second preset condition (Paragraph [0362]), that the vehicle has the collision risk (Paragraph [0371]).
In regards to claims 10. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the first kinetics parameter comprises one of: a first transverse acceleration (Paragraph [0236]), a first longitudinal acceleration, a change rate of the first transverse acceleration, or a change rate of the first longitudinal acceleration.
In regards to claims 11. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the fourth information sensed by the sensing device on the vehicle (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]) comprises a second kinetics parameter (Paragraph [0236]); and wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) to: determine, based on a condition that the second kinetics parameter (Paragraph [0236]) does not meet a second preset condition (Paragraph [0362]), that the collision risk is eliminated (Paragraph [0371]).
In regards to claims 12. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the second kinetics parameter comprises one of: a second transverse acceleration (Paragraph [0236]), a second longitudinal acceleration, a change rate of the second transverse acceleration, or a change rate of the second longitudinal acceleration.
In regards to claims 13. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first control information (Paragraph [0053-55]) in the vehicle comprises an active signal of a safety-type advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) (Paragraph [0004]); and wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) to: determine, based on the active signal of the safety-type ADAS (Paragraph [0004]), that the vehicle has the collision risk (Paragraph [0266-269 & 0345 & 0317 & 0339]).
In regards to claims 14. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the active signal of the safety-type ADAS comprises at least one of: an active signal of an automatic emergency braking (AEB) system (Paragraph [0017]), an active signal of an emergency steering support (ESS) system, an active signal of an automatic emergency steering (AES) system, or an active signal of a front cross traffic alert (FCTA) system.
In regards to claims 15. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the second control information in the vehicle comprises an inactive signal of a safety-type (ADAS) (Paragraph [0004]); and wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) to: determine, based on the inactive signal of the safety-type ADAS (Paragraph [0345 & 0340] “the controller 850 may control the laser diode 810 so as to be turned off even if no brake operation is sensed”), that the collision risk of the vehicle is eliminated (Paragraph [0469]).
In regards to claims 16. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the inactive signal of the safety-type ADAS comprises at least one of: an inactive signal of an automatic emergency braking (AEB) system (Paragraph [0345 & 0340] “the controller 850 may control the laser diode 810 so as to be turned off even if no brake operation is sensed”), an inactive signal of an emergency steering support (ESS) system, an inactive signal of an automatic emergency steering (AES) system, or an inactive signal of a front cross traffic alert (FCTA) system.
In regards to claims 17. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the second information sensed by the sensing device on the vehicle comprises collision indication information sensed by a collision sensor (Paragraph [0345]), or the first control information in the vehicle comprises information that is generated by an airbag controller and that is used to inflate an airbag; and wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: determine, based on at least one of the collision indication information or the information used to inflate the airbag, that the collision occurs to the vehicle.
In regards to claims 18. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus is performed by the roadside device or a server (Taleb-Bendiab Column 8, in lines 40-67 “the TCU-IC can transmit information of special interest to nearby vehicles. For example, the TCU-IC may be located at a site where deer or other animals are known to frequently cross the roadway R, and the TCU-IC may transmit information indicating the presence of a deer or animal crossing. TCU's in vehicles receiving such information can compute the distances to the infrastructure component IC, and when a vehicle becomes sufficiently close” & Column 1, in lines 49-60 “Another object of the invention is to provide a telematics control unit that is configured and adapted to accurately measure distances between a vehicle and another vehicle, target, pedestrian, object or infrastructure in order to control a headlamp assembly in response thereto, thereby enhancing accurate beam shaping and generation and intensity.”), and the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: send the first indication information to the vehicle.
In regards to claims 19. Kim in view of Taleb-Bendiab discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus is performed by the vehicle, and the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 850) to: turn off the laser headlight (Paragraph [0444-0445]) based on the first indication information (Paragraph [0015-16]).
