DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on January 10, 2024. Claims 1-7 are currently pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on application filed in China on December 21, 2023 has been acknowledged and considered by Examiner. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) that are placed on record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description: 91, which should be in the drawing. Also, they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 48, which should be in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0278389 A1 by Yang in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0382569 A1 by Kamiyama.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches an active capacitive pen with magnetic rail cap (Figs. 1-4 and 11-12; [0027] and [0033], Referring to FIGS. 1-4, a capacitive touch pen. The seat 62 can be connected to the connection module 4 via a magnetic connection where Figs. 11-12 included an eraser), comprising
a penholder (1) and there is pen tip (2) at the end of the said penholder (Fig. 11, shell 22 and pen head 26; [0028], The body 2 includes a shell 22, a battery module 24 provided in the shell 22, a pen head 26 provided at one end of the shell 22 away from the connection module 4), which is characterized by: there is charging seat (3) at the other end of the penholder (1) that is far from the pen tip (2) (Figs. 1-3; [0041], A seat 62″ is connected to the connection module 4″ by a magnetic connection. A function module 64’’ with charging port 642 was mounted to seat 62’
there are main bracket (4) (Figs. 11-12, tube 222 as in [0031]) and auxiliary bracket (5) in the said penholder (1) (Fig. 11-12, second mounting bracket 40’ mounted a second terminal 46 that electrically connected to the circuit board as in [0048]), a circuit board (6) is fixed at the middle segment of the main bracket (4) to match with the auxiliary bracket (5) (Figs. 11-12, circuit board 28 was within middle of tube 222 matching with second mounting bracket 40’ and second terminal 46 as in [0048]) , one end of the circuit board (6) is linked with the charging seat (3), there are charging seat (41), guide rail part (42) and protecting crust (45) at the tail of the said main bracket (4) (Figs. 11-12, [0039], The (guiding) groove 6242 receives the (protecting) cap 42’. The cap 42″ is defined with apertures 422 corresponding to the first terminal 44 and the second terminal 46. A seat 62″ is connected to the connection module 4″ by a magnetic connection as in [0041] and the first connector 644’ providing charge from the battery was seated/mounted in the seat 62’’ by the first mounting bracket 624’’ as in [0042]-[0043]), the said charging seat (41) is interspersed to be fixed into the installation trough of the main bracket (4) (Fig. 11, A seat 62’’wrapped around cap 42’’and fixed in around it to couple to the opening/trough of the tube 222 as shown in Fig. 11),
there is tailstock FPC board (411) at the said charging seat (41), the said tailstock FPC board (411) is electrically connected with the circuit board (6) through pin (Fig. 12, [0043] and [0046], The battery module 24 is supplied with power to the electronic eraser 645, and the circuit board 28 is used to send signals to the electronic eraser 645, so that the function of the electronic eraser 645 erasing display content on a display panel is achieved. The second wire 27 and the third wire 29 (connected to circuit board 28) are both provided at an FPC (flexible Printed Circuit) 21 contained in the tube 222. The second connector 646 is also a pogo pin connector (connecting to second wire 27 through a second terminal 46 as in [0042].), , the said protecting crust (45) covers onto the terminal exterior of the main bracket (4) (Fig. 11, The cap 42’’ covered/capped the exterior top of the tube 222), the said protecting crust (45) is fixed to the main bracket (4) through screw ([0039], The cap 42″ is exposed to one end of the tube 222 provided with the second mounting bracket 40″), there are two guide rails for the said guide rail part (42), they penetrates through the hole corresponding to one end of the protecting crust (45) respectively (Figs. 11-12, The groove 6242 had two sides/rails that guided that go through the apertures/holes made in the cap 42’ made for first terminal 44 and second terminal 46), and they are hooked with the inner step of the protecting crust (45) through the barb at the end of the guide rail part (42) (Figs. 11-12, The groove 6242 had two sides/rails that hooked the clamping of the second mounting bracket 40’’ of the inner cap 42’’ and also therefore the terminal wires).
However, Yang does not teach the tube fixed the circuit board at the middle segment of a main bracket, and the protecting crust fixed to the main bracket by screw,
In the analogous art of electronic pens for position detection, Kamiyama teaches an electric pen cartridge mounted on a mounting part in a pen-shaped casing, the holder 23 was a bracketing element that was housed in the main unit casing component 24. The holder 23 was a boat-shaped component that is elongated in the axial center direction, and includes the above-described cylindrical part 231 on the pen tip side and a coupling part 233 to connect to the mounting adapter 3 on the side opposite to the pen tip side. In the holder 23, the circuit board placement base 232 including a flat part 232 a, on which the circuit board 70 is to be placed, is set between the cylindrical part 231 and the coupling part 233. Two terminal components 234 and 235 are formed as a three-dimensional fine pattern formed by using a molded interconnect device (MID) technique from the pen tip side across the step part 231 d to a middle portion of the circuit board placement base 232 in the axial center direction that secure the placement of circuit board (Kamiyama Fig. 3, [0065]-[0066] and [0070]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have had a holder and coupling part opposite to the pen tip side that secured the elements of Yang as taught by Kamiyama. One having ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have the circuit board 70 held by the holder 23, and the main unit casing component 24 while applying writing pressure (Kamiyama Fig. 3, [0065]-[0066] and [0070]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang does not teach the active capacitive pen with magnetic rail cap said according to claim 1, characterized in that there is cartridge assembly (9) in the said pen tip (2), the said cartridge assembly (9) includes cartridge (91), upper cover of cartridge (92), lower cover of cartridge (93) and cartridge FPC board (94). The said lower cover of cartridge (93) is set at the front end of main bracket (4), the upper cover of cartridge (92) and lower cover of cartridge (93) are linked by matching to fix the cartridge (91), and the line pins on the said cartridge FPC board (94) are all electrically connected with the ground wire, first level signal line and second level signal line.
