DETAILED ACTION
The Amendments and Remarks filed on 06/29/2026 have been considered. The Applicant has cancelled claims 2, 9 and 16. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 as amended are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0011929 (hereinafter “Han”), and further in view of Hutton U.S. Publication 2006/0288503.
Referring to claim 1, Han teaches a display control method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first input (user input, such as an input for enlarging the image) (Han: paragraphs [0009] and [0098]); and
displaying, in response to the first input, a partial image of a first image and a thumbnail of the first image upon determining that the first image satisfies a preset condition (in response to the user input, such as the input for enlarging the image, present a partial image of the image and a thumbnail view of the image when the enlarged image exceeds the size of the image display area) (Han: paragraphs [0009] and [0097]); wherein
the preset condition satisfied by the first image comprises at least one of the following: a width value of the first image is greater than a display width value of a display; and a height value of the first image is greater than a display height value of the display (the size of the enlarged image exceeds the size of the image display area; when the image 410 shown in Figure 7A is enlarged, both the width and height of the first image exceeds the width and height of the image display area so only a partial image can be displayed as shown in Figure 7B) (Han: paragraphs [0097] and [0121]);
wherein the thumbnail of the first image is displayed as a floating control (as shown in Figure 5B for example, thumbnail 500 is presented floating over the display) (Han: paragraph [0119]); and after receiving a first input, the method further comprises:
displaying, in response to the first input, a first control and a second control (direction indicators 531-534 shown in Figure 10) (Han: paragraphs [0143]-[0144]); wherein
in response to the partial image being an end image of a first end of the first image, the first control is in a first display state (if the partial image is at an edge of the image, the first direction indicator can be hidden; for example, when the partial image is at a top edge of the image, direction indicator 531 can be hidden) (Han: paragraphs [0143]-[0144] and Figure 10); and in response to the partial image being not the end image of the first end of the first image, the first control is in a second display state (if the partial image is not at the top edge of the image, direction indicator 531 is displayed) (Han: paragraphs [0143]-[0144] and Figure 10), the first end and the second end being two opposite ends (top and bottom) (Han: paragraphs [0143]-[0144] and Figure 10); and
in response to the partial image being an end image of the second end of the first image, the second control is in a third display state (if the partial image is at an edge of the image, the second direction indicator can be hidden; for example, when the partial image is at a bottom edge of the image, direction indicator 533 can be hidden) (Han: paragraphs [0143]-[0144] and Figure 10); and in response to the partial image being not the end image of the second end of the first image, the second control is in a fourth display state (if the partial image is not at the bottom edge of the image, direction indicator 533 is displayed) (Han: paragraphs [0143]-[0144] and Figure 10).
However, although Han teaches that the first control in the second display state indicates that the partial image can switch in a direction from a second end to the first end and the second control in the fourth display state indicates that the partial image can switch in a direction from the first end to the second end (direction indicators 531 and 533 indicates the movable directions of the partial image) (Han: paragraphs [0143]-[0144] and Figure 10), Han fails to explicitly teach that the first control in the second display state is configured to control the partial image to switch in a direction from a second end to the first end in response to a user interface input applied to the first control and that the second control in the fourth display state is configured to control the partial image to switch in a direction from the first end to the second end in response to a user interface input applied to the second control. Similar to Han, Hutton also teaches a display device that displays a first control and a second control (direction arrows displayed on the screen shown in Figure 3a) (Hutton: paragraph [0025]). In addition, Hutton teaches that the first control is configured to control the partial image to switch in a direction from a second end to the first end in response to a user interface input applied to the first control and the second control is configured to control the partial image to switch in a direction from the first end to the second end in response to a user interface input applied to the second control (the user can point to the left or right arrow shown on the touch sensitive screen in order to pan the image either left or right) (Hutton: paragraphs [0025]-[0026]).
Hutton teaches that controlling a partial image to switch in a direction from one end to another end in response to user interface input applied to a corresponding control is a simple and known technique for touch sensitive display devices. It would have been obvious to use Hutton’s touch sensitive display screen that receives user interface input applied to a first and second control in the display device taught by Han. Using the known technique of receiving user interface input on elements displayed on a touch sensitive display device taught by Hutton to provide the same predictable level of input/output in Han would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Han was ready for improvement to incorporate the touch sensitive display device features, as taught by Hutton.
