Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (NPL, Frequency control in micro-grid power system combined with electrolyzer system and fuzzy PI controller, 2008, herein Li) in further view of Serban (US PUB. 20110043160).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches A distributed control system coupled to a hybrid renewable power system including an AC power section, a DC power section, and a primary load (page 468 “these kinds of hybrid small-scale power systems” page 2 “when the
type of power line designed to be interconnected to a utility grid is 380 V three-phase AC line, applying a DC or AC source to the AC grid” comprising:
[a current-controlled inverter configured to control a flow of power between the DC power section and the AC power section using a pair of power flow control signals, wherein the current-controlled inverter comprises] a proportional-integral controller configured to generate the pair of power flow control signals (page 470 “self-organizing fuzzy PI (FPI) controllers, components in the control schemes of micro-turbine and tie-line power flow, are applied help to actualize the proposed control strategy more effectively.”);
a discrete frequency controller configured to perform a load frequency control of the hybrid renewable power system using a pair of load frequency control signals, wherein the load frequency control is controlling one or more frequency oscillations of the primary load, wherein the discrete frequency controller is a discrete-time fuzzy tuned fractional-order proportional derivative controller (472 “Figs. 8 and 9 show the frequency fluctuations as a result of using electrolyzer system and FPI controls, respectively. For the well-tuned PI controller as shown in Fig. 9, the gain values of Kp and Kr , to reduce !}.P, are 0.1 and 0.5, respectively. Comparing Figs. 6 and 7 shows that the control and monitoring system controls the power consumption of the electrolyzer system to relax the load fluctuation, and changes the output power of the micro-turbine to match the real power balance.”);
and wherein the fuzzy tuned fractional-order proportional derivative controller is configured to generate the pair of load frequency control signals based on a primary load frequency, a desired load frequency, and a rate of change of the primary load frequency (470 “this paper focuses on the stability of microgrid operation, and proposes a combination of a micro-turbine and the fuel cell and electrolyzer hybrid system to deal with real-time frequency fluctuations and sudden real power imbalances…Section 2 presents the formulation of power change by frequency fluctuation and that of random power fluctuation at generation and load sides.” 474 “a sudden 20 kW overload at the third second, resulting in a fast and large frequency fluctuation in the microgrid system, is simulated. Figs. 14-16 show the power profile and the frequency fluctuation before and after the electrolyzer system dynamic controls are considered, respectively. It appears that the maximum frequency fluctuation of 0.35 Hz is reduced effectively by utilizing the electrolyzer system's fast-response capability for kW load control”).
The cited prior art do not teach a current-controlled inverter configured to control a flow of power between the DC power section and the AC power section using a pair of power flow control signals, wherein the current-controlled inverter comprises.
Serban teaches a current-controlled inverter configured to control a flow of power between the DC power section and the AC power section using a pair of power flow control signals, wherein the current-controlled inverter comprises (0046 “Among the control alternatives, Fast Fourier Transform, PID-type control (proportional-integral-derivative control), fuzzy logic, etc, a wavelet method for frequency change detection is preferred. Wavelets transforms have excellent frequency-time localization and tracking for rapid changing signals. The AC line frequency change detection can be realized with a PI frequency controller G.sub.cf (FIG. 5A) or more accurately with a wavelet frequency tracking WT and pattern selection function Fs (FIG. 5B). When the specific line frequency pattern is detected, the frequency coefficient K.sub.f controls the output current of the PV inverter 104.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Li with the teachings of Serban since Li teaches “actualize the proposed control strategy more effectively” (470)
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 1.
The cited prior art teach wherein the proportional integral controller is configured to generate the pair of power flow control signals based on the primary load frequency (Li 470 “this paper focuses on the stability of microgrid operation, and proposes a combination of a micro-turbine and the fuel cell and electrolyzer hybrid system to deal with real-time frequency fluctuations and sudden real power imbalances…Section 2 presents the formulation of power change by frequency fluctuation and that of random power fluctuation at generation and load sides.” 474 “a sudden 20 kW overload at the third second, resulting in a fast and large frequency fluctuation in the microgrid system, is simulated. Figs. 14-16 show the power profile and the frequency fluctuation before and after the electrolyzer system dynamic controls are considered, respectively. It appears that the maximum frequency fluctuation of 0.35 Hz is reduced effectively by utilizing the electrolyzer system's fast-response capability for kW load control”) and a pre-determined average frequency of the primary load (Serban 0043).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 1.
Serban teaches wherein the discrete frequency controller is coupled to a secondary load (0030).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 5.
Serban teaches wherein the discrete frequency controller is further configured to transfer an excess power generated in the AC power section to the secondary load (0020).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 1.
Serban teaches wherein the primary load is connected to the AC power section of the hybrid renewable power system (0024 “When the power system 100 is in grid-connected mode, the available energy from the battery 106 is transferred to the AC loads 114 or back to the utility grid 110 through the bidirectional hybrid converter”).
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 1.
