DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Amendments filed on 03/26/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 2-3, 6, and 13 are cancelled. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-12, and 14 are amended. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-12, and 14 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goda (US 20180046417 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Goda) further in view of Suwabe (US 20100211963 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Suwabe) and Asahara (US 20120137312 A1)(hereafter referred to as Asahara).
Regarding Claim 1,
Goda discloses the following limitations:
An information processing apparatus (MFP 101, Fig. 1) that associates a storage device with a driver, comprising:
a first controller (USB Interface 211, Fig. 2) configured to detect (¶0033) at least a first type storage device (“USB devices connected thereto” [0026] // USB Memory 215, Fig. 2) that is universal serial bus (USB)-connected (Fig. 2 // ¶0026) to the information processing apparatus (Fig. 2) …, and a second type storage device (“a predetermined operating device incompatible with the expansion application 303” [0038] // ¶0050) that is USB-connected (Fig. 2 // ¶0026) to the information processing apparatus … (“Upon detecting a USB device connected to the MFP 101, the driver selection module 307 selects a driver module that is to control this USB device” [0033] // Figs. 1-2 // ¶¶ [Abstract]; 0019-21; 0026; 0035-38) – As shown in Fig. 2, both a “predetermined” operating device (e.g., Operating Key Device 110 of Fig. 2 mounted to Operating Unit 108 [¶0019; Fig. 1]; i.e., “a second type storage device” “and a USB memory 215 (e.g., distinct from Device 110; i.e., “a first type storage device”) connect to MFP 101 via a USB interface 211 [Fig. 2.]. Accordingly, examiner considers USB interface 211 as “a first controller”. Finally, as taught in ¶0050, the predetermined operating device is not limited to a human interface device (HID) and can instead “perform other functions” (i.e., such as storage functions; see Fig. 3). Examiner accordingly considers a predetermined operating device of Goda Fig. 2, which is mounted to an operating unit 108 and which performs USB storage functions, as “a second type storage device” --; and
a second controller (CPU 201, Fig. 2) configured to associate (Fig. 5) the storage device detected by the first controller with the driver (“The process in FIG. 5 is carried out by the CPU 201” [0035]),
wherein in a case where setting values include at least … a setting value of a second setting (“control setting information” [0043]) to determine whether to use a USB-connected storage device (“the user is able to set controller setting information about whether to provide control using the expansion application 303 or the OS module 302” [0029]) do not satisfy a predetermined condition (Fig. 5, step S506, ‘No’ branch),
the second controller performs control in a first mode (Fig. 3 // “provide control using … the OS module” [0029]) in which respective drivers to be associated with the first type storage device (Fig. 5, S502 ‘No’, S503 ‘No’, S505 ‘Yes’, S506 ‘No’, S507 ‘No’) and the second type storage device (Fig. 5, S502 ‘Yes’, S507 ‘No’) are each set to be a storage driver (Fig. 5, step S509 // USB Mass Storage Driver 304, Fig. 3)(“When the connected USB device is of … the USB mass storage class … the CPU determines whether or not the setting indicating that control is to be provided using the expansion application 303 has been made for this type of the connected USB device (step S506) … when the setting … has not been made … the CPU selects the USB mass storage driver module 304 as the driver module that is to control the connected USB device (step S509)” [0043-45] // “when the connected USB device is a predetermined operating device incompatible with the expansion application 303, the connected USB device is controlled by the OS module” [0037]) – As taught in ¶0029 and shown in Fig. 5, control of USB devices (other than the predetermined USB device) can be provided either by an OS module 302 (i.e., “in a first mode”) or by an expansion application 303. As shown in Fig. 5 and as clarified in ¶¶0043-45, when operating in the first mode (e.g., device control by the OS module; i.e., step S506 ‘No’ branch), detected USB devices which are 1) not the predetermined device (see step S502 ‘No’ branch); and 2) which are not an ‘HID’ type of USB device (step S507 ‘No’ branch) are controlled using a USB Mass Storage Driver (step S509; i.e., drivers associated with “the first type storage device” are set to “the storage driver”). As clarified in ¶0037 and additionally shown in Fig. 5, regardless of the setting information determined during step S506, predetermined USB devices which are storage type devices are controlled using the USB mass storage driver (see steps S502 ‘No’ branch + S507 ‘No’ branch; i.e., drivers associated with “the second type storage device” are set to “the storage driver”)--,
wherein in a case where the setting values satisfy the predetermined condition (Fig. 5, step S506, ‘Yes’ branch), the second controller performs control in a second mode (Fig. 3 // “provide control using the expansion application 303” [0029]) in which the driver to be associated with the second type storage device is set to be the storage driver (Fig. 5, S502 ‘Yes’, S507 ‘No’) – As discussed above and as shown in Fig. 5, the predetermined USB device which are storage type devices are controlled using the mass USB storage driver regardless of setting information determined during step S506-- and
the driver to be associated with the first type storage device is set to be a general-purpose driver (General-Purpose Driver 306, Fig. 3) different from the storage driver (Fig. 5, S502 ‘No’, S503 ‘No’, S505 ‘Yes’, S506 ‘Yes’, S504)(Fig. 5, step S502 ‘No’ + S506 ‘Yes’ + S504)(“when the setting indicating that control is to be provided using the expansion application 303 has been made, the CPU 201 carries out the processes in the step S504” [0044] // “the CPU 201 selects the general-purpose driver module 306 as the driver module that is to control the connected USB device (step S504)” [0041]) – As shown in Fig. 5 and detailed in ¶0041, when control of USB devices (other than the predetermined device) is provided by the expansion application 303 (i.e., “in a second mode”), detected USB devices which are 1) not the predetermined device (see step S502 ‘No’ branch); and 2) which are not an ‘HID’ type of USB device are controlled using a general-purpose driver module (i.e., drivers associated with “the first type storage device” are set to “a general-purpose driver” different from the USB Mass Storage Driver)--. …
