DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover conjugate compounds comprising recognition sequences of a ligase, chemical conjugation moieties, payloads comprising nucleic acids, compounds, peptides/proteins or biological substance.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited genus of conjugates, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Courts have stated that “[i]n claims involving [non-genetic] chemical materials, generic formulae usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate description of the claimed genus.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). (emphasis added).
There is no such specificity here, nor could one skilled in the art identify particular conjugate compounds encompassed by the claims. Specifically, Applicant fails to disclose any other conjugates, besides those covered by the formulas in the specification and claims, and in relation to the above, these disclosed species or subgenre do not represent the substantial variety covered by the genus of compounds comprising recognition sequences of a ligase, chemical conjugation moieties, payloads comprising nucleic acids, small molecules, peptides or proteins.
With regard to the functional definition of recognition sequences of a ligase, chemical conjugation moieties, payloads comprising nucleic acids, compounds, peptides, proteins or biological substances, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of moieties to see if they can perform the required function. In this connection, the specification contains no generic structural characteristics of these groups, besides those compounds instantly disclosed, see In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
The Examiner acknowledges that a working example or exemplified embodiment is not necessarily a requirement for description. However, where a generic claim term is present in a claim, as in the present application, and defined only by functional characteristics, the specification must convey enough information, e.g., via sufficient representative examples, to indicate invention of species sufficient to constitute the genus. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 967 2 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The written description requirement “requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (“A patent...‘is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.’ ... For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from ‘leaving it to the ... industry to complete an unfinished invention.’” (citations omitted)).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited conjugate compounds.
Claims 50-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating cancer, does not reasonably provide enablement for treating any disease or prevention. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
“The standard for determining whether the specification meets the enablement requirement [in accordance with the statute] was cast in the Supreme Court decision of Mineral Separation v. Hyde, 242 U.S. 261, 270 (1916) which postured the question: is the experimentation needed to practice the invention undue or unreasonable? That standard is still the one to be applied. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Accordingly, even though the statute does not use the term "undue experimentation," it has been interpreted to require that the claimed invention be enabled so that any person skilled in the art can make and use the invention without undue experimentation. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). See also United States v. Telectronics, Inc., 857 F.2d 778, 785, 8 USPQ2d 1217, 1223 (Fed. Cir. 1988) ("The test of enablement is whether one reasonably skilled in the art could make or use the invention from the disclosures in the patent coupled with information known in the art without undue experimentation."). A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. In re Buchner, 929 F.2d 660, 661, 18 USPQ2d 1331, 1332 (Fed. Cir. 1991); Hybritech, Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d 1367, 1384, 231 USPQ 81, 94 (Fed. Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 947 (1987); and Lindemann Maschinenfabrik GMBH v. American Hoist & Derrick Co., 730 F.2d 1452, 1463, 221 USPQ 481, 489 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Determining enablement is a question of law based on underlying factual findings. In re Vaeck, 947 F.2d 488, 495, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1444 (Fed. Cir. 1991); Atlas Powder Co. v. E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 750 F.2d 1569, 1576, 224 USPQ 409, 413 (Fed. Cir. 1984).” See M.P.E.P. § 2164.
Here, the nature of the invention is treating cancer with antibody- drug conjugates (ADC’s). In this regard, determining how a particular compound or ADC will impact the body is not routine and the level of ordinary skill in the art of treating cancer is high, as an ordinary artisan in this art needs specialized knowledge of the complex nature of cancer. Applicant is reminded of the heightened enablement for these types of inventions: Specifically, the amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The "amount of guidance or direction" refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast, if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. [I]n the field of chemistry generally, there may be times when the well-known unpredictability of chemical reactions will alone be enough to create a reasonable doubt as to the accuracy of a particular broad statement put forward as enabling support for a claim. This will especially be the case where the statement is, on its face, contrary to generally accepted scientific principles. Most often, additional factors, such as the teachings in pertinent references, will be available to substantiate any doubts that the asserted scope of objective enablement is in fact commensurate with the scope of protection sought and to support any demands based thereon for proof. [Footnote omitted.].
Therefore, either the state of the art or the specification needs to establish that the instant conjugates can treat other diseases or prevent cancer.
The prior art demonstrates ADC’s are potent anticancer agents. Therefore, the use of ADC’s for treatment of cancer may be characterized as “known”, but use of such compounds to treat other diseases or prevent cancer, e.g., vaccines, is not predictable. For instance, there is no nexus between the use of these conjugates and prevention. Thus, it is unpredictable whether compound d used for cancer treatment can also be used to prevent cancer, since there doesn’t appear to be a link between cancer treatment and prevention with these types of ADC’s.
