DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 & 103
7. Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2024/0172069 A1 (hereinafter “Fujishiro”) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Fujishiro modified by U.S. Publication No. 2022/0361059 A1 (hereinafter “He”)1.
Regarding claims 1 and 8: Fujishiro teaches a method of managing handover for a reduced capability device, the method comprising:
determining that one or more available access nodes support reduced capability devices for a handover operation for the reduced capability device (see, e.g., [0005]-[0006], [0107]-[0111]; cells supporting reduced capability UEs are determined);
measuring a signal strength of the one or more available access nodes that support reduced capability devices (see, e.g., [0053]-[0055], [0078], [0081], [0109]; the UE performs measurements on prospective cells);
selecting a target access node based in part on the signal strength of the one or more available access nodes that support reduced capability devices; and moving the reduced capability device to the target access node (see, e.g., [0005]-[0006], [0107]-[0111]; note selection/reselection).
Fujishiro teaches selecting/reselecting an access node, but does not explicitly state the feature of “moving the reduced capability device to the target access node.” To the extent the said feature is not inherent to Fujishiro, it is nevertheless taught in He. He teaches a system that significantly overlaps many of the teachings of Fujishiro, including the said feature (see, e.g., figure 5, [0006]-[0010], [0083]-[0084]; note measurements on determined cells that support a RedCap category for handover). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of He, such as the signaling or handover functionality, within the system of Fujishiro, in order to improve radio resource management.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 1 is applicable to the system of claim 8.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 17: Fujishiro alternatively modified by He further teaches wherein determining that the one or more available access nodes support reduced capability devices comprises: determining that a RedCap parameter indicates that the one or more available access nodes is capable of supporting reduced capability devices (see, e.g., Fujishiro [0005]-[0006], [0107]-[0111]; and/or He [0006]-[0011]; note RedCap parameter or information that indicates capability and/or incapability). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 2 is applicable to the system and method of claims 9 and 17, respectively.
Regarding claims 15: Fujishiro teaches a method of managing handover for a reduced capability device, the method comprising:
determining a candidate list of one or more available access nodes for the reduced capability device; forming a target list of one or more available access nodes by eliminating from the candidate list of one or more available access nodes any of the one or more available access nodes that do not support reduced capability devices (see, e.g., [0005]-[0006], [0107]-[0111]; cells supporting reduced capability UEs are determined; candidate lists are updated in consideration of RedCap function);
measuring a signal strength of each of the one or more available access nodes on the target list (see, e.g., [0053]-[0055], [0078], [0081], [0109]; the UE performs measurements on prospective cells);
selecting a target access node from the target list based in part on the signal strength of the one or more available access nodes on the target list; and moving the reduced capability device to the target access node (see, e.g., [0005]-[0006], [0107]-[0111]; note selection/reselection).
Fujishiro teaches selecting/reselecting an access node, but does not explicitly state the feature of “moving the reduced capability device to the target access node.” To the extent the said feature is not inherent to Fujishiro, it is nevertheless taught in He. He teaches a system that significantly overlaps many of the teachings of Fujishiro, including the said feature (see, e.g., figure 5, [0006]-[0010], [0083]-[0084]; note measurements on determined cells that support a RedCap category for handover). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of He, such as the signaling or handover functionality, within the system of Fujishiro, in order to improve radio resource management.
Regarding claim 16: Fujishiro alternatively modified by He further teaches determining that the reduced capability device should perform a handover operation to connect to a different access node (see, e.g., Fujishiro [0005]-[0006], [0107]-[0111]; note selection/reselection; and/or He [0006]-[0010], [0083]-[0084]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 15 is applicable to claim 16.
8. Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2024/0172069 A1 (hereinafter “Fujishiro”) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Fujishiro alternatively modified by He, and alternatively in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0245259 A1 (hereinafter “Marcum”).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 18 Fujishiro alternatively modified by He does not explicitly state wherein the RedCap parameter is manually set. To the extent this feature is not inherent to the system of Fujishiro alternatively modified by He, it is nevertheless taught in Marcum (see, e.g., [0035], [0045], [0052]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Marcum, such as the configuring or handover functionality, within the system of Fujishiro modified by He, in order to minimize service interruption.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 3 is applicable to the system and method of claims 10 and 18, respectively.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 19: Fujishiro alternatively modified by He further teaches “an analysis of one or more of: whether the one or more available access nodes is reduced capability device enabled, whether the one or more available access nodes is restricted to bandwidth greater than 20MHz, and whether idle mode cell reselection is allowed for the one or more available access nodes,” but does not explicitly state “wherein the RedCap parameter is automatically set.” To the extent this feature is not inherent to the system of Fujishiro alternatively modified by He, it is nevertheless taught in Marcum (see, e.g., [0035], [0045], [0052]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Marcum, such as the configuring or handover functionality, within the system of Fujishiro modified by He, in order to conserve processing resources.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 4 is applicable to the system and method of claims 11 and 19, respectively.
9. Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro, alternatively in view of He, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0254636 A1 (hereinafter “Cui”).
Regarding claims 5 and 12: Fujishiro alternatively modified by He does not explicitly state wherein the one or more available access nodes are on a same frequency as the reduced capability device. However, this feature is taught by Cui (see, e.g., [0028], [0039]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Cui, such as the handover functionality, within the system of Fujishiro modified by He, in order to improve resource utilization.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 5 is applicable to the system of claim 12.
10. Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro, alternatively in view of He, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0031100 A1 (hereinafter “Santhanam”).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20: Fujishiro alternatively modified by He does not explicitly state upon determining that none of the one or more available access nodes support reduced capability devices, instructing the reduced capability device to fall back to an LTE connection. However, this feature is taught by Santhanam (see, e.g., [0005], [0077], [0087], [0096]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Santhanam, such as the signaling and/or fallback functionality, within the system of Fujishiro modified by He, in order to capitalize on available RAT services.
The rationale set forth above regarding the method of claim 6 is applicable to the system and method of claims 13 and 20, respectively.
11. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro, alternatively in view of He, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0155448 A1 (hereinafter “Do”).
Regarding claim 7: Fujishiro alternatively modified by He does not explicitly state wherein the reduced capability device has a maximum bandwidth of 20MHz. However, this feature is taught by Do (see, e.g., [0110]-[0111], [0180], [0185]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Do, such as the said device configuration or functionality, within the system of Fujishiro modified by He, in order to provide a simpler, lower cost device.
Regarding claim 14: Fujishiro alternatively modified by He does not explicitly state wherein the reduced capability device has a downlink limited to a maximum of 2 MIMO layers. However, this feature is taught by Do (see, e.g., [0115], [0118], [0182]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Do, such as the said device configuration or functionality, within the system of Fujishiro modified by He, in order to provide a simpler, lower cost device.
Relevant Art
12. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
1 U.S. Publication No. 2022/0361059 A1 (He) was cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement submitted January 10, 2024 (U.S. Patent Application Publications, cite no. 1).