Claim 8 recites an electronic device embodiment comprising essentially the same limitations as those recited in the display control method embodiment of claim 1. Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected similarly to the rejection of the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 15 recites a non-transitory readable storage medium embodiment comprising essentially the same limitations as those recited in the display control method embodiment of claim 1. Therefore, the limitations of claim 15 are rejected similarly to the rejection of the limitations of claim 1.
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0011929 (hereinafter “Han”) and further in view of Hutton U.S. Publication 2006/0288503, as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2013/0212520 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Referring to claims 3, 10 and 17, Han and further in view of Hutton (hereinafter “the combination of Han/Hutton”) teaches all of the limitations as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above. In addition, the combination of Han/Hutton teaches wherein after the displaying a partial image of a first image and a thumbnail of the first image, further receiving a second input (after the image has been enlarged as shown in Figure 7B, the user can input another instruction to rotate the enlarged image) (Han: paragraph [0187]). However, the combination of Han/Hutton fails to explicitly teach determining, in response to the second input, a to-be-edited-region in the first image and marking the to-be-edited region in the first image; and editing the to-be-edited region. Similar to the combination of Han/Hutton, Kim also teaches displaying a partial image of a first image (Figure 8A shows the display of a partial image in eye edit area 610 for image 160; steps 401-403 in Figure 4) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]). In addition, Kim teaches receiving a second input (receiving a touch for a corresponding edit point in the eye edit area 610; step 404 shown in Figure 4) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]; this is further shown in Figure 8A); determining, in response to the second input, a to-be-edited-region in the first image and marking the to-be-edited region in the first image (in response to user selection of a corresponding edit point in the eye edit area 610, the selected edit point for editing is highlighted, e.g. by using colors; steps 404-405 in Figure 4) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]; this is further shown in Figure 8A); and editing the to-be-edited region (the user can edit the area corresponding to the selected edit point by using edit function window 165; steps 406-407 in Figure 4) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]; this is further shown in Figure 8A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Han/Hutton’s display of the partial image and thumbnail of the first image to include further allowing the user to select, mark and edit a region of the image, as taught by Kim, in order to obtain: wherein after the displaying a partial image of a first image and a thumbnail of the first image, further receiving a second input; determining, in response to the second input, a to-be-edited region in the first image and marking the to-be-edited region in the first image; and editing the to-be edited region. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow a user to conveniently edit desired portions of a desired image (Kim: paragraphs [0003]-[0007]).
Referring to claims 4, 11 and 18, the combination of Han/Hutton, as modified by Kim, teaches wherein the receiving a second input comprises:
receiving a second input for the partial image, wherein the to-be-edited-region comprises an image region in the partial image corresponding to the second input; or
receiving a second input for the thumbnail of the first image, wherein the second input is used to determine a first thumbnail region in the thumbnail of the first image, and the to-be-edited-region comprises an image region in the first image corresponding to the first thumbnail region (receiving user input such as touching a corresponding edit point in area 610 to edit that point in the image) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]; this is further shown in Figures 4 and 8A).
Referring to claims 5, 12 and 19, the combination of Han/Hutton, as modified by Kim, teaches wherein the editing the to-be-edited-region comprises:
displaying a first editing screen in response to one to-be-edited-region being determined in the first image, wherein the first editing screen comprises an image corresponding to the to-be-edited-region; and editing the image corresponding to the to-be-edited-region; or
displaying a second editing screen in response to a plurality of to-be-edited-regions being determined in the first image, wherein the second editing screen comprises a second image and the second image is an image obtained by stitching images corresponding to the plurality of to-be-edited-regions; and editing the second image (Figure 8A shows the display of editing screen 165 that comprises the image corresponding to the to-be-edited-region 165a; the user can use the editing screen 165 to edit the to-be-edited region 165) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110] and Figure 4).
