DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment filed 09/25/2026. Claims 2-3, and 11-12 are canceled, and claims 20 is newly added, thus claims 1, 4-10 and 13-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 10 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 ln 12 “such that second shaft” should read ---such that the second shaft---
Claim 7 should be listed as Original
In claim 10 ln 10 “such that second shaft” should read ---such that the second shaft---
In claim 20 ln 1 “accruing” should read ---according---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wersland (US 2021/0244610 A1) in view of Xie(CN 113693912 A) (a machine translation of the description of Xie is being relied upon and provided for/with this action).
Regarding claim 1, Wersland discloses a percussion massager (abstract), comprising: a treatment head (#628 fig 21); a main housing (#400 fig 1) having a handle end (#143, 145 fig 1) and an attachment end (end connected to #497 fig 1), wherein the attachment end is structured and configured to selectively and releasably hold the treatment head (par 0134 disclosing switching attachments e.g. attachment 628 thus disclosing releasably holding the treatment head); an electric motor (#406 fig 19-23) provided in the main housing, wherein the electric motor has a first shaft (#21 fig 22A-23) that is rotatable about a motor rotation axis, the electric motor being structured and configured to cause the treatment head to be moved relative to the housing when the treatment head is held by the attachment end (par 0135); a translation mechanism (#17, 20, 14, 108 fig 23) provided in the main housing, wherein the translation mechanism includes: (i) an eccentric wheel (#17 fig 23) having a second shaft (#20 fig 22A-23), wherein the first shaft is received within the eccentric wheel such that second shaft is aligned with the first shaft along the motor rotation axis (see annotated fig 22A below) and such that the eccentric wheel is coupled to rotational movement of the first shaft, (ii) a connection lever (#14 fig 22A-23) having a proximal end (end connected to 19) and a distal end (#18 fig 23), the proximal end being coupled to a top side of the eccentric wheel (see fig 22A-22B) and having a hole that is aligned with the first shaft and the second shaft along the motor rotation axis (see annotated fig 22A below), wherein the second shaft is received through the hole (see fig 22A-22B showing #20 inside hole of #14), and (iii) a hollow receiving shaft (hole at end #18 fig 23) provided at the distal end of the connection lever spaced from the eccentric wheel, wherein the hollow receiving shaft is structured to receive and hold a non-treatment end of the treatment head (see fig 22A-22B showing rod treatment head 628 having nontreatment end 108 connected to 14), the translation mechanism being structured and configured to convert the rotational movement of the first shaft into linear movement of the treatment head when the treatment head is attached to the translation mechanism (par 0129), and a controller (par 0078-0079 disclosing a control unit/microcontroller) provided in the main housing, the controller being structured and configured to enable the percussion massager to operate in different operation modes (par 0133).
Wersland annotated fig 22A
Wersland is silent to a smart mode wherein: (i) the motor will cause the treatment head to move at a first speed that is less than an initial or user selected speed of the percussion massager when the treatment head is held by the attachment end and responsive to no force or a force less than a threshold force being applied to the treatment head, and (ii) the motor will cause the treatment head to move at a second speed that is greater than the first speed when the treatment head is held by the attachment end and responsive to a force exceeding the threshold being applied to the treatment head.
Xie teaches a percussive massager (fig 1, pg 1 ln 33-44) configured to operate in a smart mode wherein: (i) the motor will cause the treatment head to move at a first speed that is less than an initial or user selected speed of the percussion massager when the treatment head is held by the attachment end and responsive to no force or a force less than a threshold force being applied to the treatment head, and (ii) the motor will cause the treatment head to move at a second speed that is greater than the first speed when the treatment head is held by the attachment end and responsive to a force exceeding the threshold being applied to the treatment head (pg 4 ln 42-47, pg 3 ln 19-27, pg 6 ln 36-39 disclose an idle state when there is no force/contact on the treatment head and transitioning to a higher speed when contact/force is recognized on the treatment head).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a smart mode as taught by Xie as one of the protocol options of Wersland as this option allows for both power saving and reduction of discomfort (Xie pg 9 ln 42-48).
Regarding claim 4, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 1. Modified Wersland further discloses the smart mode is selectable by a user of the percussion massager (as the protocols of Wersland are selectable it is seen that the smart mode as taught by Xie would be selectable too upon incorporation), and wherein the controller is structured and configured to enable the percussion massager to operate in a non-smart mode outside of the smart mode wherein the motor will cause the treatment head to move at the initial or user selected speed when the treatment head is held by the attachment end (Wersland par 0106-0108 discloses selecting different speeds of operation).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 4. Wersland further discloses the non-smart mode is a default operating mode of the percussion massager (as Wersland par 0132-0134 discloses selecting the treatment protocols the treatment protocols and smart mode as taught by Xie would have to be selected by the user and thus the regular speeds as disclosed in par 0132 are the default mode).
