DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, “wherein the storage bin further includes at least one sub-compartment having a cover hingedly coupled with the sub-compartment”
(lines 2-3) is not mentioned in the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8, 9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, “wherein the plurality of discrete interior regions includes at least a first discrete interior region independently accessible by a movement of at least a portion of the floor panel and by an exterior openable barrier positioned lower than the floor panel” (lines 1-3) is unclear. In paragraph [0061], “floor panel 104 may be actuated to provide access to second storage component 122 while doors may be actuated for independently accessing first and second compartments 120, 122”. It appears the door (exterior openable barrier) may be actuated for independently accessing the first compartment (first discrete interior region) not the movement of at least portion of floor panel. See same deficiency in claim 18 (lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 8, “a cargo rack rotatably with the storage bin” (lines 1-2) is unclear. In paragraph [0063], “interior region 162 of front cargo area 32 may include a storage bin 150 which may have a cover 152 rotatably coupled with storage bin 150 to reversibly enclose an interior region 154 of storage bin 150, allowing for access to be prohibited and/or restricted into storage bin 150.” In paragraph [0063], “Fig. 21 illustrates a cross-sectional view taken along line
21-21 illustrating interior region 154 of storage bin 150 in combination with cargo rack 148. How is the cargo rack rotatably with the storage bin? See same deficiency in claim 18 (lines 19-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowicz et al. US 2015/0329148 A1 in view of Morgan et al. US 8973691 B2 and Bejin et al. US 7118151 B2.
Borowicz et al. discloses a vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1) comprising: a frame (frame assembly 4 in paragraphs [0073] and [0074] as shown in Figure 13) including an upper frame portion (cab frame 28 in paragraph [0078] as shown in Figure 13) and a lower frame portion (lower frame portion 80 in paragraph [0074] as shown in Figure 13); front and rear ground engaging members (front wheels 6 and rear wheels 8 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1) supporting the frame (frame assembly 4 in paragraph [0069]); power train (60 in paragraph [0085] as shown in Figures 24-29) an operator area (integrated operator cab 22 in paragraph [0070] as shown in Figure 7) supported by the frame (frame assembly 4 in paragraph [0070]); and a rear cargo area (rear end 18 of utility vehicle 2 includes a utility cargo box 20 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1) arranged longitudinally rearward of the seating area (in paragraph [0072] as shown in Figures 10 and 11), the rear cargo area (rear end 18 of utility vehicle 2 includes a utility cargo box 20 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1) defined by: a cargo box (20 as shown in Figure 1) having a floor panel (as shown in Figure 1), a first side panel (as shown in Figure 1) extending vertically upward form the floor panel (as shown in Figure 1), and a second side panel (as shown in Figure 1) opposite the first side panel (as shown in Figure 1) and extending vertically upward from the floor panel as shown in Figure 1).
However, Borowicz et al. does not show an electric powertrain drivingly coupled to at least one of the front and rear ground engaging members; at least one storage compartment arranged vertically below at least a portion of the floor panel, wherein the at least one storage compartment comprises a plurality of discrete interior regions (claim 1); and wherein the at least one storage compartment comprises a door hingedly coupled with a wall of the storage compartment such that actuation of the door provides access into the at least one storage compartment (claim 5).
Morgan et al. teaches electric off-road wheeled vehicle (Figure 13 is a top plan view of the power train of RUV of Figure 1; electric motor 50 is operatively connected to the four wheels 14 to power the RUV 10 in column 11, lines 18-19).
Bejin et al. teaches (in column 3, lines 43-66) at least one storage compartment (a recessed well 17 to support a storage compartment liner 22 as shown in Figure 6; wet trunk 20 preferably includes the plastic liner 22 which can be in any one of a number of specific configurations, including the
multi-compartment, vehicle wide configuration, incorporating multiple dividers 23 depicted in FIG. 1) arranged vertically below at least a portion of the floor panel (rear load floor 14 as shown in Figure 6), wherein the at least one storage compartment (a recessed well 17 to support a storage compartment liner 22 as shown in Figure 6) comprises a plurality of discrete interior regions (the wet trunk 20 preferably includes the plastic liner 22 which can be in any one of a number of specific configurations, including the multi-compartment, vehicle wide configuration, incorporating multiple dividers 23 depicted in FIG. 1); wherein the at least one storage compartment comprises a door hingedly coupled with a wall of the storage compartment such that actuation of the door provides access into the at least one storage compartment (movable lid 25, which is preferably hinged to the plastic liner 22 by hinges 26 to facilitate the utilization of the lid 25 from a raised, opened position as depicted with the rearward wet trunk 20 and a lowered, closed position as depicted with respect to the forward wet trunk structure 20a in column 4, lines 16-19 as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the power train of Borowicz et al. with electric power train, as taught by Morgan et al., with a reasonable expectation of success in order to completely eliminate fuel consumption and greenhouse gas emissions.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the cargo box of Borowicz et al., as modified, with at least one storage compartment arranged vertically below at least a portion of the floor panel, wherein the at least one storage compartment comprises a plurality of discrete interior regions and a door hingedly coupled with a wall of the storage compartment, as taught by Morgan et al., with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide cargo transport capabilities for wet cargo such that actuation of the door provides access into the at least one storage compartment.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowicz et al. US 2015/0329148 A1 in view of Morgan et al. US 8973691 B2 and Bejin et al. US 7118151 B2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 114379436 A.
