DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is believed that CORESETPoolIndex should be in parenthesis. Please review all of your claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: please spell out all abbreviations before using them. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because: claim 17 recites ‘the first DCI’ claim 13 refers to this as a second MAC CE or first DCI. Please ensure that you want claim 17 to only claim the first DCI as Examiner believes this may be a typo. Please review all of your claims.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: please spell out all abbreviations before using them. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites ‘the target TCI state’. Claim 1, upon which claim 8 depends, does not mention ‘a target TCI state’; claim 2 does. Therefore it is unclear what Applicant is attempting to claim.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites ‘the target resource’ and then later ‘a target resource’. Claim 1 does not mention a target resource; claim 2 does. Therefore it is unclear what target resource Applicant is referring to and if the ‘a target resource’ is the same resource or a different resource.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites ‘the target resource’, and ‘the target TCI state’. Claim 12 does not mention a target resource or a target TCI state. Therefore it is unclear what target resource Applicant is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (2024/0430891; Provisional 63/137689; 14 Jan 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indication method, comprising: (See Park Abstract; TCI)
receiving, by a terminal, Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling is used to indicate at least one of a resource pool of a TCI state and a mode of the TCI state; and (See Park fig. 25, para. 467; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives configuration parameters for a plurality of TCIs using RRC message (e.g. signaling) which indicates first mode or second mode; para. 463; TCI pool being unified/joint)
receiving, by the terminal, a first Media Access Control control element (MAC CE), wherein the first MAC CE is configured to activate at least one TCI state corresponding to the resource pool of the TCI state or the mode of the TCI state. (See Park fig. 25, para. 469; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives MAC-CE including TCI-indication which activates one or more TCIs of the plurality of TCI states (e.g. pool) along with indicators of TCI state joint DL/UL, DL, or UL)
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after the receiving, by the terminal, a first Media Access Control control element MAC CE, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, a second MAC CE or first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the second MAC CE or the first DCI is used to indicate a target TCI state used for transmission on a target resource, and the target TCI state is at least one of TCI states activated by the first MAC CE. (See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE)
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the mode of the TCI state meets at least one of the following: (See Park fig. 25, para. 467; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives configuration parameters for a plurality of TCIs using RRC message (e.g. signaling) which indicates first mode or second mode; para. 463; TCI pool being unified/joint)
the mode of the TCI state is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex;
the mode of the TCI state is associated with the target TCI state; (See Park fig. 25, para. 469; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives MAC-CE including TCI-indication which activates one or more TCIs of the plurality of TCI states (e.g. pool) along with indicators of TCI state joint DL/UL, DL, or UL) (See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE) (e.g. it is associated with))
the mode of the TCI state is associated with a format of second DCI, and the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource;
the mode of the TCI state is associated with the resource pool of the TCI state; and
the mode of the TCI state is associated with the target resource. (See Park fig. 25, para. 469; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives MAC-CE including TCI-indication which activates one or more TCIs of the plurality of TCI states (e.g. pool) along with indicators of TCI state joint DL/UL, DL, or UL) (See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE) (e.g. it is associated with))
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the first MAC CE comprises code point information, the code point information is used to indicate a to-be-activated TCI state, and the code point information comprises at least one of the following: (See Park para. 498, fig. 27; codepoint is determined based upon information in MAC-CE)
an identifier of the activated TCI state selected from the resource pool of the TCI state;
an identifier used to distinguish between uplink and downlink; (See Park para. 498, fig. 27; codepoint is determined based upon information in MAC-CE with values to determine UL or DL or joint UL/DL etc.; see also para. 499, fig. 26A, B)
an identifier used to distinguish a TCI state group to which the activated TCI state belongs; and
a mode of the activated TCI state, wherein the mode of the activated TCI state comprises joint indication or separate indication.
