DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 11 line 4 “linear” should be “linearly” and claim 15 line 4 “provide” should be “provided”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially parallel” in claim 7 line 4 and claim 18 line 10 and the term “substantially orthogonal” in claim 17 line 8 and claim 18 line 8 are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes the terms will be interpreted as parallel and orthogonal.
Regarding Claim 20, it is unclear if the step of “offsetting” is claimed and what structures causes the “offsetting” or if the claim is attempting to recite that the manipulators are offset. For examination purposes “offsetting” will be interpreted as actively moving the manipulators to an offset position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13, 14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (CN 203820415 U) in view of Chen et al. (CN 113023313 A, hereafter Chen)
Regarding Claim 1, Song discloses a system for moving heavy weldment, comprising:
discloses a system for moving heavy objects, comprising:
a first manipulator longitudinally aligned and spaced apart along a central axis (Figure 1: 11);
a second manipulator longitudinally aligned and spaced apart along the central axis and being transversely opposite to the set to the first manipulator relative to the central axis (Figure 1: 21);
wherein each manipulator of the first and second manipulator comprises:
a base operably engaged with the ground surface (Figure 1: first base 12, second base 22); and
a pivot frame rotatably engaged with the base between a seated position and raised position (Figure 1: first pivot frame is 112 and 111, second pivot frame is 212 and 211), wherein the pivot frame is configured to hold and move the heavy weldment about the central axis (Figures 2-5).
Song does not disclose there are multiple first and second manipulators.
Chen discloses a heavy load station automatic turning displacement mechanism that has multiple first and second flippers (Figure 1: first flippers 101 and second flippers 201) for the purpose of assembling and welding large parts in one go (Paragraph 2).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of M-Konstruktor by using multiple manipulators as disclosed by Chen for the purpose of assembling and welding large parts in one go.
Regarding Claim 2, Song in view of Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators further comprises:
a pivot bar (Song Figure 1 and 2-5: the rotating mechanisms 113 and 213 pivots along an axis seen in Figures 2-5 to allow rotation while connected to the frames 12 and 22, the rotation mechanisms function as a pivot bar);
a first engagement structure (Song Figure 1: first engagement structure for first manipulator 112, first engagement structure for second manipulator 212) operably engaged with the pivot bar; and
a second engagement structure (Song Figure 1: second engagement structure for first manipulator 111, second engagement structure for second manipulator 211) operably engaged with the first engagement structure;
wherein one or both of the first engagement structure and the second engagement structure cooperatively holds the heavy weldment (Figures 2, 4, and 6)
Regarding Claim 3, Song in view of Chen discloses the limitations of claim 2. The combination as applied in claim 2 discloses the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators further comprises:
a first end of the first engagement structure (Song Figure 1: both 112 and 212 have a first end at the furthest point away from each respective pivot bar);
a second end of the first engagement structure opposite to the first end and engaging with the pivot bar (Song Figure 1: both 112 and 212 have an end that is close to the pivot bar); and
first inner surface of the first engagement structure extending between the first end and the second end (Song Figure 1: both ends of 112 and 212 create a first inner surface).
Regarding Claim 4, Song in view of Chen discloses the limitations of claim 3. The combination as applied in claim 3 discloses the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators further comprises:
a first end of the second engagement structure (Song Figure 1: both 111 and 211 have a first end at the furthest point away from each respective pivot bar);
a second end of the second engagement structure opposite to the first end and engaging with the first engagement structure (Song Figure 1: both 112 and 212 have an end that is close to the pivot bar); and
a second inner surface of the second engagement structure extending between the first end and the second end (Song Figure 1: both ends of 112 and 212 create a first inner surface);
wherein the first inner surface and the second inner surface engage with the heavy weldment and are orthogonal to one another (Song Figure 1: 112 and 111 are orthogonal to each other and 212 and 211 are orthogonal to each other).
Regarding Claim 5, Song in view of Chen discloses the limitations of claim 4. The combination as applied in claim 4 discloses the pivot frame of each manipulator of one or both of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators is provided in the seated position, the second inner surface is positioned vertically above the first inner surface (Song Figure 2: shows the first manipulator in the seated position and the second inner surface is vertically above the first inner surface, Song Figure 5 show the second manipulator in the seated position and the second inner surface is vertically above the first inner surface).
Regarding Claim 6, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 4, The combination as applied in claim 4 discloses the pivot frame of each manipulator of one or both of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators is provided in the raised position, the first inner surface is positioned vertically above the second inner surface (Song Figure 1: shows both manipulators 11 and 21 in the raised position with and the first inner surfaces are above the second inner surfaces).
Regarding Claim 7, Song in view of Chen discloses the limitations of claim 4. The combination as applied in claim 4 discloses the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators is provided in the raised position, the second inner surfaces of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators are substantially parallel with one another (Song Figure 1: both manipulators are raised and the inner surfaces created by 111 and 211 are parallel to one another).
