DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5, 10-15 have been amended, claims 16-20 have been canceled and claims 21-25 have been added. Claims 1-15, 21-25 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-13, 15, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setlur et al. (US 2022/0164540) in view of Naufel (US 20240362208) and Kanuga et al. (US 20240062011).
Regarding claim 1, Setlur teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, via user interaction with a user interface of a client device that is part of an entity environment (F1)
a digital text prompt comprising a target digital data visualization description ([0048] “A user may interact with the command box to provide commands … use natural language commands”); and
generating a digital data visualization from translating text instruction data indicated by the digital text prompt ([0058] “translates … the intermediate expressions into database queries by employing a visualization query language”, [0059]) utilizing a language processing module
generating, utilizing the language processing module
generating, utilizing the post-processing model that accesses attribute values and attribute keys corresponding to the entity-specific analytics database ([0092], [0110], [0114]), refined visualization tokens from the visualization token predictions by comparing a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key with the visualization token predictions ([0112]-[0113], [0115]-[0116]); and generating, the digital data visualization from data of the entity-specific analytics database based on the refined visualization tokens ([0117], [0149]).
Setlur does not explicitly teach, however Naufel discloses receiving, via user interaction with a user interface of a client device that is part of an entity environment and has access permissions to access an entity-specific analytics database ([0284], [0298], [0301]-[0302]) and utilizing a language machine learning model ([0053]-[0054]) and a post-processing model ([0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur to utilize a language machine learning model and access permissions to access an entity-specific analytics database as disclosed by Naufel. Doing so provides a comprehensive and innovative solution designed to enable users to efficiently query, analyze, and visualize complex data structures using natural language (Naufel [0054]).
Setlur does not explicitly teach, however Kanuga discloses utilizing a language machine learning model and a post-processing model by: generating, utilizing the language machine learning model, visualization token predictions from the digital text prompt ([0124], [0135], [0153]-[0154]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur to utilize a language machine learning model to generate token predictions as disclosed by Kanuga. Doing so provides a versatile representation of a natural language utterance that a chatbot can translate into any number of target machine-oriented languages (Kanuga [0004]).
Claims 10 and 21 recite substantially the same limitations as claim 1, and is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Setlur as modified teaches the computer-implemented method and the medium, wherein: receiving the digital text prompt comprises receiving the target digital data visualization description comprising a textual description of a target attribute type (Setlur [0015]-[0016], [0112], [0129]); and generating the digital data visualization comprises identifying a visual graph type based on the textual description of the target attribute type (Setlur [0096], [0119], [0128]-[0137], [0142]).
Regarding claims 3 and 23, Setlur as modified teaches the computer-implemented method and the medium, further comprising: determining the attribute key corresponding to the initial attribute value of the digital text prompt and an additional attribute key corresponding to an additional attribute value of the digital text prompt (Setlur [0139]-[0144]); identifying a visual graph type to visually depict the attribute key and the additional attribute key as defined by the set of defined attribute values within the entity-specific analytics database; and generating the digital data visualization that comprises the visual graph type (Setlur [0096], [0119], [0128]-[0137], [0142]).
Regarding claim 6, Setlur as modified teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: generating the visualization token predictions comprises generating an initial segment value for a segment key, an initial time range value for a time range key, an initial number of items value for a number of items key, or an initial visualization value for a visualization key (Setlur [0018]-[0019], Kanuga [0151] “model splits text data into text tokens or spans and regards them as candidate entities; it then directly obtains the types of tokens or spans by conducting entity type classifications on token or span semantic representations to generate the predictions for named entity classes … select values or value spans for attribute(s) (e.g., attribute(s) of type date or datetime)”, [0133]); and
mapping, utilizing a heuristic model, the initial segment value, the initial time range value, the initial number of items value, or the initial visualization value to a defined attribute value (Kanuga [0134], [0147] “measure the difference between the outputs inferred using the models and the ground truth annotated to the samples using the labels … hypothesis function) that maps the training input space X to the target value space Y”, [0153], [0161], [0164] “obtain … matches between … tokens … and/or values for attributes within a given database schema. The content-based schema linking matches are appended to the utterance using a unique data structure”, Setlur [0151], [0173]-[0174], [0178]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Setlur as modified teaches the method and the system, further comprising:
generating the refined visualization tokens by generating a set of attribute keys and a set of attribute values (Setlur [0113]-[0116]);
identifying a subset of the set of attribute keys and a subset of the set of attribute values that indicate a set of digital data visualizations (Setlur [0077]-[0078], [0100], [0118]); and generating, utilizing a visualization recommender model, the set of digital data visualizations from the subset of the set of attribute keys and the subset of the set of attribute values to provide to the client device (Setlur [0078], [0100], [0118]).
