Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 20220121251 A1).
Re claim 1: Chang discloses a system comprising:
a housing (computer chassis 600 in figs 6-8) comprising
a plurality of slots (bay frames 610a, 610b in figs 6-8 and paragraph 43), wherein each slot comprises a first set of adapter alignment features (i.e., slide fit features formed on interior surfaces 615a, 615b of the bay frames 610a-b as disclosed in paragraph 44) and a second set of adapter alignment features (thumb screw fastener 650 in fig 6 OR plunger lock 750 in fig 7 OR threaded screws 850a, 850b in fig 8 and paragraph 45),
wherein the first set of adapter alignment features and the second set of adapter alignment features are each configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple to a form factor adapter (adapter cages 620, 720, 820 in figs 6-8 and paragraph 43) configured to (i.e., functional language) receive a plurality of information handling resources (SSD 130a and HDD 130b in fig 1 and paragraph 29).
Re claim 4: Chang discloses the system, wherein the plurality of information handling resources (SSD 130a and HDD 130b in fig 1 and paragraph 29) is selected from the group consisting of an information handling resource having a first length and a first width, an information handling resource having the first length and a second width, an information handling resource having a second length and the first width, and an information handling resource having the second length and the second width (see paragraph 28) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20220121251 A1) in view of Adrian et al. (US 9320169 B2).
Re claim 2: Chang discloses the system, wherein the form factor adapter comprising a bracket (i.e., housings of adapter cages 620, 720, 820 in figs 6-8), the bracket comprising a plurality of housing alignment features (slide fit features formed on side walls of adapter cages that slidably engage with interior surfaces 615a, 615b of the bay frames 610a-b as disclosed in paragraph 44; features on adapter cage 620 that engages thumb screw fastener 650 OR features on adapter cage 720 that engages plunger lock 750 OR features on adapter cage 820 that engages threaded screws 850a, 850b as disclosed in paragraph 45) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple the form factor adapter to the housing via the first set of adapter alignment features (i.e., slide fit features formed on interior surfaces 615a, 615b of the bay frames 610a-b) or the second set of adapter alignment features (thumb screw fastener 650 in fig 6 OR plunger lock 750 in fig 7 OR threaded screws 850a, 850b).
Chang fails to disclose the form factor adapter comprises: a connector assembly comprising a plurality of connector features configured to mechanically and electrically couple to the plurality of information handling resources; a circuit board mechanically and electrically coupled to the connector assembly, wherein the circuit board is configured to electrically couple the plurality of information handling resources to another circuit board, and wherein the bracket is mechanically coupled to the circuit board.
Adrian discloses a form factor adapter (drive bay modules 104, 106 in fig 1) comprising: a connector assembly (see column 6, lines 57-62) comprising a plurality of connector features configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically and electrically couple to a plurality of information handling resources (storage devices 105, 107 in fig 1); a circuit board (bottom planes 300/301 in figs 3-4; column 6, lines 57-60) mechanically and electrically coupled to the connector assembly, wherein the circuit board is configured to (i.e., functional language) electrically couple the plurality of information handling resources to another circuit board (mid plane 302 in figs 3-4) and a bracket (i.e., housing of drive bay modules 104, 106 in fig 1) mechanically coupled to the circuit board, the bracket comprising a plurality of housing alignment features (tabs 103 in fig 1; column 5, lines 40-42) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple the form factor adapter to a housing (chassis 101 in fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the form factor adapter with a connector assembly mechanically and electrically coupled to a circuit board, which is coupled to the bracket, for ensuring electrical and mechanical compatibility between the plurality of information handling resources received in the form factor adapter and another circuit board on the housing for transferring signals.
Re claim 3: Chang in view of Adrian discloses the system, wherein the plurality of housing alignment features (Adrian: tabs 103 in fig 1) extending substantially perpendicular from a surface of the bracket (Adrian: i.e., housing of drive bay modules 104, 106 in fig 1).
