Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being fully met by Ishihara et al (USPGP 20230026122).
Regarding Claim 1, Ishihara discloses an instrument comprising: a body 10 including a soundboard 15 that transmits a vibration of a sound source, and a vibration exciter 30 configured to vibrate the soundboard 15 in response to an input signal (para. 0023), the vibration exciter 30 comprising:
a support member 32 attached to the soundboard 15 and configured to vibrate the soundboard 15 in response to the input signal;
a displacement member 33 configured to displace relative to the support member 32 in response to the input signal; and
a support member 32 including an elastic member 36c and supporting the displacement member 33 via the elastic member 36c with respect to the body,
wherein at least part of the vibration exciter 30 overlaps a center of a region of the soundboard 15 that extends in a width direction from a contact region of the soundboard 15 where the soundboard 15 contacts with the support member 32 (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Ishihara further teaches wherein a distance between a center of a contact region of the soundboard 15 in contact with the support member 32 and a center of a region extending in a width direction from the contact region is equal to or less than half of a length of the support member 32 in the width direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Ishihara discloses wherein at least part of the vibration exciter 30 overlaps a symmetry axis of a predetermined vibration mode in the soundboard 15 (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claims 2,9,15, Ishihara discloses input signal is generated based on a signal indicating the vibration of the sound source (para. 0023).
Regarding Claims 3,10,16, Ishihara discloses a weight of the displacement member 33 is heavier than a weight of the vibrator member 34 (para. 0023).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishihara discloses at least part of the displacement member 33 overlaps the center of the region of the soundboard 15 (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Ishihara discloses at least part of the support member 32 overlaps the center of the region of the soundboard 15 (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claims 6,13,19, Ishihara discloses the body 10 is a guitar body and includes a sound hole 15 and a bridge 20, the soundboard 15 includes a top board 14 disposed adjacent guitar strings 13, and at least part of the support member 32 is positioned closer to the bridge 20 than the sound hole 15 in direction along where the guitar strings 13 extend (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 7, Ishihara discloses the support member 32 further includes: a bracket 37C attached to the elastic member 36C, which is attached to the displacement member 33; and at least one leg 35 extending from the bracket 37C and contacting the soundboard 15 (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Ishihara discloses the support member 32 further includes: a bracket 37C attached to the elastic member 36, which is attached to the displacement member 33; and at least one leg 35 extending from the bracket 37C and contacting the soundboard 15 (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12. Ishihara discloses the at least one leg 35 comprises a pair of legs 35 extending from the bracket 37C and contacting an underside of the soundboard 15 (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Ishihara discloses at least part of the displacement member 33 overlaps the symmetry axis (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 18, Ishihara discloses at least part of the support member 32 overlaps a symmetry axis (Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited show related teachings in the art.
JEFFREY . DONELS
Examiner
Art Unit 2837
/JEFFREY DONELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837