Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 10, 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, both the IDS submitted on January 10, 2024, and the IDS submitted on January 6, 2025, are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 line 1 recites the acronym "RFID". However, "RFID" has not yet been introduced in the claim limitations of claim 5 or any of the claims from which claim 5 depends. Applicant is required to expand all abbreviations at first occurrence with its respective abbreviation. Claims 9 and 13 recite "radio-frequency identification (RFID)" ) – therefore for the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret “RFID” in claim 5 to mean "radio-frequency identification (RFID)". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fonk (US 20210215482 A1, Fonk, A. et al. - cited in IDS filed on January 6, 2025; hereinafter "Fonk").
In regard to claim 1, Fonk discloses a tilt indicator [tilt indicator, abstract], comprising: a tilt detection assembly {tilt detection assembly, para. [0002]} including a mass {mass member, para. [0003]} movable from a first position to a second position in response to a tilt event {para. [0003] describes a tilt event where the mass member moves from connected to switch circuitry to disconnected from switch circuitry}; a capacitance sensor circuit disposed proximate the first position {para. [0032] describes an embodiment of the tilt detection assembly that includes a capacitive proximity sensor configured to indicate when a mass member is in a receptacle}, the capacitance sensor circuit configured to output a capacitance value based on the mass being in the first position {described in para. [0032], mass member in receptacle}; and a module and logic integrated with and/or executable by the module {shown in Fig. 3, logic described in para. [0024]}, the module coupled to the capacitance sensor circuit {described in para. [0022]}, the module configured to output, when energized, an indication of an actuation state of the tilt indicator based on the capacitance value {para. [0022] describes the tilt detection assembly causing a change in a switch circuitry, para. [0032] describes that the switch can be changed due to capacitive changes, causing the module to output an indication of activation}.
In regard to claim 2, Fonk discloses that the module is configured to wirelessly output the indication when energized {para. [0032] describes using radio-frequency identification (RFID) to output indication; para. [0022] describes other embodiment of wireless communication}.
In regard to claim 5, Fonk discloses that the module comprises a passive RFID module {at least paras. [0004] and [0022] describe a passive RFID module that is responsive to the tilt detection assembly}.
In regard to claim 6, Fonk discloses that the capacitance value comprises a first capacitance value when the mass is in the first position {mass in receptacle, para. [0032]}, and wherein the capacitance sensor circuit is configured to output a second capacitance value when the mass is in the second position {mass exiting receptacle causes a change in signal from the capacitive proximity sensor(s), para. [0032]}.
In regard to claim 8, Fonk discloses a tilt indicator [tilt indicator, abstract], comprising: a tilt detection assembly {tilt detection assembly, para. [0002]} including a mass {mass member, para. [0003]} movable from a first position in response to a tilt event {para. [0003] describes a tilt event where the mass member moves from connected to switch circuitry to disconnected from switch circuitry}; a capacitance sensor circuit disposed proximate the first position {para. [0032] describes an embodiment of the tilt detection assembly that includes a capacitive proximity sensor configured to indicate when the mass member is in a receptacle}, the capacitance sensor circuit configured to output a first capacitance value based on the mass being in the first position {described in para. [0032], mass member in receptacle} and a second capacitance value based on the mass being absent from the first position {mass exiting receptacle causes a change in signal from the capacitive proximity sensor(s), para. [0032]}; and a module and logic integrated with and/or executable by the module {shown in Fig. 3, logic described in para. [0024]}, the module coupled to the capacitance sensor circuit {described in para. [0022]}, the module configured to output, when energized, an indication of an actuation state of the tilt indicator based on the first capacitance value or the second capacitance value output by the capacitance sensor circuit {para. [0022] describes the tilt detection assembly causing a change in a switch circuitry, para. [0032] describes that the switch can be changed due to capacitive changes, causing the module to output an indication of activation}.
In regard to claim 9, Fonk discloses that the module includes a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) module {at least paras. [0004] and [0022] describe a passive RFID module that is responsive to the tilt detection assembly}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 3-4, 7, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonk in view of Peter (US 5801340 A, Peter, W.; hereinafter "Peter").
In regard to claim 3, Fonk is not specific as to the characteristics of the capacitive sensors, and is not explicit that the capacitive sensor comprises a first conductive plate and a second conductive plate, the first and second conductive plates disposed proximate the first position.
However, such characteristics are well-known within the art of capacitive proximity sensors, as taught by Peter. Peter teaches a capacitance sensor circuit [capacitive sensor, abstract] wherein the capacitance sensor circuit comprises a first conductive plate [touch plate] and a second conductive plate [ground plate] positioned proximate the first position [shown in Fig. 1, touch plate faces the sensing location as it is the active sensing area (col. 3 lines 22 -54)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Peter’s capacitive proximity sensor in Fonk’s capacitance sensor circuit in order to better increase the sensing capabilities of a capacitive proximity sensing device, as taught by Peter {col. 1 line 54 – col. 2 line 28}.
