DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to Applicant’s filing dated December 17, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered, as provided in more detail below. .
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References and Applicant’s arguments are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/17/25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed toward subject matter that has not been previously considered and has necessitated a new ground of rejection as outlined below. While the new ground of rejection may rely on some of the previous references applied in the prior rejection of record, new additional references have been added to the combination and introduced for Applicant’s consideration given the amended independent claims as discussed in detail below.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §103, the amendments made to the claims have necessitated new grounds of rejections as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-13, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banvait (US 2019/0220819 A1) in view of Ruth (US 2019/0220044 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Banvait discloses A system for middle-mile delivery using unmanned
aerial vehicles (UAVs) (see at least para. [0002] of Banvait which discloses “delivery using aerial vehicles or drones has been discussed. For example, systems such as Amazon Prime Air® propose the use of a drone to deliver a single package from a warehouse to a destination” and see at least para. [0011] of Banvait which discloses “an autonomous vehicle can carry numerous packages to a neighborhood and one or more drones can be dispatched from the vehicle to deliver packages at the same time. For example, the autonomous vehicle may carry a plurality of packages for a specific neighborhood and remain in or near the specific neighborhood until all packages have been delivered by the one or more drones”), the system comprising: an autonomy computing system (see at least para. [0012] of Banvait which discloses “a control system for an automated vehicle may include an identification component, a delivery route component, a control component, and a release component. The identification component is configured to identify a plurality of delivery locations for package delivery. The delivery route component is configured to determine a driving route for an automated ground vehicle to optimize delivery to the delivery locations using one or more automated aerial vehicles” and see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route component 604 may compute a delivery route in advance of departure of an autonomous delivery vehicle or may periodically, or in real-time, compute or recomputed the delivery route to optimize delivery based on changing or unexpected conditions”, *This discloses a control system for an automated ground vehicle that determines routes and controls navigation during operation. Examiner interprets this as an autonomy computing system controlling operation while the vehicle is in motion) of an autonomous vehicle (Fig. 3, 306 and see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “an autonomous ground vehicle and a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306”), the autonomy computing system controlling autonomous operation of the autonomous vehicle while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0050] of Banvait which discloses “A control component 606 controls 706 the automated ground vehicle to navigate the delivery route” and see at least para. [0052] of Banvait which discloses “determining a driving route for an automated ground vehicle to optimize delivery to the delivery locations using one or more automated aerial vehicles. The method includes controlling the automated ground vehicle to navigate the delivery route. The method also includes determining timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles during navigation of the delivery route to deliver packages to the plurality of delivery locations”, * Examiner interprets “during navigation of the delivery route” as indicating that the autonomous vehicle is in motion when UAVE operations occur. This discloses a control system for an automated ground vehicle that determines routes and controls navigation during operation. Examiner interprets this as an autonomy computing system controlling operation while the vehicle is in motion) with motion characteristics along a predetermined travel route (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route component 604 may compute a delivery route in advance of departure of an autonomous delivery vehicle”, *Examiner interprets the determination of the delivery route in advance to be a predetermined travel route) between two destinations (see at least para. [0050] of Banvait which discloses “A delivery route component 604 determines 704 a driving route for an automated ground vehicle to optimize delivery to the delivery locations using one or more automated aerial vehicles. A control component 606 controls 706 the automated ground vehicle to navigate the delivery route. A release component 608 determines 708 timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles during navigation of the delivery route to deliver packages to the plurality of delivery locations”, *Examiner interprets the plurality of delivery locations to correspond to two destinations and Examiner interprets the recited “motion characteristics along a predetermined travel route” to broadly include information describing movement of the autonomous vehicle along a route, such as position, velocity, direction, and/or route-based navigation data, as such information characterizes the motion of the vehicle during travel. In this connection, Examiner notes that para. [0047] of Applicant’s specification discloses “IMU 222 may be communicatively coupled to one or more other systems, for example, GNSS receiver 220 and may provide input to and receive output from GNSS receiver 220 such that autonomy computing system 120 is able to determine the motive characteristics (acceleration, speed/direction, orientation/attitude, etc.) of ACV 102”. *Examiner interprets the newly claimed motion characteristics, as broadly as recited, to encompass such motive characteristics, as both terms refer to parameters describing movement of the autonomous vehicle which is consistent with the specification at [0047]); and a UAV control system controlling operation of a first UAV (see at least para. [0035] of Banvait which discloses “one or more release times 508 for aerial vehicles to depart from an autonomous ground vehicle for delivery to delivery locations” and see at least para. [0055] of Banvait which discloses “determining timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles … includes determining based on one or more of: current traffic conditions along the driving route; a flight range of an aerial vehicle of the one or more automated aerial vehicles; a speed of the automated ground vehicle; and one or more weather conditions”, *Examiner interprets this as a UAV control system), while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0052] of Banvait which discloses “the method also includes determining timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles during navigation of the delivery route to deliver packages to the plurality of delivery locations”, *This discloses a control system for an automated ground vehicle that determines routes and controls navigation during operation. Examiner interprets “during navigation of the delivery route” as indicating that the autonomous vehicle is in motion when UAVE operations occur. Also, this as an autonomy computing system controlling operation while the vehicle is in motion): and wherein the UAV control system is configured to, while the autonomous vehicle is in motion(see at least para. [0052] of Banvait which discloses “the method also includes determining timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles during navigation of the delivery route to deliver packages to the plurality of delivery locations”, *This discloses a control system for an automated ground vehicle that determines routes and controls navigation during operation. Examiner interprets “during navigation of the delivery route” as indicating that the autonomous vehicle is in motion when UAVE operations occur. Also, this as an autonomy computing system controlling operation while the vehicle is in motion): retrieve, from the autonomy computing system, motion characteristic data of the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “A current location 304 of an autonomous ground vehicle and a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306 are illustrated. A plurality of delivery locations 308 (each marked with an X in the figure) is also shown. According to one embodiment, before or during navigation of a delivery route, the autonomous ground vehicle may determine an optimal delivery route based on the delivery locations 308” and see at least para. [0029] of Banvait which discloses “when an aerial vehicle 306 is out for delivery, the autonomous vehicle may periodically update the aerial vehicle 306 of the current location 304 so that the aerial vehicles 306 may know how to return to the autonomous vehicle”) to determine a retrieving position of the first UAV (see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306” and see at least para. [0035] of Banvait which discloses “one or more release times 508 for aerial vehicles to depart from an autonomous ground vehicle for delivery to delivery locations”) relative to the autonomous vehicle, the motion characteristic data including one or more of the motion characteristics control the first UAV to position the first UAV in the retrieving position relative to the autonomous vehicle (Banvait discloses providing vehicle location and navigation information and coordinating UAV deployment based on such information (see para. [0027]-[0029], as discussed above. Examiner interprets the vehicle location, route and navigation data as “motion characteristic data” and further interprets the UAV coordination based on such stat as determining a retrieving position of the UAV relative to the vehicle and controlling the UAV to move to that position);
Banvait may not explicitly disclose an inventory management system managing inventory
retained within the autonomous vehicle, the inventory including one or more cases, each case respectively containing one or more units, the inventory management system communicatively coupled to an inventory handler within the autonomous vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ruth discloses an inventory management system
(see at least para. [0040] of Ruth which discloses “package container reception point 108 may record a log of package container transfers”) managing inventory retained within the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “a system 100 for package delivery … The system 100 includes an autonomous delivery platform 102, a first multi-use vehicle 106, a second multi-use vehicle 104, and a package container reception point 108. In the illustrated embodiment, the autonomous delivery platform 102 is a truck, but other vehicles may additionally or alternatively be used … The autonomous delivery platform 102 is configured for transporting an object in a package container 110” and see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “loading or offloading the package container 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102”, *Examiner interprets the autonomous delivery platform and associated control of package containers as an inventory management system managing inventory retained within the vehicle under the broadest reasonable interpretation), the inventory including one or more cases (Fig. 3, 110 and see at least para. [0040] of Ruth which discloses “package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform”), each case respectively containing one or more units (see at least para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “transporting an object in a package container 110”, *Examiner interprets the object in a package container to be the units in the package container/case, under the broadest reasonable interpretation), the inventory management system communicatively coupled to an inventory handler (Fig. 1, 116 and see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “the mechanical package container interchange 116, illustrated as a robotic arm, is also coupled to the first energy storage device 112. In some embodiments, the mechanical package container interchange 116 may alternatively include one or more lifts, conveyor belts, rollers, and the like, configured to facilitate transfer of the package container 110 to or from the autonomous delivery platform 102. The mechanical package container interchange 116 includes a second delivery platform electromechanical interface 118, configured for mating with a package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110 and loading or offloading the package container 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102”, *Examiner interprets the robotic arm/interchange as an inventory handler coupled to the system controlling the vehicle and package transfer) within the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “the autonomous delivery platform 102 is a truck, but other vehicles may additionally or alternatively be used”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the system of Banvait to include an inventory management system managing inventory retained within the autonomous vehicle, the inventory including one or more cases, each case respectively containing one or more units, the inventory management system communicatively coupled to an inventory handler within the autonomous vehicle; as taught in Ruth with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable controlled storage, selection and positioning of units within the autonomous vehicle for retrieval by the UAV, thereby improving coordination between the vehicle and UAV during delivery operations and facilitating efficient transfer of items from the vehicle to the UAV. See para. [0036] of Ruth for motivation.