Goda does not explicitly disclose that USB Memory 215 is connected “externally” to MFP 101 “by a user”. In addition, Goda is silent regarding a particular first setting value which indicates whether or not to use USB Interface 211. Specifically, Goda does not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
a first controller configured to detect at least a first type storage device that is universal serial bus (USB)-connected to the information processing apparatus externally and is connectable by a user, and a second type storage device … inside the information processing apparatus and is not configured to be removed …
a setting value of a first setting to determine whether to use the first controller
However, Suwabe discloses the following limitations:
a first controller (USB Host Controller 80, Fig. 1) configured to detect at least a first type storage device (“peripheral device” [0041]; USB Memory 95, Fig. 1) that is universal serial bus (USB)-connected to the information processing apparatus externally and is connectable by a user (“The user can connect devices such as … USB memory 95 to these physical I/Fs” [0038]), and a second type storage device (Operation Unit 70, Fig. 1) … inside the information processing apparatus and is not configured to be removed (Fig. 1 // ¶0038) – Examiner considers Operation Unit 70 depicted in Suwabe Fig. 1 as analogous to Operating Unit 108 of Goda Fig. 2 because both provide functionality such as input keys and an LCD display and enable interaction of a multifunctional device with a user. Accordingly, in the context of Suwabe Fig. 1, USB Memory 95 corresponds to “a first type storage device” and Operation Unit 70 corresponds to “a second type storage device”, respectively. As shown in Suwabe Fig. 1 and disclosed in ¶0038, USB Memory 95 is connected via an external I/F connection to image forming apparatus 100, whereas Operation Unit 70 is not connected via an external I/F and is instead connected directly to Control Device 60 comprising USB Host Controller 80. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that Operation Unit 70, in direct contrast to USB Memory 95, is connected to image forming apparatus 100 via a control device 60 which is “inside the information processing apparatus and is not configured to be removed”--
a setting value of a first setting (“activation of the USB host” [0073], Figs. 9 + 10) to determine whether to use the first controller (“When the user presses the setting key, various environmental settings become possible … A window display key 701 is used to set activation of the USB host” [0072] // Figs. 9-11// ¶¶0072-73) -- As shown in Suwabe Fig. 1, a USB Host Controller 80 connects to both internal USB devices (e.g., USB-Fax Board 82 and Image Analysis Board 81) and external USB devices (e.g., USB Memory 95). Examiner therefore considers USB Host Controller 80 as analogous to USB Interface 211 disclosed in Goda Fig. 2 (i.e., claimed “the first controller”). As shown in Suwabe Figs. 9-11 and detailed in ¶¶0072-73, a user inputs for an “Activation of USB Host” setting either “ON (Activation)” or “OFF (Inactivation)” values. Examiner accordingly considers the “Activation of USB Host” setting shown in Suwabe Figs. 9/10 as a setting to “determine whether to use the first controller”.
Goda and Suwabe are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of assigning USB drivers to USB storage devices attached to a printer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goda with the teachings of Suwabe and realize an apparatus which contains a controller configured to detect both internal and external storage devices connected via USB. Doing so would improve printer performance by enabling several external USB connections to be disabled at once while maintaining necessary internal USB connections, improving both device security and user convenience, as detailed in Suwabe ¶0010-12: “An advantage of the present invention is that a measure of security can be taken in advance, and convenient control of the USB host connection can be implemented without disabling a necessary connection within a system … Another advantage of the present invention is that the system can inactivate several USB host connections at once. However, a device which needs to remain activated (e.g., a device which needs to be connected internally) can be used exceptionally.” [0010-12]
The combined teaching of Goda and Suwabe additionally disclose the following limitations:
when the predetermined condition is a condition in which at least one of the setting values of the first setting and the second setting is OFF (Goda, “The CPU 201 determines whether or not the setting indicating that control is to be provided using the expansion application 303 has been made for the type of the connected USB device (step S506)” [0043] // Fig. 5) – As previously discussed and as taught in Goda ¶0043, users set “control setting information” (i.e., values of “the second setting”) to indicate whether or not detected USB devices which are not the predetermined device should be controlled using the expansion application 303 or not (i.e., using OS 302). In this context, examiner considers control setting information which indicates that control of a detected USB device should be performed using an expansion application (i.e., indicating that the ‘Yes’ branch of step S506 should be taken and thus control performed using a general-purpose driver) as having a value of “OFF” (i.e., indicating that control provided by the OS is disabled/off).
Although Goda Fig. 3 // ¶0029 generally discloses that both the USB Mass Driver 304 and the General-Purpose Driver 306 enable communication and control over peripheral devices (i.e., perform “reading and writing” with respect to the peripheral devices), the combined teachings of Goda and Suwabe do not provide explicit detail regarding differences between reading and writing functionality when using the USB Mass Driver 304 as opposed to when using the General-Purpose Driver 306. Specifically, the combined teachings of Goda and Suwabe do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
and wherein the storage driver is a driver that enables data to be read from and written into a storage device including a storage area and the general-purpose driver is a driver that can control all kinds of USB devices but can only perform basic data reading and writing.
However, Asahara clarifies how a mass-storage driver provides different reading and writing functionality with respect to a peripheral device as compared to a general-purpose driver.