In regards to claims 20. Kim discloses a method for controlling a laser headlight of a vehicle (Fig. 8, 810), comprising:
obtaining first reference information (Fig. 7, 770 & Paragraph [0232]), wherein the first reference information (Fig. 7, 770 & Paragraph [0232]) comprises first map information (Fig. 7, 770 & Paragraph [0232]), second information sensed by a sensing device on the vehicle (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]), or first control information in the vehicle; and wherein the first map information comprises (Fig. 7, 770 & Paragraph [0232]) information about a first driving environment in front of the vehicle during driving (Paragraph [0232] “the navigation system 770 may provide navigation information. The navigation information may include at least one of map information, set destination information, route information based on setting of a destination, information regarding various objects on a route, lane information, or information regarding a current location of a vehicle”);
determining, based on the first reference information (Fig. 8, 120 & Paragraph [0236]), that the vehicle has a collision risk (Paragraph [0266-0269]) or that a collision occurs to the vehicle; and
generating first indication information that is used to turn off (Paragraph [0015-16]) the laser headlight of the vehicle (Paragraph [0444-0445]).
Kim does not specify first information sensed by a roadside device
Taleb-Bendiab discloses first information sensed by a roadside device (Column 8, in lines 40-67 “the TCU-IC can transmit information of special interest to nearby vehicles. For example, the TCU-IC may be located at a site where deer or other animals are known to frequently cross the roadway R, and the TCU-IC may transmit information indicating the presence of a deer or animal crossing. TCU's in vehicles receiving such information can compute the distances to the infrastructure component IC, and when a vehicle becomes sufficiently close” & Column 1, in lines 49-60 “Another object of the invention is to provide a telematics control unit that is configured and adapted to accurately measure distances between a vehicle and another vehicle, target, pedestrian, object or infrastructure in order to control a headlamp assembly in response thereto, thereby enhancing accurate beam shaping and generation and intensity.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Taleb-Bendiab with Kim to have first information sensed by a roadside device for purpose of improve position accuracy as disclosed by Taleb-Bendiab (Column 13, in lines 35-45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
“ wherein the first information sensed by the roadside device comprises information about a second driving environment in front of the vehicle during driving; and wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to at least one of: determine, based on path planning of the vehicle, that the information about the first driving environment is information about a road segment to be passed by the vehicle; and determining, based on the information about the first driving environment, that the vehicle has the collision risk; or determine, based on the path planning of the vehicle, that the information about the second driving environment is information about the road segment to be passed by the vehicle; and determining, based on the information about the second driving environment, that the vehicle has the collision risk, wherein: the information about the first driving environment and the information about the second driving environment each indicate at least one of: a case in which an obstacle exists on the road segment in front of the vehicle; a case in which a pothole exists on the road segment in front of the vehicle; a case in which a construction area exists on the road segment in front of the vehicle; a case in which a wildlife presence area exists on the road segment in front of the vehicle; first risk information of the road segment in front of the vehicle; a case in which the road segment in front of the vehicle is a gathering area of vulnerable road users; or a first weather condition of the road segment in front of the vehicle.” as shown in claim 3.
“wherein at least one of the second map information comprises information about a third driving environment in front of the vehicle during driving, or the third information sensed by the roadside device comprises information about a fourth driving environment in front of the vehicle during driving; and wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to at least one of: determine, based on path planning of the vehicle, that the information about the third driving environment is information about a road segment to be passed by the vehicle; and determining, based on the information about the third driving environment, that the collision risk is eliminated; or determine, based on the path planning of the vehicle, that the information about the fourth driving environment is information about the road segment to be passed by the vehicle; and determining, based on the information about the fourth driving environment, that the collision risk is eliminated, wherein: the information about the third driving environment and the information about the fourth driving environment each indicate at least one of: a case in which no obstacle exists on the road segment in front of the vehicle; a case in which no pothole exists on the road segment in front of the vehicle; a case in which no construction area exists on the road segment in front of the vehicle; a case in which no wildlife presence area exists on the road segment in front of the vehicle; second risk information of the road segment in front of the vehicle; a case in which the road segment in front of the vehicle is not a gathering area of vulnerable road users; or a second weather condition of the road segment in front of the vehicle.” as shown in claim 4.
“wherein the third information sensed by the roadside device comprises a second time-to-collision (TTC); and wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: determine, based on a condition that the second TTC does not meet a first preset condition, that the collision risk is eliminated.” as shown in claim 7.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845