DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is missing the status identifier “(Original)” . All “Original” claims should be marked as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the sub-caliber fin hub further configured to be keyed to the aft portion of the projectile during storage and remain keyed to the aft portion of the projectile during launch from a barrel or a bore” in lines 9-11. This is indefinite because it is unclear if the fin hub remains keyed while only within the barrel/bore, or if it remains keyed “during launch from a barrel or bore”. In other words, “during launch from” may be interpreted as when/after the projectile leaves the barrel or bore. While examiner notes that para. [0027] discloses “This keyed…position...is maintained during launch of projectile 1”, para. [0029] continues with “Specifically, upon muzzle exit, the fin section…translates rearward…thus disengaging the locking feature”. It is therefore unclear if the fin hub remains keyed “during launch from” the barrel or bore as Claim 1 appears to require, or up until launch from the barrel or bore. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 8 is similarly rejected. Claims 2-7 and 9-14 fail the cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diesinger et al. (US 4520972 A), hereafter Diesinger, in view of Julien et al. (FR 3039265 A1), hereafter Julien.
Regarding Claim 1, Diesinger discloses a deployment apparatus for stowable fins (Figs. 5c), comprising:
a sub-caliber fin hub (8, Fig. 5c) configured to be rotatably coupled (via bearing 14, Fig. 5c, additionally see Col. 9, lines 15-21) to an aft portion (2, Fig. 5c) of a projectile (1, Fig. 5c), the fin hub having exterior surface regions (outer surface of 8, Fig. 5c), each surface region having coupled thereto a single fin (4, Fig. 5c);
each fin disposed upon a respective exterior surface region of the fin hub (4 is disposed on an exterior surface region of 8, Fig. 5c);
the sub-caliber fin hub further configured to be keyed to the aft portion of the projectile during storage and remain keyed to the aft portion of the projectile during launch from a barrel or bore (Col. 8, lines 1-8, “…forward position shown in Fig. 5a – the position up to firing (launch)…”, additionally see Col. 9, lines 17-21), wherein the fin hub when keyed thereto being rotatably locked with the projectile forebody (via serration 13, Fig. 5c and Col. 9, lines 13-22).
Diesinger does not discuss the fins being stowable in the embodiment of Fig. 5c, and is therefore silent about the fin hub having a plurality of flat, planar exterior surface regions, the fins being pivotably coupled thereto, each fin in a stowed position disposed upon a respective exterior surface of the fin hub and a respective exterior recess of the projectile, and each fin being urged to a deployed position by a respective torsion spring.
Julien teaches a similar fin hub (bottom of 10, Fig. 8) having a plurality of flat, planar exterior surface regions (flat portion 12, Fig. 8), the fins being pivotably coupled thereto (via pivot pins 9, Fig. 1), each fin in a stowed position disposed upon a respective exterior surface of a similar fin hub and a respective exterior recess of the projectile (fins 11 are disposed at bottom of 10 and along 10, Fig. 8), and each fin being urged to a deployed position by a respective torsion spring (spring 17, Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fin hub and fins of Diesinger with the plurality of flat, planar exterior surface regions, and torsion spring as taught by Julien, whereby Diesinger’s fin hub has a plurality of flat, planar exterior surface regions, the fins are pivotally coupled thereto, with each fin in a stowed position disposed upon a respective exterior surface of the fin hub and projectile, and each fin deployed by a respective torsion spring, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to make the fins stowable for more compact storage, transport, and launch.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Diesinger teaches the deployment apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the fins comprises an elongated fin having proximal and distal ends substantially axially aligned with the projectile in the stowed position (Julien, configuration of fins 11 in stowed position, as depicted in Fig. 6, for example).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Diesinger teaches the deployment apparatus of claim 2, wherein the proximal and distal ends are substantially radially aligned with the projectile in the deployed position (Julien, configuration of fins 11 in deployed position, as depicted in Fig. 8, for example).
