Applicant’s response to the last office Action dated 02/18/2026, as well as arguments and amendment to claims, filed 05/18/2026 have been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The added limitation of “wherein the at least one artificial; intelligence model comprises several artificial intelligence models…” does not have support from the specification. The specification does disclose several artificial intelligence models, but does not support the at least one artificial intelligence model comprising several artificial intelligence models.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 8, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that the combination of the Kim and Jarc references does not teach, “performing color coding of the fluorescent images by coloring fluorescent parts of the fluorescent images with pre-determined false colors assigned to different types of structures according to the respective one or more identified types of structures, wherein the plurality of different types of structures are simultaneously differentiated in the composite images by assigning different pre-determined false colors to fluorescent image regions corresponding to the respective different types of structures.” Applicant argues that Kim merely teaches one AI model for coloring that does not simultaneously differentiate a plurality of type of structures. Regarding the argument that Kim does not teach, “coloring fluorescent parts of the fluorescent images”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. For example, Kim Para. [0009] discloses; “Accordingly, it is required to design an AI model for pseudo coloring that converts images obtained through endomicroscope systems for digital biopsy to be close to the staining type of H&E images” Examiner interprets that the whole image of Kim is pseudo-colored, thus the fluorescent parts of the image are colored. The remaining arguments are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, and the new analyses presented below render these arguments moot. Applicant’s amendment of independent claims 1, 8, and 18 has altered the scope of the claims, and therefore, has initiated the following new ground(s) of rejection. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarc et al. (US 2026/0004552 A1 w/ EFD of June 16, 2022), in view of Kim et al. (US 2024/0188797 A1 w/ EFD of December 9, 2022), in further view of George Themelis (EP 3540494 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jarc teaches “A method for processing fluorescent image guided surgical or diagnostic imagery” (Jarc, Abstract discloses; “An illustrative system may access a first image sequence captured by an imaging device during a medical procedure, the first image sequence comprising first images. the first images based on illumination of a scene associated with the medical procedure using visible-spectrum light: access a second image sequence captured by the imaging device during the medical procedure. the second image sequence comprising second images. the second images based on illumination of the scene using non-visible spectrum light: and provide the first image sequence and the second image sequence to a machine learning module.”), “capturing non-fluorescent images and fluorescent images of an operating field in which at least one fluorescent dye is present with a surgical or diagnostics imaging device” (Jarc, Para. 0023 discloses; “Given a first sequence of images (e.g., visible-spectrum images) of a scene associated with a medical procedure and a second sequence of images (e.g., non-visible-spectrum images) of the scene” Jarc, Para. 0024 discloses; “Illustrative non-visible-spectrum images include fluorescence images, hyperspectral images, and other types of images that do not rely solely on visible-spectrum illumination.”), “processing the fluorescent images with respect to brightness and coloring (Jarc, Para. 0049 discloses; “For example, pixels having color or intensity values within one color range or intensity range may correspond to one type of organ (or tissue, or object)”), generating composite images by overlaying the fluorescent images over the non- fluorescent images” (Jarc, Para. 0055 discloses; “Each second image received by the image blending module 230 is paired with one or more first images (for brevity, first images will be referred to in the singular) that are also received by the image blending module 230. The image blending module 230 may perform geometric transforms to geometrically align the first image and the second image (e.g., so that the images represent a same view of the scene (respectively corresponding pixels represent a same point of the scene).”), “wherein the processing of the fluorescent images comprises inputting the fluorescent images into at least one artificial intelligence model trained on one or more of fluorescent still images and fluorescent video images” (Jarc, Para. 0044 discloses; “Although the working data 180 may include two image sequences of different types of images (e.g., visible-spectrum images and non-visible-spectrum images, respectively), as with the training data 170, in varying embodiments, the working data 180 that is passed to the machine learning model”). Jarc does not explicitly teach “ a plurality of different types of structures present in the operating field based on a fluorescent dye emission wherein the at least one artificial intelligence model comprises several artificial intelligence models trained for several different fluorescent dyes, and performing color coding of the fluorescent images by coloring fluorescent parts of the fluorescent images with pre-determined false colors assigned to different types of structures according to the respective one or more identified types of structures wherein the plurality of different types of structures are simultaneously differentiated in the composite images by assigning different pre-determined false colors to fluorescent image regions corresponding to the respective different types of structures”. Since Jarc does not explicitly disclose these limitations, Examiner relies on the teachings of Kim in an analogous field of endeavor. Specifically, Kim discloses, “wherein the at least one artificial intelligence model comprises several artificial intelligence models trained for several different fluorescent dyes” (Kim, Para. [0074] discloses; “select a specific artificial intelligence model from a plurality of artificial intelligence models for generating a virtual H&E image based on the first staining information and the first operation information (in this case, the plurality of AI models may be different from each other), identify second staining information (e.g., dye information)” and “and the specific artificial intelligence model is trained based on staining information of each of a plurality of tissues” Examiner interprets the staining information to be fluorescent dye information. Examiner also interprets the processor of Kim to be the artificial intelligence model containing the several intelligence models of Kim.) “performing color coding of the fluorescent images by coloring fluorescent parts of the fluorescent images with pre-determined false colors assigned to different types of structures according to the respective one or more identified types of structures” (Kim, Para. 0010 discloses; “When a suitable pseudo coloring AI model can be selected in accordance with whether a tissue is normal or abnormal (e.g., cancer), it would be possible to obtain a pseudo-coloring resultant image”)
Jarc and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of using machine learning or artificial intelligence to process fluorescent medical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jarc to incorporate the teachings of Kim in order to perform color coding by adding pre-determined false colors (as disclosed by Kim) to different types of structures (as disclosed by Jarc). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivate to combine the previously described methods of Jarc with the teachings of Kim to enhance a user’s visual experience of differentiating the different types of structures appearing in a medical image where they are presented in a color-coded manner. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to combine Jarc and Kim to obtain the claimed invention in claim 1.
