Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed July 21st, 2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-17, 21, and 24-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US 4,626,083) in view of Peterson (US 2020/0223364), further in view of Cziptschirsch (DE 1945766 A1, as evidenced by the machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama discloses a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (Figs. 1-5, Col. 1, lines 33-35, “an electrically foldable door mirror”), the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror head (3) accommodating a mirror reflective element (4);
a mounting base (2) configured for mounting the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly at a side of a vehicle (Col. 3, lines 5-9, “numeral 1 represents a base fastened, for example, to the triangular corner of a door window of a motor vehicle by means of screws. Numeral 2 represents a bracket extending approximately horizontally from the lower portion of the base 1”) equipped with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (as shown in Fig. 1, 2 which is a part of 1 holds the mirror);
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the mirror head (3) is movable relative to the mounting base between at least (i) an extended position (Col. 1, line 10, “normal position”), where the mirror head is extended outward from the side of the vehicle so that the mirror reflective element is positioned to provide a rearward view at the side of the vehicle to a driver of the vehicle (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “the mirror body 3 has come to the neutral position (erected position)”), and (ii) a folded position (Col. 1, line 10, “folded position”), where the mirror head is folded inward from the extended position toward the side of the vehicle (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “the mirror body 3 has come to … the turning limit”, examiner interprets the turning limit to be the folded position);
an electrically operable actuator (10), wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle (3), the actuator is electrically operable to move the mirror head relative to the mounting base between the folded position and the extended position (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “stop the electric driving means 10 automatically when the mirror body 3 has come to the neutral position (erected position) or the position of the turning limit”);
a pivot tube (6) that extends from the mounting base (2) and through a base portion of the actuator (as shown in Fig. 2, 6 extends through 20 which is a clutch gear that is a part of the actuator assembly 10), and wherein, when the mirror head is moved between the extended position and the folded position, the mirror head moves about a longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (Col. 3, lines 30-32, “the whole frame 8 is rotatable and axially slidable with relation to the shaft 6”);
wherein the pivot tube comprises a tapered portion (Col. 3, lines 28-29, “frame 8 is slightly tapered, and the shaft 6 has a taper portion corresponding thereto”) at least partially received at a channel of the mounting base (as shown in Fig. 2, the bottom tapered portion of 6 is received in 2), and wherein an inner surface of the channel comprises a shape that corresponds to a shape of an outer surface of the tapered portion of the pivot tube (as shown in Fig. 2, the tapered base of 6 matches a shape of the channel formed in 2, Col. 3, line 12, “Numeral 6 represents a shaft erected on the bracket 2”); and
wherein the actuator (10) comprises a biasing element (24, Col. 2, lines 48-49, “A coiled spring 24 is provided around the shaft 6 so as to give a force of engagement to both of the clutches”).
Nakayama does not specifically disclose the biasing element disposed between a housing of the actuator and an upper end of the pivot tube.
However Peterson, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches the biasing element (Figs. 4-8, element 34) disposed between a housing of the actuator (29) and an upper end of the pivot tube (22, as shown in Figs. 5-6, the biasing element 34 is located between the upper end of 22 and the actuator housing 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama with the biasing element disposed between a housing of the actuator and an upper end of the pivot tube as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of reducing the power required to move the mirror ([0004]).
Modified Nakayama does not specifically disclose wherein the biasing element biases the pivot tube away from the mounting base along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube such that the tapered portion of the pivot tube is biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel.
However Cziptschirsch, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the biasing element (Fig. 2, element 13) biases the pivot tube (6) away from the mounting base (9) along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (examiner interprets the axis parallel to the length of the tube 6 to be the longitudinal axis) such that the tapered portion of the pivot tube (7) is biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel ([0030], “The tiltable change can be made by rotating the cone 7 in its bearing 9, whereby - as already mentioned - the preload of the spring 13 decisively determines the degree of friction in the cone formation”, examiner interprets this to mean that 13 biases 7, the tapered portion, against the base 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson with the wherein the biasing element biases the pivot tube away from the mounting base along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube such that the tapered portion of the pivot tube is biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel as taught by Cziptschirsch, for the purpose of providing rotation while maintaining angular position ([0013]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Nakayama further discloses wherein the pivot tube (6) comprises a radially extending flange disposed at a lower end of the pivot tube (as shown in Fig. 2, the bottom of 6 closer to 2 has a tapered flange) opposite the upper end of the pivot tube (the bottom of 6 is opposite the top of 6), and wherein the flange, with the tapered portion of the pivot tube biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel (as shown in Fig. 2, 6 is biased towards the channel of 2), is spaced from the mounting base (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 2, there is a space between the base and tube 6).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Nakayama further discloses wherein the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (Fig. 2, examiner interprets this as the axis running along the length of 6), with the tapered portion of the pivot tube (Col. 3, lines 28-29, “frame 8 is slightly tapered, and the shaft 6 has a taper portion corresponding thereto”) biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel (as shown in Fig. 2, 6 is biased towards 2 via 24), is coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the channel (as shown in Fig. 2, a channel going through the channel of the base of 2 is coaxial with a longitudinal axis of 6).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Nakayama further discloses wherein the outer surface of the tapered portion of the pivot tube comprises (i) a first portion having a first diameter (examiner labeled Fig. 2) and (ii) a second portion having a second diameter (examiner labeled Fig. 2), and wherein the second portion is closer along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube to the upper end of the pivot tube than the first portion (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 2, the second portion is closer to the top of 6), and wherein the first diameter is greater than the second diameter (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 2, the first portion has a larger diameter).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Nakayama further discloses wherein a pivot washer (21) is disposed between the upper end of the pivot tube (top end of 6) and the biasing element (as shown in Fig. 2, 21 is located between the top of 6 and the spring 24).
