DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1: The recitation of “the charger” in lines 1 and 3 is suggested to change to - - the on-board charger - -.
The recitation of “the magnetic” in lines 6-7 and line 10 is suggested to change to - - the plurality of magnetic - -.
Regarding claim 3: The recitation of “the charger” in line 1 is suggested to change to - - the on-board charger - -.
The recitation of “can” in line 8 is needed to rephrase since it is not a positive limitation.
The recitation of “the magnetic” in lines 11-12 is suggested to change to - - the multiple magnetic - -.
The recitation of “the magnetic” in line 19 is suggested to change to - - the multiple magnetic - -.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: The recitation of “connection to a plurality of magnetic components” in line 6 is unclear because it doesn’t define how the plurality of magnetic components are connected.
The recitation of “it” in lines 18 and 20 is unclear because of what it is representing.
The recitation of “a DC transformer” in line 22 is unclear. Is it the same “DC transformer” as recited in line 7 or line 12?.
The dependent claim 2 also rejected because it is, directly or indirectly, depending from rejected claim 1.
Regarding claim 3: The recitation of ““a DC transformer” in line 21 is unclear. Is it the same “DC transformer” as recited in line 13 or lines 14-15?.
The recitation of “connection to the DC-link of the on-board charger” in line 23 is unclear because it doesn’t define how the plurality of the DC-link is connected.
Regarding claim 4: The recitation of “a DC transformer” is unclear. Is it the same “DC transformer” as recited in line 13 or lines 14-15 or line 21 in claim 3?.
Moreover, the claims are unclear because they lack the functionalities and connections of each component with respect to other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2024/0136846) in view of Chun et al. (US 2017/0144555) and Ammanamanchi et al (US 2025/0135927).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a multi-function circuit for an on-board charger ([0004]) with a dc-link (fig. 2), the charger for use with an electric vehicle ([0003]), the multi-function circuit comprising:
a. connection to a capacitor at the dc-link of the charger (Ca-Cb and Cpd);
b. a relay (relay1-relay3 and relay3’) that when opened separates the multi-function circuit into a power decoupling converter (350) and when closed forms an interleaved buck converter ([0092]);
c. connection to a plurality of magnetic components, each with integrated cores, the magnetic components comprising a DC transformer for the on-board charger, a plurality of inductors, the plurality of magnetic components separated by different sized airgaps, including zero airgap, to prevent flux between the magnetic components, the plurality of magnetic components being integrated into a discrete device (figs. 11-14, [0115]-[0128]);
d. the DC transformer for the on-board charger comprising PCB windings ([0118]-[0129]);
e. each of the plurality of inductors comprising solid wire windings ([0118]-[0129]);
g. connections for input from different voltage sources (Vga-Vgc), the different input voltage sources comprising a single-phase AC source, a 3-phase AC source, or a DC source ([0058]);
h. wherein, in operation, when the source is a single-phase AC source, the relay (relay3’) is opened and it separates the multi-function circuit into the power decoupling converter which processes the second-harmonic of the single-phase AC source input and stores it to power the capacitor ([0100]).
i. wherein, in operation, when the source is a 3-phase AC source or a DC source, the relay (relay2) is closed and the external power from each phase converts into DC and then charges to the battery ([0061]).
Choi fails to teaches the capacitor is a non-electrolytic film capacitor and the plurality of magnetic components comprises a low voltage DC-DC converter, wherein the low voltage DC-DC converter comprising litz wire winding and PCB windings.
However, Chun teaches a on board charger comprises a non-electrolytic film capacitor at the dc link of the charger and DC-DC converter as claimed (fig. 2 and [0063]-[0070]). Moreover, Ammanamanchi teaches a multi-function circuit (fig. 4) for an on-board charger (100, fig. 1) with a dc-link ([0073]), the charger for use with an electric vehicle (185, fig. 1), the multi-function circuit (fig. 4) comprising: a low voltage DC-DC converter as claimed ([0048] and [0100]).
In view of both Chun’s and Ammanamanchi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Choi by incorporating the teachings as taught by Chun and Ammanamanchi in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Choi as modified by Chun and Ammanamanchi teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Ammanamanchi further teaches wherein the low voltage DC-DC converter comprises a buck convertor ([0048] and [0100]).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches an on-board charger for an electric vehicle ([0003] and [0004]), the charger comprising a multi-function circuit (fig. 2), a multiple magnetic components (figs. 11-14), a DC link (fig. 2), the multi-function circuit comprising:
a. connections for inputs of voltage (Vga-Vgc) to the multi-function circuit, from an active front end circuit of the on-board charger that facilitates the use of variable sources comprising single-phase AC, 3-phase AC, and DC sources, the inputs of voltage selected by a single pole single throw relay (relay3’) in the multi-function circuit that switches between the variable sources and which can isolate one or more of the multiple magnetic components (fig. 9 and [0100]);
b. wherein the multiple magnetic components are each connected to the multi-function circuit and the multiple magnetic components are integrated into one device, the magnetic components comprising inductors and transformers, each with integrated cores, the inductors and transformers comprising a DC transformer for the on-board charger, wherein the windings of the DC transformer for the on-board charger are comprised of PCB windings, the windings of the inductors are comprised of solid wire windings (figs. 11 and [0118]-[0129]);
c. wherein different sized airgaps, including zero airgap, are used between the integrated cores of the multiple magnetic components to prevent flux coupling ([0119] and [0122]).
d. when isolated by the relay of the multi-function circuit, operates as a DC transformer with respect to the inputs of voltage to the multi-function circuit (the relay2 is closed and the external power from each phase converts into DC and then charges to the battery ([0061]).
Choi fails to teaches connection to the DC link comprises a non-electrolytic film capacitor and the plurality of magnetic components comprises a low voltage DC-DC converter, wherein the low voltage DC-DC converter comprising litz wire winding and PCB windings.
However, Chun teaches a on board charger comprises connection to the DC link comprises a non-electrolytic film capacitor and DC-DC converter as claimed (fig. 2 and [0063]-[0070]). Moreover, Ammanamanchi teaches a multi-function circuit (fig. 4) for an on-board charger (100, fig. 1) with a dc-link ([0073]), the charger for use with an electric vehicle (185, fig. 1), the multi-function circuit (fig. 4) comprising: a low voltage DC-DC converter as claimed ([0048] and [0100]).
In view of both Chun’s and Ammanamanchi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Choi by incorporating the teachings as taught by Chun and Ammanamanchi in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, Choi as modified by Chun and Ammanamanchi teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Ammanamanchi further teaches wherein the low voltage DC-DC converter comprises a buck converter that enables the low voltage DC-DC converter to operate as the DC transformer in the multi-function circuit ([0048] and [0100]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References: Lee et al. (US 2025/0026207); Anand et al. (WO 2024/233749A1); Gannamaneni et al. (EP 3915826B1); Meghnous et al. (EP 4254761A1); Lee (US 2023/0211702); Liang et al. (US 9,300,217) and Khaligh et al. (US 9,931,951); Park et al (US 2024/0364228) are cited because they are related to on-board charger for an electric vehicle.
/TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876