DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 7/13/26 has been entered. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application. Application’s amendments to the Drawings, Specification, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 5/22/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts the amended claim is not taught by the prior art.
Examiner asserts that the amendment is addressed in the rejection below as a separation of parts.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-7 and 13-19 in the reply filed on 5/7/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 11371752 to Buescher (Buescher).
Regarding claim 1, Buescher teaches a gas valve controller (102, Figure 1) on a gas valve control printed circuit board (microcontrollers in their normal use have circuit boards or are on circuit boards); a first power conductor coupled to a blower motor (116, Figure 1) of the water heater appliance (162, Figure 1); and a second power conductor (Vdd, Figure 1) coupled to the blower motor of the water heater appliance through a relay (156, Figure 1) such that a current drawn by the blower motor bypasses the gas valve control printed circuit board (bypass line shown leading to 116 that does not pass through the microcontroller).
Buescher is silent on wherein the relay is physically separated from the gas valve control printed circuit board. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the relay is physically separated from the gas valve control printed circuit board, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)).
Regarding claim 2, Buescher teaches wherein the gas valve controller is coupled to the relay through a signal line (vdd passes through microcontroller and to relay through 160, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Buescher teaches wherein the gas valve controller is configured to communicate a control signal for the relay via the signal line (160, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Buescher teaches wherein the control signal comprises one or more AC pulses or DC pulses (DC connected to the microcontroller passing to the relay when power is applied it would be considered at least one pulse).
Regarding claim 5, Buescher teaches wherein the second power conductor is coupled to the gas valve control printed circuit board (vdd, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Buescher teaches wherein further comprising one or more sensors configured to detect an environmental condition associated with the blower, wherein the gas valve controller is configured to control the relay based at least in part on one or more signals from the one or more sensors (174, Figure 1, Col. 4 lines 3-50).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buescher in view of JP2000266343 to Sakamoto et al. (Sakamoto).
Regarding claim 6, Buescher is silent on wherein the second power conductor is coupled to the gas valve control printed circuit board via a fuse.
Sakamoto teaches a fuse between power and a controller (43, Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Buescher with the teachings of Ki Sakamoto to to provide wherein the second power conductor is coupled to the gas valve control printed circuit board via a fuse. Doing so would protect the controller from being damaged.
Claim(s) 13-16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buescher in view of U.S. PGPUB 20080011245 to Donnelly (Donnelly).
Regarding claim 13 Buescher teaches a gas valve (112, Figure 1), a blower (116, Figure 1) and the rest of the claim per the rejection of claim 1.
Beuscher is silent on a tank.
Donnelly teaches a water heater with a tank (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Buescher with the teachings of vto provide a water heater with a tank. Doing so would provide structure likely already present in Buescher and/or provide structure that allows the device to hold water to be heated.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected per claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected per claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected per claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 18, Buescher teaches wherein further comprising a ground conductor coupled to the blower motor (ground connection shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected per claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buescher in view of Donnelly and Sakamoto.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected per claim 6 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762