Regarding claim 6, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, discloses the vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1 of Borowicz et al.) of claim 1, wherein the seating area is defined by at least one passenger seat (rear passenger area 26 in paragraph [0072] of Borowicz et al.) having a seat base (seat bottom 52 as shown in Figures 10 and 11 of Borowicz et al.) and a seat back (seat back 52 as shown in Figure 10 and 11 of Borowicz et al.).
However, does not show wherein the seat back includes a panel coupled with a rear surface of the seat back, the panel configured for actuation into an extended configuration to increase surface area available for storage.
CN 114379436 A teaches the seat assembly comprises a seat base 12 operatively coupled to the seat back 14; the panel assembly 16 is positioned on the seat back 14 and includes a first panel 20 coupled to the seat back as shown in Figure 1 and 6.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the seat area of Borowicz et al., as twice modified, with a seat back includes a panel coupled with a rear surface of the seat back and the panel configured for actuation into an extended configuration, as taught by CN 114379436 A, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase surface area available for storage.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowicz et al. US 2015/0329148 A1 in view of Morgan et al. US 8973691 B2 and Bejin et al. US 7118151 B2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Salter et al. US 20220032796 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, disclose the vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1 of Borowicz et al.) of claim 1 but does not show wherein the vehicle further incudes a front cargo area arranged longitudinally forward of the operator area.
Salter et al. teaches the electrified vehicle 10 is a pickup truck; the electrified vehicle 10 could also be configured as a car, a van, a sport utility vehicle, or any other type of vehicle in paragraph [0042]; in an embodiment, the electrified vehicle 10 includes a passenger cabin 22, a truck bed 24 located to the rear of the passenger cabin 22, and a front trunk 26 located to the front of the passenger cabin 22; the front trunk 26 establishes a first cargo space of the electrified vehicle 10, and the truck bed 24 establishes a second cargo space of the electrified vehicle 10; the front trunk 26 may be referred to more broadly as a front cargo space or by the portmanteau “frunk” in paragraph [0043] as shown in Figure 1; each power point 36 may include one or more power outlet ports 38 for connecting electrically powered devices to the modular battery unit 32; the power outlet ports 38 may include 120V outlet ports, 240V outlet ports, USB ports, etc., or any combination of these or other power outlet ports in paragraph [0047] as shown in Figure 3.
Regarding claims 7 and 10, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the vehicle of Borowicz et al., as twice modified, with a front cargo area arrange longitudinally forward of the operator area and a wall of the font cargo area includes at least one power outlet, as taught by Salter et al., with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a front cargo space and for connecting electrically powered device to the modular battery unit.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowicz et al. US 2015/0329148 A1 in view Proietty et al.
US 20140278104 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Borowicz et al. discloses a vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1) comprising: a frame (frame assembly 4 in paragraphs [0073] and [0074] as shown in Figure 13) including an upper frame portion (cab frame 28 in paragraph [0078] as shown in Figure 13) and a lower frame portion (lower frame portion 80 in paragraph [0074] as shown in Figure 13), the lower frame portion (lower frame portion 80 in paragraph [0074] as shown in Figure 13) having a front lower frame portion (frame portion 82 for supporting the front wheels 6 in paragraph [0074] as shown in Figure 13), an intermediate lower frame portion (a frame portion 84 for supporting the seats 50, 52 in paragraph [0074] as shown in Figure 13), and a rear lower frame portion (a frame portion 86 for supporting the cargo box 20 and rear wheels 8 in paragraph [0074] as shown in Figure 13); front and rear ground engaging members supporting the frame (a frame assembly 4 as shown in Figure 13) supported by a plurality of ground engaging members (front wheels 6 and rear wheels 8 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 7); a power train (60 in paragraph [0085]) and a seating area (seats 50 and 52 in paragraph [0074] as shown in Figure 19) supported by the frame (a frame portion 84 for supporting the seats 50, 52 in paragraph [0074] as shown in Figure 13), the seating area (seats 50 and 52 in paragraph [0074] as shown in Figure 19) including a front seating area (50 as shown in Figure 19) and a rear seating area (52 as shown Figure 19), the rear seating area (52 as shown in Figure 19) having at least one seat including a seat base (seat bottom 52a as shown in Figure 19) and a seat back (seat back 52b as shown in Figure 19); a floor area having a substantially flat profile (as shown in Figure 7).