Regarding Claim 8, Song in view of Chen discloses the limitations of claim 2. The combination as applied in claim 2 discloses each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators further comprises:
at least one pivoting actuator operably engaged with the base and the pivot frame for rotating the pivot frame from the seated position to the raised position (Song Figure 1: first manipulator 11 uses actuators 12 and 14 to turn and the actuators are fixed to the base 12 through a cylinder fixing base 15, Song Paragraph 45, the second manipulator 21 uses actuators 24 and 23 to turn and the actuators are fixed to the base22 through the cylinder fixing base 25, Song Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claim 9, Song in view of Chen discloses the limitations of claim 8. The combination as applied in claim 8 discloses the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators further comprises:
least one tubular support of the first engagement structure that is spaced apart from the pivot bar and engages with the at least one pivoting actuator (Song Figure 1: the actuators 13, 14, 24, 23 are hydraulic cylinders and are connected to the rotating mechanisms 113 and 213, the cylinders are tube shaped and are the rotating mechanism acts as a support that they are connected to, Song Paragraphs 23 and 26);
Regarding Claim 10, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 3. The combination as applied in claim 3 discloses the base of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators further comprises:
at least one projection operably engages with the base and the at least one pivoting actuator and is positioned below the base and the pivot frame (Song Figure 1: the hydraulic fixing seats 15 and 25 are projections that emerges with the base and the cylinders 13, 14, 23, 24 are connected to the fixing seats, Song Paragraph 44 and 47).
Regarding Claim 11, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 3. The combination as applied in claim 3 discloses each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators further comprises:
at least one transfer actuator operably engaged with the pivot frame (Song Figure 1: first manipulator transfer actuator 4, second manipulator transfer actuator 5);
wherein the at least one transfer actuator is configured to linear move the heavy weldment (Song Paragraph 53 and 55, Song Figures 4 and 5: show the actuators causing linear movement).
Regarding Claim 13, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 disclose the set of first manipulators and the second set of manipulators are longitudinally offset to one another (Song Figure 1: the manipulators are longitudinally offset to one another).
Regarding Claim 14, Song discloses a method for moving heavy weldment comprising
engaging a first web of a heavy weldment with a first manipulator (Figure 1: first manipulator 11, second manipulator 21, Paragraph 55: the object is first placed on the first table or first manipulator, the first web would be the side of the object that is in contact with the third turning frame 112 seen in Figure 3);
actuating the first manipulator from a first seated position to a first raised position (Figure 1: first manipulator actuators 13, 14, second manipulator actuators 23, 24, Paragraph 45: actuators 13 and 14 are responsible for turning the first table 11, Paragraph 48: actuators 23 and 24 are responsible for turning the second table 21, Paragraph 55: the first manipulator 11 is turned after the object is placed on it, Figures 2 and 3 show the manipulator moving from a seated to a raised position);
actuating the second manipulator from a second seated position to a second raised position (Paragraph 55: the second manipulator is in the raised position already but to be in the raised position it must have been actuated);
moving the heavy weldment from the first manipulator to the second manipulator (Figure 1: the first manipulator 11 has a first pushing actuator 4, second manipulator has a second manipulator 21 has a second pushing actuator 5, the pushing actuators drive the walking mechanism 3, Paragraph 53: pushing cylinders drive walking mechanism, Paragraph 55: pushing actuators move walking mechanism that the object is on to transfer the object from the first to second manipulator, Figures 3 and 4);
disengaging the first web of the heavy weldment from the first manipulator (Figures 3 and 4: once the walking mechanism moves the object from the first manipulator to the second, the object is disengaged from the first set of manipulators);
engaging a second web of the heavy weldment with the second manipulator, wherein the second web faces in an opposite direction relative to the first web (Figure 4: a second web in an opposite direction relative to the first engages with the second manipulator, Figures 4 and 5: show the object engaging with the second manipulator and being turned); and
actuating the second manipulator from the second raised position to the second seated position (Figures 4 and 5: the second manipulator moves from a raised position to a seated position, Paragraph 55, Paragraph 48: actuators are responsible for turning the second manipulator).
Song does not disclose there are multiple first and second manipulators.
Chen discloses a heavy load station automatic turning displacement mechanism that has multiple first and second flippers (Figure 1: first flippers 101 and second flippers 201) for the purpose of assembling and welding large parts in one go (Paragraph 2).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Song by using multiple manipulators as disclosed by Chen for the purpose of assembling and welding large parts in one go.
Regarding Claim 16, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 14. The combination as applied in claim 14 discloses the step of actuating each manipulator of the set of first manipulators from the first seated position to the first raised position further includes (Song Figures 2 and 3):
rotating each manipulator of the set of first manipulators in a first direction from the first seated position to the first raised position (Song Figures 2 and 3 show the first manipulator rotating from a seated to a raised position, Song Paragraph 55); and
wherein the step of actuating each manipulator of the set of second manipulators from the second seated position to the second raised position further includes:
rotating each manipulator of the set of second manipulators in a second direction from the second seated position to the second raised position towards the first set of manipulators (Song Figures 4 and 5: show the second manipulator rotating, Song Figure 2: the second manipulator is initially in the raised position but to be in the raised position it would have been raised by rotating).