Regarding claim 11, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Nakayama further discloses wherein the pivot tube (6) extends at least partially through a detent assembly of the actuator (20, Col. 2, lines 38-40, “driving means 10 being engaged with a clutch gear 20 attached to the upper portion of said shaft 6”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 11 rejection above and Nakayama further discloses wherein the biasing element releasably retains the actuator in at least one detent state of the actuator (Col. 4, lines 59-61, “In this state, the upper clutch 25a and the lower clutch 25b are respectively engaged by the force of the coiled spring 24”, 25a is a part of clutch gear 20).
Regarding claim 13, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 12 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the actuator comprises a retaining element that, when the actuator is in at least one detent state of the actuator, engages a detent surface of the base portion, and wherein, when the retaining element engages the detent surface of the base portion, the retaining element is moved toward a retaining position that releasably retains the actuator in the at least one detent state.
However Peterson, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the actuator (Figs. 1-19, element 20) comprises a retaining element (30, 28, and 32) that, when the actuator is in at least one detent state of the actuator (Fig. 7, examiner interprets the drive position in Fig. 7 to be the detent state), engages a detent surface of the base portion (40), and wherein, when the retaining element engages the detent surface of the base portion (as shown in Figs. 7-8, retainer 30 presses 38 to engage the detent surface of 40), the retaining element is moved toward a retaining position that releasably retains the actuator in the at least one detent state ([0034], “the lower housing detent is engaged with the output gear detent to retain the mirror head in that position”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein the actuator comprises a retaining element that, when the actuator is in at least one detent state of the actuator, engages a detent surface of the base portion, and wherein, when the retaining element engages the detent surface of the base portion, the retaining element is moved toward a retaining position that releasably retains the actuator in the at least one detent state as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of reducing the power required to move the mirror ([0004]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 13 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the retaining element comprises (i) a first portion that is fixed relative to the actuator housing, and (ii) a second portion that pivots relative to the first portion of the retaining element, and wherein, when the actuator is in the at least one detent state, the second portion of the retaining element engages a radially extending detent of the base portion and the second portion of the retaining element is pivoted into engagement with the detent surface of the base portion.
However Peterson, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the retaining element (Figs. 1-19, elements 30, 32 and 28) comprises (i) a first portion (32) that is fixed relative to the actuator housing ([0033], “while the output gear 26 and upper ramp element 32 (and tube 22 and retainer 30) remain fixed relative to the mounting base 24”), and (ii) a second portion (28) that pivots relative to the first portion of the retaining element (as shown in Fig. 8, 28 pivots relative to 32), and wherein, when the actuator is in the at least one detent state (Fig. 7 shows a detent state), the second portion of the retaining element engages a radially extending detent of the base portion ([0039], “lower home detent 40 rests on the output gear 26 and is rotationally keyed to the housing 28”) and the second portion of the retaining element is pivoted into engagement with the detent surface of the base portion ([0039], “lower home detent 40 rests on the output gear 26 and is rotationally keyed to the housing 28”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein the retaining element comprises (i) a first portion that is fixed relative to the actuator housing, and (ii) a second portion that pivots relative to the first portion of the retaining element, and wherein, when the actuator is in the at least one detent state, the second portion of the retaining element engages a radially extending detent of the base portion and the second portion of the retaining element is pivoted into engagement with the detent surface of the base portion as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of reducing the power required to move the mirror ([0004]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 14 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second portion of the retaining element is biased radially toward engagement with the radially extending detent of the base portion.