Referring to claims 7 and 14, the combination of Han/Hutton teaches all of the limitations as applied to claims 1 and 8 above. Specifically, the combination of Han/Hutton teaches displaying a partial image of a first image and a thumbnail of the first image, the method further comprises receiving a second input (after the image has been enlarged as shown in Figure 7B, the user can input another instruction to rotate the enlarged image) (Han: paragraph [0187]). However, the combination of Han/Hutton fails to explicitly teach identifying a target object in the partial image and marking an image region of the target object in the partial image; and editing the image region of the target object. Similar to the combination of Han/Hutton, Kim also teaches displaying a partial image of a first image (Figure 8A shows the display of a partial image in eye edit area 610 for image 160; steps 401-403 in Figure 4) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]). In addition, Kim teaches identifying a target object in the partial image and marking an image region of the target object in the partial image (the user can select one of the edit point in eye edit area 610, which causes the selected edit point to be highlighted, e.g. by using colors; steps 404-405 in Figure 4) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]; this is further shown in Figure 8A); and editing the image region of the target object (the user can edit the area corresponding to the selected edit point by using edit function window 165; steps 406-407 in Figure 4) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]; this is further shown in Figure 8A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Han/Hutton’s display of the partial image and thumbnail of the first image to further include identifying a target object in the partial image, marking an image region of the target object in the partial image and editing the image region of the target object, as taught by Kim, in order to obtain: wherein after the displaying a partial image of a first image and a thumbnail of the first image, identifying a target object in the partial image and marking an image region of the target object in the partial image; and editing the image region of the target object. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow a user to conveniently edit a desired portion of a desired image (Kim: paragraphs [0003]-[0007]).
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0011929 (hereinafter “Han”), further in view of Hutton U.S. Publication 2006/0288503 and Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2013/0212520 (hereinafter “Kim”), as applied to claims 3, 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Chang U.S. Publication 20150058810.
Referring to claims 6, 13 and 20, Han and further in view of Hutton and Kim (hereinafter “the combination of Han/Hutton/Kim”) teaches all of the limitations as applied to claims 3, 10 and 17 above. In addition, the combination of Han/Hutton/Kim teaches wherein the second input is a gesture input (receiving a gesture input such as a touch on a corresponding edit point in the eye edit area 610; step 404 shown in Figure 4) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]; this is further shown in Figure 8A); and determining, in response to the second input, a to-be-edited region in the first image and marking the to-be-edited region in the first image (in response to user selection of a corresponding edit point in the eye edit area 610, the selected edit point for editing is highlighted, e.g. by using colors; steps 404-405 in Figure 4) (Kim: paragraphs [0103]-[0110]; this is further shown in Figure 8A). However, the combination of Han/Hutton/Kim fails to explicitly teach: receiving a third input and determining a target gesture in response to the third input; and determining, in response to the second input, a to-be-edited region in the first image in response to a gesture corresponding to the second input matching the target gesture. Similar to the combination of Han/Hutton/Kim, Chang also teaches receiving a second input that is a gesture input (receiving a plurality of gesture inputs such as touch control gestures) (Chang: paragraphs [0016]-[0021]). In addition, Chang teaches receiving a third input and determining a target gesture in response to the third input (during a configuration initiation process, the user can customize/predefine a gesture and associated the customized/predefined gesture with a predefined function) (Chang: paragraphs [0016] and [0030]-[0036]; this is further shown in Figure 5); wherein in response to a gesture corresponding to the second input matching the target gesture, perform an associated function (in response to detecting a gesture, determine whether the gesture matches the predefined gesture; if the gesture matches the predefined gesture, execute the predefined function associated with the predefined gesture) (Chang: paragraphs [0016] and [0025]-[0027]; this is further shown in Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the function of determining, in response to the second input, a to-be-edited region in the first image, as taught by the combination of Han/Hutton/Kim, to include Chang’s teaching of performing a function associated with a predefined gesture in response to an input gesture matching a target gesture previously customized based on user input, in order to obtain: performing the function of determining, in response to the second input, a to-be edited region in the first image in response to a gesture corresponding to the second input matching the target gesture that was previously determined in response to a third input that was received before the second input. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to simplify user operation of the electronic device, thereby improving usage efficiency, by allowing the user to activate predefined functions by using preferred gestures (Chang: paragraphs [0016]-[0017]).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action. The documents cited therein (US20180332214 and US20050270311) teach similar display devices that display a first control and a second control, e.g. direction arrows, that can receive user interface input for panning an image in a corresponding direction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TING Z LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171