DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-17 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections for claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed towards amended claim language, addressed on new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (US 20170054949) (hereinafter Shaw) in view of Yuan (US 20190124290) (hereinafter Yuan), further in view of Dunn (US 20160096116) (hereinafter Dunn), further in view of Khamsepoor et al. (US 20110243547) (hereinafter Khamsepoor).
Regarding claim 1, Shaw teaches A video communication system for visually communicating with a child in a car seat within an automobile from a driver seat of the automobile, the system comprising:
a driver transceiver mounted in the driver housing and in operative communication with the driver processor (see Shaw figure 1 and paragraphs 21, 27-28, and 37 regarding driver display and driver camera in same direction and child display and child camera in same direction, where processor selectively displays driver camera feed to child display and child camera feed to driver display and this communication may occur wirelessly using transceivers); and
a child transceiver mounted in the child housing and in operative communication with the child processor, the child processor being operably coupled to the driver processor via the child transceiver and the driver transceiver (see Shaw figure 1 and paragraphs 21, 27-28, and 37 regarding driver display and driver camera in same direction and child display and child camera in same direction, where processor selectively displays driver camera feed to child display and child camera feed to driver display and this communication may occur wirelessly using transceivers); and
wherein the driver processor is programmed to selectively cause the child display to display a driver video stream captured by the driver camera and cause the driver display to display a child video stream captured by the child camera (see Shaw figure 1 and paragraphs 21, 27-28, and 37 regarding driver display and driver camera in same direction and child display and child camera in same direction, where processor selectively displays driver camera feed to child display and child camera feed to driver display and this communication may occur wirelessly using transceivers).
However, Shaw does not explicitly teach a driver module as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Yuan, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a driver processor mounted in the driver housing; a driver camera mounted on the driver housing and in operative communication with the driver processor, the driver camera being positioned on and facing away from a front side of the driver housing; a driver display mounted on the driver housing and in operative communication with the driver processor (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23 and 30 regarding driver module dashboard camera with camera, display on dashboard camera [described, not illustrated in paragraph 22], power source, battery, and power charge port, and suction cup mount on bottom- in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera);
a dashboard mount coupled to the driver housing, the dashboard mount being configured to mount the driver housing to a dashboard of the automobile (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23 and 30 regarding driver module dashboard camera with camera, display on dashboard camera [described, not illustrated in paragraph 22], power source, battery, and power charge port, and suction cup mount on bottom- in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera and display); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Shaw to include the teaching of Yuan so that in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera and display.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23, and 30).
However, the combination of Shaw and Yuan does not explicitly teach a child module as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Dunn, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a child module in operative communication with the driver module, the child module comprising: a child housing; a child processor mounted in the child housing; a child camera mounted on the child housing and in operative communication with the child processor, the child camera being positioned on and facing away from a front side of the child housing; a child display mounted on the child housing and in operative communication with the child processor (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display);
a chair mount coupled to the child housing, the chair mount being configured to mount the child housing to a chair of the automobile (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Shaw and Yuan to include the teaching of Dunn so that in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
However, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, and Dunn does not explicitly teach a top surface as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Khamsepoor, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a driver module comprising: a driver housing, the driver housing having a convexly arcuate top surface (see Khamsepoor figure 1 and paragraph 20 regarding webcam camera housing with a subtly convexly arcuate [interpreted to mean curved or bowed] top surface- in combination with Shaw and Yuan, the driver module housing may have a slightly curved surface. One of ordinary skill would recognize that the field of webcams mounted to monitors and dashboard cameras mounted to dashboard are highly analogous, as both fields contemplate the mounting of a camera to view a forward facing user upon an otherwise unstable platform);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Shaw, Yuan, and Dunn to include the teaching of Khamsepoor so that in combination with Shaw and Yuan, the driver module housing may have a slightly curved surface. One of ordinary skill would recognize that the field of webcams mounted to monitors and dashboard cameras mounted to dashboard are highly analogous, as both fields contemplate the mounting of a camera to view a forward facing user upon an otherwise unstable platform.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance the visual and mechanical appeal of a design for a camera mounted to an unstable surface (see Khamsepoor figure 1 and paragraph 20).