However Peterson, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the second portion of the retaining element (Figs. 1-19, element 28) is biased radially toward engagement with the radially extending detent of the base portion ([0033], “biasing or urging element 34 provides the primary load and exerts a downward force at the upper ramp element 32, which engages the housing 28, which engages the output gear 26, which engages the base 24”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein the second portion of the retaining element is biased radially toward engagement with the radially extending detent of the base portion as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of reducing the power required to move the mirror ([0004]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 13 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the retaining element comprises a plurality of retaining elements, and wherein each retaining element of the plurality of retaining elements, when the actuator is in the at least one detent state, engages a respective detent surface of the base portion.
However Peterson, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the retaining element (Figs. 1-19, elements 30, 28, and 32) comprises a plurality of retaining elements (28 and 30), and wherein each retaining element of the plurality of retaining elements, when the actuator (20) is in the at least one detent state (Fig. 7 shows a detent state), engages a respective detent surface of the base portion (30 engages a upper detent surface 38 and 28 engages a lower detent surface 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein the retaining element comprises a plurality of retaining elements, and wherein each retaining element of the plurality of retaining elements, when the actuator is in the at least one detent state, engages a respective detent surface of the base portion as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of reducing the power required to move the mirror ([0004]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Nakayama further discloses wherein the mirror head (3) is attached at the housing of the actuator (as shown in Fig. 1, the actuator housing 10 is attached to the mirror head 3), and wherein the mirror head and the housing of the actuator, when the actuator is electrically operated, move together and in tandem about the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube of the actuator (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “stop the electric driving means 10 automatically when the mirror body 3 has come to the neutral position (erected position) or the position of the turning limit”, as shown in Fig. 1, since the mirror head 3 and actuator housing 10 are joined, they move in sync together as the driving means is activated).
Regarding claim 21, Nakayama discloses a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (Figs. 1-5, Col. 1, lines 33-35, “an electrically foldable door mirror”), the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror head (3) accommodating a mirror reflective element (4);
a mounting base (2) configured for mounting the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly at a side of a vehicle (Col. 3, lines 5-9, “numeral 1 represents a base fastened, for example, to the triangular corner of a door window of a motor vehicle by means of screws. Numeral 2 represents a bracket extending approximately horizontally from the lower portion of the base 1”) equipped with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (as shown in Fig. 1, 2 which is a part of 1 holds the mirror);
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the mirror head (3) is movable relative to the mounting base between at least (i) an extended position (Col. 1, line 10, “normal position”), where the mirror head is extended outward from the side of the vehicle so that the mirror reflective element is positioned to provide a rearward view at the side of the vehicle to a driver of the vehicle (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “the mirror body 3 has come to the neutral position (erected position)”), and (ii) a folded position (Col. 1, line 10, “folded position”), where the mirror head is folded inward from the extended position toward the side of the vehicle (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “the mirror body 3 has come to … the turning limit”, examiner interprets the turning limit to be the folded position);
an electrically operable actuator (10), wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle (3), the actuator is electrically operable to move the mirror head relative to the mounting base between the folded position and the extended position (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “stop the electric driving means 10 automatically when the mirror body 3 has come to the neutral position (erected position) or the position of the turning limit”);
a pivot tube (6) that extends from the mounting base (2) and through a base portion of the actuator (as shown in Fig. 2, 6 extends through 20 which is a clutch gear that is a part of the actuator assembly 10);
wherein the pivot tube (6) extends at least partially through a detent assembly of the actuator and a housing of the actuator (20, Col. 2, lines 38-40, “driving means 10 being engaged with a clutch gear 20 attached to the upper portion of said shaft 6”, as shown in Fig. 2, 6 goes through 20 and 10 which surrounds the entire pivot tube), and wherein the biasing element releasably retains the actuator in at least one detent state of the actuator (Col. 4, lines 59-61, “In this state, the upper clutch 25a and the lower clutch 25b are respectively engaged by the force of the coiled spring 24”, 25a is a part of clutch gear 20);
wherein the mirror head (3) is attached at the housing of the actuator (as shown in Fig. 1, the actuator housing 10 is attached to the mirror head 3), and wherein the mirror head and the housing of the actuator, when the actuator is electrically operated, move together and in tandem about a longitudinal axis of the pivot tube of the actuator (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “stop the electric driving means 10 automatically when the mirror body 3 has come to the neutral position (erected position) or the position of the turning limit”, as shown in Fig. 1, since the mirror head 3 and actuator housing 10 are joined, they move in sync together as the driving means is activated);
wherein the pivot tube comprises a tapered portion (Col. 3, lines 28-29, “frame 8 is slightly tapered, and the shaft 6 has a taper portion corresponding thereto”) at least partially received at a channel of the mounting base (as shown in Fig. 2, the bottom tapered portion of 6 is received in 2), and wherein an inner surface of the channel comprises a shape that corresponds to a shape of an outer surface of the tapered portion of the pivot tube (as shown in Fig. 2, the tapered base of 6 matches a shape of the channel formed in 2, Col. 3, line 12, “Numeral 6 represents a shaft erected on the bracket 2”); and
wherein the actuator (10) comprises a biasing element (24).