Asahara discloses the following limitations:
and wherein the storage driver (“Mass Storage class driver” [0005]) is a driver that enables data to be read from and written into a storage device including a storage area (“a special encryption area … in a memory device” [0012]) and the general-purpose driver (“common device driver” [0007]) is a driver that can control all kinds of USB devices but can only perform basic data reading and writing. (“applications often use functions of externally connected devices such as USB devices. In this case, some types of device drivers used to control the behaviors of USB devices are required … The generic standard device class driver is a device driver, which is used to control the behaviors of a USB device which belongs to the general-purpose class … As a practical example of the generic standard class driver, an HID class driver, Mass Storage class driver, and the like are available … The final type of device driver is a common device driver … allows the aforementioned application to freely control the behaviors of the USB device. Unlike the aforementioned vendor specific class driver, not a device driver but the application has a logic of controlling the behaviors of USB devices” [0004-07] // “In some cases, an application which controls a USB device via the aforementioned common device driver wants to execute special control … As another example, a special encryption area is demanded to be assured in a memory device installed as a Mass Storage class” [0012] // ¶0010) – As taught in Asahara, a “Mass Storage class driver” (analogous to “the storage driver”) is a type of driver which controls functionality of peripheral devices which belong to a predetermined class (¶0005), such as control over “a memory device” which includes “a special encryption area” (¶0007) (i.e., “enables data to be read from and written into a storage device including a storage area”). In contrast, a “common device driver” (analogous to “the general-purpose driver”) is unable to “execute special control” over peripheral devices and instead offloads control of behavior of the peripheral device to an application (¶0012; i.e., cannot execute special control over a device but instead “can only perform basic reading and writing”). The common device driver is installed when an installed peripheral device is not compatible with a class type of driver (¶0010; i.e., can be used to control “all kinds of USB devices” which do not belong to a predetermined set of classes (e.g., not belonging to a general purpose class or a vendor-specific class).
Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of assigning a USB driver to a peripheral device connected to a multifunctional device, whereby the multifunctional device supports plural classes of USB device including Mass Storage USB devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goda and Suwabe with the teachings of Asahara and realize an information processing apparatus whereby a USB storage device is controlled either using a class-specific mass storage driver enabling special control or using a general-purpose driver enabling only basic control. Doing so enables an application to take control over a general-purpose class device using a common device driver instead of using the traditional general-purpose class driver, as taught in Asahara ¶¶0015-17: “As describe above, a demand has arisen for a mechanism that allows an application, which controls a USB device via a common device driver, to preferentially select a common device driver in consideration of a case in which such application wants to execute special control with respect to a general-purpose class device … According to the present invention, the aforementioned application which controls a USB device via a common device driver is allowed to control a desired USB device by designating the desired USB device in advance. At the same time, when an OS does not include any device driver required by a specific USB device, a common device driver is loaded in a conventional manner, and can be controlled from an application.” [0015-17]
Regarding Claim 4,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 4. The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara disclose the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where at least one of the setting values of the first setting (Suwabe, “activation of the USB host” [0073]) and the second setting is OFF (Suwabe, Figs. 9 + 10), the storage driver is not associated with the first type storage device (Suwabe, “the operation ends without associating the connected USB device to any driver” [0065] // Fig. 5 // ¶¶0061-65 // Figs. 1 + 9 + 10) -- As shown in Suwabe Figs. 9 + 10, when the “Activation of USB Host” setting (i.e., “the second setting”) is “OFF”, a USB host (e.g., USB Host Controller 80; see Fig. 1) is placed in an “inactivation” state. As shown in Fig. 5 and clarified in ¶0062, when the USB host is inactivated, only drivers associated with internal USB devices (e.g., NOT including Mass Storage Driver 204) are available. As clarified in ¶0065, USB devices which do not match an internal USB device (e.g., internal USB-Fax Board 82 or Image Analysis Board 81; see Fig. 1) are not assigned any driver when the USB host is inactivated. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that when the “Activation of USB Host” setting is “OFF”, an external USB storage device (e.g., USB Memory 95) would not be assigned any driver and thus would not assigned the mass storage driver.
Regarding Claim 5,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 5. The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara disclose the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the setting values include a setting value of a third setting (Goda, Setting Button 402, Fig. 4) to determine whether to associate the general-purpose driver (Goda, General-Purpose Driver 306, Fig. 3) different from the storage driver (Goda, USB Mass Storage Driver 304, Fig. 3) with a USB-connected storage device (Goda, “The setting button 402 is a button for setting whether to control a USB device of the USB mass storage class using the expansion application 303 or the OS module 302 … The general-purpose driver module 306 controls the devices to be controlled by the expansion application 303” [0031-32] // Fig. 4 // Fig. 5, steps S506 + S509 + S504 // ¶¶0043-45) – As shown in Goda Fig. 4 and detailed in ¶¶0031-32, setting button 402 enables USB mass storage classes to be controlled using a general-purpose driver 306 as opposed to via a USB mass storage driver 304; see also Fig. 5, steps S506 + S509 + S504.