Regarding claim 6, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 4. Modified Wersland further discloses the smart mode is a user selectable operating mode of the percussion massager (as Wersland par 0108 discloses selecting the treatment protocols the treatment protocols and smart mode as taught by Xie would have to be selected by the user).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 6. Wersland further discloses a control panel provided on the main housing, the control panel being structured and configured to display a current operating level of the percussion massager and to enable the activation of the smart mode (#409, 403, 447 fig 18, par 0184).
Regarding claim 8, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 1. Wersland further discloses a plurality of different treatment heads selectively attachable to the attachment end, the treatment head and the plurality of different treatment heads including one or more of a forked treatment head, a beaded treatment head, a bullet treatment head, and a spherical treatment head (par 0134 discloses changing out treatment heads thus disclosing a plurality of treatment heads, see fig 19 showing a bullet treatment head).
Regarding claim 10, Wersland discloses a percussion massager (abstract), comprising: a treatment head (#628 fig 21); a main housing (#400 fig 1) having a handle end (#143, 145 fig 1) and an attachment end (end connected to #497 fig 1), wherein the treatment head is coupled to the attachment end (par 0135); an electric motor (#406 fig 19-23) provided in the main housing, wherein the electric motor has a first shaft (#21 fig 22A-23) that is rotatable about a motor rotation axis, the electric motor being structured and configured to cause the treatment head to be moved relative to the housing; a translation mechanism (#17, 20, 14, 108 fig 23) provided in the main housing, wherein the translation mechanism includes: (i) an eccentric wheel (#17 fig 23) having a second shaft (#20 fig 22A-23), wherein the first shaft is received within the eccentric wheel such that second shaft is aligned with the first shaft along the motor rotation axis (see annotated fig 22A below) and such that the eccentric wheel is coupled to rotational movement of the first shaft, (ii) a connection lever (#14 fig 22A-23) having a proximal end (end connected to 19) and a distal end (#18 fig 23), the proximal end being coupled to a top side of the eccentric wheel (see fig 22A-22B) and having a hole that is aligned with the first shaft and the second shaft along the motor rotation axis (see annotated fig 22A below), wherein the second shaft is received through the hole (see fig 22A-22B showing #20 inside hole of #14); wherein the treatment head is coupled to the distal end of the connection lever (see fig 22A-22B showing treatment head 628/108 connected to distal end of 14), and wherein the translation mechanism is structured and configured to convert the rotational movement of the first shaft into linear movement of the treatment head (par 0129); and a controller (par 0078-0079 disclosing a control unit/microcontroller) provided in the main housing, the controller being structured and configured to enable the percussion massager to operate in different operation modes (par 0133).
Wersland annotated fig 22A
Wersland is silent to a smart mode wherein: (i) the motor will cause the treatment head to move at a first speed that is less than an initial or user selected speed of the percussion massager when the treatment head is held by the attachment end and responsive to no force or a force less than a threshold force being applied to the treatment head, and (ii) the motor will cause the treatment head to move at a second speed that is greater than the first speed when the treatment head is held by the attachment end and responsive to a force exceeding the threshold being applied to the treatment head.
Xie teaches a percussive massager (fig 1, pg 1 ln 33-44) configured to operate in a smart mode wherein: (i) the motor will cause the treatment head to move at a first speed that is less than an initial or user selected speed of the percussion massager when the treatment head is held by the attachment end and responsive to no force or a force less than a threshold force being applied to the treatment head, and (ii) the motor will cause the treatment head to move at a second speed that is greater than the first speed when the treatment head is held by the attachment end and responsive to a force exceeding the threshold being applied to the treatment head (pg 4 ln 42-47, pg 3 ln 19-27, pg 6 ln 36-39 disclose an idle state when there is no force/contact on the treatment head and transitioning to a higher speed when contact/force is recognized on the treatment head).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a smart mode as taught by Xie as one of the protocol options of Wersland as this option allows for both power saving and reduction of discomfort (Xie pg 9 ln 42-48).
Regarding claim 13, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 11. Modified Wersland further discloses the smart mode is selectable by a user of the percussion massager (as the protocols of Wersland are selectable it is seen that the smart mode as taught by Xie would be selectable too upon incorporation), and wherein the controller is structured and configured to enable the percussion massager to operate in a non-smart mode outside of the smart mode wherein the motor will cause the treatment head to move at the initial or user selected speed when the treatment head is held by the attachment end (Wersland par 0106-0108 discloses selecting different speeds of operation).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 13. Wersland further discloses the non-smart mode is a default operating mode of the percussion massager (as Wersland par 0132-0134 discloses selecting the treatment protocols the treatment protocols and smart mode as taught by Xie would have to be selected by the user and thus the regular speeds as disclosed in par 0132 are the default mode).
Regarding claim 15, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 13. Modified Wersland further discloses the smart mode is a user selectable operating mode of the percussion massager (as Wersland par 0108 discloses selecting the treatment protocols the treatment protocols and smart mode as taught by Xie would have to be selected by the user).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 15. Wersland further discloses a control panel provided on the main housing, the control panel being structured and configured to display a current operating level of the percussion massager and to enable the activation of the smart mode (#409, 403, 447 fig 18, par 0184).
