DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remark, see pages 8-9, filed 2/10/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot, because the new ground of rejection incorporates a new interpretation of the claims that rely on different combination of prior art that now includes Escamilla, and is considered to teach the newly amended language specifically challenged in the remarks, i.e.:
Note, newly presented amendment to independent claims 1 and 10 are not sufficient in overcoming Lin in view of Escamilla, since the [horizontal] limitation meant to limit the translational direction of the slider relative to the bracket side portion would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. Please see revised rejection of the claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, 16-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin 2022/0114130 in view of Escamilla 2024/0276664.
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a riser cage assembly (Abstract) comprising: a riser cage bracket (1100, Fig 3A) comprising: a bracket side portion (1102, Fig 2A); and a bracket window portion (1128, Fig 2A) coupled perpendicularly to the bracket side portion (as depicted, Fig 2A) such that a space (space under 1102, Fig 2B) is defined between the bracket side portion and the bracket window portion (see Figs 2A, 2B) to receive an expansion card (3100, Fig 3A) and detachably connect the expansion card to a riser card (portion between 1112 and 1120, Fig 2A) mounted on the bracket side portion (Fig 2A); and a latching assembly (assembly/structure disposed to connect 1100 with 1200, Fig 2A) comprising; and a slider (1200, Fig 2A) movably coupled to the bracket side portion (Fig 2B), the slider extending parallel to a longitudinal dimension of the bracket side portion (as depicted Fig 2A) and comprising a first latching element (1204, 1208, Fig 2A) adjacent to a distal end of the slider (end where 1204 locates, Fig 2A) and a second latching element (1212, 1244, Fig 2A) adjacent to a proximal end of the slider (end where 1212 locates, Fig 2A); a first position corresponding to a fastened state of the latching assembly (as in Fig 2B) and a second position corresponding to an unfastened state of the latching assembly (as in Fig 2A), wherein, in an installed state of the riser cage assembly in an information processing device (2000, Fig 7A) and in the fastened state (as in Fig 7D), the first and second latching elements are engaged with a first anchor (such as screws on 1204, 1208, par 0041) and a second anchor (such as screws on 1112, 116, par 0041), respectively, of the information processing device and fasten the riser cage assembly to the information processing device (as in Figs 7C, 7D); and wherein, in the installed state of the riser cage assembly in the information processing device and in the unfastened state (as in Fig 7C), the first and second latching elements are disengaged from the first and second anchors (being detached as in Fig 2A and disengaged from the anchors/screws that connected the latches, par 0041), respectively, and the riser cage bracket is released from the information processing device (in the released/disengaged state, as in Fig 7C).
Lin discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching a lever that is: rotatably coupled to the bracket side portion, movably coupled to the slider and actuatable to drive said slider to translate horizontally to the bracket side portion between positions corresponding to fastened/unfastened states.
Escamilla, however teaches a similar structure (Fig 2A) including a lever (210, Fig 2A) that is: rotatably coupled to a bracket side portion (204, Fig 2A), movably coupled to a slider (205, Fig 2A) and actuatable to drive said slider (between latched and unlatched position, see par 0030, 0031) to translate the bracket side portion between positions (latched/unlatched position, par 0032) corresponding to fastened/unfastened states (Figs 2A, 2B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of the latching assembly Lin to include a rotatable lever in the manner as claimed, and, as taught by Escamilla, translating horizontally to the bracket side portion, in order to attach the slider to the bracket side portion in a way that is quickly detachable for access during repair or maintenance without exerting excessive force associated with screwing/threading, while implementing a horizontal translation safely influence stability and rigidity due to the natural effects of gravity to keep the riser assembly secure and minimize movement in a particular direction, thereby improving access and optimizing spatial dimensions of the cage.
Going further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to translate horizontally instead of vertically as taught by Escamilla, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Escamilla disclose the riser cage assembly of claim 1, Lin teaches wherein the first latching element is a tab (see 1108 or 1112, Fig 2A), wherein the second latching element is the tab (see 1212 or 1204, Fig 2A), wherein a first anchor is a first bracket coupled to the chassis (where1100 is seated/fitted/anchored within 2000 once assembled, Fig 7D), and wherein the
second anchor is a second bracket coupled to the chassis (where 1200 is seated/fitted/anchored within 2000 once assembled, Fig 7D).