Regarding claim 9, Setlur as modified teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to receiving, via an additional user interaction with the user interface of the client device, an additional digital text prompt comprising an indication to modify the target digital data visualization description (Setlur [0113]-[0116]); and
generating, utilizing the language machine learning model (Kanuga [0124], [0135], [0153]-[0154], Naufel [0069], [0084]-[0085]), an additional digital data visualization based on the additional digital text prompt, the digital text prompt, and the digital data visualization to provide to the client device (Setlur [0113]-[0116]).
NOTE in analogous, previously cited prior art Malak et al. (US 20250094703) likewise teaches claim 9 in [0023], [0055], [0063], [0073] as indicated in a previous rejection and further obviates the teaching of Setlur as modified.
Claim 10 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1, and is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, Setlur as modified teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the system to receive the digital text prompt by receiving the target digital data visualization description comprising a first target attribute type and a second target attribute type (Kanuga [0033], [0133], Setlur [0113]-[0114]) and identify a first visual graph type and a second visual graph type based on the first target attribute type and the second target attribute type (Setlur [0096], [0119], [0128]-[0137], [0142]).
Regarding claim 12, Setlur as modified teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the system to generate, utilizing the language machine learning model, the visualization token predictions by:
extracting the initial attribute value for a the attribute key corresponding to the entity-specific analytics database from the first target attribute type of the target digital data visualization description (Kanuga [0134], [0140], [0161], Setlur [0113]-[0114]); and
extracting an additional attribute value for an additional attribute key corresponding to the entity-specific analytics database from the second target attribute type of the target digital data visualization description (Kanuga [0134], [0140], [0161], Setlur [0115]-[0116], [0148], [0173]-[0175]).
Regarding claim 13, Setlur as modified teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the system to modify, utilizing the post-processing model, the visualization token predictions by generating the refined visualization tokens by comparing the visualization token predictions with a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the first attribute key and the second attribute key (Kanuga [0152], [0164], [0171], [0173], Setlur [0113]-[0116]).
Claims 4-5, 14, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setlur as modified and in further view of Dey et al. (US 11948378).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Setlur as modified teaches the computer-implemented method and the medium, wherein comparing the visualization token predictions with the set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key further comprises:
utilizing a string similarity model to determine amatching between the visualization token predictions and a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key (Kanuga [0134], [0143], [0148], [0159], [0164]);
mapping the defined attribute value to the attribute key of the visualization token predictions (Kanuga [0134], [0147] “measure the difference between the outputs inferred using the models and the ground truth annotated to the samples using the labels … hypothesis function) that maps the training input space X to the target value space Y”, [0153], [0161], [0164] “obtain … matches between … tokens … and/or values for attributes within a given database schema. The content-based schema linking matches are appended to the utterance using a unique data structure”).
Setlur does not explicitly teach, however Dey discloses utilizing a string similarity model to determine a similarity score between the visualization token predictions and a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key; determining that a defined attribute value of the set of defined attribute values satisfies a similarity score threshold (C7L2-14, 30-67, C16L42-67, C20L59-67 – C21L1-18, C22L5-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur as modified to include a string similarity model as disclosed by Dey. Doing so would allow for databases to be queried with greater efficiency and speed and make important technical contributions to the field of database systems (Dey C1635-40).
Regarding claims 5 and 25, Setlur as modified teaches the computer-implemented method and the medium, wherein comparing the visualization token predictions with the set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key further comprises: utilizing amatching model to generate a semantic embedding of a visualization token prediction and a semantic embedding for a defined attribute value corresponding to the attribute key (Kanuga [0143], [0148], [0151], [0159], [0164]); and based on comparing the semantic embedding of the defined attribute value and the semantic embedding of the visualization token prediction, mapping the defined attribute value to the attribute key of the visualization token prediction (Kanuga [0134], [0147] “measure the difference between the outputs inferred using the models and the ground truth annotated to the samples using the labels … hypothesis function) that maps the training input space X to the target value space Y”, [0153], [0161], [0164] “obtain … matches between … tokens … and/or values for attributes within a given database schema. The content-based schema linking matches are appended to the utterance using a unique data structure”).