In further regard to claim 1, the combination of Jarc and Kim does not explicitly teach, “a plurality of different types of structures present in the operating field based on a fluorescent dye emission … wherein the plurality of different types of structures are simultaneously differentiated in the composite images by assigning different pre-determined false colors to fluorescent image regions corresponding to the respective different types of structures”. Since the combination of Jarc and Kim does not explicitly disclose these limitations, Examiner relies on the teachings of Themelis in an analogous field of endeavor. Specifically, Themelis teaches, “a plurality of different types of structures present in the operating field based on a fluorescent dye emission” (Themelis, Abstract discloses; “The input image data (22) comprise visible-light image data (26) as well as fluorescent-light image data (24) of at least one fluorophore (14). The augmented reality surgical microscope (1) permits the automatic identification and marking in pseudo-color (86) of various types of vascular plexus structures (54a 54b, 54c) and/or of blood flow direction (56) depending on the fluorescent-light image data (24)”) “wherein the plurality of different types of structures are simultaneously differentiated in the composite images by assigning different pre-determined false colors to fluorescent image regions corresponding to the respective different types of structures” (Themelis, Abstract discloses; “The input image data (22) comprise visible-light image data (26) as well as fluorescent-light image data (24) of at least one fluorophore (14). The augmented reality surgical microscope (1) permits the automatic identification and marking in pseudo-color (86) of various types of vascular plexus structures (54a 54b, 54c) and/or of blood flow direction (56) depending on the fluorescent-light image data (24)” and Themelis, Para. [0065] discloses; “the augmented reality surgical microscope 1 may automatically assign different pseudo-colors 86 of the color palette 84 to different locations 57 in the output image data 59.”)
The combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of using machine learning or artificial intelligence to process fluorescent medical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Jarc and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Themelis in order to simultaneously differentiate and color different structures in a fluorescent image. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the previously described method of the combination of Jarc and Kim with the teachings of Themelis to allow the user to see all of the different structures within the pseudo-colored image. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to combine the combination of Jarc and Kim with Themelis to obtain the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis teaches the method for processing fluorescent images as claimed in claim 1, “further comprising inputting the non-fluorescent images into the at least one artificial intelligence model such that each non-fluorescent image is coupled to a fluorescent image” (Jarc, Abstract discloses; “The first image sequence comprising first images. The first images based on illumination of a scene associated with the medical procedure using visible-spectrum light” … “the second image sequence comprising second images. the second images based on illumination of the scene using non-visible spectrum light: and provide the first image sequence and the second image sequence to a machine learning module.”), “the at least one artificial intelligence model having been trained for using the non-fluorescent images as additional input for identifying the one or more types of structures” (Jarc, Para. 0006 discloses; “wherein the trained machine learning model has been trained using a second image sequence comprising second images.”)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis teaches the method for processing fluorescent images as claimed in claim 1, “comprising several artificial intelligence models that have been trained on at least one of (Kim, Para. 0214 discloses; “Referring to FIG. 10, an AI model may learn a tissue image and a condition (e.g., the wavelength band of light, organ information of cells or a tissue, etc.) under which the tissue image was obtained.”). Examiner interprets “several different structures” as organ information of cells or a tissue, and “several different imaging systems” as a condition under which the tissue image was obtained. The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Jarc, Kim, and Themelis references presented in the rejection of claim 1, apply to claim 3 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 3 is met by Jarc, Kim, and Themelis.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis teaches “The method as according to claim 1, further comprising providing information about the at least one of the fluorescent dye and the imaging system used in a fluorescent image guided surgical or diagnostic procedure as input to the at least one artificial intelligence model” (Kim, Para. 0019 discloses; “… and generate a first H&E image corresponding to the first image by inputting the first image, the dye information, the operation information, and the organ information into a first artificial intelligence model…”) Examiner interprets information about an imaging system to fall within operation information. The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Jarc, Kim, and Themelis references presented in the rejection of claim 1, apply to claim 4 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 4 is met by Jarc, Kim, and Themelis.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis teaches the method for processing fluorescent images as claimed in claim 1, “further comprising generating color coded text labeling of the structures identified in the fluorescent images and integrating the text labeling into the composite images” (Jarc, Para. 0025 discloses; “As used herein, a “label” refers to any type of data indicative of an object or other feature represented in an image including, but not limited to, graphical or text-based annotations, tags, highlights, augmentations, and overlays.”)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis teaches the method for processing fluorescent images as claimed in claim 1, “further comprising selecting the pre-determined false colors from a set of several coloring schemes upon request by an operator” (Kim, Para. 0247 discloses; “For example, the endomicroscope system may identify or select a pseudo coloring mode based on whether an AI model that generates medical diagnosis assistance information has been trained in advance, whether an AI model for pseudo coloring for each diagnosis result has been trained, or selection by the user of the endomicroscope system.”) The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Jarc, Kim, and Themelis references presented in the rejection of claim 1, apply to claim 7 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 7 is met by Jarc, Kim, and Themelis.
