DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 28 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 10, the expression “can be” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the tip shaping tool is, or is not, manipulated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0092053 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0002], [0067] and [0068]; Figures 17-20) teaches an apparatus (see paragraph [0002] (apparatus for manufacturing curved tubular bars) of Zhou), including (b) a tip shaping tool (see Figures 17 and 18, paragraph [0067] (bending apparatus 70 (i.e., shaping tool)) of Zhou), including (b)(1) a body having a first end and a second end (see Figures 17 and 18, paragraph [0067] (housing 72 (i.e., body)) of Zhou); (b)(2) a first pin, a second pin and a third pin, wherein the first, second and third pins are positioned at the first end of the body and extend from a first face of the body (see Figures 17 and 18, paragraph [0067] (three (3) rollers 74 (i.e., first pin, second pin, third pin) positioned on a first end of housing 72 (i.e., body) and extend from a face of housing 72 (i.e., body)) of Zhou); wherein (b)(3) a distal end region of a bar is configured to be positioned between a gap between the first, second and third pins such that a tip shaping tool is manipulated by a user to invoke a curvature in a distal end region of the bar (see Figures 19 and 20, paragraphs [0067] (feed path 76) and [0068] (end portion 58 of bar 52 is positioned for bending) of Zhou). Note that term “catheter” in the preamble and body does not limit the structure of the apparatus because the “catheter” is not part of the apparatus (i.e., not part of the shaping tool) (see MPEP §2111.02(I) and MPEP §2115). Note also that the term “catheter” in the preamble is directed to intended use, is not a claim limitation and is of no significance to claim construction (see MPEP §2111.02(II)).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, see Figures 17-19 of Zhou.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0092053 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0002] and [0067]; Figures 17-19) teaches an apparatus (see paragraph [0002] (apparatus for manufacturing curved tubular bars) of Zhou), including (a) a body having a first end and a second end (see Figures 17 and 18, paragraph [0067] (housing 72 (i.e., body)) of Zhou); and (b) a first pin, a second pin and a third pin, wherein the first, second third pins are positioned at the first end of the body and extend from a first face of the body (see Figures 17 and 18, paragraph [0067] (three (3) rollers 74 (i.e., first pin, second pin, third pin) positioned on a first end of housing 72 (i.e., body) and extend from a face of housing 72 (i.e., body)) of Zhou).
Regarding claim 19, see Figures 17-19 of Zhou.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0092053 A1) in combination with Ju (U.S. Patent No. 5,403,292 A).
The following rejection is based on interpreting claim 1 to include a catheter as part of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0002], [0067] and [0068]; Figures 17-20) teaches an apparatus (see paragraph [0002] (apparatus for manufacturing curved tubular bars) of Zhou), including (b) a tip shaping tool (see Figures 17 and 18, paragraph [0067] (bending apparatus 70 (i.e., shaping tool)) of Zhou), including (b)(1) a body having a first end and a second end (see Figures 17 and 18, paragraph [0067] (housing 72 (i.e., body)) of Zhou); (b)(2) a first pin, a second pin and a third pin, wherein the first, second and third pins are positioned at the first end of the body and extend from a first face of the body (see Figures 17 and 18, paragraph [0067] (three (3) rollers 74 (i.e., first pin, second pin, third pin) positioned on a first end of housing 72 (i.e., body) and extend from a face of housing 72 (i.e., body)) of Zhou); wherein (b)(3) a distal end region of a bar is configured to be positioned between a gap between the first, second and third pins such that a tip shaping tool is manipulated by a user to invoke a curvature in a distal end region of the bar (see Figures 19 and 20, paragraphs [0067] (feed path 76) and [0068] (end portion 58 of bar 52 is positioned for bending) of Zhou). Zhou does not teach (a) a catheter. Ju (see the entire document, in particular, col. 1, lines 16-17; col. 3, lines 47-49; col. 4, lines 13-19; Figures 2 and 4) teaches a catheter (see col. 1, lines 16-17 (a catheter having a desired distal end curvature) of Ju), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a catheter (as taught by Ju) for a tubular bar (as taught by Zhou) because Ju is analogous art to Zhou since Ju and Zhou are both directed to shaping a tubular product (i.e., the catheter of the instant application is a tubular product) (see MPEP §2141.01(a)(I)).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, see Figures 17-19 of Zhou.
Regarding claim 3, the distance between pins would have been obvious to, and readily determined by, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the apparatus of Zhou (in combination with Ju) depending on the size of the tubular product.
Regarding claim 13, see Figures 2 and 4; col. 3, lines 47-49 (braided sleeve 30 of metal wires is formed about inner layer 28) and col. 4, lines 13-19 (inner layer 28 is formed from polyamide; outer layer 32 is formed from polyether block amides) of Ju.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LEO B. TENTONI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/LEO B TENTONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742