Setlur as modified does not explicitly teach, however Dey discloses utilizing a semantic similarity model (C7L2-14, 30-67, C16L42-67, C20L59-67 – C21L1-18, C22L5-28) to generate a semantic embedding of a visualization token prediction and a semantic embedding for a defined attribute value corresponding to the attribute key; and based on comparing the semantic embedding of the defined attribute value and the semantic embedding of the visualization token prediction, mapping the defined attribute value to the attribute key of the visualization token prediction (C7L2-14, 30-67, C16L42-67, C18L15-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur as modified to include a string similarity model as disclosed by Dey. Doing so would allow for databases to be queried with greater efficiency and speed and make important technical contributions to the field of database systems (Dey C1635-40).
Regarding claim 14, Setlur as modified teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the system to compare the visualization token predictions with the set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key and the additional attribute key by:
utilizing a string similarity model to determine amatching between the visualization token predictions and a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the first attribute key and the additional attribute key (Kanuga [0134], [0143], [0148], [0159], [0164]); and
Setlur as modified does not explicitly teach, however Dey discloses utilizing a string similarity model to determine a similarity score between the visualization token predictions and a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the first attribute key and the second attribute key (C7L2-14, 30-67, C16L42-67, C20L59-67 – C21L1-18, C22L5-28) and utilizing a semantic similarity model to generate a semantic embedding of a visualization token prediction and a semantic embedding for a defined attribute values corresponding to the first attribute key and the second attribute key (C16L65-67-C17L1-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur to include a string similarity model as disclosed by Dey. Doing so would allow for databases to be queried with greater efficiency and speed and make important technical contributions to the field of database systems (Dey C1635-40).
Claims 4-5, 14, 24-25 is/are additionally or alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setlur as modified and in further view of Aggarwal et al. (US 2022/0342901).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Setlur as modified teaches the computer-implemented method and the medium,, wherein comparing the visualization token predictions with the set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key further comprises:
utilizing a string similarity model to determine amatching between the visualization token predictions and a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key (Kanuga [0134], [0143], [0148], [0159], [0164]);
mapping the defined attribute value to the attribute key of the visualization token predictions (Kanuga [0134], [0147] “measure the difference between the outputs inferred using the models and the ground truth annotated to the samples using the labels … hypothesis function) that maps the training input space X to the target value space Y”, [0153], [0161], [0164] “obtain … matches between … tokens … and/or values for attributes within a given database schema. The content-based schema linking matches are appended to the utterance using a unique data structure”, Malak [0037], [0045], [0053]).
Setlur as modified does not explicitly teach, however Aggarwal discloses utilizing a string similarity model to determine a similarity score between the visualization token predictions and a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key; determining that a defined attribute value of the set of defined attribute values satisfies a similarity score threshold ([0024], [0034]-[0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur as modified to include a string similarity model as disclosed by Aggarwal. Doing so would provide appropriate pairings of the detected semantic types (Aggarwal Abstract).
Regarding claims 5 and 25, Setlur as modified teaches the computer-implemented method and the medium, wherein comparing the visualization token predictions with the set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key further comprises:
utilizing amatching model to generate a semantic embedding of a visualization token prediction and a semantic embedding for a defined attribute value corresponding to the attribute key (Kanuga [0143], [0148], [0151], [0159], [0164]); and
based on comparing the semantic embedding of the defined attribute value and the semantic embedding of the visualization token prediction, mapping the defined attribute value to the attribute key of the visualization token prediction (Kanuga [0134], [0147] “measure the difference between the outputs inferred using the models and the ground truth annotated to the samples using the labels … hypothesis function) that maps the training input space X to the target value space Y”, [0153], [0161], [0164] “obtain … matches between … tokens … and/or values for attributes within a given database schema. The content-based schema linking matches are appended to the utterance using a unique data structure”, Malak [0037], [0045], [0053]).
