DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDSs) filed on 1/10/2024 and 9/17/2025 have been considered.
Priority
The Instant application is a CON of US Application No. 17/599,621 filed on 11/4/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bauduceau (IDS, Medicine des malides metabolidquies 13: 55-62, 2019 (Feb).
The instantly claimed invention is broadly drawn to a method of reducing the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events in a patient with type 2 diabetes mellitus, comprising administering dulaglutide in a therapeutically effective amount to the patient once weekly, wherein the patient has type 2 diabetes mellitus and either:(a) multiple cardiovascular risk factors without established cardiovascular disease; or (b) established cardiovascular disease, wherein the CV risk is LDL-C measured within six month and is ≥ to 130 mg/dL, and wherein the therapeutically effective amount of dulaglutide is 1.5 mg.
It is noted that the limitations of claim 10 is an intended use and it does not carry any patentable weight.
Bauduceau teaches administering dulaglutide (Trulicity) in an amount of 1.5 mg in type 2 diabetic subject (summary). Bauduceau compared its effectiveness regarding cardiovascular outcome against GLP-1 receptor agonists e.g., liraglutide, exenatide and others (summary). Therefore, the instantly claimed invention is implicitly or explicitly anticipated by the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauduceau (IDS, Medicine des malides metabolidquies 13: 55-62, 2019 (Feb) over Boyle et al (IDS, Clinical Science, 2018), Oshima et al. (IDS, EP 3275438), and Ferdinand et al. (IDS, Cardiovasc. Diabetol. 15: 38 (2016)).
The instantly claimed invention is broadly drawn to use of dulaglutide in a therapeutically effective amount once weekly for reducing the risk of major cardiovascular (CV) events in a patient with type 2 diabetes mellitus having multiple CV risk factors without established CV disease, wherein the CV risk is LDL-C measured within six month and is ≥ to 130 mg/dL, or TG>200 mg/dL, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of dulaglutide is 1.5 mg, wherein the method reduces the risk of a major adverse CV event by at least 10%, wherein the once-weekly administration is for approximately 5 years and the method further comprises administering ACE inhibitor, ARB, aspirin or a statin.
Bauduceau teaches administering dulaglutide (Trulicity) in an amount of 1.5 mg in type 2 diabetic subject (summary). Bauduceau compared its effectiveness regarding cardiovascular outcome against GLP-1 receptor agonists e.g., liraglutide, exenatide and others (summary). They do not teach identifying diabetic subject having (a) multiple CV risk factors without established CV disease or (b) established CV disease and the limitations of claim 4.
Boyle et al. teach that GLP-1 agonists provide cardiovascular benefits in type 2 patients (abstract). They teach that GLP-1 agonists provide glucose lowering effect in diabetic patients and that the lowering blood glucose also results in lowering macrovascular complications (abstract). They teach that GLP-1 agonist reduces body weight, plasma lipids and plasma glucose and all of these are cardiovascular risk factor (see Figure 1). They looked liraglutide results in type 2 diabetics with liraglutide 1.8 mg once daily treatment provides superior benefit myocardial infarction and stroke (see pg. 1703, Main results (CV outcomes)). They teach that some clinical trials have done for at least 6 years. They compared liraglutide with semaglutide and other GLP-1 agonists and explained that all experiments were not performed for same period and that the structure of compound is different. They teach that GLP-1 agonists which work through GLP-1 receptor and treated for 24 hours results in reduction (or strong trends towards reduction) in rates of CV events and as some of these effects may be mediated by reduction in body weight, blood pressure, cholesterol and HbA1c (A class effect, pg. 1705). They teach administering dulaglutide 1.5 mg/week in type 2 diabetes patients (Table 2, and REWIND). They do not teach administering statin or ACE inhibitors for reducing CV risk factors such as TG..
Oshima et al teach preventing cardiovascular event and treating patients with dyslipidemia (abstract). They teach reducing risk of cardiovascular disease and adverse CV events in patients on intense statin use or well controlled LDL-C concentration (abstract). They teach that dyslipidemia is characterized by an imbalance in person’s lipid metabolism and that results in higher risk of CV diseases. They teach that in dyslipidemia a person comprises higher LDL, triglyceride and low level of HDL. They patients with dyslipidemia may be on a number of statins such as Atorvastatin, Rosuvastatin, Lovastatin for controlling LDL but still their TG may be higher than 200 mg/dL ( paragraph [0021], [0049], [0055]). They teach to use various statins, ACE inhibitors, aspirin, angiotensin-receptor blockers (ARB) for CV treatment in addition to dulaglutide (see pg. 23, 42)-50). They teach treating dyslipidemia with a glucagon-like peptide such as dulaglutide (pg. 23, 52(e)). Neither Bauduceau, Boyle nor Oshima teaches reduction in the risk of major adverse event by at least 10%.
