Drawings
The drawings were received on January 10th 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed on February 02th 2024.
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on July 23rd 2025.
Claims 1-8 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but are moot; The examiner agrees that the prior art does not explicitly teach as it is currently recited in the claim language; " … a support member movable between a projective position in which the support member is projected from a downstream-side end portion of the processing tray, in the discharge direction, to above the sheet discharge tray so as to support a part, projected to above the sheet discharge tray...". Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn; However, upon further consideration a new ground of rejection is made for claims 1 as being anticipated over Egawa (Patent No. US20170097605A1) in view Kimura (Patent No. US8320030B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egawa (Patent No. US20170097605A1) in view Kimura (Patent No. US8320030B2).
Regarding claim 1 Egawa teaches a sheet postprocessing device (20) comprising; a conveyance member (5) for conveying a sheet; a processing tray (30) on which a plurality of the sheets delivered along a specified carry-in direction by the conveyance member are to be stacked; (See Egawa paragraph 0022; “…here are provided a plurality of paper feed cassettes 4a each provided, on a downstream side in the paper sheet conveyance direction…”); a processing part (40) for performing specified postprocessing on the sheets stacked on the processing tray; (See Egawa paragraph 0036; “…a processing tray 30 that loads (stacks) thereon a plurality of the paper sheets P that have been carried in, and a stapler (on-tray processing portion) 40 that binds a bundle of paper sheets loaded on the processing tray 30 with a staple(s)…”); a discharge member ((ejection portion) 18) for conveying the sheets on the processing tray in a discharge direction; (See Egawa paragraph 0019; “…a paper sheet ejection portion (ejection portion) 18 for conveying the paper sheet P after being subjected to the fixing to eject it from the main body housing 2a.”); a sheet discharge tray which is placed on a downstream side of the processing tray in the discharge direction and on which the sheets discharged from the processing tray is to be stacked; (See Egawa paragraph 0041; “With respect to the paper sheet conveyance direction, on a downstream side of the processing tray 30, a second ejection roller pair (ejection roller pair) 29 is arranged that ejects, from the processing tray 30, a bundle of paper sheets on the ejection tray 50…”).
Egawa does not explicitly teach but Kimura teaches, a support member movable between a projective position in which the support member is projected from a downstream-side end portion of the processing tray, in the discharge direction, to above the sheet discharge tray so as to support a part, projected to above the sheet discharge tray, of the sheet delivered onto the processing tray and a retractive position in which the support member has retracted from the projective position to an upstream side of the discharge member in the discharge direction; (See Kimura column 11, paragraph 10-29; “description will be given below of the extension storing portion 75. The extension storing portion 75, when arranging the record members, can be advanced outwardly from the main body box body 61 and thus, when the extension storing portion 75 in such advanced state is driven to function as a portion of the arranging tray 73, even the record member long in the transport direction can also be positioned and stored properly. Therefore, the extension storing portion 75 is structured such that it can be advanced from the main body box body 61 toward the stack tray 90 at a previously set timing. As shown in FIG. 6, the extension storing portion 75 includes a rack 75a on the back surface side thereof, while the main body box body 61 includes a pinion gear 80 and a rubber roller 81 at a given position with the extension storing portion 75 between them; and, the rack 75a of the extension storing portion 75 is always in meshing engagement with the pinion gear 80. Owing to this structure, as the rack 75a is moved due to the rotation of the pinion gear 80, the extension storing portion 75 can be advanced from the main body box body 61 or can be stored into the main body box body 61.”); a drive mechanism for driving the support member and a controller for controlling the drive mechanism, wherein the controller is enabled to adjust the projective position of the support member; (See Kimura column 11, paragraph 30-58; “Using the thus structured extension storing portion 75, the width-direction portions of the record members on the arranging tray 73 and extension storing portion 75 can be arranged by the tampers 74. FIG. 7A shows a state where the record members S are arranged by the tampers 74 on the arranging tray 73 and extension storing portion 75, while FIG. 7B is a typical view when FIG. 7A is viewed from above. The tampers 74 are disposed externally of the arranging tray 73 and extension storing portion 75, whereby, for example, by moving racks (not shown) provided on the tampers 74 using a motor and a pinion gear (neither of which is shown), the tampers 74 can be moved reciprocatingly in the direction of arrows shown in FIG. 7B. Therefore, the width-direction portions of the record members S, which have been transported onto the arranging tray 73 one by one, can be arranged one by one by the tampers 74. In FIG. 7B, there is shown a state where the record members S are arranged in the central portion by the tampers 74. However, according to the present embodiment, with one of the tampers 74 as the reference, the record members S can be moved to one side and thus the present embodiment has a so called offset function which, by switching the tamper 74 serving as the reference, can arrange the record members S at offset positions respectively. Here, although the present embodiment illustrates a structure which uses the extension storing portion 75, of course, it is also possible to employ a structure which does not take the size of the post processing apparatus into consideration but, for example, increases the size of the arranging tray 73 and excludes the extension storing portion 75.”).