The specification fails to remedy the state of the art. Here the specification shows activity of the insta t conjugates against cancer cells. Therefore, a nexus may be established between the results in the specification and the treatment of cancer. The specification does not provide any additional examples or guidance on how to use the recited conjugates to prevent cancer. Thus, the specification provides sufficient teachings only for the enablement of treatment of cancers. The prior art provides no compensatory guidance and it would require undue experimentation to practice the invention for prevention of cancer or treatment of other diseases. The amount of experimentation would be undue because it would require determining how to use the antibodies to prevent cancer. Specifically, as outlined above, it is not routine to determine how an antibody will act on complex biochemistry to treat different conditions. In the instant case, it is only known that the instant conjugates have cytotoxic activity against cancer cells. This means that significant experimentation would be required to determine how the conjugates can be used to prevent cancer cells, as opposed to kill cancer cells. Those of ordinary skill in the art cannot extrapolate between the anti-cancer activity of the instant ADC’s and cancer prevention. Moreover, there is little guidance, in both the prior art and the specification, with respect to the use of such conjugates to prevent cancer or anti-cancer vaccines.
Claims 35-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The intended structures of the recited derivatives of claim 45 are not defined.
It is unclear how the process steps of claims 47 and 48 further limit the compound claims upon which they depend.
The difference between a short peptide sequence, a polypeptide, a protein, and a biological substance is unclear in claim 35.
The structural and functional criteria of a biological substance in claim 35 are undefined.
It is unclear if the terms “including” or “include” are meant to include other limitations not specifically recited in claims 49 and 51.
Claims 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The process steps in claims 47 and 48 do not further limit the structure of the compounds, as recited in the compound claims, upon which claims 47 and 48 depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 35, 38, 39, 40, 42-45, 47, 48, 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 9939747 (WO 747).
WO 747 teaches the following compound at page 5 as imaging agents which anticipates the rejected claims within the meaning of section 102:
This compound corresponds to Registry No. 236109-05-0:
Product-by process claims 42-44 do not further define the recited product, or distinguish from this the disclosed compound of WO 747, see MPEP 2113 (“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)”).
The difference between WO 747 and the claimed inventions is that WO 747 does not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, WO 747 teaches the structural elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143). In this regard, the claims and specification do not distinguish signal transduction factor in a manner distinguishing the claims from the above compound.
Claim 35-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160082119 based on an application by Gonzalez et al. (Gonzalez) in view of Shen et al., Nat Biotechnol 30, 184–189 (2012) (Shen).
Gonzalez teaches the following compound at page 33, for ADC precursors, for cancer treatment:
Gonzalez may not explicitly teach the recited hydrolyzed maleimide. However, it was known that incorporating a hydrolyzed maleimide moiety increases linker stability and therapeutic activity. It is for this proposition that the rejection joins Shen:
In this way, those of ordinary skill could have applied the hydrolyzed linker in the manner required and in a predictable fashion for the purposes of providing the recited compounds. As outlined above, Gonzalez teaches maleimide-containing linker-payloads as ADC precursors. Shen is added for the proposition that the hydrolyzed maleimide linker-payload is applicable to this these precursor compounds. Specifically, Shen teaches that the particular known technique of hydrolyzing maleimide groups in ADC linkers to increase stability and therapeutic activity was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to those linker-payloads that have maleimide groups, such as those taught by Gonzalez, would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, using a hydrolyzed maleimide linker-payload for the purposes of providing the instant compounds for ADC’s would have been prima facie obvious. Moreover, applying the hydrolyzed moiety to the compound in claim 41 would have been prima facie obvious.
Product-by process claims 47 and 48 do not further define the recited product, or distinguish from the disclosed compound of the applied references, see MPEP 2113 (“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)”).
Double Patenting
Claims 35-54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11826432.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other . Specifically, the conjugates and methods covered in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the conjugates and methods covered by the conflicting claims and those covered by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant conjugates with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the structural elements of the instant conjugates with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Product-by process claims 47 and 48 do not further define the recited product, or distinguish from the disclosed compound of the applied references, see MPEP 2113 (“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)”).
Claims 35-54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11040084.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other . Specifically, the conjugates and methods covered in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the conjugates and methods covered by the conflicting claims and those covered by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant conjugates with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the structural elements of the instant conjugates with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Product-by process claims 47 and 48 do not further define the recited product, or distinguish from the disclosed compound of the applied references, see MPEP 2113 (“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)”).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646