DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3, 10-12, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0396568 A1 (hereinafter “Huang”), in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0090057 A1 (hereinafter “Yoshikawa”), and alternatively in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0117235 A1 (hereinafter “Bhanage”).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19: Huang teaches a method comprising:
obtaining, by an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD), a broadcast (BC) frame, or a multicast (MC) frame; determining, by the AP MLD, multiple links used by the AP MLD, the multiple links being linked between the AP MLD and a set of stations including station MLDs (see, e.g., figure 3A, [0026]-[0030]; broadcast or multicast messages are obtained for communication over multiple links between an AP MLD and non-AP STAs);
determining, by the AP MLD, a master link from the multiple links; converting, by the AP MLD, the BC frame or the MC frame to a unicast frame for the master link; and transmitting, by the AP MLD and by using the master link, the [unicast] frame to a station MLD of the set of stations (see, e.g., [0031], [0034],[0075], [0093]; a single link is determined and used for transmission).
Huang does not explicitly determining the master link based on usage condition of multiple links. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Yoshikawa teaches wherein an AP MLD determines a primary link based on, inter alia, usage conditions (see, e.g., [0006], [0052]-[0061]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Yoshikawa, such as the signaling and/or link selection functionality, within the system of Huang, in order to improve throughput or communication efficiency.
Huang modified by Yoshikawa teaches sending a multicast frame over a single link, but does not explicitly state converting it to a unicast frame. To the extent this feature is not inherent to the system of Huang modified by Yoshikawa, this feature is nevertheless taught by Bhanage (see, e.g., [0018]-[0020]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Bhanage, such as the dynamic multicast optimization functionality, within the system of Huang modified by Yoshikawa, in order to better ensure QoS.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 1 is applicable to the access point and medium of claims 10 and 19, respectively.
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 20: Huang modified by Yoshikawa and Bhanage further teaches wherein determining the master link from the multiple links comprises: selecting the master link from the multiple links based on at least one of processing capacities of multiple APs in the AP MLD corresponding to the multiple links, or healthy statuses of the multiple links (see, e.g., Yoshikawa [0006], [0052]-[0061]; and/or Bhanage [0018]-[0020]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 2 is applicable to the access point and medium of claims 11 and 20, respectively.
Regarding claims 3 and 12: Huang modified by Yoshikawa and Bhanage further teaches wherein determining the master link from the multiple links comprises: determining a number of station MLDs of the set of stations connected to each of the multiple links; and determining the master link based on the number of the station MLDs (see, e.g., Yoshikawa [0006], [0052]-[0061]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 3.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 3 is applicable to the access point of claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4-9 and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Art
8. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476