Ruth further discloses wherein the inventory management system is configured to, control
the inventory handler (see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “the mechanical package container interchange 116, illustrated as a robotic arm, is also coupled to the first energy storage device 112”) to position a first unit of the one or more units in a retrieval location (see at least para. [0011] of Ruthe which discloses “the first plurality of logistics parameters includes a package container pickup location and a package container destination location. In some embodiments, the primary route is generated for the autonomous delivery platform between the package container pickup location and an intermediary location” and see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “the mechanical package container interchange 116, illustrated as a robotic arm, is also coupled to the first energy storage device 112. In some embodiments, the mechanical package container interchange 116 may alternatively include one or more lifts, conveyor belts, rollers, and the like, configured to facilitate transfer of the package container 110 to or from the autonomous delivery platform 102. The mechanical package container interchange 116 includes a second delivery platform electromechanical interface 118, configured for mating with a package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110 and loading or offloading the package container 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102”).
Ruth further discloses control the first UAV, while in the retrieving position (see at least
para. [0011] of Ruthe which discloses a package container pickup location and a package container destination location. In some embodiments, the primary route is generated for the autonomous delivery platform between the package container pickup location and an intermediary location. In some embodiments, the intermediary position is geographically proximate the package container destination. In some embodiments, the secondary route is generated for the first multi-use vehicle between the intermediary location and the package container destination location” and see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “a destination may include GPS coordinates, a mailing address, an identifier of a package container reception point 108, or a location and identifier of a user associated with the package container 110”), to engage with the first unit (see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “the second multi-use vehicle 104 may be released to scout a surrounding area, and wirelessly communicate image and environmental data to the autonomous delivery platform 102. In some embodiments, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may transport two or more second multi-use vehicles 104); and control the first UAV, with the first unit engaged therewith, to withdraw from the autonomous vehicle for delivery of the first unit (see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “Accordingly, second multi-use vehicles 104 may be cycled between use and charge cycles, while at least one second multi-use vehicle 104 provides additional monitoring to the autonomous delivery platform 102. For example, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may be transporting package containers 110 through sever weather, such as a rain storm. Rain may partially obscure imaging data of collected by the autonomous delivery platform 102. Accordingly, one or more second multi-use vehicles 104 may be deployed to provide additional imaging and environmental data. By way of further example, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may be transporting package containers 110 through hazardous conditions, such as black ice, which may be difficult to detect and safely navigate. Accordingly, one or more second multi-use vehicles 104 may be deployed to identify hazardous conditions or other transportation obstacles, for example, with one or more imaging devices, environmental sensors, and the like, and perform collaborative real-time adaptive routing with the autonomous delivery platform 102”, * Ruth discloses transferring a package container from a vehicle to a UAV using a package manipulator, wherein the UAV receives (engages with ) the package container. Ruth further discloses that the UAV transports the package container to a destination. Examiner interprets receiving the package container as engaging with the unit and transporting the package as withdrawing from the vehicle for delivery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the UAV control system of Banvait, as modified by Ruth, to include wherein the inventory management system is configured to, control the inventory handler to position a first unit of the one or more units in a retrieval location and control the first UAV, while in the retrieving position, to engage with the first unit; and control the first UAV, with the first unit engaged therewith, to withdraw from the autonomous vehicle for delivery of the first unit, as further taught by Ruth with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable transfer of the unit from the autonomous vehicle to the UAV and subsequent delivery of the unit by the UAV, thereby facilitating coordinated retrieval and delivery operations between the vehicle and the UAV. See para. [0044] of Ruth for motivation.
Regarding claim 2, Banvait, as modified by Ruth, discloses wherein the inventory
management system is further configured to receive an order message, the order message including an identification of the first unit, the first unit contained within a first case of the one or more cases (see at least para. [0045] of Banvait which discloses “the release component 608 may provide a message to an aerial vehicle (e.g., using a wireless transceiver) indicating which package is to be delivered. For example, the message may include a serial number that matches a barcode on a package within a cargo area of the autonomous ground vehicle. Based on the message, the aerial vehicle may, in a resting or flying state, scan the packages to identify which package corresponds to the message. Messages may be provided via direct radio communication or via a network such as a local area network (LAN) for the autonomous vehicle or a wireless mobile network, such as those used by smartphones or other mobile communication devices. Based on the information in the message, the aerial vehicle may retrieve, attach to, or otherwise obtain the package and fly toward a delivery location. In one embodiment, the aerial vehicle and/or package may be within an enclosed cargo area and may need to exit the cargo area via a window. The release component 608 may generate a control signal to open or close a window of the automated vehicle to allow the one or more automated aerial vehicles to selectively enter or exit a cargo area of the automated ground vehicle. For example, at or about the same time the release component 608 sends a message with information to trigger departure of an aerial vehicle”, *Examiner interprets such delivery information as an order message including identification of a unit to be delivered, where the unit is contained within a package container).