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Escamilla disclose the riser cage assembly of claim 1, Lin teaches wherein the riser cage bracket has one of a 1U height, a 2U
height, or a 3U height (see par 0005, 0006 about height profile), each configured
to receive at least one expansion card having a full-height configuration or a low-
profile configuration (see par 0005, 0006; additionally claim 2).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses an information processing device (Abstract) comprising: a chassis (2ⁿᵈ to last sentence par 0005); a primary system board (3rd sentence par 0005) having a connector (132, Fig 1); a first anchor (where1100 is seated/fitted/anchored within 2000 once assembled, Fig 7D) and a second anchor (where 1200 is seated/fitted/anchored within 2000 once assembled, Fig 7D), each coupled to the chassis (806, Fig 8); and a riser cage assembly (structure as depicted Figs 7A-7D) comprising: a riser cage bracket (1100, Fig 3A) comprising: a bracket side portion (1102, Fig 2A); a bracket window portion (1128, Fig 2A) coupled perpendicularly to the bracket side portion (as depicted, Fig 2A); and a latching assembly (assembly/structure disposed to connect 1100 with 1200, Fig 2A) comprising: and a slider (1200, Fig 2A) movably
coupled to the bracket side portion (Fig 2B), the slider extending parallel to a
longitudinal dimension of the bracket side portion (as depicted Fig 2A) and
comprising a first latching element (1204, 1208, Fig 2A) adjacent to a distal end of
the slider (end where 1204 locates, Fig 2A) and a second latching element (1212,
1244, Fig 2A) adjacent to a proximal end of the slider (end where 1212 locates,
Fig 2A); an expansion card (3100, Fig 3A) attached to the riser cage bracket (as
depicted in Fig 3A) and located in a space (space under 1102, Fig 2B) defined
between the bracket side portion (Fig 3A) and the bracket window portion (Fig
3B); and a riser card (portion between 1112 and 1120, Fig 2A) mounted to the
bracket side portion (Fig 2A) and electrically connected to the connector and to
the expansion card (via portion 102, 104, 116, 132 Fig 1), wherein, in the fastened
state (as in Fig 7D), the first and second latching elements are engaged with the
first (such as screws on 1204, 1208, par 0041) and second anchors (such as
screws on 1112, 116, par 0041), respectively, and fasten the riser cage assembly
to the chassis (as in Figs 7C, 7D), and wherein, in the unfastened state (as in Fig
7C), the first and second latching elements are disengaged from the first and
second anchors (being detached as in Fig 2A and disengaged from the
anchors/screws that connected the latches, par 0041), respectively, and the riser
cage bracket is released from the chassis (in the released/disengaged state, as in
Fig 7C).
Lin discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching a lever that is: rotatably coupled to the bracket side portion, movably coupled to the slider and actuatable to drive said slider to translate horizontally to the bracket side portion between positions corresponding to fastened/unfastened states.
Escamilla, however teaches a similar structure (Fig 2A) including a lever (210, Fig 2A) that is: rotatably coupled to a bracket side portion (204, Fig 2A), movably coupled to a slider (205, Fig 2A) and actuatable to drive said slider (between latched and unlatched position, see par 0030, 0031) to translate the bracket side portion between positions (latched/unlatched position, par 0032) corresponding to fastened/unfastened states (Figs 2A, 2B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of the latching assembly Lin to include a rotatable lever in the manner as claimed, and, as taught by Escamilla, translating horizontally to the bracket side portion, in order to attach the slider to the bracket side portion in a way that is quickly detachable for access during repair or maintenance without exerting excessive force associated with screwing/threading, while implementing a horizontal translation safely influence stability and rigidity due to the natural effects of gravity to keep the riser assembly secure and minimize movement in a particular direction, thereby improving access and optimizing spatial dimensions of the cage.
Going further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to translate horizontally instead of vertically, as taught by Escamilla, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Escamilla disclose the information
processing device of claim 10, Lin teaches wherein the first latching element is a
tab (see 1108 or 1112, Fig 2A), wherein the second latching element is the tab
(see 1212 or 1204, Fig 2A), wherein a first anchor is a first bracket coupled to the
chassis (where1100 is seated/fitted/anchored within 2000 once assembled, Fig
7D), and wherein the second anchor is a second bracket coupled to the chassis
(where 1200 is seated/fitted/anchored within 2000 once assembled, Fig 7D).