Serban teaches wherein the DC power section of the hybrid renewable power system comprising: a plurality of DC renewable power modules configured to generate a DC power; and a plurality of DC-DC converters coupled to the plurality of DC renewable power modules (0022 “current-controlled source mode is used primarily when renewable energy (such as solar, wind, rain, tides, micro hydropower, or geothermal heat) generated from natural resources is exported from a DC port 132 of the hybrid converter 102 to the microgrid AC network. In FIG. 1, an optional PV solar array 120 is connected to the battery 106 via an optional PWM DC/DC PV converter 118”).
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 10.
Serban teaches wherein the plurality of DC renewable power modules includes a photovoltaic module, a fuel cell module, and a battery energy storage module (0022).
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 1.
Serban teaches wherein the AC power section of the hybrid renewable power system comprising a wind energy module configured to generate a wind power (0022).
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 12.
Serban teaches wherein the wind energy module comprises a wind turbine and an induction generator (0022).
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 12.
Serban teaches wherein a diesel generator is coupled to the wind energy module (0019).
Regarding claim 15. The distributed control system of claim 14.
Serban teaches wherein a voltage exciter is connected to the diesel generator to balance out voltages of the distributed control system and the hybrid renewable power system (0019).
Regarding claim 20, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 1.
Serban teaches wherein the distributed control system is configured to operate in time domain (0048).
Claim(s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (NPL, Frequency control in micro-grid power system combined with electrolyzer system and fuzzy PI controller, 2018, herein Li) in further view of Serban (US PUB. 20110043160) in further view of Zhong et al (US PUB. 20250088022, herein Zhong).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 1.
Li teaches proportional-integral controller (page 470).
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the proportional-integral controller is coupled to a bidirectional insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) of the hybrid renewable power system.
Zhong teaches wherein the proportional-integral controller is coupled to a bidirectional insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) of the hybrid renewable power system (0048 “the IGBT controller (IGBT Driver) can initiate reverse charging according to the capacity state SOC and capacity control strategy of the energy storage battery pack. Control the operation of IGBT T-co and absorb and store electric energy from the power grid through the PCS reverse rectification circuit of the DC-AC inverter device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Li and Serban with the teachings of Zhong since Zhong teaches a means for achieve the purpose of efficient energy storage during trough periods and reduce power waste.
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 3.
Zhong teaches wherein the bidirectional insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) is configured to perform either inversion of power from DC to AC or rectification of power from AC to DC (0048 “the IGBT controller (IGBT Driver) can initiate reverse charging according to the capacity state SOC and capacity control strategy of the energy storage battery pack. Control the operation of IGBT T-co and absorb and store electric energy from the power grid through the PCS reverse rectification circuit of the DC-AC inverter device”).
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (NPL, Frequency control in micro-grid power system combined with electrolyzer system and fuzzy PI controller, 2018, herein Li) in further view of Serban (US PUB. 20110043160) in further view of Komatsu et al (US PUB. 20120087049, herein Komatsu).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teach The discrete frequency controller of claim 5.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein a plurality of gate turn-off thyristors are connected between the discrete frequency controller and the secondary load.
Komatsu teaches wherein a plurality of gate turn-off thyristors are connected between the discrete frequency controller and the secondary load (0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Li and Serban with Komatsu since Komatsu teaches “providing a low-frequency circuit breaker which is advantageous in view of costs and causes low loss” (0014).
Regarding claim 19, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 1.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the distributed control system is configured to return to steady-state from up to 5 delay cycles in circuit breaker operations.
Komatsu teaches wherein the distributed control system is configured to return to steady-state from up to 5 delay cycles in circuit breaker operations (0022 “circuit breaker control circuit which makes the mechanical switch constantly conductive to cause a conduction current to flow to the alternating-current path, makes the first and second thyristors conductive by supplying a gate signal to the first and second thyristors at least immediately before current cutoff, makes the conduction current through the alternating-current path be switched to flow through the thyristors by supplying an open command to the mechanical switch when an abnormality of a current is detected, and turns off the gate signal to the thyristors after switching the conduction current, thereby to cut off an abnormal current flowing through the alternating-current path”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Li and Serban with Komatsu since Komatsu teaches “providing a low-frequency circuit breaker which is advantageous in view of costs and causes low loss” (0014).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (NPL, Frequency control in micro-grid power system combined with electrolyzer system and fuzzy PI controller, 2018, herein Li) in further view of Serban (US PUB. 20110043160) in further view of Zhou et al (US PUB. 20240283254, herein Zhou).
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art teach The distributed control system of claim 14.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the diesel generator is a synchronous machine with a zero input and zero output.
Zhou teaches wherein the diesel generator is a synchronous machine with a zero input and zero output (0035 “the diesel generator includes a diesel engine and a synchronous generator, which are connected in series. i.sub.1 and i.sub.2 are respectively output current of the diesel generator and the energy storage converter when connected to the grid, u.sub.1 and u.sub.2 are respectively output voltages of the diesel generator and the energy storage converter, Z.sub.line1 and Z.sub.line2 are line impedances of the diesel generator and the energy storage converter, and X.sub.d1 and X.sub.f2 are respectively output inductances of the diesel generator and the energy storage converter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Li and the teachings of Serban with the teachings of Zhou since Zhou teaches a means for “energy storage converter can be reduced, the system power oscillation caused by impact loads can be suppressed, and synchronous power supply of the two can be realized” (0034).
Conclusion
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116