Regarding claim 3, Banvait, as modified by Ruth discloses wherein the order message
further includes a delivery location, the UAV control system further configured to control the first UAV to deliver the first unit to the delivery location (see at least para. [0045] of Banvait which discloses “Based on the information in the message, the aerial vehicle may retrieve, attach to, or otherwise obtain the package and fly toward a delivery location. In one embodiment, the aerial vehicle and/or package may be within an enclosed cargo area and may need to exit the cargo area via a window. The release component 608 may generate a control signal to open or close a window of the automated vehicle to allow the one or more automated aerial vehicles to selectively enter or exit a cargo area of the automated ground vehicle. For example, at or about the same time the release component 608 sends a message with information to trigger departure of an aerial vehicle”, *Banvait discloses determining delivery locations and controlling UAVs to deliver items to those locations. Examiner interprets the delivery information as an order message including a delivery location, and the UAV delivery operation as controlling the UAV to deliver the unit to the delivery location).
Regarding claim 4, Banvait, as modified by Ruth, discloses wherein the inventory
management system is further configured to transmit a retrieval signal to the UAV control system, the retrieval signal causing the UAV control system to initiate control of the first UAV (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “the release component 608 may generate a control signal to send a wired or wireless message to an aerial vehicle to depart from a cargo area with a package for delivery. The release component 608 may determine a timing for release such that the aerial vehicle will be within a flight range of a delivery location”).
Regarding claim 5, Banvait, as modified by Ruth, discloses wherein the motion
characteristics include a location of the autonomous vehicle along the predetermined travel route (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route component 604 may compute a delivery route in advance of departure of an autonomous delivery vehicle”, *Examiner interprets the determination of the delivery route in advance to be a predetermined travel route), a heading of the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route may include a route through a middle of a plurality of delivery locations so that drones can fly in whatever direction necessary to accomplish delivery”), and a speed of the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “a speed of the automated ground vehicle (physical speed or progress rate of delivery”).
Regarding claim 9, Banvait discloses A method for middle-mile delivery using unmanned
aerial vehicles (UAVs) (see at least para. [0002] of Banvait which discloses “delivery using aerial vehicles or drones has been discussed. For example, systems such as Amazon Prime Air® propose the use of a drone to deliver a single package from a warehouse to a destination” and see at least para. [0011] of Banvait which discloses “an autonomous vehicle can carry numerous packages to a neighborhood and one or more drones can be dispatched from the vehicle to deliver packages at the same time. For example, the autonomous vehicle may carry a plurality of packages for a specific neighborhood and remain in or near the specific neighborhood until all packages have been delivered by the one or more drones”), the method comprising: controlling, by an autonomy computing system (see at least para. [0012] of Banvait which discloses “a control system for an automated vehicle may include an identification component, a delivery route component, a control component, and a release component. The identification component is configured to identify a plurality of delivery locations for package delivery. The delivery route component is configured to determine a driving route for an automated ground vehicle to optimize delivery to the delivery locations using one or more automated aerial vehicles” and see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route component 604 may compute a delivery route in advance of departure of an autonomous delivery vehicle or may periodically, or in real-time, compute or recomputed the delivery route to optimize delivery based on changing or unexpected conditions”, *This discloses a control system for an automated ground vehicle that determines routes and controls navigation during operation. Examiner interprets this as an autonomy computing system controlling operation while the vehicle is in motion) of an autonomous vehicle (Fig. 3, 306 and see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “an autonomous ground vehicle and a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306”), operation of the autonomous vehicle while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0050] of Banvait which discloses “A control component 606 controls 706 the automated ground vehicle to navigate the delivery route” and see at least para. [0052] of Banvait which discloses “determining a driving route for an automated ground vehicle to optimize delivery to the delivery locations using one or more automated aerial vehicles. The method includes controlling the automated ground vehicle to navigate the delivery route. The method also includes determining timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles during navigation of the delivery route to deliver packages to the plurality of delivery locations”, * Examiner interprets “during navigation of the delivery route” as indicating that the autonomous vehicle is in motion when UAVE operations occur. This discloses a control system for an automated ground vehicle that determines routes and controls navigation during operation. Examiner interprets this as an autonomy computing system controlling operation while the vehicle is in motion) with motion characteristics along a predetermined travel route (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route component 604 may compute a delivery route in advance of departure of an autonomous delivery vehicle”, *Examiner interprets the determination of the delivery route in advance to be a predetermined travel route) between two destinations (see at least para. [0050] of Banvait which discloses “A delivery route component 604 determines 704 a driving route for an automated ground vehicle to optimize delivery to the delivery locations using one or more automated aerial vehicles. A control component 606 controls 706 the automated ground vehicle to navigate the delivery route. A release component 608 determines 708 timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles during navigation of the delivery route to deliver packages to the plurality of delivery locations”, *Examiner interprets the plurality of delivery locations to correspond to two destinations and Examiner interprets the recited “motion characteristics along a predetermined travel route” to broadly include information describing movement of the autonomous vehicle along a route, such as position, velocity, direction, and/or route-based navigation data, as such information characterizes the motion of the vehicle during travel. In this connection, Examiner notes that para. [0047] of Applicant’s specification discloses “IMU 222 may be communicatively coupled to one or more other systems, for example, GNSS receiver 220 and may provide input to and receive output from GNSS receiver 220 such that autonomy computing system 120 is able to determine the motive characteristics (acceleration, speed/direction, orientation/attitude, etc.) of ACV 102”. *Examiner interprets the newly claimed motion characteristics, as broadly as recited, to encompass such motive characteristics, as both terms refer to parameters describing movement of the autonomous vehicle which is consistent with the specification at [0047]); retrieve, from the autonomy computing system, motion characteristic data of the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “A current location 304 of an autonomous ground vehicle and a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306 are illustrated. A plurality of delivery locations 308 (each marked with an X in the figure) is also shown. According to one embodiment, before or during navigation of a delivery route, the autonomous ground vehicle may determine an optimal delivery route based on the delivery locations 308” and see at least para. [0029] of Banvait which discloses “when an aerial vehicle 306 is out for delivery, the autonomous vehicle may periodically update the aerial vehicle 306 of the current location 304 so that the aerial vehicles 306 may know how to return to the autonomous vehicle”) to determine a retrieving position of a first UAV (see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306” and see at least para. [0035] of Banvait which discloses “one or more release times 508 for aerial vehicles to depart from an autonomous ground vehicle for delivery to delivery locations”) relative to the autonomous vehicle, the motion characteristic data including one or more of the motion characteristics controlling (Banvait discloses providing vehicle location and navigation information and coordinating UAV deployment based on such information (see para. [0027]-[0029], as discussed above. Examiner interprets the vehicle location, route and navigation data as “motion characteristic data” and further interprets the UAV coordination based on such stat as determining a retrieving position of the UAV relative to the vehicle and controlling the UAV to move to that position), by a UAV control system (see at least para. [0055] of Banvait which discloses “determining timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles … includes determining based on one or more of: current traffic conditions along the driving route; a flight range of an aerial vehicle of the one or more automated aerial vehicles; a speed of the automated ground vehicle; and one or more weather conditions”, *Examiner interprets this as a UAV control system).