Regarding claim 17, Lin in view of Escamilla disclose the information processing device of claim 10, Lin teaches wherein the riser cage bracket has one of a 1U height, a 2U height, or a 3U height (see par 0005, 0006 about height profile), each configured to receive at least one expansion card having a full-height configuration or a low- profile configuration (see par 0005, 0006; additionally claim 2).
Regarding claim 21, Lin in view of Escamilla disclose the riser cage assembly of claim 1, Escamilla teaches wherein, in both the first position and the second position, the slider is mounted to the bracket side portion (see Figs 2A, 2B).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin 2022/0114130 in view of Escamilla 2024/0276664 and further in view of Tsorng 2024/0164043.
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Escamilla disclose the riser cage assembly of claim 1, except wherein the bracket side portion comprises a first spool, a second spool, and a set of third spools, each extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal dimension of the bracket side portion.
Tsorng however teaches a similar assembly (300, Fig 8) wherein a bracket
side portion (310 or 320 or 200, Fig 8) comprises a spool (270, Fig 5), extending
perpendicularly to the longitudinal dimension of the bracket side portion
(extending perpendicular to 220, Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bracket side portion of Lin in view of Escamilla to include spool(s), extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal dimension of the bracket side portion, as taught by Tsorng, in
order to create an attachment feature corresponding to the bracket side portion in a way that is quickly detachable for access during repair or maintenance
without exerting excessive force associated with screwing/threading, thereby
improving access and functionality.
And further including a second and third set of spools to fasten correspondingly around plural attachment areas of the assembly, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Escamilla in view of Tsorng disclose the riser cage assembly of claim 2, Escamilla teaches wherein the lever comprises a handle (210, Fig 2A) and a set of arms (212, 208, Fig 2B) connected to the handle (Fig 2B), and wherein each arm of the set of arms comprises a first opening (202, Fig 2B) and a guided slot (218, Fig 5A).
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Escamilla disclose the information processing device of claim 10, except wherein the bracket side portion comprises a first spool, a second spool, and a set of third spools, each extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal dimension of the bracket side portion.
Tsorng however teaches a similar assembly (300, Fig 8) wherein a bracket side portion (310 or 320 or 200, Fig 8) comprises a spool (270, Fig 5), extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal dimension of the bracket side portion
(extending perpendicular to 220, Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bracket side
portion of Lin in view of Escamilla to include spool(s), extending perpendicularly to the longitudinal dimension of the bracket side portion, as taught by Tsorng, in
order to create an attachment feature corresponding to the bracket side portion
in a way that is quickly detachable for access during repair or maintenance
without exerting excessive force associated with screwing/threading, thereby
improving access and functionality.
And further including a second and third set of spools to fasten
correspondingly around plural attachment areas of the assembly, since it has
been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device
involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Escamilla in view of Tsorng information
processing device of claim 11, Escamilla teaches wherein the lever comprises a handle (210, Fig 2A) and a set of arms (212, 208, Fig 2B) connected to the handle (Fig 2B), and wherein each arm of the set of arms comprises a first opening (202, Fig 2B) and a guided slot (218, Fig 5A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all
the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims listed below, in combination with the remaining
elements of the independent claim(s) from which they directly/indirectly depend,
are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record.
Claim 4. The riser cage assembly of claim 3, wherein the slider comprises a
first support wall, a second support wall, and an intermediate wall connected to
the first and second support walls, wherein at least one of the first and second
support walls comprises the first latching element and the second latching
element, wherein each of the first and second support walls comprises a second
opening, and wherein the second support wall further comprises a set of slots.
Claims 5-7 depend directly from claim 4 and are therefore allowed for at least the
same reason.
Claim 13. The information processing device of claim 12, wherein the slider
comprises a first support wall, a second support wall, and an intermediate wall
connected to the first and second support walls, wherein at least one of the first
and second support walls comprises the first latching element and the second latching element, wherein each of the first and second support walls comprises a
second opening, and wherein the second support wall further comprises a set of
slots. Claims 14-15 depend directly from claim 13 and are therefore allowed for at
least the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841