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the second MAC CE or the first DCI is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex, and the method further comprises: (See Park para. 480; CORESETPoolIndex is in TCI-indication message (e.g. MAC CE) which is associated with DCI (e.g. first DCI); fig. 25 TCI indication message is associated with DCI)
determining, based on at least one of the following, the target TCI state used by the target resource: the second MAC CE or the first DCI, or the CORESETPoolIndex. (See Park fig. 25; Wireless device determines indicated TCI state) (See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE)
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the target resource is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex, and the method further comprises: (See Park para. 480; CORESETPoolIndex is in TCI-indication message (e.g. MAC CE) which is associated with DCI (e.g. first DCI); fig. 25 TCI indication message is associated with DCI)
determining, based on at least one of the following, the target TCI state used by the target resource: the second MAC CE or the first DCI, or the CORESETPoolIndex. (See Park fig. 25; Wireless device determines indicated TCI state) (See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE)
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
using, by the terminal, a preset TCI state in TCI states activated by the first MAC CE as the target TCI state; or
using, by the terminal, a TCI state associated with a preset code point in the first MAC CE as the target TCI state. (See Park. fig. 25; TCIs of codepoints (preset in that they are set before use); DCI then indicates which TCI to use of already preset states in MACCE; see also para. 469-470)
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the target resource is scheduled by using second DCI, and the method further comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on a format of the second DCI, a target TCI state used for transmission on a target resource, wherein the format of the second DCI comprises one of the following: DCI format 1_0 and DCI format 0_0. (See Park para. 472; wireless device receives a third DCI (e.g. second DCI) with TCI field (identifier); para. 195; DCI format 1_0, 0_0 etc.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2024/0430891; Provisional 63/137689; 14 Jan 2021), and further in view of Khoshnevisan (2021/0289525).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the method according to claim 2,
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the resource pool of the TCI state meets at least one of the following: the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a control resource set resource pool index CORESETPoolIndex; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target TCI state; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a format of second DCI, and the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the mode of the TCI state; and the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target resource. However, Khoshnevisan does disclose wherein the resource pool of the TCI state meets at least one of the following: the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a control resource set resource pool index CORESETPoolIndex; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target TCI state; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a format of second DCI, and the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the mode of the TCI state; and the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target resource. (See Khoshnevisan para. 151; UE receives CORESET pool index associated with TCI states) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Park to include the teaching of wherein the resource pool of the TCI state meets at least one of the following: the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a control resource set resource pool index CORESETPoolIndex; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target TCI state; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a format of second DCI, and the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the mode of the TCI state; and the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target resource of Khoshnevisan with the motivation being to allow the UE to know which resources to use with which TCI states and further to reduce control signaling and further to reduce delay in communication and increase throughput by utilizing multiple CORESETs from possibility multiple TRPs and further to increase connectivity to allow for connectivity to multiple TRPs at the same time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2024/0430891; Provisional 63/137689; 14 Jan 2021).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the second MAC CE or the first DCI comprises a first indication field, and the first indication field is used by the terminal to determine at least one of the following based on a plurality of currently effective TCI states: a quantity of TCI states associated with the target resource, an identifier of a TCI state associated with the target resource, and a sequence of a plurality of TCI states associated with the target resource; and(See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE)
Park discloses a TCI in the DCI and second TCI in another DCI. (See Park para. 471-472) Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the messages are combined into one DCI. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Park to include the teaching of wherein the messages are combined into one DCI with the motivation being it is obvious to make integral or separable under MPEP 2144.04 and further it is common sense (having one message instead of two may save bandwidth and reduce delay) and further it is obvious to try (in that in at the time of the invention, there was a need to send multiple TCI states; there are a finite identified, and predictable solutions (e.g. multiple TCI states could be sent with one or multiple messages); one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with reasonable success; there are no unexpected results of choosing one message over multiple (two) messages)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2024/0430891; Provisional 63/137689; 14 Jan 2021) and further in view of Landis (2022/0201695).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, second DCI, wherein the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource, the second DCI comprises a first indication field, and the first indication field is used by the terminal to determine at least one of the following based on a plurality of currently effective TCI states: a quantity of TCI states associated with the target resource, an identifier of a TCI state associated with the target resource, and a sequence of a plurality of TCI states associated with the target resource; and (See Park para. 472; wireless device receives a third DCI (e.g. second DCI) with TCI field (identifier))
Park does not explicitly disclose the plurality of currently effective TCI states are indicated by the second MAC CE or the first DCI. However, Landis does disclose the plurality of currently effective TCI states are indicated by the second MAC CE or the first DCI. (See Landis para. 197; plurality of TCI state groups which are active are sent in downlink message (control) (DCI and/or MACCE)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Park to include the teaching of the plurality of currently effective TCI states are indicated by the second MAC CE or the first DCI of Landis with the motivation being to allow the UE to know which resources to use with which TCI states and further to reduce control signaling and further to reduce delay in communication and increase throughput by utilizing multiple CORESETs from possibility multiple TRPs and further to increase connectivity to allow for connectivity to multiple TRPs at the same time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (2024/0430891; Provisional 63/137689; 14 Jan 2021).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses a TCI state indication method, comprising: (See Park Abstract; TCI)
sending, by a network side device, RRC signaling, wherein the RRC signaling is used to indicate at least one of a resource pool of a TCI state and a mode of the TCI state; and (See Park fig. 25, para. 467; wireless device receives configuration parameters for a plurality of TCIs using RRC message (e.g. signaling) which indicates first mode or second mode; para. 463; TCI pool being unified/joint; basestation/network sends (e.g. network side device))