Regarding Claim 7,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 7. The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara disclose the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where all the setting values of the first setting, the second setting, and the third setting are ON, (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above) the general-purpose driver (Goda, General-Purpose Driver 306, Fig. 3) is associated with the first type storage device (Goda, Fig. 5, steps S502 ‘No’ + S506 ‘Yes’ + S504 // “the CPU 201 selects the general-purpose driver module 306 as the driver module that is to control the connected USB device (step S504)” [0041] // ¶¶0038-48)
Regarding Claim 8,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 8. The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara disclose the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein in a case where the setting values of the first setting (Suwabe, “activation of the USB host” [0073] // Figs. 9 + 10 // Fig. 3 // ¶¶0053-54) and the second setting (Goda, “control setting information” [0043]) are ON, and the setting value of the third setting (Goda, Setting Button 402, Fig. 4) is OFF, the setting values do not satisfy the predetermined condition (Goda, Fig. 5) -- As previously discussed (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above) and as described in Goda Fig. 5, step S506 and ¶¶0031; 0043-45, when “the predetermined condition” is satisfied, an external USB device is not assigned a storage driver. As shown in Suwabe Fig. 3 and detailed in ¶0054, when the “activation of the USB host” setting is “ON”, several general-purpose drivers (e.g., Mass Storage Driver 204) are available to assign to the external USB Memory 95 (see also Claim 2 limitation mappings above). As previously discussed (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above) and as shown in Goda Fig. 5, an “ON” state of the control setting information (i.e., indicating control using the OS is enabled/on; see Fig. 5 step S506 ‘No’ branch) causes control to be performed using OS 302. As shown in Goda Fig. 5 and detailed in ¶¶0031 // 0041-44, when the Setting Button 402 is “OFF”, an external USB device is assigned a USB Mass Storage Driver 304 (Fig. 5, steps S502 ‘No’ + S506 ‘No’ + S509; see also Claim 1 limitation mappings above). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in a case where settings indicate that 1) several general-purpose drivers are available to assign to an external USB device; 2) control of a USB device is performed using the OS (instead of the expansion application); and 3) mass storage class USB devices should not use a general-purpose driver, would result in an external USB storage device being assigned a storage driver (i.e., “the predetermined condition” would not be satisfied).
Regarding Claim 11,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 11. The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara disclose the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a user interface (Goda, Operating Unit 108, Fig. 2) configured to receive an instruction from a user (Goda, ¶0021), wherein the setting values are received via a screen (Goda, LCD Panel 109, Fig. 1) displayed by the user interface (Goda, ¶0021 // Fig. 4 // ¶¶0029-31)
Regarding Claim 14,
Goda discloses the following limitations:
A control method for an information processing apparatus (MFP 101, Fig. 1) to associate storage devices with drivers, the control method comprising:
receiving setting values including at least … a setting value of a second setting (“control setting information” [0043]) to determine whether to use a USB-connected storage device (“the user is able to set controller setting information about whether to provide control using the expansion application 303 or the OS module 302” [0029]) – As taught in ¶¶0029 and 0043, “control setting information” (i.e., at least “a setting value of a second setting”) is set by a user to determine how to control USB-connected devices--;
detecting (¶0033) at least a first type storage device (“USB devices connected thereto” [0026] // USB Memory 215, Fig. 2) that is universal serial bus (USB)-connected (Fig. 2 // ¶0026) to the information processing apparatus (Fig. 2) … , and a second type storage device (“a predetermined operating device incompatible with the expansion application 303” [0038] // ¶0050) that is USB-connected (Fig. 2 // ¶0026) to the information processing apparatus … (“Upon detecting a USB device connected to the MFP 101, the driver selection module 307 selects a driver module that is to control this USB device” [0033] // Figs. 1-2 // ¶¶ [Abstract]; 0019-21; 0026; 0035-38) – As shown in Fig. 2, both a “predetermined” operating device (e.g., Operating Key Device 110 of Fig. 2 mounted to Operating Unit 108 [¶0019; Fig. 1]; i.e., “a second type storage device”) and a USB memory 215 (e.g., distinct from Device 110; i.e., “a first type storage device”) connect to MFP 101 via a USB interface 211 [Fig. 2.]. Accordingly, examiner considers USB interface 211 as “a first controller”. Finally, as taught in ¶0050, the predetermined operating device is not limited to a human interface device (HID) and can instead “perform other functions” (i.e., such as storage functions; see Fig. 3). Examiner accordingly considers a predetermined operating device of Goda Fig. 2, which is mounted to an operating unit 108 and which performs USB storage functions, as “a second type storage device”--;
associating, if the setting values do not satisfy a predetermined condition (Fig. 5, step S506, ‘No’ branch), a detected storage device with a storage driver (USB Mass Storage Driver 304, Fig. 3) in a case where the detected storage device is the first type storage device or the second type storage device (Fig. 5, step S509 // USB Mass Storage Driver 304, Fig. 3)(“When the connected USB device is of … the USB mass storage class … the CPU determines whether or not the setting indicating that control is to be provided using the expansion application 303 has been made for this type of the connected USB device (step S506) … when the setting … has not been made … the CPU selects the USB mass storage driver module 304 as the driver module that is to control the connected USB device (step S509)” [0043-45] // “when the connected USB device is a predetermined operating device incompatible with the expansion application 303, the connected USB device is controlled by the OS module” [0037]) – As taught in ¶0029 and shown in Fig. 5, control of USB devices (other than the predetermined USB device) can be provided either by an OS module 302 or by an expansion application 303. As shown in Fig. 5 and as clarified in ¶¶0043-45, when operating in a first mode (e.g., device control by the OS module; i.e., step S506 ‘No’ branch), detected USB devices which are 1) not the predetermined device (see step S502 ‘No’ branch); and 2) which are not an ‘HID’ type of USB device (step S507 ‘No’ branch) are controlled using a USB Mass Storage Driver (step S509; i.e., drivers associated with “the first type storage device” are set to “the storage driver”). As clarified in ¶0037 and additionally shown in Fig. 5, regardless of the setting information determined during step S506, predetermined USB devices which are storage type devices are controlled using the USB mass storage driver (see steps S502 ‘No’ branch + S507 ‘No’ branch; i.e., drivers associated with “the second type storage device” are set to “the storage driver”)--, and