Nakayama does not specifically disclose the biasing element disposed between the housing of the actuator and an upper end of the pivot tube.
However Peterson, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches the biasing element (Figs. 4-8, element 34) disposed between the housing of the actuator (29) and an upper end of the pivot tube (22, as shown in Figs. 5-6, the biasing element 34 is located between the upper end of 22 and the actuator housing 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama with the biasing element disposed between the housing of the actuator and an upper end of the pivot tube as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of reducing the power required to move the mirror ([0004]).
Modified Nakayama does not specifically disclose wherein the biasing element biases the pivot tube away from the mounting base along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube such that the tapered portion of the pivot tube is biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel.
However Cziptschirsch, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the biasing element (Fig. 2, element 13) biases the pivot tube (6) away from the mounting base (9) along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (examiner interprets the axis parallel to the length of the tube 6 to be the longitudinal axis) such that the tapered portion of the pivot tube (7) is biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel ([0030], “The tiltable change can be made by rotating the cone 7 in its bearing 9, whereby - as already mentioned - the preload of the spring 13 decisively determines the degree of friction in the cone formation”, examiner interprets this to mean that 13 biases 7, the tapered portion, against the base 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson with the wherein the biasing element biases the pivot tube away from the mounting base along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube such that the tapered portion of the pivot tube is biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel as taught by Cziptschirsch, for the purpose of providing rotation while maintaining angular position ([0013]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 21 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the actuator comprises a retaining element that, when the actuator is in at least one detent state of the actuator, engages a detent surface of the base portion, and wherein, when the retaining element engages the detent surface of the base portion, the retaining element is moved toward a retaining position that releasably retains the actuator in the at least one detent state.
However Peterson, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the actuator (Figs. 1-19, element 20) comprises a retaining element (30, 28, and 32) that, when the actuator is in at least one detent state of the actuator (Fig. 7, examiner interprets the drive position in Fig. 7 to be the detent state), engages a detent surface of the base portion (40), and wherein, when the retaining element engages the detent surface of the base portion (as shown in Figs. 7-8, retainer 30 presses 38 to engage the detent surface of 40), the retaining element is moved toward a retaining position that releasably retains the actuator in the at least one detent state ([0034], “the lower housing detent is engaged with the output gear detent to retain the mirror head in that position”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein the actuator comprises a retaining element that, when the actuator is in at least one detent state of the actuator, engages a detent surface of the base portion, and wherein, when the retaining element engages the detent surface of the base portion, the retaining element is moved toward a retaining position that releasably retains the actuator in the at least one detent state as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of reducing the power required to move the mirror ([0004]).
Regarding claim 25, Nakayama discloses a vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (Figs. 1-5, Col. 1, lines 33-35, “an electrically foldable door mirror”), the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror head (3) accommodating a mirror reflective element (4);
a mounting base (2) configured for mounting the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly at a side of a vehicle (Col. 3, lines 5-9, “numeral 1 represents a base fastened, for example, to the triangular corner of a door window of a motor vehicle by means of screws. Numeral 2 represents a bracket extending approximately horizontally from the lower portion of the base 1”) equipped with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly (as shown in Fig. 1, 2 which is a part of 1 holds the mirror);
wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the mirror head (3) is movable relative to the mounting base between at least (i) an extended position (Col. 1, line 10, “normal position”), where the mirror head is extended outward from the side of the vehicle so that the mirror reflective element is positioned to provide a rearward view at the side of the vehicle to a driver of the vehicle (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “the mirror body 3 has come to the neutral position (erected position)”), and (ii) a folded position (Col. 1, line 10, “folded position”), where the mirror head is folded inward from the extended position toward the side of the vehicle (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “the mirror body 3 has come to … the turning limit”, examiner interprets the turning limit to be the folded position);
an electrically operable actuator (10), wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle (3), the actuator is electrically operable to move the mirror head relative to the mounting base between the folded position and the extended position (Col. 2, lines 57-58, “stop the electric driving means 10 automatically when the mirror body 3 has come to the neutral position (erected position) or the position of the turning limit”);
a pivot tube (6) that extends from the mounting base (2) and through a base portion of the actuator (as shown in Fig. 2, 6 extends through 20 which is a clutch gear that is a part of the actuator assembly 10), and wherein, when the mirror head is moved between the extended position and the folded position, the mirror head moves about a longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (Col. 3, lines 30-32, “the whole frame 8 is rotatable and axially slidable with relation to the shaft 6”);