Both Egawa and Kimura are in the same field of image forming system and device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Egawa a sheet postprocessing device with Kimura support member projected to above the sheet discharge tray. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Egawa by adding support member projected to above the sheet discharge tray, which will allow better image forming. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2 Egawa in view of Kimura teaches the sheet postprocessing device according to claim 1, Egawa further teaches wherein the controller makes a projective length of the support member in the projective position continuously decreased as conveyance load of the sheet based on characteristics of the sheet increases more and more; (See Egawa paragraph 0051;” … The RAM 73 stores necessary data generated in the course of controlling the system, data that becomes temporarily necessary for the control, and so on. Furthermore, the ROM 72 (or the RAM 73) also stores, for example, data related to a length of time from a time when the tip end or the rear end of the paper sheet P is detected by each of the detection sensors to a time when the paper sheet carrying-in roller pair is stopped or to a time when the roller holder 31 is made to swing...”).
Regarding claim 4 Egawa in view of Kimura teaches an image forming system comprising: an image forming apparatus for forming an image on a sheet; and the sheet postprocessing device according to claim 1 Egawa further teaches, for performing specified postprocessing on the sheet that has been subjected to image formation by the image forming apparatus; (See Egawa paragraph 0017; “First, with reference to FIG. 1, a description is given of an image forming system composed of a paper sheet post-processing device 20 of a first embodiment of the present disclosure and an image forming apparatus 100. FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram showing respective internal configurations of the image forming apparatus 100 and the paper sheet post-processing device 20 of the present disclosure. While this embodiment exemplarily shows a multi-functional peripheral as one example of the image forming apparatus 100, the paper sheet post-processing device 20 of the present disclosure can be joined not only to a digital multi-functional peripheral but also to other types of apparatuses in a similar manner, such as, for example, a laser printer, an ink jet printer, or a facsimile apparatus.”; Also see Figure 1 and Claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 7 Egawa in view of Kimura teaches, an image forming system comprising: an image forming apparatus for forming an image on a sheet; and the sheet postprocessing device according to claim 3, Egawa further teaches, for performing specified postprocessing on the sheet that has been subjected to image formation by the image forming apparatus, the image forming system further comprising an input part for entering output information as to characteristics of the sheet; (See Egawa paragraph 0055; “…in the operation portion 80, there are provided a start button for a user to instruct a start of image formation, a stop/clear button that is used, for example, to cancel image formation, a reset button that is used to reset various types of settings with respect to the system to a default state, and so on; Also Egawa paragraph 0050; “…image forming apparatus 100 and the paper sheet post-processing device 20 and receives an input signal from the operation portion 80.”).
Regarding claim 8 Egawa in view of Kimura teaches, the image forming system according to claim 7, Egawa further teaches, wherein the projective position of the support member is adjustable by entry operation into the input part; (See Egawa paragraph 0050; “…image forming apparatus 100 and the paper sheet post-processing device 20 and receives an input signal from the operation portion 80.”).