However, Borowicz et al. does not show an electric powertrain comprising one or more batteries electrically coupled to at least one inverter that is configured to supply a selected power to at least one motor that is configured to transfer via at least one gearcase mechanical power to at least one of the front and rear ground engaging members, and at least one of the one or more batteries positioned in a gap extending vertically between the seat base and the floor area.
Proietty et al. US 20140278104 A1 teaches an electric powertrain
(in paragraph [0022]) comprising one or more batteries (main battery 26 in paragraph [0021] as shown in Figure 1) electrically coupled to at least one inverter (inverter 24 in paragraph [0022] as shown in Figure 1) that is configured to supply a selected power to at least one motor (one or more electric motors 12 in paragraph [0020] as shown in Figure 1) that is configured to transfer via at least one gearcase mechanical power (gearbox 14 in paragraphs [0020] and [0022] as shown in Figure 1) to at least one of the front and rear ground engaging members (set of drive wheels 16 in paragraph [0020] as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the power train of Borowicz et al. with an electric powertrain comprising one or more batteries electrically coupled to at least one inverter that is configured to supply a selected power to at least one motor that is configured to transfer via at least one gearcase mechanical power to at least one of the front and rear ground engaging members, as taught by Proietty et al, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to completely eliminate fuel consumption and greenhouse gas emissions.
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the battery of Borowicz et al., as modified, positioned in a gap extending vertically between the seat base and the floor area with a reasonable expectation of success, mere rearrangements of parts, because the position of the battery would not have modified the operation of the vehicle.
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 12, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, discloses the vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1 of Borowicz et al.) of claim 11, but does not show wherein the at least one gearcase is arranged within the front lower frame portion of the frame assembly.
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the gearcase of Borowicz et al., as twice modified, arranged within the front lower frame portion of frame assembly with a reasonable expectation of success, mere rearrangements of parts, because the position of the gearbox would not have modified the operation of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, discloses the vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1 of Borowicz et al.) of claim 11, further comprising a cargo box (utility cargo box 18 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 7 of Borowicz et al.) having a floor panel (as shown in Figure 7), a first side panel (as shown in Figure 1) extending vertically upward form the floor panel (as shown in Figure 7), and a second side panel (as shown in Figure 7) opposite the first side panel (as shown in Figure 7) and extending vertically upward from the floor panel (as shown in Figure 7), the cargo box (18 as shown in Figure 7) being positioned rearward of the seating area (operator area 14 and passenger area 26 in paragraph [0070] as shown in Figure 7 of Borowicz et al.) .
Regarding claim 14, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, discloses the vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1 of Borowicz et al.) of claim 13, wherein the seating area (front and rear seats 50 and 52 in paragraph [0084] of Borowicz et al.) is defined by at least one passenger seat having a seat base (52a) and a seat back (52b in paragraph [0084]), and wherein the seat back (52b) includes a panel (rear support surface 234 in paragraph [0084] as shown in Figure 22 of Borowicz et al.) coupled with a rear surface of the seat back (52b as shown in Figure 22), the panel configured for actuation (as shown in Figure 53J of Borowicz et al.) into an extended configuration to increase surface area available for storage (as shown in Figure 23 K, wherein the at least one passenger seat and the cargo box cooperate to form a generally horizontal storage area (as shown in Figure 23M of Borowicz et al.) but does not show having a length of at least 8 feet.
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the one passenger seat and the cargo box cooperate to form a generally horizontal storage area of Borowicz et al., as twice modified, having a length of at least 8 feet with a reasonable expectation of success because the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art vehicle.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowicz et al. US 2015/0329148 A1 in view Proietty et al.