wherein the pivot tube (6) extends at least partially through a detent assembly of the actuator (20, Col. 2, lines 38-40, “driving means 10 being engaged with a clutch gear 20 attached to the upper portion of said shaft 6”), and wherein the biasing element releasably retains the actuator in at least one detent state of the actuator (Col. 4, lines 59-61, “In this state, the upper clutch 25a and the lower clutch 25b are respectively engaged by the force of the coiled spring 24”, 25a is a part of clutch gear 20);
wherein the pivot tube comprises a tapered portion (Col. 3, lines 28-29, “frame 8 is slightly tapered, and the shaft 6 has a taper portion corresponding thereto”) at least partially received at a channel of the mounting base (as shown in Fig. 2, the bottom tapered portion of 6 is received in 2), and wherein an inner surface of the channel comprises a shape that corresponds to a shape of an outer surface of the tapered portion of the pivot tube (as shown in Fig. 2, the tapered base of 6 matches a shape of the channel formed in 2, Col. 3, line 12, “Numeral 6 represents a shaft erected on the bracket 2”);
wherein the actuator (10) comprises a biasing element (24); and
wherein the pivot tube (6) comprises a radially extending flange disposed at a lower end of the pivot tube (as shown in Fig. 2, the bottom of 6 closer to 2 has a tapered flange) opposite the upper end of the pivot tube (the bottom of 6 is opposite the top of 6), and wherein the flange, with the tapered portion of the pivot tube biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel (as shown in Fig. 2, 6 is biased towards the channel of 2), is spaced from the mounting base (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 2, there is a space between the base and tube 6).
Nakayama does not specifically disclose the biasing element disposed between a housing of the actuator and an upper end of the pivot tube.
However Peterson, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches the biasing element (Figs. 4-8, element 34) disposed between a housing of the actuator (29) and an upper end of the pivot tube (22, as shown in Figs. 5-6, the biasing element 34 is located between the upper end of 22 and the actuator housing 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama with the biasing element disposed between a housing of the actuator and an upper end of the pivot tube as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of reducing the power required to move the mirror ([0004]).
Modified Nakayama does not specifically disclose wherein the biasing element biases the pivot tube away from the mounting base along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube such that the tapered portion of the pivot tube is biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel.
However Cziptschirsch, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the biasing element (Fig. 2, element 13) biases the pivot tube (6) away from the mounting base (9) along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (examiner interprets the axis parallel to the length of the tube 6 to be the longitudinal axis) such that the tapered portion of the pivot tube (7) is biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel ([0030], “The tiltable change can be made by rotating the cone 7 in its bearing 9, whereby - as already mentioned - the preload of the spring 13 decisively determines the degree of friction in the cone formation”, examiner interprets this to mean that 13 biases 7, the tapered portion, against the base 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson with the wherein the biasing element biases the pivot tube away from the mounting base along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube such that the tapered portion of the pivot tube is biased toward engagement with the inner surface of the mounting base along the channel as taught by Cziptschirsch, for the purpose of providing rotation while maintaining angular position ([0013]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 25 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the actuator comprises a retaining element that, when the actuator is in at least one detent state of the actuator, engages a detent surface of the base portion, and wherein, when the retaining element engages the detent surface of the base portion, the retaining element is moved toward a retaining position that releasably retains the actuator in the at least one detent state.
However Peterson, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the actuator (Figs. 1-19, element 20) comprises a retaining element (30, 28, and 32) that, when the actuator is in at least one detent state of the actuator (Fig. 7, examiner interprets the drive position in Fig. 7 to be the detent state), engages a detent surface of the base portion (40), and wherein, when the retaining element engages the detent surface of the base portion (as shown in Figs. 7-8, retainer 30 presses 38 to engage the detent surface of 40), the retaining element is moved toward a retaining position that releasably retains the actuator in the at least one detent state ([0034], “the lower housing detent is engaged with the output gear detent to retain the mirror head in that position”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein the actuator comprises a retaining element that, when the actuator is in at least one detent state of the actuator, engages a detent surface of the base portion, and wherein, when the retaining element engages the detent surface of the base portion, the retaining element is moved toward a retaining position that releasably retains the actuator in the at least one detent state as taught by Peterson, for the purpose of reducing the power required to move the mirror ([0004]).
Claims 6-10 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US 4,626,083) in view of Peterson (US 2020/0223364), further in view of Cziptschirsch (DE 1945766 A1, as evidenced by the machine translation) and Watanabe (US 2011/0255188).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 5 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the pivot washer comprises (i) a first radial portion that engages the biasing element and (ii) a second radial portion that is axially offset from the first radial portion along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube and that extends radially from the pivot tube and along the housing of the actuator.
