DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites carrying out a motion compensation algorithm “especially” using the information on body poses. The term “especially” renders the claim indefinite as it is impossible to ascertain whether the limitations following this term are intended to be part of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gorman (US 6967612).
Claim 1: Gorman discloses A security detection system, comprising:
a scanner configured to capture a number of scans of a person in a scanning area at different body poses of the person (col 8 lines 44-65, col 9 line 18-44, col 13 line 28 – col 14 line 3, col 15 lines 4-26)
at least one pose detection sensor configured to detect information on the body poses of the person in the scanning area (col 8 lines 44-65, col 13 line 28 – col 14 line 3, col 15 lines 4-26) and
a processor configured to correlate sections of the scans which show at least one body part of the person in the different body poses (col 12 line 42 – col 13 line 17, col 15 lines 21-60)
wherein the scanner is configured to capture at least one of the number of scans during a dynamic movement of the person in the scanning area (col 8 lines 9-23, col 10 lines 3-13, col 11 lines 5-17 and 55-63 discussing detecting and tracking a target object as it is present within a field of view)
Claim 2: Gorman discloses wherein the dynamic movement of the person comprises a walking in and/or a walking out of the scanning area (col 8 lines 9-23, col 10 lines 3-13, col 11 lines 5-17 and 55-63, co1 12 line 59-62 line discussing detecting and tracking a target object as it is present within a field of view)
Claim 3: Gorman discloses wherein the scanner is configured to capture at least a further one of the scans while the person stands still in the scanning area (col 8 lines 9-23, col 10 lines 3-13, col 11 lines 5-17 and 55-63 discussing detecting and tracking a target object as it is present within a field of view inherently including capturing scans while the target is stationary)
Claim 4: Gorman discloses wherein the scanner comprises a microwave imaging sensor configured to capture the number of scans (col 12 line 18-44)
Claim 5: Gorman discloses wherein the scanner is configured to adapt an aperture of the microwave imaging sensor based on the information on the body poses detected by the at least one pose detection sensor (col 8 lines 44-65, col 13 line 28 – col 14 line 3, col 15 lines 4-26)
Claim 6: Gorman discloses wherein the processor is configured determine optimal beam configurations of the microwave imaging sensor based on the information on the body poses of the person (col 8 lines 44-65, col 13 line 28 – col 14 line 3, col 15 lines 4-26)
Claim 7: Gorman discloses wherein the microwave imaging sensor is configured to dynamically adapt a beam configuration of the microwave imaging sensor to the body poses of the person (col 8 lines 44-65, col 13 line 28 – col 14 line 3, col 15 lines 4-26)
Claim 8: Gorman discloses wherein the at least one pose detection sensor comprises any one of the following sensors: an optical image sensor, a time-of-flight sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an acoustic sensor, a low resolution mmWave scanner, or a photo-electric guard (col 12 line 18-44)
Claim 9: Gorman discloses wherein the processor is configured to carry out a threat determination based on the correlated sections of the scans and based on the information on the body poses of the person (col 12 line 42 – col 13 line 17, col 15 lines 21-60)
Claim 10: Gorman discloses wherein the threat determination comprises a detection of threats on the person which are covered by materials with low microwave and/or mm Wave transparency (col 12 line 42 – col 13 line 17, col 15 lines 21-60)
Claim 11: Gorman discloses a resource planner which is configured to analyze the correlated sections of the scans and to determine if the at least one body part shown in the correlated sections is sufficiently illuminated in at least a fraction of the scans to carry out the threat determination (col 13 line 67 – col 14 line 36, col 15 lines 21-60)
Claim 12: Gorman discloses wherein the processor is configured to carry out a motion compensation algorithm, especially using the information on the body poses, to determine relative speeds of different body parts of the person and to compensate the captured scans based on the determined relative speeds (col 13 line 67 – col 14 line 36, col 15 lines 21-60)
Claim 13: Gorman discloses A security detection method, comprising:
capturing a number of scans of a person in a scanning area at different body poses of the person (col 8 lines 44-65, col 9 line 18-44, col 13 line 28 – col 14 line 3, col 15 lines 4-26)
detecting information on the body poses of the person in the scanning area (col 8 lines 44-65, col 9 line 18-44, col 13 line 28 – col 14 line 3, col 15 lines 4-26); and
correlating sections of the scans which show at least one body part of the person in the different body poses (col 12 line 42 – col 13 line 17, col 15 lines 21-60)
wherein at least one of the number of scans are captured during a dynamic movement of the person in the scanning area (col 8 lines 9-23, col 10 lines 3-13, col 11 lines 5-17 and 55-63 discussing detecting and tracking a target object as it is present within a field of view)
Claim 14: Gorman discloses performing a threat determination based on the correlated sections of the scans and based on the information on the body poses of the person (col 12 line 42 – col 13 line 17, col 15 lines 21-60)
Conclusion
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648