associating, if the setting values satisfy the predetermined condition (Fig. 5, step S506, ‘Yes’ branch), the detected storage device with a general-purpose driver (General-Purpose Driver 306, Fig. 3) different from the storage driver … in a case where the detected storage device is the first type storage device (Fig. 5, S502 ‘No’, S503 ‘No’, S505 ‘Yes’, S506 ‘Yes’, S504)(Fig. 5, step S502 ‘No’ + S506 ‘Yes’ + S504)(“when the setting indicating that control is to be provided using the expansion application 303 has been made, the CPU 201 carries out the processes in the step S504” [0044] // “the CPU 201 selects the general-purpose driver module 306 as the driver module that is to control the connected USB device (step S504)” [0041]) – As shown in Fig. 5 and detailed in ¶0041, when control of USB devices (other than the predetermined device) is provided by the expansion application 303, detected USB devices which are 1) not the predetermined device (see step S502 ‘No’ branch); and 2) which are not an ‘HID’ type of USB device are controlled using a general-purpose driver module (i.e., drivers associated with “the first type storage device” are set to “a general-purpose driver” different from the USB Mass Storage Driver)-- and associating the detected storage device with the storage driver in a case where the detected storage device is the second type storage device (Fig. 5, S502 ‘Yes’, S507 ‘No’) – As discussed above and as shown in Fig. 5, the predetermined USB device which are storage type devices are controlled using the mass USB storage driver regardless of setting information determined during step S506.
Goda does not explicitly disclose that USB Memory 215 is connected “externally” to MFP 101 “by a user”. In addition, Goda is silent regarding a particular first setting value which indicates whether or not to use USB Interface 211. Specifically, Goda does not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
a first type storage device that is universal serial bus (USB)-connected to the information processing apparatus externally and is connectable by a user, and a second type storage device … inside the information processing apparatus and is not configured to be removed …
a setting value of a first setting to determine whether to use the first controller
However, Suwabe discloses the following limitations:
a first type storage device (“peripheral device” [0041]; USB Memory 95, Fig. 1) that is universal serial bus (USB)-connected to the information processing apparatus externally and is connectable by a user (“The user can connect devices such as … USB memory 95 to these physical I/Fs” [0038]), and a second type storage device (Operation Unit 70, Fig. 1) … inside the information processing apparatus and is not configured to be removed (Fig. 1 // ¶0038) – Examiner considers Operation Unit 70 depicted in Suwabe Fig. 1 as analogous to Operating Unit 108 of Goda Fig. 2 because both provide functionality such as input keys and an LCD display and enable interaction of a multifunctional device with a user. Accordingly, in the context of Suwabe Fig. 1, USB Memory 95 corresponds to “a first type storage device” and Operation Unit 70 corresponds to “a second type storage device”, respectively. As shown in Suwabe Fig. 1 and disclosed in ¶0038, USB Memory 95 is connected via an external I/F connection to image forming apparatus 100, whereas Operation Unit 70 is not connected via an external I/F and is instead connected directly to Control Device 60 comprising USB Host Controller 80. One of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly understand that Operation Unit 70, in direct contrast to USB Memory 95, is connected to image forming apparatus 100 via a control device 60 which is “inside the information processing apparatus and is not configured to be removed”--
a setting value of a first setting (“activation of the USB host” [0073], Figs. 9 + 10) to determine whether to use the first controller (“When the user presses the setting key, various environmental settings become possible … A window display key 701 is used to set activation of the USB host” [0072] // Figs. 9-11// ¶¶0072-73) -- As shown in Suwabe Fig. 1, a USB Host Controller 80 connects to both internal USB devices (e.g., USB-Fax Board 82 and Image Analysis Board 81) and external USB devices (e.g., USB Memory 95). Examiner therefore considers USB Host Controller 80 as analogous to USB Interface 211 disclosed in Goda Fig. 2 (i.e., claimed “the first controller”). As shown in Suwabe Figs. 9-11 and detailed in ¶¶0072-73, a user inputs for an “Activation of USB Host” setting either “ON (Activation)” or “OFF (Inactivation)” values. Examiner accordingly considers the “Activation of USB Host” setting shown in Suwabe Figs. 9/10 as a setting to “determine whether to use the first controller”.
Goda and Suwabe are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of assigning USB drivers to USB storage devices attached to a printer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goda with the teachings of Suwabe and realize an apparatus which contains a controller configured to detect both internal and external storage devices connected via USB. Doing so would improve printer performance by enabling several external USB connections to be disabled at once while maintaining necessary internal USB connections, improving both device security and user convenience, as detailed in Suwabe ¶0010-12: “An advantage of the present invention is that a measure of security can be taken in advance, and convenient control of the USB host connection can be implemented without disabling a necessary connection within a system … Another advantage of the present invention is that the system can inactivate several USB host connections at once. However, a device which needs to remain activated (e.g., a device which needs to be connected internally) can be used exceptionally.” [0010-12]
The combined teaching of Goda and Suwabe additionally disclose the following limitations:
when the predetermined condition is a condition in which at least one of the setting values of the first setting and the second setting is OFF (Goda, “The CPU 201 determines whether or not the setting indicating that control is to be provided using the expansion application 303 has been made for the type of the connected USB device (step S506)” [0043] // Fig. 5) – As previously discussed and as taught in Goda ¶0043, users set “control setting information” (i.e., values of “the second setting”) to indicate whether or not detected USB devices which are not the predetermined device should be controlled using the expansion application 303 or not (i.e., using OS 302). In this context, examiner considers control setting information which indicates that control of a detected USB device should be performed using an expansion application (i.e., indicating that the ‘Yes’ branch of step S506 should be taken and thus control performed using a general-purpose driver) as having a value of “OFF” (i.e., indicating that control provided by the OS is disabled/off).