Regarding Claim 17, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 14, The combination as applied in claim 14 discloses the step of engaging the first web of the heavy weldment with the first set of manipulators further includes:
engaging the first web of the heavy weldment with a first engagement structure of a pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators (Song Figure 1: engagement structures of the first manipulator 112 and 111, engagement structures of the second manipulator 212 and 211, Song Figure 2: when the object is placed on the first manipulator it is engaged with both engagement structures 112 and 111); and
engaging at least one flange of the heavy weldment with a second engagement structure of the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators Song Figure 2: when the object is placed on the first manipulator it is engaged with both engagement structures 112 and 111);
wherein the first engagement structure and the second engagement structure are substantially orthogonal to the one another (Song Figure 1: the engagement structures 112 and 111 are orthogonal to each other).
Regarding Claim 18, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 14, The combination as applied in claim 14 discloses the step of engaging the second web of the heavy weldment with the second set of manipulators further includes:
engaging the second web of the heavy weldment with a first engagement structure of a pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of second manipulators (Song Figure 1: the second manipulator’s engagement structures are 212 and 211, Song Figure 4 and 5: the second web of the object which is would be in contact with the engagement structure 212; and
engaging the at least one flange of the heavy weldment on a second engagement structure of the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of second manipulators (Song Figures 4 and 5: a flange would be in contact with engagement structure 211;
wherein the first engagement structure and the second engagement structure are substantially orthogonal to the one another (The first engagement structure 212 is orthogonal to the second engagement structure 211);
Regarding Claim 19, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 18, The combination as applied in claim 18 discloses defining a continuous surface between the second engagement structure of the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the second engagement structure of the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of second manipulators (Song Figure 1: the second engagement structures 111 and 211 define a continuous surface, Song Paragraph 55, Song Figures 3 and 4; and
sliding the at least one flange of the heavy weldment along the continuous surface (Song Paragraph 55: a flange of the object is placed on the walking mechanism and is then slide across the continuous surface).
wherein the first engagement structure of the pivot frame of each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators are substantially parallel with one another in the first and second seated positions (Song Figures 1, 3, and 4).
Regarding Claim 20 as best interpreted, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 14, The combination as applied in claim 14 discloses offsetting the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators with one another (Song Figures 4 and 5, Song Paragraph 55).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (CN 203820415 U) in view of Chen et al. (CN 113023313 A, hereafter Chen) in further view of Ledwell et al. (US 2021/0206306 A1, hereafter Ledwell).
Regarding Claim 12, Song in view of Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses each manipulator of the set of first manipulators and the set of second manipulators further comprises;
at least one extension provided with the pivot frame Song Figure 1: the connection mechanisms 113 and 213 are extensions);
a pivot mount provided with the base (Song Figure 1 and 2-5: the rotating mechanisms 113 and 213 pivots along an axis seen in Figures 2-5 to allow rotation while connected to the frames 12 and 22, the rotation mechanisms function as a pivot bar).
The combination as applied in claim 1 does not disclose at least one linkage pin connecting the at least one extension and the at least one pivot mount with one another to rotate the pivot frame relative to the base.
Ledwell discloses a hydraulic tilter that uses linkage pins for the purpose of mounting components together (Figure 6: the tail section 618 and the fold tail section 620 are mounted together through mounting pins, Paragraph 42).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by using the linkage pins disclosed by Ledwell to mount the pivot frame and pivot mount together (this would make the linage pins the new pivot frame).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (CN 203820415 U) in view of Chen et al. (CN 113023313 A, hereafter Chen) in further view of Wallman (US 5022811 A)
Regarding Claim 15, Song in view of Chen disclose the limitations of claim 14. The combination as applied in claim 14 discloses the step of disengaging the first web of the heavy weldment from the first set of manipulators further includes:
Pushing the heavy weldment, by at least one transfer actuator provide with each manipulator of the first set of manipulators, until the second web of the heavy weldment is engaged with the set of second manipulators (Figures 1, 3, and 4: first pushing hydraulic cylinder 4, second pushing hydraulic cylinder 5, walking mechanism 3, Paragraph 53: each hydraulic cylinder is set on its own manipulator).
The combination as applied in claim 14 does not disclose step of disengaging the first web of the heavy weldment from the first set of manipulators further includes:
pressing against the first web of the heavy weldment, by at least one transfer actuator provide with each manipulator of the first set of manipulators, until the second web of the heavy weldment is engaged with the set of second manipulators.
Wallman discloses an assembly for moving heavy objects that uses drive elements, parallel tracks, and a shaped electro magnet (Figure 3: dive elements 9, parallel tracks, 12, electro magnet 30, the drive elements and electro magnet are an actuator for moving the object) for the purpose of moving the heavy object by pushing or pulling (Column 5 Lines 48-71).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 14 by including the assembly for moving heavy objects disclosed by Wallman onto each manipulator for the purpose of moving the heavy object by pushing or pulling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shan et al. (US 2021/0177154 A1) discloses an apparatus for adjusting objects with two manipulators, Wei (CN 105215768 A) discloses a material flipper.
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653