DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is obvious that the narrower apparatus claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910748 covers the broader apparatus claim 21 of the instant application. Claims 22-31 are rejected under the nonstatutory double patenting rejection because of their dependencies on rejected independent claim 21.
Claims 32-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910748 in view of Oxley (US 20010002534 A1). Claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11910748 includes all the limitations of the cutting deck assembly set forth in claim 32 of the instant application, with the only difference being that claim 32 of the instant application further claims a grounds maintenance vehicle configured for use with the cutting deck assembly. However, it is obvious that such a cutting deck assembly must be used with a ground maintenance vehicle such as the one set forth by Oxley, which discloses a cutting deck assembly (12) configured for use on a highly maneuverable riding mower, the mower having a frame with a front end, a rear end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the front end and the rear end (features inherent from Fig. 1, para. [0020] of Oxley). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the cutting deck assembly on a ground maintenance vehicle, as taught by Oxley, in order to maneuver the cutting deck assembly across the lawn surface to trim grass. Claims 33-40 are also rejected under the nonstatutory double patenting rejection because of their dependencies on rejected independent claim 32.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the inlet of the third cutting chamber of claims 23 and 34 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because "are disclosed" is implied language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: REAR DISCHARGE CHANNEL FOR CUTTING DECK ASSEMBLY AND VEHICLE INCLUDING SAME.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23,25-28,30,32-36,38,40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oxley (US 20010002534 A1).
Regarding independent claims 21 and 32, Oxley discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (“riding mower”, para. [0020]), comprising:
a frame (“mower frame”, para. [0008]) comprising a front end, a rear end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the front end and the rear end (implicit); and
a cutting deck assembly (12, Fig. 1) connected to the frame at or near the front end of the frame, the assembly comprising:
a top surface, a sidewall extending from the top surface and comprising a front portion, a rear portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion (surrounding walls, Fig. 2), wherein the top surface and the sidewall partially surround a first cutting chamber (left), a second cutting chamber (right), and a third cutting chamber (middle), wherein each of the first, second, and third cutting chambers is adapted to contain a cutting blade (17,18,19);
a channel (20) disposed adjacent the rear portion of the sidewall and extending along a channel axis, wherein the channel comprises a first end connected to an outlet of the first cutting chamber and a second end (designated in Annotated Image below); and
a ramp (central baffle 24) disposed at least partially within the channel and adjacent the second end of the channel, wherein the ramp comprises a directing surface that is adapted to deflect at least a portion of clippings that enter the channel from the outlet of the first cutting chamber (para. [0014] “a central baffle at the rear angled downwardly deflecting the grass clippings downwardly”).
Annotated Image of Fig. 1 of Oxley
Regarding claim 22 and 33, Oxley discloses the vehicle of claims 21 and 32, wherein the first cutting chamber is connected to the third cutting chamber and the second cutting chamber is connected to the third cutting chamber (middle chamber is connected to each side chamber).
Regarding claim 23 and 34, Oxley discloses the vehicle of claims 21 and 32, wherein the third (middle) cutting chamber comprises an inlet that is adapted to allow a portion of clippings to be directed either into or out of the channel (open bottom of cutting chamber acts as an inlet for allowing clippings to be directed into and then out of the channel).
Regarding claim 25 and 40, Oxley discloses the vehicle of claims 21 and 32, wherein the directing surface of the ramp (24) is adapted to deflect a portion of clippings in a direction away from the top surface (para. [0014] “central baffle at the rear angled downwardly deflecting the grass clippings downwardly”).
Regarding claim 26, Oxley discloses the vehicle of claim 21, further comprising an interior baffle extending from the top surface and further defining at least one of the first, second, or third cutting chambers (designated in Annotated Image above).
Regarding claim 27 and 35, Oxley discloses the vehicle of claims 21 and 32, further comprising a second ramp (22 or 23) disposed at least partially within the channel (20) and adjacent the first end of the channel, wherein the second ramp comprises a directing surface that is adapted to deflect at least a portion of the clippings that enter the channel (para. [0021] baffle plates 22 and 23 deflect clippings left and right).
Regarding claim 28 and 36, Oxley discloses the vehicle of claims 21 and 32, wherein the channel (20) comprises a top wall and first and second vertical walls (22,23) that extend from the top wall, wherein the channel is open facing away from the top wall (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Oxley discloses the vehicle of claim 28, wherein a distance between the first and second vertical walls (22,23) measured in a direction orthogonal to the channel axis varies along the channel axis (as seen in Annotated Image above, the distance between vertical walls 22,23 increases from the first end to the second end).