Although Goda Fig. 3 // ¶0029 generally discloses that both the USB Mass Driver 304 and the General-Purpose Driver 306 enable communication and control over peripheral devices (i.e., perform “reading and writing” with respect to the peripheral devices), the combined teachings of Goda and Suwabe do not provide explicit detail regarding differences between reading and writing functionality when using the USB Mass Driver 304 as opposed to when using the General-Purpose Driver 306. Specifically, the combined teachings of Goda and Suwabe do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
and wherein the storage driver is a driver that enables data to be read from and written into a storage device including a storage area and the general-purpose driver is a driver that can control all kinds of USB devices but can only perform basic data reading and writing.
However, Asahara clarifies how a mass-storage driver provides different reading and writing functionality with respect to a peripheral device as compared to a general-purpose driver.
Asahara discloses the following limitations:
and wherein the storage driver (“Mass Storage class driver” [0005]) is a driver that enables data to be read from and written into a storage device including a storage area (“a special encryption area … in a memory device” [0012]) and the general-purpose driver (“common device driver” [0007]) is a driver that can control all kinds of USB devices but can only perform basic data reading and writing. (“applications often use functions of externally connected devices such as USB devices. In this case, some types of device drivers used to control the behaviors of USB devices are required … The generic standard device class driver is a device driver, which is used to control the behaviors of a USB device which belongs to the general-purpose class … As a practical example of the generic standard class driver, an HID class driver, Mass Storage class driver, and the like are available … The final type of device driver is a common device driver … allows the aforementioned application to freely control the behaviors of the USB device. Unlike the aforementioned vendor specific class driver, not a device driver but the application has a logic of controlling the behaviors of USB devices” [0004-07] // “In some cases, an application which controls a USB device via the aforementioned common device driver wants to execute special control … As another example, a special encryption area is demanded to be assured in a memory device installed as a Mass Storage class” [0012] // ¶0010) – As taught in Asahara, a “Mass Storage class driver” (analogous to “the storage driver”) is a type of driver which controls functionality of peripheral devices which belong to a predetermined class (¶0005), such as control over “a memory device” which includes “a special encryption area” (¶0007) (i.e., “enables data to be read from and written into a storage device including a storage area”). In contrast, a “common device driver” (analogous to “the general-purpose driver”) is unable to “execute special control” over peripheral devices and instead offloads control of behavior of the peripheral device to an application (¶0012; i.e., cannot execute special control over a device but instead “can only perform basic reading and writing”). The common device driver is installed when an installed peripheral device is not compatible with a class type of driver (¶0010; i.e., can be used to control “all kinds of USB devices” which do not belong to a predetermined set of classes (e.g., not belonging to a general purpose class or a vendor-specific class).
Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of assigning a USB driver to a peripheral device connected to a multifunctional device, whereby the multifunctional device supports plural classes of USB device including Mass Storage USB devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goda and Suwabe with the teachings of Asahara and realize an information processing apparatus whereby a USB storage device is controlled either using a class-specific mass storage driver enabling special control or using a general-purpose driver enabling only basic control. Doing so enables an application to take control over a general-purpose class device using a common device driver instead of using the traditional general-purpose class driver, as taught in Asahara ¶¶0015-17: “As describe above, a demand has arisen for a mechanism that allows an application, which controls a USB device via a common device driver, to preferentially select a common device driver in consideration of a case in which such application wants to execute special control with respect to a general-purpose class device … According to the present invention, the aforementioned application which controls a USB device via a common device driver is allowed to control a desired USB device by designating the desired USB device in advance. At the same time, when an OS does not include any device driver required by a specific USB device, a common device driver is loaded in a conventional manner, and can be controlled from an application.” [0015-17]
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goda further in view of Suwabe, Asahara, Sasahara (US 20200267275 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Sasahara).
Regarding Claim 9,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 9. The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara disclose the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1 … device information (Goda, “descriptor information” [0038]) including a Vendor identifier (ID), a Product ID, and a Class ID from the detected storage device (Goda, “first, the CPU 201 obtains descriptor information … includes the class ID … the vender ID and the product ID of the USB device” [0038]), and
wherein the second controller (Goda, CPU 201, Fig. 2) associates the storage device with a driver based on the acquired device information in the first mode or the second mode (Goda, “the CPU 201 identifies a class ID of the connected USB based on the descriptor information … when the class ID of the connected USB device is not the USB HID class, the CPU 201 selects the USB mass storage driver module 304” [0042-45] // Fig. 5 // ¶¶0038-48) – As shown in Goda Fig. 5 and detailed in ¶¶0038-48, CPU 201 uses descriptor information of the connected USB device to assign a driver for the device.
The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein the first controller acquires device information …
wherein the second controller associates the storage device with a driver based on the acquired device information
However, Sasahara discloses the following limitations:
wherein the first controller (USB Host Controller 107, Fig. 1) acquires device information (“information about the connected USB device” [0041]) …
wherein the second controller (CPU 101, Fig. 1) associates the storage device with a driver based on the acquired device information (“the CPU 101 acquires information about the connected USB device via the USB host controller 107 … Based on the information, the CPU 101 controls assignment of an appropriate device driver to the USB device.” [0041] // Fig. 1) – In this case, examiner considers USB Host Controller 107 of Sasahara Fig. 1 as analogous to USB Interface 211 of Goda Fig. 2 (i.e., claimed “the first controller”). As disclosed in Sasahara ¶0041, USB host controller 107 obtains information from a connected USB device which is used by CPU 101 to assign an appropriate device driver.