Banvait may not explicitly disclose the autonomous vehicle having therein an inventory
and an inventory handler, the inventory including one or more cases, each case respectively containing one or more units; controlling, by an inventory management system communicatively coupled to the inventory handler, the inventory handler to position a first unit of the one or more units in a retrieval location.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ruth discloses the autonomous vehicle (see at least
para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “the autonomous delivery platform 102 is a truck, but other vehicles may additionally or alternatively be used”) having therein an inventory (see at least para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “an object in a package container 110”) and an inventory handler (Fig. 1, 116 and see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “the mechanical package container interchange 116, illustrated as a robotic arm, is also coupled to the first energy storage device 112. In some embodiments, the mechanical package container interchange 116 may alternatively include one or more lifts, conveyor belts, rollers, and the like, configured to facilitate transfer of the package container 110 to or from the autonomous delivery platform 102. The mechanical package container interchange 116 includes a second delivery platform electromechanical interface 118, configured for mating with a package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110 and loading or offloading the package container 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102”, *Examiner interprets the robotic arm/interchange as an inventory handler coupled to the system controlling the vehicle and package transfer), the inventory including one or more cases (Fig. 3, 110 and see at least para. [0040] of Ruth which discloses “package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform”), each case respectively containing one or more units (see at least para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “transporting an object in a package container 110”, *Examiner interprets the object in a package container to be the units in the package container/case, under the broadest reasonable interpretation); controlling, by an inventory management system (see at least para. [0040] of Ruth which discloses “package container reception point 108 may record a log of package container transfers” and see at least para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “a system 100 for package delivery … The system 100 includes an autonomous delivery platform 102, a first multi-use vehicle 106, a second multi-use vehicle 104, and a package container reception point 108. In the illustrated embodiment, the autonomous delivery platform 102 is a truck, but other vehicles may additionally or alternatively be used … The autonomous delivery platform 102 is configured for transporting an object in a package container 110” and see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “loading or offloading the package container 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102”, *Examiner interprets the autonomous delivery platform and associated control of package containers as an inventory management system managing inventory retained within the vehicle under the broadest reasonable interpretation) communicatively coupled to the inventory handler (see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “objects mated with the second delivery platform electromechanical interface 118 may be electrically coupled to one or more systems on the autonomous delivery platform 102, such as the first energy storage device 112”), the inventory handler to position a first unit of the one or more units in a retrieval location (see at least para. [0011] of Ruthe which discloses “the first plurality of logistics parameters includes a package container pickup location and a package container destination location. In some embodiments, the primary route is generated for the autonomous delivery platform between the package container pickup location and an intermediary location” and see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “the mechanical package container interchange 116, illustrated as a robotic arm, is also coupled to the first energy storage device 112. In some embodiments, the mechanical package container interchange 116 may alternatively include one or more lifts, conveyor belts, rollers, and the like, configured to facilitate transfer of the package container 110 to or from the autonomous delivery platform 102. The mechanical package container interchange 116 includes a second delivery platform electromechanical interface 118, configured for mating with a package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110 and loading or offloading the package container 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the method of Banvait to include the autonomous vehicle having therein an inventory and an inventory handler, the inventory including one or more cases, each case respectively containing one or more units; controlling, by an inventory management system communicatively coupled to the inventory handler, the inventory handler to position a first unit of the one or more units in a retrieval location; as taught in Ruth with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable controlled storage, selection and positioning of units within the autonomous vehicle for retrieval by the UAV, thereby improving coordination between the vehicle and UAV during delivery operations and facilitating efficient transfer of items from the vehicle to the UAV. See para. [0036] of Ruth for motivation.
Ruth further discloses the first UAV to position the first UAV in the retrieving position (see
at least para. [0011] of Ruth which discloses “a package container pickup location and a package container destination location. In some embodiments, the primary route is generated for the autonomous delivery platform between the package container pickup location and an intermediary location. In some embodiments, the intermediary position is geographically proximate the package container destination. In some embodiments, the secondary route is generated for the first multi-use vehicle between the intermediary location and the package container destination location”) relative to the autonomous vehicle; controlling, by the UAV control system, the first UAV, while in the retrieving position (see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “a destination may include GPS coordinates, a mailing address, an identifier of a package container reception point 108, or a location and identifier of a user associated with the package container 110”), to engage with the first unit; and controlling, by the UAV control system, the first UAV, with the first unit engaged therewith (see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “the second multi-use vehicle 104 may be released to scout a surrounding area, and wirelessly communicate image and environmental data to the autonomous delivery platform 102. In some embodiments, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may transport two or more second multi-use vehicles 104), to withdraw from the autonomous vehicle for delivery of the first unit (see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “Accordingly, second multi-use vehicles 104 may be cycled between use and charge cycles, while at least one second multi-use vehicle 104 provides additional monitoring to the autonomous delivery platform 102. For example, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may be transporting package containers 110 through sever weather, such as a rain storm. Rain may partially obscure imaging data of collected by the autonomous delivery platform 102. Accordingly, one or more second multi-use vehicles 104 may be deployed to provide additional imaging and environmental data. By way of further example, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may be transporting package containers 110 through hazardous conditions, such as black ice, which may be difficult to detect and safely navigate. Accordingly, one or more second multi-use vehicles 104 may be deployed to identify hazardous conditions or other transportation obstacles, for example, with one or more imaging devices, environmental sensors, and the like, and perform collaborative real-time adaptive routing with the autonomous delivery platform 102”, * Ruth discloses transferring a package container from a vehicle to a UAV using a package manipulator, wherein the UAV receives (engages with ) the package container. Ruth further discloses that the UAV transports the package container to a destination. Examiner interprets receiving the package container as engaging with the unit and transporting the package as withdrawing from the vehicle for delivery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the UAV control method of Banvait, as modified by Ruth, to include the first UAV to position the first UAV in the retrieving position relative to the autonomous vehicle; controlling, by the UAV control system, the first UAV, while in the retrieving position, to engage with the first unit; and controlling, by the UAV control system, the first UAV, with the first unit engaged therewith , to withdraw from the autonomous vehicle for delivery of the first unit, as further taught by Ruth with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable transfer of the unit from the autonomous vehicle to the UAV and subsequent delivery of the unit by the UAV, thereby facilitating coordinated retrieval and delivery operations between the vehicle and the UAV. See para. [0044] of Ruth for motivation.
Regarding claim 10, Banvait, as modified by Ruth, discloses further comprising receiving, by
the inventory management system, an order message, the order message including an identification of the first unit, the first unit contained within a first case of the one or more cases (see at least para. [0045] of Banvait which discloses “the release component 608 may provide a message to an aerial vehicle (e.g., using a wireless transceiver) indicating which package is to be delivered. For example, the message may include a serial number that matches a barcode on a package within a cargo area of the autonomous ground vehicle. Based on the message, the aerial vehicle may, in a resting or flying state, scan the packages to identify which package corresponds to the message. Messages may be provided via direct radio communication or via a network such as a local area network (LAN) for the autonomous vehicle or a wireless mobile network, such as those used by smartphones or other mobile communication devices. Based on the information in the message, the aerial vehicle may retrieve, attach to, or otherwise obtain the package and fly toward a delivery location. In one embodiment, the aerial vehicle and/or package may be within an enclosed cargo area and may need to exit the cargo area via a window. The release component 608 may generate a control signal to open or close a window of the automated vehicle to allow the one or more automated aerial vehicles to selectively enter or exit a cargo area of the automated ground vehicle. For example, at or about the same time the release component 608 sends a message with information to trigger departure of an aerial vehicle”, *Examiner interprets such delivery information as an order message including identification of a unit to be delivered, where the unit is contained within a package container).