US 20140278104 A1 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of
CN 114379436 A
Regarding claim 15, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, discloses the vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1 of Borowicz et al.) of claim 11, wherein the rear seating (rear passenger area 26 in paragraph [0072] as shown in Figure 11 of Borowicz et al.) includes two rear passenger seats (“while individual captain's type chairs or bucket seats are also possible for the seating arrangements” in paragraph [0072]) each having a seat back (52b in paragraph [0072] as shown in Figure 11).
However, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, does not show each seat back of each of the two rear passenger seats is configured to rotate downward onto a seat base of the respective rear passenger seat into a folded configuration, and wherein each seat back supports a respective panel coupled to a rear surface of the seat back, the panel being moveable relative to the rear surface of the seat back between a stored position and an extended position such that once the rear passenger seat is in the folded configuration the panel may be moved to the extended position to increase a support surface area available for receiving cargo, the support surface including the seat back of the rear passenger seat and the panel when the panel is in the extended position.
CN 114379436 A teaches the seat assembly comprises a seat base 12 operatively coupled to the seat back 14; the panel assembly 16 is positioned on the seat back 14 and includes a first panel 20 coupled to the seat back as shown in Figure 1 and 6.
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the seat area of Borowicz et al., as twice modified, with a seat back includes a panel coupled with a rear surface of the seat back and the panel configured for actuation into an extended configuration, as taught by CN 114379436 A, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase surface area available for storage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2, 8 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, discloses a vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1 of Borowicz et al.), wherein the plurality of discrete interior regions (wet trunk 20 preferably includes the plastic liner 22 which can be in any one of a number of specific configurations, including the multi-compartment, vehicle wide configuration, incorporating multiple dividers 23 depicted in FIG. 1 in column 3, lines 43-66 Bejin et al.) includes at least a first discrete interior region (an area divided by the dividers 23) but does not show by a movement of at least a portion of the floor panel and by an exterior openable barrier positioned lower than the floor panel.
Regarding claim 3, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, discloses the vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1 of Borowicz et al.) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of discrete interior regions (wet trunk 20 preferably includes the plastic liner 22 which can be in any one of a number of specific configurations, including the multi-compartment, vehicle wide configuration, incorporating multiple dividers 23 depicted in FIG. 1 in column 3, lines 43-66 Bejin et al.) includes at least a first discrete interior region (an area divided by the dividers 23) and a second discrete interior region (an area divided by the dividers 23), but does not shown the first discrete interior region being accessible through a first exterior openable barrier positioned lower than the floor panel and the second discrete interior region being independently accessible through a second exterior openable barrier positioned lower than the floor panel.
Regarding claim 4, Borowicz et al., as twice modified, discloses the vehicle (utility vehicle 2 in paragraph [0069] as shown in Figure 1 of Borowicz et al.) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of discrete interior regions (wet trunk 20 preferably includes the plastic liner 22 which can be in any one of a number of specific configurations, including the multi-compartment, vehicle wide configuration, incorporating multiple dividers 23 depicted in FIG. 1 in column 3, lines 43-66 Bejin et al.) comprises a first interior region an area divided by the dividers 23), a second interior region an area divided by the dividers 23), and a third interior region an area divided by the dividers 23), but does not wherein the floor panel is hingedly coupled with the rear wall such that actuation of the floor panel between a closed position to an open position provides access into at least one of the first interior region, the second interior region, and the third interior region.
Regarding claim 8, front cargo area is defined by a storage bin and a cargo rack is not taught nor is fairly suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 9 depends from claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, wherein the upper frame assembly includes a rear portion comprised of a plurality of pillars and at least one storage rack, the at least one storage rack being coupled to the plurality of pillars is not taught nor is fairly suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 17 depends from claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the plurality of discrete interior regions includes at least a first discrete interior region accessible by a movement of at least a portion of the floor panel and an exterior openable barrier positioned lower than the floor panel; and front cargo area is defined by a storage bin and a cargo rack is not taught nor is fairly suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 19 and 20 depends from claim 18.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Wells US 3287058 discloses a storage area accessible from both the inside and the outside of the van body.
Hartsaw US 4800470 A discloses an illuminated cargo rack; light sources 15 and 16 are operatively associated with a common ground wire 18 in a typical DC circuit typical of automotive electrical systems. Positive voltage electrical wires 21 and 22 have associated therewith switches 19 and 20 to enable selective illumination of the area 17 defined by the inner perimeter of illuminated cargo rack 10 and the area defined exteriorly of illuminated cargo rack 10 by utilization of switches 19 and 20 as shown in Figure 1.
Communication
(571) 272-6658. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM-4:30 PM (EST) Monday-Friday.
/Lori Lyjak/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B