Re claim 5: Chang in view of Adrian discloses the system, wherein the housing (Adrian: chassis 101 in fig 1) further comprising a plurality of rails (Adrian: rails 102 in fig 1 and paragraph 32) configured to (i.e., functional language) guide mechanical and electrical coupling of the plurality of information handling resources to the form factor adapter.
Re claim 6: Chang discloses a system comprising:
housing (computer chassis 600 in figs 6-8) comprising:
a plurality of slots (bay frames 610a, 610b in figs 6-8 and paragraph 43), wherein each slot comprises a first set of adapter alignment features (i.e., slide fit features formed on interior surfaces 615a, 615b of the bay frames 610a-b as disclosed in paragraph 44) and a second set of adapter alignment features (thumb screw fastener 650 in fig 6 OR plunger lock 750 in fig 7 OR threaded screws 850a, 850b in fig 8 and paragraph 45),
wherein the first set of adapter alignment features and the second set of adapter alignment features are each configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple to a form factor adapter (adapter cages 620, 720, 820 in figs 6-8 and paragraph 43) configured to (i.e., functional language) receive a plurality of information handling resources (SSD 130a and HDD 130b in fig 1 and paragraph 29), wherein the form factor adapter comprising a bracket (i.e., housings of adapter cages 620, 720, 820), the bracket comprising a plurality of housing alignment features (slide fit features formed on side walls of adapter cages that slidably engage with interior surfaces 615a, 615b of the bay frames 610a-b as disclosed in paragraph 44; features on adapter cage 620 that engage thumb screw fastener 650 OR features on adapter cage 720 that engage plunger lock 750 OR features on adapter cage 820 that engage threaded screws 850a, 850b as disclosed in paragraph 45) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple the form factor adapter to the housing.
Chang fails to disclose the form factor adapter comprising: a connector assembly comprising a plurality of connector features configured to mechanically and electrically couple to the plurality of information handling resources; a circuit board mechanically and electrically coupled to the connector assembly, wherein the circuit board is configured to electrically couple the plurality of information handling resources to another circuit board; and a bracket mechanically coupled to the circuit board.
Adrian discloses a form factor adapter (drive bay modules 104, 106 in fig 1) comprising: a connector assembly (see column 6, lines 57-62) comprising a plurality of connector features configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically and electrically couple to a plurality of information handling resources (storage devices 105, 107 in fig 1); a circuit board (bottom planes 300/301 in figs 3-4; column 6, lines 57-60) mechanically and electrically coupled to the connector assembly, wherein the circuit board is configured to (i.e., functional language) electrically couple the plurality of information handling resources to another circuit board (mid plane 302 in figs 3-4), and a bracket (i.e., housing of drive bay modules 104, 106 in fig 1) mechanically coupled to the circuit board, the bracket comprising a plurality of housing alignment features (tabs 103 in fig 1; column 5, lines 40-42) configured to (i.e., functional language) mechanically couple the form factor adapter to a housing (chassis 101 in fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the form factor adapter with a connector assembly mechanically and electrically coupled to a circuit board, which is coupled to the bracket, for ensuring electrical and mechanical compatibility between the plurality of information handling resources received in the form factor adapter and another circuit board for transferring signals.
Re claim 7: Chang in view of Adrian discloses the form factor adapter, the plurality of housing alignment features (Adrian: tabs 103 in fig 1) extending substantially perpendicular from a surface of the bracket (Adrian: i.e., housing of drive bay modules 104, 106 in fig 1).
Re claim 8: Chang in view of Adrian discloses the form factor adapter, wherein the one or more plurality of information handling resources (Chang: SSD 130a and HDD 130b in fig 1 and paragraph 29) is selected from the group consisting of an information handling resource having a first length and a first width, an information handling resource having the first length and a second width, an information handling resource having a second length and the first width, and an information handling resource having the second length and the second width (Chang: see paragraph 28).
Re method claims 10-12: The method steps recited in the claims are obviously necessitated by the device structure as taught by Chang in view of Adrian.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841