Claims 3,5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egawa (Patent No. US20170097605A1) in view of Kimura (Patent No. US8320030B2) and Yoshimura (Patent No. US11708231B2).
Regarding claim 3 Egawa teaches the sheet postprocessing device according to claim 2, Egawa does not teach but Yoshimura teaches, wherein the controller adjusts the projective position of the support member on a basis of output information as to characteristics of the sheet including at least one item from among lengths of the sheet in the delivery direction as well as in a widthwise direction perpendicular to the delivery direction, thickness, grammage, grain direction, and surface smoothness of the sheet; (See Yoshimura column 9, line 29-38 and 12 line 33-38; “The roller shaft 76 of the upper roller 71b is movably supported by the shaft supports 77 provided on the upper guide plate 182. The upper roller 71b functions as a reference member. When a paper sheet 300 is conveyed through a nip formed between the upper roller 71b and the lower roller 71a, the height position of the upper roller 71b changes by the amount equivalent to the thickness of the paper sheet 300. This height position is detected by the displacement sensor 759 as described later.
The controller 11 controls the sheet feeder/conveyor 14, to convey a paper sheet 300 having specific sheet characteristics from the sheet feed tray 141 or the like. If the mode for conducting measurement on a plurality of paper sheets 300, or the mode for measuring the sheet characteristics of paper sheets 300…”).
Both Egawa and Yoshimura are in the same field of image forming system and device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Egawa a sheet postprocessing device with Yoshimura the controller adjusts the projective position of the support member on a basis of output information as to characteristics of the sheet. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Egawa by adding function of the controller adjusting the projective position of the support member on a basis of output information as to characteristics of the sheet, which will allow better image forming. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5 Egawa teaches an image forming system comprising: an image forming apparatus for forming an image on a sheet; and the sheet postprocessing device according to claim 2 Egawa further teaches, for performing specified postprocessing on the sheet that has been subjected to image formation by the image forming apparatus, wherein the image forming apparatus is an inkjet recording apparatus for performing image recording by jetting out ink onto the sheet; (See Egawa paragraph 0017; “… the paper sheet post-processing device 20 of the present disclosure can be joined not only to a digital multi-functional peripheral but also to other types of apparatuses in a similar manner, such as, for example, a laser printer, an ink jet printer, or a facsimile apparatus.”).
Egawa does not teach but Yoshimura teaches, and the controller adjusts the projective position of the support member on a basis of ink quantity that is used for image recording on the sheet and that is included in the output information as to characteristics of the sheet; (See Yoshimura column 5, line 30-35; “The paper sheets 300 conveyed from each sheet feed tray are conveyed to the image forming apparatus main body 10 on the downstream side, and are subjected to sheet characteristics measurement at the paper sheet sensing device 18 and to image formation at the image former 13.”).
Both Egawa and Yoshimura are in the same field of image forming system and device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Egawa a sheet postprocessing device with Yoshimura the controller adjusts the projective position of the support member. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Egawa by adding function of the controller adjusting the projective position of the support member, which will allow better image forming. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 6 Egawa teaches the image forming system according to claim 5, Egawa does not teach but Yoshimura teaches, wherein the controller adjusts the projective position of the support member on a basis of at least one of conveyance speed and conveyance interval of the sheet; (See Yoshimura column 12, line 33-40; “The controller 11 controls the sheet feeder/conveyor 14, to convey a paper sheet 300 having specific sheet characteristics from the sheet feed tray 141 or the like. If the mode for conducting measurement on a plurality of paper sheets 300, or the mode for measuring the sheet characteristics of paper sheets 300 while continuously forming images is set, paper sheets 300 are continuously conveyed from the sheet feed tray 141 at predetermined sheet intervals.”).
Both Egawa and Yoshimura are in the same field of image forming system and device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Egawa a sheet postprocessing device with Yoshimura the controller adjusts the projective position of the support member. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Egawa by adding function of the controller adjusting the projective position of the support member, which will allow better image forming. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666