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the driver display and the driver camera face a same direction (see Shaw figure 1 and paragraphs 21, 27-28, and 37 regarding driver display and driver camera in same direction and child display and child camera in same direction, where processor selectively displays driver camera feed to child display and child camera feed to driver display and this communication may occur wirelessly using transceivers).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the dashboard mount comprises a suction cup, the suction cup being positioned on a bottom side of the driver housing (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23 and 30 regarding driver module dashboard camera with camera, display on dashboard camera [described, not illustrated in paragraph 22], power source, battery, and power charge port, and suction cup mount on bottom- in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23, and 30).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the driver module further comprises a driver power supply mounted in the driver housing and electrically coupled to the driver processor (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23 and 30 regarding driver module dashboard camera with camera, display on dashboard camera [described, not illustrated in paragraph 22], power source, battery, and power charge port, and suction cup mount on bottom- in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23, and 30).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 4, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the driver power supply comprises a driver battery (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23 and 30 regarding driver module dashboard camera with camera, display on dashboard camera [described, not illustrated in paragraph 22], power source, battery, and power charge port, and suction cup mount on bottom- in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23, and 30).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 4, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the driver module further comprises a driver charge port mounted on the driver housing and electrically coupled to the driver power supply (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23 and 30 regarding driver module dashboard camera with camera, display on dashboard camera [described, not illustrated in paragraph 22], power source, battery, and power charge port, and suction cup mount on bottom- in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23, and 30).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the child display and the child camera face a shared direction (see Shaw figure 1 and paragraphs 21, 27-28, and 37 regarding driver display and driver camera in same direction and child display and child camera in same direction, where processor selectively displays driver camera feed to child display and child camera feed to driver display and this communication may occur wirelessly using transceivers).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the chair mount comprises a strap which is configured to be positionable around a headrest of the chair (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the strap is length-adjustable (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 8, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the strap comprises a buckle for alternately coupling and uncoupling a pair of segments of the strap (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the chair mount comprises a pair of straps configured to be positionable around a headrest of the chair, the pair of straps being laterally spaced from each other with respect to the housing (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein each strap of the pair of straps is length-adjustable (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein each strap of the pair of straps comprises a buckle for alternately coupling and uncoupling a pair of segments of the strap (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the child module further comprises a child power supply mounted in the child housing and electrically coupled to the child processor (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 14, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the child power supply comprises a child battery (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 14, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, Dunn, and Khamsepoor teaches wherein the child module further comprises a child charge port mounted on the child housing and electrically coupled to the child power supply (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
Regarding claim 17, Shaw teaches A video communication system for visually communicating with a child in a car seat within an automobile from a driver seat of the automobile, the system comprising:
the driver display and the driver camera facing a same direction; a driver transceiver mounted in the driver housing and in operative communication with the driver processor (see Shaw figure 1 and paragraphs 21, 27-28, and 37 regarding driver display and driver camera in same direction and child display and child camera in same direction, where processor selectively displays driver camera feed to child display and child camera feed to driver display and this communication may occur wirelessly using transceivers);
the child display and the child camera facing a shared direction; a child transceiver mounted in the child housing and in operative communication with the child processor, the child processor being operably coupled to the driver processor via the child transceiver and the driver transceiver (see Shaw figure 1 and paragraphs 21, 27-28, and 37 regarding driver display and driver camera in same direction and child display and child camera in same direction, where processor selectively displays driver camera feed to child display and child camera feed to driver display and this communication may occur wirelessly using transceivers);
wherein the driver processor is programmed to selectively cause the child display to display a driver video stream captured by the driver camera and cause the driver display to display a child video stream captured by the child camera (see Shaw figure 1 and paragraphs 21, 27-28, and 37 regarding driver display and driver camera in same direction and child display and child camera in same direction, where processor selectively displays driver camera feed to child display and child camera feed to driver display and this communication may occur wirelessly using transceivers).
However, Shaw does not explicitly teach a driver module as needed for the limitations of claim 17.