Regarding Claim 8, Diesinger discloses a sub-caliber fin hub (8, 5c) configured to be rotatably coupled (via bearing 14, Fig. 5c, additionally see Col. 9, lines 15-21) to an aft portion (2, Fig. 5c) of a projectile (1, Fig. 5c), comprising:
a plurality of regions (regions of 8 where fins 4 are coupled, Fig. 5c) having coupled thereto a single fin (4, Fig. 5c);
the sub-caliber fin hub configured to be keyed to the aft portion of the projectile during storage and remain keyed to the aft portion of the projectile during launch from a barrel or bore ((Col. 8, lines 1-8, “…forward position shown in Fig. 5a – the position up to firing (launch)…”, additionally see Col. 9, lines 17-21), wherein the fin hub when keyed thereto being rotatably locked with the projectile forebody (via serration 13, Fig. 5c and Col. 9, lines 13-22).
Diesinger does not discuss the fins being stowable in the embodiment of Fig. 5c, and is therefore is silent about a plurality of flat, planar exterior surface regions, each surface region having pivotably coupled thereto the fins, each fin in a stowed position disposed upon a respective exterior surface region of the fin hub and a respective exterior recess of the projectile, each fin being urged to a deployed position by a respective torsion spring.
Julien teaches a similar fin hub (bottom of 10, Fig. 8) having a plurality of flat, planar exterior surface regions (flat portion 12, Fig. 8), each surface region having pivotably coupled thereto the fins (via pivot pins 9, Fig. 1), each fin in a stowed position disposed upon a respective exterior surface of a similar fin hub and a respective exterior recess of the projectile (fins 11 are disposed at bottom of 10 and along 10, Fig. 8), and each fin being urged to a deployed position by a respective torsion spring (spring 17, Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fin hub and fins of Diesinger with the plurality of flat, planar exterior surface regions, and torsion spring as taught by Julien, whereby Diesinger’s fin hub has a plurality of flat, planar exterior surface regions, the fins are pivotally coupled thereto, with each fin in a stowed position disposed upon a respective exterior surface of the fin hub and projectile, and each fin deployed by a respective torsion spring, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to make the fins stowable for more compact storage, transport, and launch.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Diesinger teaches the sub-caliber fin hub of claim 8, wherein each of the fins comprises an elongated fin having proximal and distal ends substantially axially aligned with the projectile in the stowed position (Julien, configuration of fins 11 in stowed position, as depicted in Fig. 6, for example).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Diesinger teaches the sub-caliber fin hub of claim 8, wherein the proximal and distal ends are configured to be substantially radially aligned with the projectile in the deployed position (Julien, configuration of fins 11 in deployed position, as depicted in Fig. 8, for example).
Claim(s) 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Diesinger, in further view of Merems (US 11187506 B1).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Diesinger teaches the deployment apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Diesinger is silent about wherein the fins comprise a metal or composite material.
Merems teaches similar fins comprising metal (Col. 9, lines 7-9, “metal material”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to comprise modified Diesinger’s fins of metal, as taught by Merems, for suitable strength and durability. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Diesinger teaches the sub-caliber fin hub of claim 8.
Modified Diesinger is silent about wherein the fins comprise a metal or composite material.
Merems teaches similar fins comprising metal (Col. 9, lines 7-9, “metal material”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to comprise modified Diesinger’s fins of metal, as taught by Merems, for suitable strength and durability. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Diesinger, in further view of Benedict et al. (WO 2020247198 A2), hereafter Benedict.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Diesinger teaches the deployment apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Diesinger is silent about wherein the fin hub comprises a fiber- reinforced polymer.
Benedict teaches a component of a projectile comprised of a fiber-reinforced polymer (para. [0048], “carbon reinforced fiber polymers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to comprise modified Diesinger’s fin hub of a fiber-reinforced polymer, as taught by Benedict, for suitable strength and durability. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Diesinger teaches the sub-caliber fin hub of claim 8.
Modified Diesinger silent about wherein the fin hub comprises a fiber- reinforced polymer.
Benedict teaches a component of a projectile comprised of a fiber-reinforced polymer (para. [0048], “carbon reinforced fiber polymers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to comprise modified Diesinger’s fin hub of a fiber-reinforced polymer, as taught by Benedict, for suitable strength and durability. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Diesinger, in further view of Molesworth (US 20160221407 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Diesinger teaches the deployment apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sub-caliber fin hub is rotatably coupled to the aft portion of the projectile via low friction (Diesinger, Col. 9, lines 18-21, “freely rotatable on the pin-shaped bearing 14”).