However Watanabe, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the pivot washer (Figs. 12, element 47) comprises (i) a first radial portion that engages the biasing element (49) and (ii) a second radial portion (50) that is axially offset from the first radial portion along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube and that extends radially from the pivot tube and along the housing of the actuator (as shown in Fig. 12, 50 extends radially from the pivot tube and offset from 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein the pivot washer comprises (i) a first radial portion that engages the biasing element and (ii) a second radial portion that is axially offset from the first radial portion along the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube and that extends radially from the pivot tube and along the housing of the actuator as taught by Watanabe, for the purpose of preventing the spring from opening on the inside ([0110]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 6 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the mirror head comprises a bracket that attaches at the housing of the actuator, and wherein the second radial portion of the pivot washer extends along the housing of the actuator between the housing of the actuator and the bracket.
However Watanabe, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the mirror head (Figs. 1 and 12, element 5) comprises a bracket that attaches at the housing of the actuator (53, [0110], “opening preventing portion 53 is integrally provided at the mirror housing 5 at the mirror assembly 4 side, or alternatively, a frame or a bracket”), and wherein the second radial portion of the pivot washer (50) extends along the housing of the actuator between the housing of the actuator (51) and the bracket (53, as shown in Fig. 12, 50 extends between 53 and 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch and Watanabe with the wherein the mirror head comprises a bracket that attaches at the housing of the actuator, and wherein the second radial portion of the pivot washer extends along the housing of the actuator between the housing of the actuator and the bracket as taught by Watanabe, for the purpose of preventing the spring from opening on the inside ([0110]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 7 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the bracket includes a flange portion that extends along the pivot tube between the upper end of the pivot tube and the first radial portion of the pivot washer.
However Watanabe, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the bracket (Fig. 10, element 12) includes a flange portion (42) that extends along the pivot tube between the upper end of the pivot tube and the first radial portion of the pivot washer (as shown in Fig. 10, 42 extends from the top of pivot tube 10 to the pivot washer 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch and Watanabe with the wherein the bracket includes a flange portion that extends along the pivot tube between the upper end of the pivot tube and the first radial portion of the pivot washer as taught by Watanabe, for the purpose of preventing the spring from opening on the inside ([0110]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 5 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the pivot washer circumscribes the upper end of the pivot tube, and wherein the pivot washer is disposed radially between the pivot tube and an interference rib of the housing, and wherein a flexible insert is disposed between the interference rib of the housing and the pivot washer to urge the pivot washer radially toward the pivot tube.
However Watanabe, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the pivot washer (Figs. 1-10, element 37) circumscribes the upper end of the pivot tube (10), and wherein the pivot washer is disposed radially between the pivot tube and an interference rib of the housing (examiner interprets the top portion of 11 connected to 12 to be the interference rib), and wherein a flexible insert (42) is disposed between the interference rib of the housing and the pivot washer (as shown in Fig. 4, 42 is located between 11 and 37) to urge the pivot washer radially toward the pivot tube ([0061], “opening preventing portion 42 is the one that prevents the elastic engagement portion 38 of the push nut 37 from opening from the inside to the outside in the radial direction of the shaft 10”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein the pivot washer circumscribes the upper end of the pivot tube, and wherein the pivot washer is disposed radially between the pivot tube and an interference rib of the housing, and wherein a flexible insert is disposed between the interference rib of the housing and the pivot washer to urge the pivot washer radially toward the pivot tube as taught by Watanabe, for the purpose of preventing the spring from opening on the inside ([0061]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 9 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the flexible insert comprises (i) a first surface that engages a surface of the interference rib and (ii) a second surface that engages an outer surface of the pivot washer, and wherein the surface of the interference rib extends at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube, and wherein the second surface of the flexible insert and the outer surface of the pivot washer respectively extend parallel to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube.
However Watanabe, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the flexible insert (Figs. 1-10, element 41) comprises (i) a first surface (examiner labeled Fig. 4) that engages a surface of the interference rib (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 4, the first surface engages top surface of 11) and (ii) a second surface (examiner labeled Fig. 4) that engages an outer surface of the pivot washer (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 4, the second surface engages the outer surface of 37), and wherein the surface of the interference rib extends at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (as shown in Fig. 4, 11 extends obliquely upwards relative to the dashed axis O), and wherein the second surface of the flexible insert and the outer surface of the pivot washer respectively extend parallel to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 4, the second surface and outer surface of 37 extend parallel to dashed axis O).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch and Watanabe with the wherein the flexible insert comprises (i) a first surface that engages a surface of the interference rib and (ii) a second surface that engages an outer surface of the pivot washer, and wherein the surface of the interference rib extends at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube, and wherein the second surface of the flexible insert and the outer surface of the pivot washer respectively extend parallel to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube as taught by Watanabe, for the purpose of preventing the spring from opening on the inside ([0061]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 21 rejection above and Nakayama further discloses wherein a pivot washer (21) is disposed between the upper end of the pivot tube (top end of 6) and the biasing element (as shown in Fig. 2, 21 is located between the top of 6 and the spring 24).