Yuan, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a driver processor mounted in the driver housing; a driver camera mounted on the driver housing and in operative communication with the driver processor, the driver camera being positioned on and facing away from a front side of the driver housing; a driver display mounted on the driver housing and in operative communication with the driver processor (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23 and 30 regarding driver module dashboard camera with camera, display on dashboard camera [described, not illustrated in paragraph 22], power source, battery, and power charge port, and suction cup mount on bottom- in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera and display),
a dashboard mount coupled to the driver housing, the dashboard mount being configured to mount the driver housing to a dashboard of the automobile, the dashboard mount comprising a suction cup, the suction cup being positioned on a bottom side of the driver housing; a driver power supply mounted in the driver housing and electrically coupled to the driver processor, the driver power supply comprising a driver battery; and a driver charge port mounted on the driver housing and electrically coupled to the driver power supply (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23 and 30 regarding driver module dashboard camera with camera, display on dashboard camera [described, not illustrated in paragraph 22], power source, battery, and power charge port, and suction cup mount on bottom- in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera and display); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Shaw to include the teaching of Yuan so that in combination with Shaw, the driver side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a driver side dashboard camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a driver side camera and display.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Yuan paragraphs 5, 22-23, and 30).
However, the combination of Shaw and Yuan does not explicitly teach a child module as needed for the limitations of claim 17.
Dunn, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a child module comprising: a child housing; a child processor mounted in the child housing; a child camera mounted on the child housing and in operative communication with the child processor, the child camera being positioned on and facing away from a front side of the child housing; a child display mounted on the child housing and in operative communication with the child processor (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display),
a chair mount coupled to the child housing, the chair mount being configured to mount the child housing to a chair of the automobile, the chair mount comprising a pair of straps, each strap of the pair of straps being length-adjustable, each strap of the pair of straps comprising a buckle for alternately coupling and uncoupling a pair of segments of the strap, each strap of the pair of straps being configured to be positionable around a headrest of the chair, the pair of straps being laterally spaced from each other with respect to the child housing; a child power supply mounted in the child housing and electrically coupled to the child processor, the child power supply comprising a child battery; and a child charge port mounted on the child housing and electrically coupled to the child power supply (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23 regarding headrest mountable device for monitoring child in the backseat with same direction facing camera and display and obvious processing unit controlling the camera and display, where the mounting system may include a pair of adjustable straps laterally spaced apart with buckles to mount to the back of a headrest and the device has a rechargeable battery and power port- in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Shaw and Yuan to include the teaching of Dunn so that in combination with Shaw, the child side same direction display and camera may be incorporated into a child side headrest mounted camera and display in a single housing in order to promote modularity and replacement of parts of a child side camera and display.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to promote modularity, upgrading, and replacement of parts for a vehicle camera and display, rather than having the camera and display integrated into the car (see Dunn figures 1-2 and paragraphs 21-23).
However, the combination of Shaw, Yuan, and Dunn does not explicitly teach a top surface as needed for the limitations of claim 17.
Khamsepoor, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a driver module comprising: a driver housing, the driver housing having a convexly arcuate top surface (see Khamsepoor figure 1 and paragraph 20 regarding webcam camera housing with a subtly convexly arcuate [interpreted to mean curved or bowed] top surface- in combination with Shaw and Yuan, the driver module housing may have a slightly curved surface. One of ordinary skill would recognize that the field of webcams mounted to monitors and dashboard cameras mounted to dashboard are highly analogous, as both fields contemplate the mounting of a camera to view a forward facing user upon an otherwise unstable platform);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Shaw, Yuan, and Dunn to include the teaching of Khamsepoor so that in combination with Shaw and Yuan, the driver module housing may have a slightly curved surface. One of ordinary skill would recognize that the field of webcams mounted to monitors and dashboard cameras mounted to dashboard are highly analogous, as both fields contemplate the mounting of a camera to view a forward facing user upon an otherwise unstable platform.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance the visual and mechanical appeal of a design for a camera mounted to an unstable surface (see Khamsepoor figure 1 and paragraph 20).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW DAVID KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483