Modified Diesinger teaches a bearing as noted above, but is silent about a metal inner bushing rotating about an outer plastic bushing via low friction contact therebetween.
Molesworth teaches a metal inner bushing rotating about an outer plastic bushing via low friction contact therebetween (Claim 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Molesworth bushing configuration and materials as the bearing of modified Diesinger, for suitable strength and durability, as it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Additionally, the equivalence of a generic bearing and Molesworth’s bushing arrangement for their use in rotational elements and the selection of any known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Diesinger teaches the sub-caliber fin hub of claim 8, wherein the sub-caliber fin hub is rotatably coupled to the aft portion of the projectile via low friction contact therebetween (Diesinger, Col. 9, lines 18-21, “freely rotatable on the pin-shaped bearing 14”).
Modified Diesinger teaches a bearing as noted above, but is silent about a metal inner bushing rotating about an outer plastic bushing via low friction contact therebetween.
Molesworth teaches a metal inner bushing rotating about an outer plastic bushing via low friction contact therebetween (Claim 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Molesworth bushing configuration and materials as the bearing of modified Diesinger, for suitable strength and durability, as it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Additionally, the equivalence of a generic bearing and Molesworth’s bushing arrangement for their use in rotational elements and the selection of any known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Diesinger, in further view of Dryer (US 6695252 B1).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Diesinger teaches the deployment apparatus of claim 1.
Modified Diesinger is silent about wherein each fin has formed thereat a bump stop guide positioned to receive, upon fin deployment, a respective bump stop formed on the fin hub and positioned to hold the fin in an aerodynamically appropriate position.
Dryer teaches similar fins with a bump stop guide (90, Fig. 9) positioned to receive, upon fin deployment, a respective bump stop formed on the fin hub (spring 82 and plunger 84, Fig. 9 and Col. 5, lines 62 – Col. 6, line 6) and positioned to hold the fin in an aerodynamically appropriate position (Col. 6, lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the fins and fin hub of modified Diesinger with the with a bump stop guy and respective bump stop as taught by Dryer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to securely lock the fins in their deployed positions.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Diesinger teaches the sub-caliber fin hub of claim 8.
Modified Diesinger is silent about wherein each fin has formed thereat a bump stop guide positioned to receive, upon fin deployment, a respective bump stop formed on the fin hub and positioned to hold the fin in an aerodynamically appropriate position.
Dryer teaches similar fins with a bump stop guide (90, Fig. 9) positioned to receive, upon fin deployment, a respective bump stop formed on the fin hub (spring 82 and plunger 84, Fig. 9 and Col. 5, lines 62 – Col. 6, line 6) and positioned to hold the fin in an aerodynamically appropriate position (Col. 6, lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the fins and fin hub of modified Diesinger with the with a bump stop guy and respective bump stop as taught by Dryer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to securely lock the fins in their deployed positions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on Pg. 6:
“In the present invention, fins are stowed along the body tangentially and REMAIN tangential when deployed, for example like the flag on a mailbox…The fin is initially locked, then allowed to translate rearward allowing the fins to rotate with respect to the forebody…Diesinger does not disclose, teach or suggest fins that are stowed tangentially, for example as illustrated in Fig. 2C of the present invention….”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, and in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the fins stowed tangentially and remain tangential when deployed) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (such as the argument that Diesinger does not disclose fins that are stowed tangentially), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, secondary reference Julien is used to teach the plurality of flat, planar exterior surfaces and the stowed position of the fins, and Applicant has not provided any arguments regarding the U.S.C. 103 combination or how Julien does not teach this feature (see U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 in the Non-Final Rejection dated 09/05/2025). Further, secondary reference Julien, which is used to teach the fin orientation, appears to teach the orientation of the fins in when stowed and deployed in a similar manner to the instant invention. For these reasons, Examiner maintains that Diesinger in view of Julien teaches claims 1 and 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA L. GORDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642