Modified Nakayama does not specifically disclose wherein the pivot washer circumscribes the upper end of the pivot tube, and wherein the pivot washer is disposed radially between the pivot tube and an interference rib of the housing, and wherein a flexible insert is disposed between the interference rib of the housing and the pivot washer to urge the pivot washer radially toward the pivot tube.
However Watanabe, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the pivot washer (Figs. 1-10, element 37) circumscribes the upper end of the pivot tube (10), and wherein the pivot washer is disposed radially between the pivot tube and an interference rib of the housing (examiner interprets the top portion of 11 connected to 12 to be the interference rib), and wherein a flexible insert (42) is disposed between the interference rib of the housing and the pivot washer (as shown in Fig. 4, 42 is located between 11 and 37) to urge the pivot washer radially toward the pivot tube ([0061], “opening preventing portion 42 is the one that prevents the elastic engagement portion 38 of the push nut 37 from opening from the inside to the outside in the radial direction of the shaft 10”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein the pivot washer circumscribes the upper end of the pivot tube, and wherein the pivot washer is disposed radially between the pivot tube and an interference rib of the housing, and wherein a flexible insert is disposed between the interference rib of the housing and the pivot washer to urge the pivot washer radially toward the pivot tube as taught by Watanabe, for the purpose of preventing the spring from opening on the inside ([0061]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 22 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the flexible insert comprises (i) a first surface that engages a surface of the interference rib and (ii) a second surface that engages an outer surface of the pivot washer, and wherein the surface of the interference rib extends at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube, and wherein the second surface of the flexible insert and the outer surface of the pivot washer respectively extend parallel to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube.
However Watanabe, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the flexible insert (Figs. 1-10, element 41) comprises (i) a first surface (examiner labeled Fig. 4) that engages a surface of the interference rib (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 4, the first surface engages top surface of 11) and (ii) a second surface (examiner labeled Fig. 4) that engages an outer surface of the pivot washer (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 4, the second surface engages the outer surface of 37), and wherein the surface of the interference rib extends at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (as shown in Fig. 4, 11 extends obliquely upwards relative to the dashed axis O), and wherein the second surface of the flexible insert and the outer surface of the pivot washer respectively extend parallel to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube (as shown in examiner labeled Fig. 4, the second surface and outer surface of 37 extend parallel to dashed axis O).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch and Watanabe with the wherein the flexible insert comprises (i) a first surface that engages a surface of the interference rib and (ii) a second surface that engages an outer surface of the pivot washer, and wherein the surface of the interference rib extends at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube, and wherein the second surface of the flexible insert and the outer surface of the pivot washer respectively extend parallel to the longitudinal axis of the pivot tube as taught by Watanabe, for the purpose of preventing the spring from opening on the inside ([0061]).
Claims 18-19 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US 4,626,083) in view of Peterson (US 2020/0223364), further in view of Cziptschirsch (DE 1945766 A1, as evidenced by the machine translation) and Minikey, JR. (US 2012/0206930).
Regarding claim 18, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose comprising a light module that has a light emitter and a total internal reflection lens, wherein, when electrically operated to emit light, the light emitter emits light that passes through the total internal reflection lens.
However Minikey, JR, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches comprising a light module (Figs. 3-6, element 307, 400) that has a light emitter (407) and a total internal reflection lens (403, [0026], “lens optic contains a first lens surface having a total internal reflector (TIR) portion surrounding a refractive portion”), wherein, when electrically operated to emit light, the light emitter emits light that passes through the total internal reflection lens ([0027], “align one or more of the LEDs with an optical device 401 for providing the maximum amount of light at specific locations to the optical device 401”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the comprising a light module that has a light emitter and a total internal reflection lens, wherein, when electrically operated to emit light, the light emitter emits light that passes through the total internal reflection lens as taught by Minikey, JR, for the purpose of providing blind spot detection ([0023]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 18 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the light module is disposed at the mirror head, and wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the light emitter, when electrically operated to emit light, emits light that passes through the mirror reflective element.
However Minikey, JR, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the light module (Figs. 3-6, 307) is disposed at the mirror head (as shown in Figs. 3 and 5, 307 is in the mirror head), and wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle ([0023], “an outside vehicular mirror assembly”), the light emitter, when electrically operated to emit light, emits light that passes through the mirror reflective element ([0024], “light is then projected through the indicia 302 allowing the etched glass to have a brightly illuminated glow for viewing by the driver”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch and Minikey, JR with the wherein the light module is disposed at the mirror head, and wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the light emitter, when electrically operated to emit light, emits light that passes through the mirror reflective element as taught by Minikey, JR, for the purpose of providing blind spot detection ([0023]).