Regarding claim 18, Wersland teaches a percussion massager (abstract), comprising a treatment head (#628 fig 21); a main housing (#400 fig 1) having a handle end (#143, 145 fig 1) and an attachment end (end connected to #497 fig 1), wherein the treatment head is coupled to the attachment end (see fig 19); a controller (par 0078-0079 disclosing a control unit/microcontroller) provided in the main housing, the controller being structured and configured to: operate the percussion massager in a first operational mode (par 00132 disclosing controlling variable speed and operation modes) wherein the treatment head is moved at a first speed that is selected by a user of the percussion massager from a plurality of user selectable speeds (par 0132 disclosing varying/selectable speeds) unless and until the user: (i) selects a different one of the plurality of user selectable speeds (par 0132), (ii) powers the percussion massager off (par 0132 disclosing turning on and off), or (iii) provides an input indicating that the percussion massager is to move to a second operational mode different that the first operational mode (par 0133-0134 disclosing selecting treatment protocols/routines) while the percussion massager is being operated in the first operational mode and responsive to receiving the input indicating that the percussion massager is to move to the second operational mode, cause the percussion massager to enter the second operational mode and move the treatment head at a second speed that is less than the first speed (as the speeds are selectable it is seen that the user can select a second mode where the second speed is less than the first) unless and until: (i) the user provides an input indicating that the percussion massager is to move back to the first operational mode (par 0133-0134 disclosing selecting various operation modes thus disclosing switching between them based on user input), (ii) the user powers the percussion massager off (par 0132 disclosing powering on and off).
Wersland is silent to the second speed being unless or until (iii) a force is applied to the treatment head by a body part of the user that exceeds a threshold; and while the percussion massager is being operated in the second operational mode and responsive to the force being applied to the treatment head by a body part of the user that exceeds the threshold, automatically cause the treatment head to move at a third speed that is greater than the second speed
Xie teaches a percussive massager (fig 1, pg 1 ln 33-44) configured to enter an operational mode and move the treatment head at a first speed (pg 4 ln 54-56 disclosing idle speed) unless and until: (iii) a force is applied to the treatment head by a body part of the user that exceeds a threshold (pg 4 ln 58-60); and while the percussion massager is being operated in the second operational mode and responsive to the force being applied to the treatment head by a body part of the user that exceeds the threshold, automatically cause the treatment head to move at a third speed that is greater than the second speed (pg 4 ln 58-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a smart mode as taught by Xie as one of the protocol options of Wersland as this option allows for both power saving and reduction of discomfort (Xie pg 9 ln 42-48).
Regarding claim 19, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 18. Modified Wersland further discloses wherein when initially powered on the controller is structured and configured to operate the percussion massager in the first operational mode as a default operating mode of the percussion massager (as Wersland par 0132-0134 discloses selecting the treatment protocols the treatment protocols and smart mode as taught by Xie would have to be selected by the user and thus the regular speeds as disclosed in par 0132 are the default mode).
Regarding claim 20, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 18. Modified Wersland further discloses wherein the third speed is greater than or equal to the first speed (as Xie pg 4 ln 58-60 discloses leaving the idle speed and matching the user selected speed it is seen that when Wersland is modified by Xie the third speed is equal to the first speed).
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Wersland as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Hart (US 2022/0362097 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 1. Modified Wersland is silent to a rubber grip provided on the handle end.
Hart teaches a similar massager device with a rubber grip provided on the handle (par 0095).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a rubber grip as taught by Hart onto the Handle of modified Wersland as doing so helps protect the user’s hand from slipping and absorbs vibration (Hart: par 0095).
Regarding claim 17, modified Wersland discloses the massager of claim 10. Modified Wersland is silent to a rubber grip provided on the handle end.
Hart teaches a similar massager device with a rubber grip provided on the handle (par 0095).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a rubber grip as taught by Hart onto the Handle of modified Wersland as doing so helps protect the user’s hand from slipping and absorbs vibration (Hart: par 0095).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the second shaft and connector connection not being “offset” from the motor shaft – see pg 11 of response filed 09/25/2026) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The claims instead call to the components being “aligned”. As portions of the components are aligned it is seen that the claim is met by the previously replied upon art. Further as the claim requires the rotation of the motor to be converted to linear motion by the eccentric components it is seen that some offset is required in order to convert the linear motion.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the examiner maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sedic US 20140194900 A1 discloses a skin treatment device that recognizes contact with the treatment area and activates different motors dependent on contact
Wersland US 20210022955 A1 discloses a percussive massager with a force meter/sensor
Wersland US 20220296463 A1 discloses a percussive massager that adjusts treatment parameter based on force meter/sensor readings
Zang US 20220331199 A1 discloses a percussive massager with a similar translation structure/mechanism as applicant
Katz US 20230080370 A1 discloses a percussive massager that adjusts speed based on a force sensor reading
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRA B DAHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799