In regard to claim 4, Fonk further teaches that the mass comprises a conductive mass {para. [0032] describes the mass as a metal object for use in a capacitive sensing system}.
In regard to claim 7, Fonk is not specific as to the characteristics of the capacitive sensors, and is not explicit that at least one conductive plate is positioned proximate to the first position and biased towards the mass when the mass is in the first position.
However, such characteristics are well-known within the art of capacitive proximity sensors, as taught by Peter. Peter teaches a capacitance sensor circuit [capacitive sensor, abstract] wherein the capacitance sensor circuit comprises at least one conductive plate [touch plate] positioned proximate the first position [shown in Fig. 1, touch plate faces the sensing location as it is the active sensing area (col. 3 lines 22 -54)] and biased towards the mass when the mass is in the first position [touch plate would be biased towards the active sensing area so it can detect the presence of an object (col. 2 lines 7-24}].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Peter’s capacitive proximity sensor in Fonk’s capacitance sensor circuit in order to better increase the sensing capabilities of a capacitive proximity sensing device, as taught by Peter {col. 1 line 54 – col. 2 line 28}.
In regard to claim 10, Fonk is not specific as to the characteristics of the capacitive sensors, and is not explicit that the capacitive sensor comprises a first conductive plate and a second conductive plate, the first and second conductive plates disposed proximate the first position.
However, such characteristics are well-known within the art of capacitive proximity sensors, as taught by Peter. Peter teaches a capacitance sensor circuit [capacitive sensor, abstract] wherein the capacitance sensor circuit comprises a first conductive plate [touch plate] and a second conductive plate [ground plate] positioned proximate the first position [shown in Fig. 1, touch plate faces the sensing location as it is the active sensing area (col. 3 lines 22 -54)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Peter’s capacitive proximity sensor in Fonk’s capacitance sensor circuit in order to better increase the sensing capabilities of a capacitive proximity sensing device, as taught by Peter {col. 1 line 54 – col. 2 line 28}.
In regard to claim 11, Fonk further teaches that the mass comprises a conductive mass {para. [0032] describes the mass as a metal object for use in a capacitive sensing system}.
In regard to claim 12, Fonk is not specific as to the characteristics of the capacitive sensors, and is not explicit that at least one conductive plate is positioned proximate to the first position and biased towards the mass when the mass is in the first position.
However, such characteristics are well-known within the art of capacitive proximity sensors, as taught by Peter. Peter teaches a capacitance sensor circuit [capacitive sensor, abstract] wherein the capacitance sensor circuit comprises at least one conductive plate [touch plate] positioned proximate the first position [shown in Fig. 1, touch plate faces the sensing location as it is the active sensing area (col. 3 lines 22 -54)] and biased towards the mass when the mass is in the first position [touch plate would be biased towards the active sensing area so it can detect the presence of an object (col. 2 lines 7-24}].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Peter’s capacitive proximity sensor in Fonk’s capacitance sensor circuit in order to better increase the sensing capabilities of a capacitive proximity sensing device, as taught by Peter {col. 1 line 54 – col. 2 line 28}.
In regard to claim 13, Fonk teaches a tilt indicator [tilt indicator, abstract], comprising: a tilt detection assembly {tilt detection assembly, para. [0002]} including a mass {mass member, para. [0003]} movable from a first position in response to a tilt event {para. [0003] describes a tilt event where the mass member moves from connected to switch circuitry to disconnected from switch circuitry}; a capacitance sensor circuit disposed proximate the first position {para. [0032] describes an embodiment of the tilt detection assembly that includes a capacitive proximity sensor configured to indicate when the mass member is in a receptacle}; and a module and logic integrated with and/or executable by the module {shown in Fig. 3, logic described in para. [0024]}, the module coupled to the capacitance sensor circuit {described in para. [0022]}, the module configured to, when energized: power the capacitance sensor circuit {para. [0022] describes that the power to the tilt indicator is provided by an RFID reader via radio waves}; determine a capacitance value from the capacitance sensor circuit {para. [0032] describes the capacitive proximity sensor(s) detecting the presence or absence of the mass member}; and output an indication of an actuation state of the tilt indicator based on the capacitance value {para. [0032} describes that the state of sensor may be detected by the RFID module such that a value output or emitted by RFID module changes to indicate an activated status of the tilt indicator}.
Fonk is not specific as to the characteristics of the capacitive sensors, and is not explicit that the capacitive sensor comprises a first conductive plate and a second conductive plate, the first and second conductive plates disposed proximate the first position.