Regarding claim 27, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 25 rejection above but does not specifically disclose comprising a light module that has a light emitter and a total internal reflection lens, wherein, when electrically operated to emit light, the light emitter emits light that passes through the total internal reflection lens.
However Minikey, JR, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches comprising a light module (Figs. 3-6, element 307, 400) that has a light emitter (407) and a total internal reflection lens (403, [0026], “lens optic contains a first lens surface having a total internal reflector (TIR) portion surrounding a refractive portion”), wherein, when electrically operated to emit light, the light emitter emits light that passes through the total internal reflection lens ([0027], “align one or more of the LEDs with an optical device 401 for providing the maximum amount of light at specific locations to the optical device 401”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the comprising a light module that has a light emitter and a total internal reflection lens, wherein, when electrically operated to emit light, the light emitter emits light that passes through the total internal reflection lens as taught by Minikey, JR, for the purpose of providing blind spot detection ([0023]).
Regarding claim 28, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 27 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the light module is disposed at the mirror head, and wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the light emitter, when electrically operated to emit light, emits light that passes through the mirror reflective element.
However Minikey, JR, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein the light module (Figs. 3-6, 307) is disposed at the mirror head (as shown in Figs. 3 and 5, 307 is in the mirror head), and wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle ([0023], “an outside vehicular mirror assembly”), the light emitter, when electrically operated to emit light, emits light that passes through the mirror reflective element ([0024], “light is then projected through the indicia 302 allowing the etched glass to have a brightly illuminated glow for viewing by the driver”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch and Minikey, JR with the wherein the light module is disposed at the mirror head, and wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the light emitter, when electrically operated to emit light, emits light that passes through the mirror reflective element as taught by Minikey, JR, for the purpose of providing blind spot detection ([0023]).
Claims 20 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US 4,626,083) in view of Peterson (US 2020/0223364), further in view of Cziptschirsch (DE 1945766 A1, as evidenced by the machine translation) and Lee (US 2010/0246040).
Regarding claim 20, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the mirror reflective element comprises (i) a first portion that provides a first rearward view to the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a second portion that is disposed at an angle relative to the first portion and provides a second rearward view to the driver of the vehicle that is different from the first rearward view.
However Lee, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle ([0043], “a side mirror will be explained as an example of the rear vision mirror”), the mirror reflective element comprises (i) a first portion (Fig. 4, region A) that provides a first rearward view to the driver of the vehicle ([0051], “the region A, although having a wider range of view than a plane mirror by the eccentricity, is capable of displaying images of objects at a near distance”) and (ii) a second portion that is disposed at an angle relative to the first portion (region B) and provides a second rearward view to the driver of the vehicle that is different from the first rearward view ([0053], “region B is capable of displaying the images of other vehicles and objects existing in the middle of the left and right rear sides more correctly”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the mirror reflective element comprises (i) a first portion that provides a first rearward view to the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a second portion that is disposed at an angle relative to the first portion and provides a second rearward view to the driver of the vehicle that is different from the first rearward view as taught by Lee, for the purpose of minimizing image distortion and dazzle ([0022]).
Regarding claim 29, modified Nakayama teaches as is set forth in claim 25 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the mirror reflective element comprises (i) a first portion that provides a first rearward view to the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a second portion that is disposed at an angle relative to the first portion and provides a second rearward view to the driver of the vehicle that is different from the first rearward view.
However Lee, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a mirror assembly, teaches wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle ([0043], “a side mirror will be explained as an example of the rear vision mirror”), the mirror reflective element comprises (i) a first portion (Fig. 4, region A) that provides a first rearward view to the driver of the vehicle ([0051], “the region A, although having a wider range of view than a plane mirror by the eccentricity, is capable of displaying images of objects at a near distance”) and (ii) a second portion that is disposed at an angle relative to the first portion (region B) and provides a second rearward view to the driver of the vehicle that is different from the first rearward view ([0053], “region B is capable of displaying the images of other vehicles and objects existing in the middle of the left and right rear sides more correctly”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the mirror assembly of Nakayama in view of Peterson further in view of Cziptschirsch with the wherein, with the vehicular exterior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the side of the vehicle, the mirror reflective element comprises (i) a first portion that provides a first rearward view to the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a second portion that is disposed at an angle relative to the first portion and provides a second rearward view to the driver of the vehicle that is different from the first rearward view as taught by Lee, for the purpose of minimizing image distortion and dazzle ([0022]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 8 September 2026