sending, by the network side device, a first MAC CE, wherein the first MAC CE is used to activate at least one TCI state corresponding to the resource pool of the TCI state or the mode of the TCI state. (See Park fig. 25, para. 469; wireless device receives MAC-CE including TCI-indication which activates one or more TCIs of the plurality of TCI states (e.g. pool) along with indicators of TCI state joint DL/UL, DL, or UL; basestation/network sends (e.g. network side device)))
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein after the sending, by the network side device, a first MAC CE, the method further comprises:
sending, by the network side device, a second MAC CE or first DCI, wherein the second MAC CE or the first DCI is used to indicate a target TCI state used for transmission on a target resource, and the target TCI state is at least one of TCI states activated by the first MAC CE. (See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE; basestation/network sends (e.g. network side device)))
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the mode of the TCI state meets at least one of the following: (See Park fig. 25, para. 467; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives configuration parameters for a plurality of TCIs using RRC message (e.g. signaling) which indicates first mode or second mode; para. 463; TCI pool being unified/joint)
the mode of the TCI state is associated with a CORESETPoolIndex;
the mode of the TCI state is associated with the target TCI state; (See Park fig. 25, para. 469; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives MAC-CE including TCI-indication which activates one or more TCIs of the plurality of TCI states (e.g. pool) along with indicators of TCI state joint DL/UL, DL, or UL) (See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE) (e.g. it is associated with))
the mode of the TCI state is associated with a format of second DCI, and the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource;
the mode of the TCI state is associated with the resource pool of the TCI state; and
the mode of the TCI state is associated with the target resource. (See Park fig. 25, para. 469; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives MAC-CE including TCI-indication which activates one or more TCIs of the plurality of TCI states (e.g. pool) along with indicators of TCI state joint DL/UL, DL, or UL) (See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE) (e.g. it is associated with))
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the first MAC CE comprises code point information, the code point information is used to indicate a to-be-activated TCI state, and the code point information comprises at least one of the following: (See Park para. 498, fig. 27; codepoint is determined based upon information in MAC-CE)
an identifier of the activated TCI state selected from the resource pool of the TCI state;
an identifier used to distinguish between uplink and downlink; (See Park para. 498, fig. 27; codepoint is determined based upon information in MAC-CE with values to determine UL or DL or joint UL/DL etc.; see also para. 499, fig. 26A, B)
an identifier used to distinguish a TCI state group to which the activated TCI state belongs; and
a mode of the activated TCI state, wherein the mode of the activated TCI state comprises joint indication or separate indication.
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the first DCI comprises a first indication field, the first indication field is used to indicate an association relationship between a plurality of currently effective TCI states and the target resource, and the association relationship comprises at least one of the following:
a quantity of TCI states associated with the target resource;
an identifier of a TCI state associated with the target resource; and
a sequence of a plurality of TCI states associated with the target resource. (See Park fig. 25, para. 471; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives a DCI (e.g. first DCI) which comprises a TCI field used to transmit uplink signal/channel (e.g. target TCI state); states second TCI in message is of the one or more TCIs (e.g. activated in first MAC CE)
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the network side device, second DCI, wherein the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource; and(See Park para. 472; wireless device receives a third DCI (e.g. second DCI) with TCI field (identifier))
the target TCI state used for transmission on the target resource is determined by a terminal based on a format of the second DCI, and the format of the second DCI comprises one of the following: DCI format 1_0 and DCI format 0_0. (See Park para. 472; wireless device receives a third DCI (e.g. second DCI) with TCI field (identifier); para. 195; DCI format 1_0, 0_0 etc.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2024/0430891; Provisional 63/137689; 14 Jan 2021), and further in view of Khoshnevisan (2021/0289525).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the method according to claim 13.
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the resource pool of the TCI state meets at least one of the following: the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a control resource set resource pool index CORESETPoolIndex; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target TCI state; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a format of second DCI, and the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the mode of the TCI state; and the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target resource. However, Khoshnevisan does disclose wherein the resource pool of the TCI state meets at least one of the following: the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a control resource set resource pool index CORESETPoolIndex; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target TCI state; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a format of second DCI, and the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the mode of the TCI state; and the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target resource. (See Khoshnevisan para. 151; UE receives CORESET pool index associated with TCI states) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Park to include the teaching of wherein the resource pool of the TCI state meets at least one of the following: the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a control resource set resource pool index CORESETPoolIndex; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target TCI state; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with a format of second DCI, and the second DCI is used to schedule the target resource; the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the mode of the TCI state; and the resource pool of the TCI state is associated with the target resource of Khoshnevisan with the motivation being to allow the UE to know which resources to use with which TCI states and further to reduce control signaling and further to reduce delay in communication and increase throughput by utilizing multiple CORESETs from possibility multiple TRPs and further to increase connectivity to allow for connectivity to multiple TRPs at the same time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (2024/0430891; Provisional 63/137689; 14 Jan 2021).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can run on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented: (See Park para. 43; processors executing an algorithm stored in memory)
receiving RRC signaling, wherein the RRC signaling is used to indicate at least one of a resource pool of a TCI state and a mode of the TCI state; and (See Park fig. 25, para. 467; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives configuration parameters for a plurality of TCIs using RRC message (e.g. signaling) which indicates first mode or second mode; para. 463; TCI pool being unified/joint)
receiving a first MAC CE, wherein the first MAC CE is configured to activate at least one TCI state corresponding to the resource pool of the TCI state or the mode of the TCI state. (See Park fig. 25, para. 469; wireless device (e.g. terminal) receives MAC-CE including TCI-indication which activates one or more TCIs of the plurality of TCI states (e.g. pool) along with indicators of TCI state joint DL/UL, DL, or UL)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (2024/0430891; Provisional 63/137689; 14 Jan 2021).
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses a network side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can run on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the TCI state indication method according to claim 12 is implemented. (See Park para. 43; processors executing an algorithm stored in memory; see claim 12)
Conclusion
/Stephen J Clawson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461