Regarding claim 11, Banvait, as modified by Ruth discloses wherein the order message
further includes a delivery location, the method further comprising controlling by the UAV control system, the first UAV to deliver the first unit to the delivery location (see at least para. [0045] of Banvait which discloses “Based on the information in the message, the aerial vehicle may retrieve, attach to, or otherwise obtain the package and fly toward a delivery location. In one embodiment, the aerial vehicle and/or package may be within an enclosed cargo area and may need to exit the cargo area via a window. The release component 608 may generate a control signal to open or close a window of the automated vehicle to allow the one or more automated aerial vehicles to selectively enter or exit a cargo area of the automated ground vehicle. For example, at or about the same time the release component 608 sends a message with information to trigger departure of an aerial vehicle”, *Banvait discloses determining delivery locations and controlling UAVs to deliver items to those locations. Examiner interprets the delivery information as an order message including a delivery location, and the UAV delivery operation as controlling the UAV to deliver the unit to the delivery location).
Regarding claim 12, Banvait, as modified by Ruth, discloses transmitting, by the inventory
management system, a retrieval signal to the UAV control system, the retrieval signal causing the UAV control system to initiate control of the first UAV (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “the release component 608 may generate a control signal to send a wired or wireless message to an aerial vehicle to depart from a cargo area with a package for delivery. The release component 608 may determine a timing for release such that the aerial vehicle will be within a flight range of a delivery location”).
Regarding claim 13, Banvait, as modified by Ruth, discloses wherein the motion
characteristics include a location of the autonomous vehicle along the predetermined travel route (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route component 604 may compute a delivery route in advance of departure of an autonomous delivery vehicle”, *Examiner interprets the determination of the delivery route in advance to be a predetermined travel route), a heading of the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route may include a route through a middle of a plurality of delivery locations so that drones can fly in whatever direction necessary to accomplish delivery”), and a speed of the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “a speed of the automated ground vehicle (physical speed or progress rate of delivery”).
Regarding claim 15, Banvait discloses A delivery system (see at least para. [0002] of Banvait
which discloses “delivery using aerial vehicles or drones has been discussed. For example, systems such as Amazon Prime Air® propose the use of a drone to deliver a single package from a warehouse to a destination” and see at least para. [0011] of Banvait which discloses “an autonomous vehicle can carry numerous packages to a neighborhood and one or more drones can be dispatched from the vehicle to deliver packages at the same time. For example, the autonomous vehicle may carry a plurality of packages for a specific neighborhood and remain in or near the specific neighborhood until all packages have been delivered by the one or more drones”) comprising: an autonomous vehicle (Fig. 3, 306 and see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “an autonomous ground vehicle and a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306”) comprising an autonomy computing system (see at least para. [0012] of Banvait which discloses “a control system for an automated vehicle may include an identification component, a delivery route component, a control component, and a release component. The identification component is configured to identify a plurality of delivery locations for package delivery. The delivery route component is configured to determine a driving route for an automated ground vehicle to optimize delivery to the delivery locations using one or more automated aerial vehicles” and see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route component 604 may compute a delivery route in advance of departure of an autonomous delivery vehicle or may periodically, or in real-time, compute or recomputed the delivery route to optimize delivery based on changing or unexpected conditions”, *This discloses a control system for an automated ground vehicle that determines routes and controls navigation during operation. Examiner interprets this as an autonomy computing system controlling operation while the vehicle is in motion)configured to control operation of the autonomous vehicle while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0050] of Banvait which discloses “A control component 606 controls 706 the automated ground vehicle to navigate the delivery route” and see at least para. [0052] of Banvait which discloses “determining a driving route for an automated ground vehicle to optimize delivery to the delivery locations using one or more automated aerial vehicles. The method includes controlling the automated ground vehicle to navigate the delivery route. The method also includes determining timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles during navigation of the delivery route to deliver packages to the plurality of delivery locations”, * Examiner interprets “during navigation of the delivery route” as indicating that the autonomous vehicle is in motion when UAVE operations occur. This discloses a control system for an automated ground vehicle that determines routes and controls navigation during operation. Examiner interprets this as an autonomy computing system controlling operation while the vehicle is in motion) with motion characteristics along a predetermined travel route (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route component 604 may compute a delivery route in advance of departure of an autonomous delivery vehicle”, *Examiner interprets the determination of the delivery route in advance to be a predetermined travel route) between two destinations (see at least para. [0050] of Banvait which discloses “A delivery route component 604 determines 704 a driving route for an automated ground vehicle to optimize delivery to the delivery locations using one or more automated aerial vehicles. A control component 606 controls 706 the automated ground vehicle to navigate the delivery route. A release component 608 determines 708 timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles during navigation of the delivery route to deliver packages to the plurality of delivery locations”, *Examiner interprets the plurality of delivery locations to correspond to two destinations and Examiner interprets the recited “motion characteristics along a predetermined travel route” to broadly include information describing movement of the autonomous vehicle along a route, such as position, velocity, direction, and/or route-based navigation data, as such information characterizes the motion of the vehicle during travel. In this connection, Examiner notes that para. [0047] of Applicant’s specification discloses “IMU 222 may be communicatively coupled to one or more other systems, for example, GNSS receiver 220 and may provide input to and receive output from GNSS receiver 220 such that autonomy computing system 120 is able to determine the motive characteristics (acceleration, speed/direction, orientation/attitude, etc.) of ACV 102”. *Examiner interprets the newly claimed motion characteristics, as broadly as recited, to encompass such motive characteristics, as both terms refer to parameters describing movement of the autonomous vehicle which is consistent with the specification at [0047]), a first unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306” and see at least para. [0035] of Banvait which discloses “one or more release times 508 for aerial vehicles to depart from an autonomous ground vehicle for delivery to delivery locations”); and a UAV control system (see at least para. [0055] of Banvait which discloses “determining timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles … includes determining based on one or more of: current traffic conditions along the driving route; a flight range of an aerial vehicle of the one or more automated aerial vehicles; a speed of the automated ground vehicle; and one or more weather conditions”, *Examiner interprets this as a UAV control system) configured to control operation of the first UAV (see at least para. [0035] of Banvait which discloses “one or more release times 508 for aerial vehicles to depart from an autonomous ground vehicle for delivery to delivery locations”), the UAV control system configured to, while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0052] of Banvait which discloses “the method also includes determining timing for release of the one or more automated aerial vehicles during navigation of the delivery route to deliver packages to the plurality of delivery locations”, *This discloses a control system for an automated ground vehicle that determines routes and controls navigation during operation. Examiner interprets “during navigation of the delivery route” as indicating that the autonomous vehicle is in motion when UAVE operations occur. Also, this as an autonomy computing system controlling operation while the vehicle is in motion) retrieve, from the autonomy computing system, motion characteristic data of the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “A current location 304 of an autonomous ground vehicle and a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306 are illustrated. A plurality of delivery locations 308 (each marked with an X in the figure) is also shown. According to one embodiment, before or during navigation of a delivery route, the autonomous ground vehicle may determine an optimal delivery route based on the delivery locations 308” and see at least para. [0029] of Banvait which discloses “when an aerial vehicle 306 is out for delivery, the autonomous vehicle may periodically update the aerial vehicle 306 of the current location 304 so that the aerial vehicles 306 may know how to return to the autonomous vehicle”) to determine a retrieving position of the first UAV (see at least para. [0027] of Banvait which discloses “a plurality of autonomous aerial vehicles 306” and see at least para. [0035] of Banvait which discloses “one or more release times 508 for aerial vehicles to depart from an autonomous ground vehicle for delivery to delivery locations”) relative to the autonomous vehicle, the motion characteristic data including one or more of the motion characteristics (Banvait discloses providing vehicle location and navigation information and coordinating UAV deployment based on such information (see para. [0027]-[0029], as discussed above. Examiner interprets the vehicle location, route and navigation data as “motion characteristic data” and further interprets the UAV coordination based on such stat as determining a retrieving position of the UAV relative to the vehicle and controlling the UAV to move to that position).