Goda, Suwabe, Asahara and Sasahara are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of assigning drivers to USB devices connected to a printer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara with the teachings of Sasahara and realize an apparatus which acquires device information of USB connected storage devices with a first controller, and which uses the acquired device information to assign an appropriate driver to the USB connected storage device. Doing so would improve apparatus performance by enabling a CPU to use acquired device information to make optimal decisions, such as determining a mode of a DC-DC controller supplying power, in real-time based on the device information of the USB connected storage device, as taught by Sasahara ¶¶0008-10: “A user inserts a device into or from the Universal Serial Bus (USB) at anytime. Thus, a USB interface is an interface where a load current often fluctuates … if the mode of the DC-DC converter is switched in response to a change in the load current regardless of a type of a connected USB device as in a conventional technology … a voltage to be supplied to another connected USB device can become unstable. The present disclosure features a mechanism that can appropriately switch the mode of a DC-DC converter based on the type of a connected USB device, and accordingly provide an optimum power state.” [0008-10]
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goda further in view of Suwabe, Asahara, and Hamaguchi (US 20110320748 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Hamaguchi).
Regarding Claim 10,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 10. The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara disclose the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above), wherein the second controller enables data to be stored in the second type storage device (Suwabe, “The Mass Storage driver 204 normally provides the function of a storage device such as an USB memory to an application via a file system (not shown) build above the Mass Storage driver 204” [0043]) … after associating the second type storage device with the storage driver (Suwabe, “The core driver 202 associates the connected USB device information with driver information … This association allows the Mass Storage driver 204 to handle the connected USB device.” [0083])
The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
the second controller enables data … to be encrypted and mounts the second type storage device as a system use area
However, Hamaguchi teaches the following limitations:
the second controller (CPU 101, Fig. 1) enables data … to be encrypted (Encryption Controller 112, Fig. 1 // “an information processing apparatus … encrypts and stores user data on the HDD side … via an encryption device” [0006-07]) and mounts the second type storage device (Storage 111, Fig. 1 // ¶0030) as a system use area (Fig. 2 // “An entire storage area 210 in the storage 111 is similarly divided into a plurality of areas (partitions) and used according to purpose … The program area 201 and the expansion program area 211 store programs including an OS or resource data … The program and software storage areas are used by the system and do not store user data” [0038-39])
Goda, Suwabe, Asahara, and Hamaguchi are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of managing a plurality of storage device types which are internally located in a printer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara with the teachings of Hamaguchi and realize an apparatus which mounts a storage device to a system area and encrypts data stored in the storage device after associating the storage device with a storage driver. Doing so would improve security of the apparatus by enabling personal user information to be encrypted prior to storage without reducing the speed of data storage, as disclosed in Hamaguchi ¶0005: “recently, there has been an apparatus having a function for encrypting user data stored in the storage device, as a security function. For example, an image forming apparatus has a function of protecting data without reduction in speed when storing personal information … stored by a user in a device via a data processing apparatus that can encrypts/decrypts data.” [0005]
Regarding Claim 12,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 12. The combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara disclose the following limitations:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above), wherein the first type storage device is a USB memory (Goda, USB Memory 215, Fig. 2),
Although Goda Fig. 5 shows that Operating Key Device 110 can be associated with USB Mass Storage Driver 304 (see steps S502 ‘Yes’ + S509), the combined teachings of Goda and Suwabe are silent regarding the following limitations:
and the second type storage device is a solid state device (SSD).
However, Hamaguchi teaches that printer apparatuses contain an internal SSD. Hamaguchi discloses the following limitations:
and the second type storage device (Storage 110, Fig. 1) is a solid state device (SSD) (“The storage 110 and storage 111 are controlled in reading and writing by a disk controller 109 … the storage 110 includes a nonvolatile semiconductor storage device such as a solid state drive (SSD)” [0030] // Fig. 1).
Goda, Suwabe, Asahara, and Hamaguchi are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of managing a plurality of storage device types which are internally located in a printer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Goda, Suwabe, and Asahara with the teachings of Hamaguchi and realize an apparatus which includes an internal SSD storage device. Doing so would improve resilience of the apparatus by using a storage device which has improved resistance to vibration or shock when compared to traditional HDD storage devices, as disclosed in Hamaguchi ¶0004: “Recently, there is an increase in number of apparatuses using a semiconductor storage device such as flash memory so-called a solid state drive (SSD), in place of a hard disk (HDD). The SSD is highly resistant to the vibration or shock … Thus, the usage of a storage device is determined according to characteristics of the storage device.” [0004]
Response to Arguments
The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of Claims 6-7 are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument located within the final paragraph of the 1st page of remarks (numbered as page 6) continuing to the 2nd page of remarks (numbered as page 7), which recites:
“The "predetermined operating device" in Goda is an operating interface device (e.g., a USB HID-class operating key device) whose control is forced to the OS module to avoid incompatibility with the expansion application.
While the Office Action characterizes Goda's predetermined operating device as potentially performing "other functions" and equates it to an internal "second type storage device" that performs storage functions, Goda does not disclose a USB-connected storage device that is disposed inside the apparatus in a manner that is not disconnectable by a user. Goda's focus is on control assignment between OS and expansion application for an operating device, not on ensuring continued availability of an internal, non-removable USB storage device used for core functions of the apparatus.