However, such characteristics are well-known within the art of capacitive proximity sensors, as taught by Peter. Peter teaches a capacitance sensor circuit [capacitive sensor, abstract] wherein the capacitance sensor circuit comprises a first conductive plate [touch plate] and a second conductive plate [ground plate] positioned proximate the first position [shown in Fig. 1, touch plate faces the sensing location as it is the active sensing area (col. 3 lines 22 -54)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Peter’s capacitive proximity sensor in Fonk’s capacitance sensor circuit in order to better increase the sensing capabilities of a capacitive proximity sensing device, as taught by Peter {col. 1 line 54 – col. 2 line 28}.
In regard to claim 14, Fonk is not specific as to the characteristics of the capacitive sensors, and is not explicit that at least one conductive plate is positioned proximate to the first position and biased towards the mass when the mass is in the first position.
However, such characteristics are well-known within the art of capacitive proximity sensors, as taught by Peter. Peter further teaches that the capacitance sensor circuit comprises at least one conductive plate [touch plate] positioned proximate the first position [shown in Fig. 1, touch plate faces the sensing location as it is the active sensing area (col. 3 lines 22 -54)] and biased towards the mass when the mass is in the first position [touch plate would be biased towards the active sensing area so it can detect the presence of an object (col. 2 lines 7-24}].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Peter’s capacitive proximity sensor in Fonk’s capacitance sensor circuit in order to better increase the sensing capabilities of a capacitive proximity sensing device, as taught by Peter {col. 1 line 54 – col. 2 line 28}.
In regard to claim 15, Fonk further teaches that the capacitance value comprises a first capacitance value when the mass is in the first position {mass in receptacle, para. [0032]}, and wherein the capacitance sensor circuit is configured to output a second capacitance value when the mass is in the second position {mass exiting receptacle causes a change in signal from the capacitive proximity sensor(s), para. [0032]}.
In regard to claim 16, Fonk further teaches that the module includes a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) module {at least paras. [0004] and [0022] describe a passive RFID module that is responsive to the tilt detection assembly}, and further comprising an arming mechanism {arming element, para. [0004]}, wherein removal or displacement of the arming mechanism places the tilt indicator in an activated state {described in para. [0004]}.
In regard to claim 17, Fonk is not specific as to the characteristics of the capacitive sensors, and is not explicit that at least one conductive plate of the first and second conductive plates comprises a non-conductive layer.
However, such characteristics are well-known within the art of capacitive proximity sensors, as taught by Peter. Peter further that the capacitance sensor circuit comprises at least one conductive plate of the first and second conductive plates comprises a non-conductive layer [Fig. 1 shows the touch plate and the ground plate having insulators].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Peter’s capacitive proximity sensor in Fonk’s capacitance sensor circuit in order to better increase the sensing capabilities of a capacitive proximity sensing device, as taught by Peter {col. 1 line 54 – col. 2 line 28}, and because at least two conductive plates separated by a non-conductive layer is the basic structure of a capacitor.
In regard to claim 18, Fonk is not specific as to the characteristics of the capacitive sensors, and is not explicit that the non-conductive layer is disposed on a surface of the at least one conductive plate facing the mass.
However, such characteristics are well-known within the art of capacitive proximity sensors, as taught by Peter. Peter further teaches that the capacitance sensor circuit has a non-conductive layer that is disposed on a surface of the at least one conductive plate facing the mass [insulator 30 between the sensing location and the touch plate 25 shown in Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Peter’s capacitive proximity sensor with an insulating layer on a surface of a touch plate in Fonk’s capacitance sensor circuit in order to better protect the touch plate, as taught by Peter [col. 3 lines 47-54].
In regard to claim 19, Fonk is not specific as to the characteristics of the capacitive sensors, and is not explicit that the non-conductive layer comprises a non-conductive film applied to at least a portion of a surface of the at least one conductive plate.
However, such characteristics are well-known within the art of capacitive proximity sensors, as taught by Peter. Peter further teaches that the capacitance sensor circuit’s non-conductive layer is a non-conductive film applied to at least a portion of a surface of the at least one conductive plate [col. 3 line 66 - col. 4 line 3 describe a variety of non-conductive insulating layers, such as styrene and polyethylene; both styrene and polyethylene are commonly produced as films, therefore it would be obvious to use a non-conductive plastic layer in film form – Fig. 1 shows that insulator 30 is film-shaped and is applied to a surface of the touch plate 25].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Peter’s capacitive proximity sensor with a film insulating layer on a surface of a touch plate in Fonk’s capacitance sensor circuit in order to better protect the touch plate, as taught by Peter [col. 3 lines 47-54].
In regard to claim 20, Fonk further teaches that the module is configured to power the capacitance sensor circuit when energized by a remote wireless reader device {para. [0022] describes that the power to the tilt indicator is provided by an RFID reader via radio waves, Fig. 3 shows that the capacitive proximity sensor 110 is part of the tilt indicator}.
Conclusion
/DANIEL M QUINN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855