Banvait may not explicitly disclose the autonomous vehicle containing an inventory and an
inventory handler, the inventory including one or more cases, each case respectively containing one or more units; an inventory management system configured to manage the inventory and being communicatively coupled to the inventory handler, the inventory management system configured to, while the autonomous vehicle is in motion, control the inventory handler to position a first unit of the one or more units in a retrieval location.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ruth discloses the autonomous vehicle (see at least
para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “the autonomous delivery platform 102 is a truck, but other vehicles may additionally or alternatively be used”) containing an inventory (see at least para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “an object in a package container 110”) and an inventory handler (Fig. 1, 116 and see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “the mechanical package container interchange 116, illustrated as a robotic arm, is also coupled to the first energy storage device 112. In some embodiments, the mechanical package container interchange 116 may alternatively include one or more lifts, conveyor belts, rollers, and the like, configured to facilitate transfer of the package container 110 to or from the autonomous delivery platform 102. The mechanical package container interchange 116 includes a second delivery platform electromechanical interface 118, configured for mating with a package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110 and loading or offloading the package container 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102”, *Examiner interprets the robotic arm/interchange as an inventory handler coupled to the system controlling the vehicle and package transfer), the inventory including one or more cases (Fig. 3, 110 and see at least para. [0040] of Ruth which discloses “package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform”), each case respectively containing one or more units (see at least para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “transporting an object in a package container 110”, *Examiner interprets the object in a package container to be the units in the package container/case, under the broadest reasonable interpretation); an inventory management system (see at least para. [0040] of Ruth which discloses “package container reception point 108 may record a log of package container transfers” and see at least para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “a system 100 for package delivery … The system 100 includes an autonomous delivery platform 102, a first multi-use vehicle 106, a second multi-use vehicle 104, and a package container reception point 108. In the illustrated embodiment, the autonomous delivery platform 102 is a truck, but other vehicles may additionally or alternatively be used … The autonomous delivery platform 102 is configured for transporting an object in a package container 110” and see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “loading or offloading the package container 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102”, *Examiner interprets the autonomous delivery platform and associated control of package containers as an inventory management system managing inventory retained within the vehicle under the broadest reasonable interpretation) configured to manage the inventory and being communicatively coupled to the inventory handler (see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “objects mated with the second delivery platform electromechanical interface 118 may be electrically coupled to one or more systems on the autonomous delivery platform 102, such as the first energy storage device 112”), the inventory management system configured to, while the autonomous vehicle is in motion, control the inventory handler to position a first unit of the one or more units in a retrieval location (see at least para. [0011] of Ruthe which discloses “the first plurality of logistics parameters includes a package container pickup location and a package container destination location. In some embodiments, the primary route is generated for the autonomous delivery platform between the package container pickup location and an intermediary location” and see at least para. [0037] of Ruth which discloses “the mechanical package container interchange 116, illustrated as a robotic arm, is also coupled to the first energy storage device 112. In some embodiments, the mechanical package container interchange 116 may alternatively include one or more lifts, conveyor belts, rollers, and the like, configured to facilitate transfer of the package container 110 to or from the autonomous delivery platform 102. The mechanical package container interchange 116 includes a second delivery platform electromechanical interface 118, configured for mating with a package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110 and loading or offloading the package container 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102”).
Ruth further discloses control the first UAV to retrieve the first unit at the retrieving
position (see a least para. [0011] of Ruth which discloses “ a package container pickup location and a package container destination location. In some embodiments, the primary route is generated for the autonomous delivery platform between the package container pickup location and an intermediary location. In some embodiments, the intermediary position is geographically proximate the package container destination. In some embodiments, the secondary route is generated for the first multi-use vehicle between the intermediary location and the package container destination location” and see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “a destination may include GPS coordinates, a mailing address, an identifier of a package container reception point 108, or a location and identifier of a user associated with the package container 110” and see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “the second multi-use vehicle 104 may be released to scout a surrounding area, and wirelessly communicate image and environmental data to the autonomous delivery platform 102. In some embodiments, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may transport two or more second multi-use vehicles 104); and control the first UAV to withdraw from the autonomous vehicle for delivery of the first unit (see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “Accordingly, second multi-use vehicles 104 may be cycled between use and charge cycles, while at least one second multi-use vehicle 104 provides additional monitoring to the autonomous delivery platform 102. For example, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may be transporting package containers 110 through sever weather, such as a rain storm. Rain may partially obscure imaging data of collected by the autonomous delivery platform 102. Accordingly, one or more second multi-use vehicles 104 may be deployed to provide additional imaging and environmental data. By way of further example, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may be transporting package containers 110 through hazardous conditions, such as black ice, which may be difficult to detect and safely navigate. Accordingly, one or more second multi-use vehicles 104 may be deployed to identify hazardous conditions or other transportation obstacles, for example, with one or more imaging devices, environmental sensors, and the like, and perform collaborative real-time adaptive routing with the autonomous delivery platform 102”, * Ruth discloses transferring a package container from a vehicle to a UAV using a package manipulator, wherein the UAV receives (engages with ) the package container. Ruth further discloses that the UAV transports the package container to a destination. Examiner interprets receiving the package container as engaging with the unit and transporting the package as withdrawing from the vehicle for delivery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the delivery system of Banvait, as modified by Ruth, to control the first UAV to retrieve the first unit at the retrieving position; and control the first UAV to withdraw from the autonomous vehicle for delivery of the first unit, as further taught by Ruth with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable transfer of the unit from the autonomous vehicle to the UAV and subsequent delivery of the unit by the UAV, thereby facilitating coordinated retrieval and delivery operations between the vehicle and the UAV. See para. [0044] of Ruth for motivation.
Regarding claim 16, Banvait, as modified by Ruth, discloses wherein the UAV control system
is further configured to control the first UAV to: assume the retrieving position (see at least para. [0011] of Ruth which discloses a package container pickup location and a package container destination location. In some embodiments, the primary route is generated for the autonomous delivery platform between the package container pickup location and an intermediary location. In some embodiments, the intermediary position is geographically proximate the package container destination. In some embodiments, the secondary route is generated for the first multi-use vehicle between the intermediary location and the package container destination location” and see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “a destination may include GPS coordinates, a mailing address, an identifier of a package container reception point 108, or a location and identifier of a user associated with the package container 110”) relative to the autonomous vehicle; engage with the first unit (see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “the second multi-use vehicle 104 may be released to scout a surrounding area, and wirelessly communicate image and environmental data to the autonomous delivery platform 102. In some embodiments, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may transport two or more second multi-use vehicles 104) while in the retrieving position; and withdrawn withdraw from the autonomous vehicle with the first unit engaged therewith (see at least para. [0044] of Ruth which discloses “Accordingly, second multi-use vehicles 104 may be cycled between use and charge cycles, while at least one second multi-use vehicle 104 provides additional monitoring to the autonomous delivery platform 102. For example, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may be transporting package containers 110 through sever weather, such as a rain storm. Rain may partially obscure imaging data of collected by the autonomous delivery platform 102. Accordingly, one or more second multi-use vehicles 104 may be deployed to provide additional imaging and environmental data. By way of further example, the autonomous delivery platform 102 may be transporting package containers 110 through hazardous conditions, such as black ice, which may be difficult to detect and safely navigate. Accordingly, one or more second multi-use vehicles 104 may be deployed to identify hazardous conditions or other transportation obstacles, for example, with one or more imaging devices, environmental sensors, and the like, and perform collaborative real-time adaptive routing with the autonomous delivery platform 102”, * Ruth discloses transferring a package container from a vehicle to a UAV using a package manipulator, wherein the UAV receives (engages with ) the package container. Ruth further discloses that the UAV transports the package container to a destination. Examiner interprets receiving the package container as engaging with the unit and transporting the package as withdrawing from the vehicle for delivery).