Setlur as modified does not explicitly teach, however Aggarwal discloses utilizing a semantic similarity model ([0024], [0034]-[0036]) to generate a semantic embedding of a visualization token prediction and a semantic embedding for a defined attribute value corresponding to the attribute key; and based on comparing the semantic embedding of the defined attribute value and the semantic embedding of the visualization token prediction, mapping the defined attribute value to the attribute key of the visualization token prediction ([0015]-[0017], [0028], [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur as modified to include a string similarity model as disclosed by Aggarwal. Doing so would provide appropriate pairings of the detected semantic types (Aggarwal Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Setlur as modified teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the system to compare the visualization token predictions with the set of defined attribute values corresponding to the attribute key and the additional attribute key by: utilizing a string similarity model to determine amatching between the visualization token predictions and a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the first attribute key and the additional attribute key (Kanuga [0134], [0143], [0148], [0159], [0164]); and
Setlur as modified does not explicitly teach, however Dey discloses utilizing a string similarity model to determine a similarity score between the visualization token predictions and a set of defined attribute values corresponding to the first attribute key and the second attribute key (C7L2-14, 30-67, C16L42-67, C20L59-67 – C21L1-18, C22L5-28) and utilizing a semantic similarity model to generate a semantic embedding of a visualization token prediction and a semantic embedding for a defined attribute values corresponding to the first attribute key and the second attribute key (C16L65-67-C17L1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur as modified to include a string similarity model as disclosed by Dey. Doing so would allow for databases to be queried with greater efficiency and speed and make important technical contributions to the field of database systems (Dey C1635-40).
Claim 6 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setlur as modified and in further view of Pednault et al. (US 20030176931).
Regarding claim 6, Setlur as modified teaches the claim 6, as disclosed above, Pednault alternatively or additionally teaches wherein:
generating the visualization token predictions comprises generating an initial segment value for a segment key, an initial time range value for a time range key, an initial number of items value for a number of items key, or an initial visualization value for a visualization key ([0063], [0133], [0255]-[0256]); and
mapping, utilizing a heuristic model, the initial segment value, the initial time range value, the initial number of items value, or the initial visualization value to a defined attribute value ([0014] “generate predictive models that map values of the explanatory data fields into values of the target data fields”, [0598] “data structure that specifies a mapping from the segment identification numbers defined by a given splitting-test object to the segment identification number”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur to generate an initial segment values as disclosed by Pednault. Doing so would maximize respective predictive accuracies (Pednault Abstract).
Claims 7-8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setlur as modified in view of Blyumen et al. (US 20200293167) or Mitelman et al. (US 20220019947).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Setlur as modified does not explicitly teach, however Blyumen or Mitelman disclose the method and the system, further comprising:
generating the refined visualization tokens by generating a set of attribute keys and a set of attribute values (Blyumen [0042], Mitelman [0100]-[0111]);
identifying a subset of the set of attribute keys and a subset of the set of attribute values that indicate a set of digital data visualizations (Blyumen [0038], [0050], [0056], Mitelman [0024]-[0030]); and generating, utilizing a visualization recommender model, the set of digital data visualizations from the subset of the set of attribute keys and the subset of the set of attribute values to provide to the client device (Blyumen [0054]-[0057], Mitelman [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur as modified to include identifying a subset of the set of attribute keys and a subset of the set of attribute values as disclosed by Dey. Doing so would allow for databases to be queried with greater efficiency and speed and make important technical contributions to the field of database systems (Dey C1635-40).
Regarding claim 8, Setlur as modified teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining the subset of the set of attribute values includes a first attribute value that fails to satisfy a first attribute threshold (Blyumen [0133], Mitelman [0037]); and
based on determining that the subset of the set of attribute values includes the first attribute value that fails to satisfy the first attribute threshold, selecting a first type of data visualization for the set of digital data visualizations (Blyumen [0137], Mitelman [0036]-[0037], [0040]).
Claim 8 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setlur as modified in view of Fontecilla (US 11321538).
Regarding claim 8, if Setlur as modified does not explicitly teach, however Fontecilla discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising: determining the subset of the set of attribute values includes a first attribute value that fails to satisfy a first attribute threshold (C21L1-31); and based on determining that the subset of the set of attribute values includes the first attribute value that fails to satisfy the first attribute threshold, selecting a first type of data visualization for the set of digital data visualizations (C21L1-31, C22L1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Setlur to determining the subset of the set of attribute values includes a first attribute value that fails to satisfy a first attribute threshold as disclosed by Fontecilla. Doing so would help hot to miss important requirements (Fontecilla C1L25-26).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 in regard to the presently amended claims are addressed in the updated rejections to the claims above.
The prior rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/POLINA G PEACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 January 12, 2026