Claim 8 recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps recited in Claim 1. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Jarc, Kim, and Themelis references, presented in rejection of Claim 1, apply to this claim. Finally, the combination of the Jarc, Kim, and Themelis references discloses an image sensor (Jarc, Para. 0032 discloses; “The first image capture device 122 and the second image capture device 124 may be separate sensors within a single camera, or they may be separate sensors in separate respective cameras.”), a light source (Jarc, Para. 0028 discloses; “As noted above, the light sources 110 might include any combination of a white light source, a narrow-band light source (whether in the visible spectrum or not, e.g., an ultraviolet lamp), a laser, an infrared light emitting diode (LED), etc. If fluoresced light is to be captured, the type of light source may depend on the fluorescing agent or protein being used during the medical procedure.”), and a computer (Jarc, Para. 0035 discloses; “The image processing system 126 may be implemented by one or more computing devices and/or computer resources (e.g., processors, memory devices, storage devices, etc.) as may serve a particular implementation.”)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis teaches the system for processing fluorescent images as claimed in claim 8, “further comprising a screen” (Jarc, Para. 0066 discloses; “In some instances, the display monitor 714 may be implemented by a touchscreen display and provide user input functionality.”)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Jarc, Kim and Themelis teaches the system for processing fluorescent images as claimed in claim 8, “wherein the imaging device is one of a video endoscope, a video exoscope, or a combination of one of a telescope for endoscopic procedures, an exoscope and an attachment lens releasably attached to a camera head” (Jarc, Para. 0032 discloses; “In some embodiments, the imaging device 112 and the light sources 110 may be part of (or optically connected with) an endoscope.”)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis teaches the system for processing fluorescent images as claimed in claim 8, “wherein the generation of the composite images is implemented one of in the at least one artificial intelligence model and in a separate set of instructions receiving input about the identified types of structures from the one or more artificial intelligence models” (Jarc, Para. 0055 discloses; “The image blending module 230 may create a synthetic image based on image data from the first image and the second image” and Jarc, Para. 0057 discloses; “For example, the machine learning model might predict a stage of a medical procedure, a category of any feature detected in an image (e.g., a type of object present, a type of tissue or organ present, etc.), or others.”)
Claims 12, 13, 14, 16, and 17 recite systems with elements corresponding to the steps recited in method claims 2, 3, 4, 6, and 7, respectively. Therefore, the recited elements of these claims are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in their corresponding method claims. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Jarc, Kim, and Themelis references, presented in claim 1 apply to these claims.
Claim 18 recites a computer-readable storage medium storing a program with instructions corresponding to the steps recited in Claim 1. Therefore, the recited programming instructions of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Jarc, Kim, and Themelis references, presented in rejection of Claim 1, apply to this claim. Finally, the combination of Jarc, Kim and Themelis references discloses a computer readable storage medium (Jarc, Para. 0074 discloses; “For example, the storage device 806 may include, but is not limited to, any combination of the non-volatile media and/or volatile media described herein.”)
Claims 5, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarc, in view of Kim, in further view of Themelis, and still in view of Friedman et al. (US 8,471,866 B2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis does not explicitly teach “The method according to claim 1 further comprising generating a color legend of colors used for the structures identified in the fluorescent images and one of integrating the legend in the composite images and displaying the color legend separately from the composite images” (Friedman, Column 5, Lines 65-67 discloses; “Thus, as shown in FIG. 3, six different colors may be used to color code and identify the labels 134 of the legend 132 with the corresponding segment 124.”)
Jarc, Kim, Themelis, and Friedman are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of processing and displaying medical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination of Jarc, Kim and Themelis to incorporate the teachings of Friedman in order to display the colors that coordinate with the structures separately from the composite image. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the previously described methods of the combination of Jarc, Kim, and Themelis with the teachings of Friedman to allow the user to quickly and easily differentiate the types of structures and false-colors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to combine Jarc, Kim, Themelis, and Friedman to obtain the invention in claim 5.
Claim 15 recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps recited in method claim 5, respectively. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Jarc, Kim, Themelis, and Friedman references, presented in claim 5, apply to this claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN M OAKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/Siamak Harandi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662