Regarding claim 17, Banvait, as modified by Ruth, discloses wherein the inventory
management system is further configured to receive an order message, the order message including an identification of the first unit, the first unit contained within a first case of the one or more cases (see at least para. [0045] of Banvait which discloses “the release component 608 may provide a message to an aerial vehicle (e.g., using a wireless transceiver) indicating which package is to be delivered. For example, the message may include a serial number that matches a barcode on a package within a cargo area of the autonomous ground vehicle. Based on the message, the aerial vehicle may, in a resting or flying state, scan the packages to identify which package corresponds to the message. Messages may be provided via direct radio communication or via a network such as a local area network (LAN) for the autonomous vehicle or a wireless mobile network, such as those used by smartphones or other mobile communication devices. Based on the information in the message, the aerial vehicle may retrieve, attach to, or otherwise obtain the package and fly toward a delivery location. In one embodiment, the aerial vehicle and/or package may be within an enclosed cargo area and may need to exit the cargo area via a window. The release component 608 may generate a control signal to open or close a window of the automated vehicle to allow the one or more automated aerial vehicles to selectively enter or exit a cargo area of the automated ground vehicle. For example, at or about the same time the release component 608 sends a message with information to trigger departure of an aerial vehicle”, *Examiner interprets such delivery information as an order message including identification of a unit to be delivered, where the unit is contained within a package container), and wherein the order message further includes a delivery location, the UAV control system further configured to control the first UAV to deliver the first unit to the delivery location (see at least para. [0045] of Banvait which discloses “Based on the information in the message, the aerial vehicle may retrieve, attach to, or otherwise obtain the package and fly toward a delivery location. In one embodiment, the aerial vehicle and/or package may be within an enclosed cargo area and may need to exit the cargo area via a window. The release component 608 may generate a control signal to open or close a window of the automated vehicle to allow the one or more automated aerial vehicles to selectively enter or exit a cargo area of the automated ground vehicle. For example, at or about the same time the release component 608 sends a message with information to trigger departure of an aerial vehicle”, *Banvait discloses determining delivery locations and controlling UAVs to deliver items to those locations. Examiner interprets the delivery information as an order message including a delivery location, and the UAV delivery operation as controlling the UAV to deliver the unit to the delivery location.).
Regarding claim 20, Banvait, as modified by Ruth discloses wherein the inventory
management system is further configured to transmit a retrieval signal to the UAV control system, wherein the motion characteristics include location of the autonomous vehicle along the predetermined travel route (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route component 604 may compute a delivery route in advance of departure of an autonomous delivery vehicle”, *Examiner interprets the determination of the delivery route in advance to be a predetermined travel route), a heading of the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route may include a route through a middle of a plurality of delivery locations so that drones can fly in whatever direction necessary to accomplish delivery”), and a speed of the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “a speed of the automated ground vehicle (physical speed or progress rate of delivery”), and wherein the UAV control system is further configured to, in response to receiving the retrieval signal: receive location, heading (see at least para. [0041] of Banvait which discloses “the delivery route may include a route through a middle of a plurality of delivery locations so that drones can fly in whatever direction necessary to accomplish delivery”), and speed (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “a speed of the automated ground vehicle (physical speed or progress rate of delivery”) the motion characteristic data from the autonomy computing system to determine the retrieval position of the first UAV; and initiate control of the first UAV (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “the release component 608 may generate a control signal to send a wired or wireless message to an aerial vehicle to depart from a cargo area with a package for delivery. The release component 608 may determine a timing for release such that the aerial vehicle will be within a flight range of a delivery location”).
Claims 6-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banvait (US 2019/0220819 A1) in view of Ruth (US 2019/0220044 A1) and further in view of Tokhtabaev (US 2020/0019925A1).
Regarding claim 6, Banvait, in view of Ruth discloses the one or more units (see at least
para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “transporting an object in a package container 110”, *Examiner interprets the object in a package container to be the units in the package container/case, under the broadest reasonable interpretation), and the inventory management system (see at least para. [0040] of Ruth which discloses “package container reception point 108 may record a log of package container transfers”).
Banvait, as modified by Ruth, may not explicitly disclose wherein each unit of the one or
more units comprises a respective computer-readable identifier, and wherein the inventory management system further comprises a scanner configured to read the computer-readable identifier.
However, Tokhtabaev discloses units comprising a respective computer-readable identifier
(see at least para. [0025] of Tokhtabaev which discloses “The customer may also be asked to enter other information about the package 44, such as the size (dimensions) and approximate weight, for example. The QWQER app then provides a unique QR code or other unique identifier to the smart phone 42 of the customer 40”, *Examiner interprets the package as a unit under the broadest reasonable interpretation), and wherein the inventory management system further comprises a scanner (Fig. 2B, 26 and see at least para. [0046] of Tokhtabaev which discloses “The scanner 26 reads the QR code”) configured to read the computer-readable identifier (see at least para. [0046] of Tokhtabaev which discloses “The scanner 26 reads the QR code”, *Examiner interprets the system including the scanner as an inventory management system, as it identifies and tracks items using identifiers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the delivery system of Banvait, as modified by Ruth, to include each unit of the one or more units comprises a respective computer-readable identifier, and wherein the inventory management system further comprises a scanner configured to read the computer-readable identifier as taught in Tokhtabaev with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively track the location and position of cargo within the cargo vehicle. See para. [0028] and [0046] of Tokhtabaev for motivation.
Regarding claim 7, Banvait, as modified by Ruth discloses each case(see at least para. [0036]
of Ruth which discloses “transporting an object in a package container 110”, *Examiner interprets the object in a package container to be the units in the package container/case, under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Banvait, as modified by Ruth, may not explicitly disclose wherein each case of the one or
more cases comprises a respective computer-readable identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tokhtabaev discloses wherein each case of the one
or more cases comprises a respective computer-readable identifier (see at least para. [0025] of Tokhtabaev which discloses “The customer may also be asked to enter other information about the package 44, such as the size (dimensions) and approximate weight, for example. The QWQER app then provides a unique QR code or other unique identifier to the smart phone 42 of the customer 40”, *Examiner interprets the package as a unit under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the delivery system of Banvait, as modified by Ruth, to include wherein each case of the one or more cases comprises a respective computer-readable identifier as taught in Tokhtabaev with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively track the location and position of cargo within the cargo vehicle. See para. [0028] and [0046] of Tokhtabaev for motivation.