Ferdinand et al. (IDS, Cardiovasc. Diabetol. 15: 38 (2016)) teach CV safety evaluation of dulaglutide once-weekly dose in type 2 diabetic subjects. They included a large number of patients (about 3885) found that weekly administration of dulaglutide for a long period of time (at least 2 years) reduces the risk of nonfatal MI compared to similar GLP-1 agonists (see pg. 6 of 12, right col., Fig. 1). Because the reduction of risk factor is only studied for 2 years, it would be obvious to one skill in the art that over a period of time, for example 5 years, 10 years or 15 years, the reduction of risk factors with dulaglutide would be at least 10% or so.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use dulaglutde (Trulicity) for a period of 5 or more years to see the beneficial effect of dulaglutide over the CV risk factors as taught by Ferdinand et al and to use a composition comprising dulaglutide in combination with a statin, ACE inhibitor, ARB, or aspirin for lowering a CV risk factor as taught by Oshima et al in treating a patient having type 2 diabetes that comprises CV risk factor by administering dulaglutide as taught by Boyle et al. and wherein the administration of dulaglutide is 1.5 mg as taught by Bauduceau. Additionally, one would have been motivated to do so because Ferdinand et al teach that dulaglutide reduces cardiovascular risk as compared to other GLP-1 agonist and Oshima et al teach that dulaglutide reduces CV risk factor including triglyceride. Additionally, Oshima et al teach that dulaglutide can be used for patient who have using ACE inhibitor, statin or ARB to lower lipids, or to lower blood pressure. Boyle emphasized that GLP-1 in general reduce blood pressure, body weight and blood glucose which are also CV risk factors. Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using dulaglutide (Trulicity) as taught by Boyle et al, Oshima et al., Ferdinand to treat a diabetic subject over a long period of time to reduce CV risk factors and Bauduceau teaches effectiveness of dulaglutide regarding cardiovascular outcome against GLP-1 receptor agonists e.g., liraglutide, exenatide and others (summary). Therefore, the instantly claimed invention would have obvious to one skill in the art over the combined teaching of the prior art of record.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,890,325. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a method of reducing the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events in a patient with type 2 diabetes mellitus, comprising administering dulaglutide in a therapeutically effective amount to the patient once weekly, wherein the patient has type 2 diabetes mellitus and either:(a) multiple cardiovascular risk factors without established cardiovascular disease; or (b) established cardiovascular disease (claim 1). A method of reducing the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events in a patient with type 2 diabetes mellitus, comprising:(a) identifying a patient having type 2 diabetes mellitus and either: i) multiple cardiovascular risk factors without established cardiovascular disease; or ii) established cardiovascular disease; and (b) administering dulaglutide in a therapeutically effective amount to the patient once weekly (claim 2). A method of improving glycemic control and reducing the risk of first occurrence of a major adverse cardiovascular event in a patient with type 2 diabetes mellitus, comprising administering dulaglutide in a therapeutically effective amount to the patient once weekly, wherein the patient has type 2 diabetes mellitus and either:(a) multiple cardiovascular risk factors without established cardiovascular disease; or (b) established cardiovascular disease (claim 3), wherein the patient has multiple cardiovascular risk factors without established cardiovascular disease (claim 4), wherein the cardiovascular risk factors are selected from the group consisting of (a), (b), (c), (d) and (e):(a) tobacco use; (b) at least 1 of: I) use of at least 1 approved lipid modifying therapy to treat hypercholesterolemia; or ii) a documented untreated low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C) >3.4 mmol/L (130 mg/dL) within the past 6 months; (c) at least 1of:i) high-density lipoprotein cholesterol (HDL-C)measurement within the past 6 months of: <1.0 mmol/L (40 mg/dL) for men; and <1.3 nmol/L (50mg/dL) for women; or ii) triglycerides >2.3 mmol/L (200 mg/dL) within the past 6 months; (d) at least 1 of: I) use of at least 1 blood pressure medication to treat hypertension; or ii) untreated systolic blood pressure (SBP) 2140 mm Hg or diastolic blood pressure (DBP) 295 mmHg; and (e) measured waist-to-hip ratio >1.0 for men and >0.8 for women (claim 5), wherein the patient has established cardiovascular disease (claim 6), wherein the method reduces the risk of a major adverse cardiovascular event by at least about 10% (claim 7), wherein the therapeutically effective amount of dulaglutide is selected from the group consisting of 1.5mg, 3.0 mg and 4.5mg (claims 8-9), wherein the once weekly administration of dulaglutide is continued for approximately 5 years (claim 10). The method further comprising administering to the patient one or more of the following: an angiotensin converting enzyme (ACE) ACE inhibitor; an angiotensin receptor blocker (ARB) ARB; a beta blocker; a calcium channel blocker; a diuretic; an antithrombotic agent; aspirin or a statin (claim 11) are taught by claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,890,325.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/GYAN CHANDRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1674