Accordingly, Goda does not provide a teaching or suggestion of the claimed second type storage device, nor does it provide a basis to treat an operating key device as a "storage device" that is internal and non-user-disconnectable as required by claim 1 as amended.”
Examiner has fully considered applicant’s aforementioned argument but does not find it persuasive. Applicant argues that Goda does not disclose a USB-connected storage device disposed inside an apparatus in a manner which is not able to be disconnected by a user (i.e., claimed “second type storage device”) at least because the focus of Goda is directed to controlling assignment of a driver using either an OS or an expansion application as opposed to ensuring continued availability of an internal, non-removable USB storage device. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and first notes that notes while that several passages of Goda (e.g., ¶0021, whereby the predetermined operating device is disclosed as part of a user interface of the device) might suggest that the predetermined operating device is “not configured to be removed”, the aforementioned teaching is more clearly shown though Suwabe. Therefore, the outstanding rejection relies on Suwabe for the aforementioned teaching.
Second, examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s characterization of the outstanding prior art rejection over Goda. Applicant asserts that the outstanding Office Action characterizes the predetermined operating device of Goda as “potentially” performing other functions to include storage functions and thus equates the predetermined operating device of Goda to the claimed “second type storage device”. However, examiner contends that the teaching of Goda does not merely suggest that a predetermined operating device “potentially” performs storage functionality, but instead appears to explicitly disclose an embodiment whereby a predetermined operating device performs storage functionality. As disclosed in Goda ¶0050 (see also 01/05/2026 Non-Final Rejection, pg. 6), the predetermined operating device is not necessarily limited to operating key device 110 (e.g., a “HID” type of USB device), but instead can represent plural USB devices performing various functionalities. As shown in Fig. 5, after making a ‘Yes’ determination in step S502 (i.e., after determining that a connected USB device corresponds to “a predetermined operating device”; see ¶0038), the method requires an additional check (step S507) to determine the functionality of the predetermined operating device (e.g., either “HID” (‘Yes’) or “mass storage” (‘No’)) before assigning (step S509) the predetermined operating device to the mass storage driver. One of ordinary skill in the art accordingly would understand, in view of Goda ¶0050, that Goda Fig. 5 considers an embodiment whereby the predetermined operating device corresponds to either an HID device or a storage device. Performing step S507 after a ‘Yes’ determination during step S502 would be redundant in an embodiment where the predetermined operating device can only be an ‘HID’ type of device because in such an embodiment, the predetermined operating device cannot be a storage device.
Therefore, the preponderance of evidence of record suggests that Goda discloses an embodiment whereby the predetermined operating device corresponds to a USB storage device; and thus discloses the claimed concept of “a second type storage device that is USB-connected to the information processing apparatus inside the information processing apparatus”, under the BRI of the claimed language. Nothing in the claims as currently presented precludes such an interpretation of Claim 1.
With respect to applicant’s argument located within the 4th paragraph of the 2nd page of arguments (numbered as page 7), which recites:
“Suwabe is directed to enabling security by collectively inactivating external USB host connections while preserving necessary internal USB devices. However, Suwabe's internal devices are exemplified as internal boards (e.g., USB-FAX board, image analysis board) and Suwabe does not teach a USB-connected internal storage device that is not disconnectable by a user that must remain operable as a storage device in both modes.”
Examiner has fully considered the aforementioned argument but does not find it persuasive. Applicant argues that because internal devices of Suwabe are exemplified as internal boards, Suwabe does not disclose a USB-connected internal device that is not disconnectable by a user and that must remain operable as a storage device in both modes. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and first notes that the outstanding rejection relies on Goda, as opposed to Suwabe, for disclosing the claimed concept of a second-type storage device which is USB-connected to an information processing apparatus and which further remains operable as a storage device in both modes (Goda Fig. 1, Operating Unit 108). See Claim 1 limitation mappings above for additional details. Instead, examiner only relies on Suwabe for teaching the “inside the information processing apparatus and is not configured to be removed” limitation recited in Claim 1 as amended.
Examiner analogizes Operation Unit 70, as taught in Suwabe Fig. 1, to Operating Unit 108 of Goda Fig. 1 because both are similar in structure and both provide similar functionality to an image forming apparatus (see Goda ¶0021 and Suwabe ¶0038). Accordingly, examiner considers Operation Unit 70 of Suwabe as analogous to claimed “the second type storage device”. As shown in Suwabe and taught in Fig. 1, unlike an external USB Memory 95 connected to an external USB Host I/F 85, Operation Unit 70 is instead depicted as directly connected to Control Device 60 (i.e., the connection to image forming apparatus 100 is “inside the information processing apparatus”.) Examiner relies on the contrast between Operation Unit 70 and USB Memory 95, which would be appreciated by one of ordinary skill in the art, as therefore rendering obvious the claimed concept of a second type storage device which in “not configured to be removed”. See Claim 1 limitation mappings above for additional details. Nothing in the claims as currently presented precludes such an interpretation of Claim 1.
With respect to applicant’s arguments located within the final paragraph of the 2nd page of remarks (numbered as page 2), which recites:
“The dependent claims are believed allowable for at least the same reasons as
discussed above with reference to the independent claims. Furthermore, each dependent claim is also deemed to define an additional aspect of the invention, and individual consideration of each on its own merits is respectfully requested.”
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2133
/ROCIO DEL MAR PEREZ-VELEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2133