Regarding claim 18, Banvait, in view of Ruth discloses the one or more units (see at least
para. [0036] of Ruth which discloses “transporting an object in a package container 110”, *Examiner interprets the object in a package container to be the units in the package container/case, under the broadest reasonable interpretation), and the inventory management system (see at least para. [0040] of Ruth which discloses “package container reception point 108 may record a log of package container transfers”).
Banvait, as modified by Ruth, may not explicitly disclose wherein each unit of the one or
more units comprises a respective computer-readable identifier, and wherein the inventory management system further comprises a scanner positioned within the autonomous vehicle configured to read the computer-readable identifier.
However, Tokhtabaev discloses units comprising a respective computer-readable identifier
(see at least para. [0025] of Tokhtabaev which discloses “The customer may also be asked to enter other information about the package 44, such as the size (dimensions) and approximate weight, for example. The QWQER app then provides a unique QR code or other unique identifier to the smart phone 42 of the customer 40”, *Examiner interprets the package as a unit under the broadest reasonable interpretation), and wherein the inventory management system further comprises a scanner (Fig. 2B, 26 and see at least para. [0046] of Tokhtabaev which discloses “The scanner 26 reads the QR code”) positioned within the autonomous vehicle (see at least para. [0023] of Tokhtabaev which discloses “including a lockbox 22 mounted thereupon. The lockbox 22 is shown as being mounted on the roof of the vehicles 20, but could as easily be mounted in the bed of a pickup truck, on the trunk of the vehicle 20, or other location”, *Examiner notes that the scanner 26 is in the lockbox 22) configured to read the computer-readable identifier (see at least para. [0046] of Tokhtabaev which discloses “The scanner 26 reads the QR code”, *Examiner interprets the system including the scanner as an inventory management system, as it identifies and tracks items using identifiers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the delivery system of Banvait, as modified by Ruth, to include each unit of the one or more units comprises a respective computer-readable identifier, and wherein the inventory management system further comprises a scanner configured to read the computer-readable identifier as taught in Tokhtabaev with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively track the location and position of cargo within the cargo vehicle. See para. [0028] and [0046] of Tokhtabaev for motivation.
Claims 8, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banvait (US 2019/0220819 A1) in view of Ruth (US 2019/0220044 A1) and further in view of Willis (US 2018/0297607A1).
Regarding claim 8, Banvait, as modified by Ruth discloses wherein the autonomy computing
system is configured to control the autonomous vehicle to move while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “current traffic conditions along the driving route, a speed of the automated ground vehicle (physical speed or progress rate of delivery”, *Examiner interprets such a vehicle as being capable of traveling at highway speeds, as delivery routes include roadways and highways on which such vehicles are designed to operate).
Banvait, as modified by Ruth, may not explicitly disclose controlling the autonomous vehicle
to move at highway speeds while the autonomous vehicle is in motion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Willis discloses controlling the autonomous vehicle
to move at highway speeds (see at least para. [0046] of Willis which discloses “highway speeds“) while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0046] of Willis which discloses “the different conditions of usage of the vehicle include different expected travel distances of the vehicle, where the multiple parameter sets 108 can control adjustment of one or more respective adjustable elements of the vehicle for the respective different travel distances (e.g., adjust the engine and transmission for optimal performance at highway speeds”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the delivery system of Banvait, as modified by Ruth, to include controlling the autonomous vehicle to move at highway speeds while the autonomous vehicle is in motion as taught in Willis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to pick up cargo from an autonomous cargo vehicle, while the autonomous cargo vehicle may be in motion at highway speeds. See para. [0046] of Willis for motivation.
Regarding claim 14, Banvait, as modified by Ruth discloses wherein controlling the
operation of the autonomous vehicle comprising controlling, by the autonomy computing system, the autonomous vehicle to move while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “current traffic conditions along the driving route, a speed of the automated ground vehicle (physical speed or progress rate of delivery”, *Examiner interprets such a vehicle as being capable of traveling at highway speeds, as delivery routes include roadways and highways on which such vehicles are designed to operate).
Banvait, as modified by Ruth, may not explicitly disclose controlling the autonomous vehicle
to move at highway speeds while the autonomous vehicle is in motion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Willis discloses controlling the autonomous vehicle
to move at highway speeds (see at least para. [0046] of Willis which discloses “highway speeds“) while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0046] of Willis which discloses “the different conditions of usage of the vehicle include different expected travel distances of the vehicle, where the multiple parameter sets 108 can control adjustment of one or more respective adjustable elements of the vehicle for the respective different travel distances (e.g., adjust the engine and transmission for optimal performance at highway speeds”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the delivery system of Banvait, as modified by Ruth, to include controlling the autonomous vehicle to move at highway speeds while the autonomous vehicle is in motion as taught in Willis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to pick up cargo from an autonomous cargo vehicle, while the autonomous cargo vehicle may be in motion at highway speeds. See para. [0046] of Willis for motivation.
Regarding claim 19, Banvait, as modified by Ruth discloses wherein the autonomy
computing system is further configured to control the autonomous vehicle to move while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0044] of Banvait which discloses “current traffic conditions along the driving route, a speed of the automated ground vehicle (physical speed or progress rate of delivery”, *Examiner interprets such a vehicle as being capable of traveling at highway speeds, as delivery routes include roadways and highways on which such vehicles are designed to operate).
Banvait, as modified by Ruth, may not explicitly disclose controlling the autonomous vehicle
to move at highway speeds while the autonomous vehicle is in motion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Willis discloses controlling the autonomous vehicle
to move at highway speeds (see at least para. [0046] of Willis which discloses “highway speeds“) while the autonomous vehicle is in motion (see at least para. [0046] of Willis which discloses “the different conditions of usage of the vehicle include different expected travel distances of the vehicle, where the multiple parameter sets 108 can control adjustment of one or more respective adjustable elements of the vehicle for the respective different travel distances (e.g., adjust the engine and transmission for optimal performance at highway speeds”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the delivery system of Banvait, as modified by Ruth, to include controlling the autonomous vehicle to move at highway speeds while the autonomous vehicle is in motion as taught in Willis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to pick up cargo from an autonomous cargo vehicle, while the autonomous cargo vehicle may be in motion at highway speeds. See para. [0046] of Willis for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Studnicka (US 10,783,478 B2) discloses a system that controls and manages package deliveries with a UAV device. In some examples, the system may receive a package delivery request with information about the package. The information about the package may include dimensions, weight, type of item(s) in the package, special handling instructions, and/or other properties. Based on these properties, the system may assign the package to a UAV device for conducting the delivery. For example, the system may select a UAV with sufficient capacity to carry the weight of the package. In some examples, the selection of the UAV device may depend on other factors as well. For example, if there are several facilities housing UAV devices, the system may select a UAV device in a facility closest to the delivery location. Foggia (US 12,037,117 B2) discloses techniques for payload delivery from aerial vehicles such as drones that alleviate the problems associated with landing the aerial vehicle at a delivery site and therefore avoid many of the challenges described above. Specifically techniques are introduced for payload-based control of an aerial vehicle that autonomously maneuvers an aerial vehicle while lowering a payload (e.g., a removably tethered parcel payload) towards a delivery site while the vehicle remains in a safe position above the delivery site. As described herein, the term “autonomous” (including variations of this term) comprises fully-autonomous interactions (without interaction with a person during flight and/or delivery operations) and partially-autonomous interactions (with at least some interaction with a person during flight and/or delivery operations).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/April 1, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662