Regarding claim 38, Oxley discloses the vehicle of claim 32, further comprising a door (35) disposed adjacent the outlet of the first (left) cutting chamber (Fig. 2), wherein the door is adapted to move between a closed position and an open position, wherein the outlet of the first cutting chamber is at least partially obstructed when the door is in the closed position and unobstructed when the door is in the open position (discharge opening may be closed by plate 35, para. [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24,27-29,32-36,39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derra et al. (US 20170245433 A1) in view of Bacon (US 3469376 A).
Regarding independent claims 21 and 32, Derra discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (riding mower 300), comprising:
a frame comprising a front end, a rear end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the front end and the rear end (Fig. 9); and
a cutting deck assembly (mower deck 4 when it corresponds to deck insert 420) connected to the frame at or near the front end of the frame, the assembly comprising:
a top surface, a sidewall extending from the top surface and comprising a front portion, a rear portion, a first side portion (left portion as view from Fig. 11), and a second side portion (right portion as viewed from Fig. 11), wherein the top surface and the sidewall partially surround a first cutting chamber (28), a second cutting chamber (26), and a third cutting chamber (428), wherein each of the first, second, and third cutting chambers is adapted to contain a cutting blade (para. [0090] “cutting chambers for receiving three corresponding rotatably driven cutting blades”);
a channel (discharge passage 24) disposed adjacent the front portion of the sidewall and extending along a channel axis, wherein the channel comprises a first end (adjacent 32) connected to an outlet of the first cutting chamber and a second end (58); and
a ramp disposed at least partially within the channel and adjacent the second end of the channel (para. [0072] “upper surface 50 smoothly blends with or ramps into ceiling 34 of discharge passage 24 at end region 58”), wherein the ramp comprises a directing surface that is adapted to deflect at least a portion of clippings that enter the channel from the outlet of the first cutting chamber (inherent from any angled surface that comes into contact with the clippings).
Derra teaches wherein the channel is disposed at the front portion of the sidewall instead of the rear portion.
Bacon discloses, for example, two similar cutting chambers (C, E), wherein the path followed by cut grass clippings along a rear portion of the sidewall (21) is such that clippings are discharged laterally from a rear portion of the sidewall (21) (see arrows depicting exit from opening 38 in Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 34-39,59-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to design the channel of Derra at the rear instead of the front of the cutting deck, as taught by Bacon, as a mere simple substitution of one known location for a lateral discharge channel for another to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 22 and 33, Derra in view of Bacon discloses the vehicle of claims 21 and 32. Derra further teaches wherein the first cutting chamber (28) is connected to the third cutting chamber (428) and the second cutting chamber (26) is connected to the third cutting chamber (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 23 and 34, Derra in view of Bacon discloses the vehicle of claims 21 and 32. Derra further teaches wherein the third cutting chamber (428) comprises an inlet that is adapted to allow a portion of clippings to be directed either into or out of the channel (open bottom of chamber acts as an inlet to allow clippings to enter the chamber and be directed into and out of the channel).
Regarding claim 24, Derra in view of Bacon discloses the vehicle of claim 21. Derra further discloses a side discharge (32) aperture disposed through the first side portion (left portion as viewed from Fig. 11) of the sidewall and into the first cutting chamber (28).
Regarding claim 27 and 35, Derra in view of Bacon discloses the vehicle of claims 21 and 32. Derra further discloses a second ramp (angled surface at 32, as best seen from Fig. 2) disposed at least partially within the channel and adjacent the first end of the channel, wherein the second ramp comprises a directing surface that is adapted to deflect at least a portion of the clippings that enter the channel (para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 28 and 36, Derra in view of Bacon discloses the vehicle of claims 21 and 32. Derra further discloses wherein the channel comprises a top wall (34) and first and second vertical walls (36,38) that extend from the top wall, wherein the channel is open facing away from the top wall (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 29, Derra in view of Bacon discloses the assembly of claim 28. Derra further discloses wherein a distance between the first and second vertical walls (36,38) measured in a direction orthogonal to the channel axis remains constant along the channel axis (constant as seen in Figs. 10-11).
Regarding claim 39, Derra in view of Bacon discloses the vehicle of claim 32. Derra further discloses wherein the channel axis forms an angle with a longitudinal axis of the cutting deck assembly, wherein the longitudinal axis of the assembly extends between the front portion and the rear portion of the sidewall, wherein the angle is at least 40 degrees and no greater than 185 degrees (channel 24 extends at a 90 degree angle relative to longitudinal axis of cutting deck).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and to overcome the double patenting rejections above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smeets (US 20200281117 A1) discloses a multi-configurable mower deck. Harvey (US 20170339826 A1) discloses a full-distribution cutting chamber. Loxterkamp (US 7574852 B1) discloses a multi-blade cutting deck with adjustable flow control baffles. Kettler (US 5267429 A) discloses a rear discharge mulching apparatus. Hansen (US 4502271 A) discloses a rear-discharge multi-blade rotary mower.
/JULIA C TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671