In the analogous art of electronic pens for position detection, Kamiyama teaches an electric pen cartridge mounted on a mounting part in a pen-shaped casing, the holder 23 was a bracketing element that was housed in the main unit casing component 24. A holder 23 that holds a writing pressure detector and a circuit board. At the front end of the holder 23 was a shaft body with a lower shaft core 223 and an upper ferritic core 224. The writing pressure detector 40 is placed on and fixed to the writing pressure detector placement part 73 of the flexible substrate 71 in such a manner that the first lead terminal 43 and the second lead terminal 44 of the writing pressure detector 40 are each electrically connected to a conductor pattern formed on the writing pressure detector placement part 73 of the circuit board 70 where a coil 22 surrounding was grounded. (Kamiyama Figs. 2-3, [0084], [0098], and [0152]). The pressure sensing chip 41 having the above-described configuration is housed in the package 42 through the threading of the coil (Kamiyama [0082]) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have had a holder and coupling part opposite to the pen tip side that secured the elements of Yang with writing pressure detection as taught by Kamiyama. One having ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have the circuit board 70 held by the holder 23, and the main unit casing component 24 while applying writing pressure (Kamiyama Fig. 3, [0065]-[0066] and [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang does not teach the active capacitive pen with magnetic rail cap said according to claim 2, characterized in that the exteriors of the said upper cover of cartridge (92) and lower cover of cartridge (93) are fixed with shielding tube (95) through thread.
In the analogous art of electronic pens for position detection, Kamiyama teaches an electric pen cartridge mounted on a mounting part in a pen-shaped casing, the holder 23 was a bracketing element that was housed in the main unit casing component 24. At the front end of the holder 23 was a shaft body with a lower shaft core 223 and an upper ferritic core 224. The writing pressure detector 40 is placed on and fixed to the writing pressure detector placement part 73 of the flexible substrate 71 in such a manner that the first lead terminal 43 and the second lead terminal 44 of the writing pressure detector 40 are each electrically connected to a conductor pattern formed on the writing pressure detector placement part 73 of the circuit board 70 where a coil 22 surrounding was grounded. (Kamiyama Figs. 2-3, [0084], [0098], and [0152]). The pressure sensing chip 41 having the above-described configuration is housed in the package 42 through the threading of the coil (Kamiyama [0082]) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have had a holder and coupling part opposite to the pen tip side that secured the elements of Yang with writing pressure detection as taught by Kamiyama. One having ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have the circuit board 70 held by the holder 23, and the main unit casing component 24 while applying writing pressure (Kamiyama Fig. 3, [0065]-[0066] and [0070]).
Regarding claim 4, Yang does not teach an active capacitive pen with magnetic rail cap said according to claim 1, characterized in that the other end of the said circuit board (6) is connected with battery trough (10), which (10) is mounted onto the main bracket (4),
there is induction coil (7) for the said circuit board (6) where is close to the main bracket, there is magnet trough at the position where is close to the induction coil (7), magnet set (12) is mounted in the magnet trough, there is touch induction needle (61) on the circuit board (6), there is induction part (62) at that position corresponding to the said touch induction needle (61), and there is shielding layer (8) at the exterior of the said main bracket (4) and auxiliary bracket (5).
In the analogous art of electronic pens for position detection, Kamiyama teaches an electric pen cartridge mounted on a mounting part in a pen-shaped casing, the holder 23 was a bracketing element that was housed in the main unit casing component 24. A holder 23 that holds a writing pressure detector and a circuit board. At the front end of the holder 23 was a shaft body with a lower shaft core 223 and an upper ferritic core 224. The writing pressure detector 40 is placed on and fixed to the writing pressure detector placement part 73 of the flexible substrate 71. (Kamiyama Figs. 2-3, [0084], [0098], and [0152]).
The coil 221 (placed close to holder 32 for writing pressure detection chip) The coil 221 forms a resonant circuit to perform signal transmission and reception (interaction) with a position detecting device by the electromagnetic induction system in the illustrated example. The coil 221 is wound around the ferrite/magnetic core 222. The shaft pipe component 223 is fitted and fixed in a through-hole 222 a of the ferrite core 222. . Further, the (corresponding) side of the ferrite core 222 and the shaft pipe component 223 of the signal transmission component 22, which is opposite to the pen tip side in the axial center direction, is inserted and fitted in the cylindrical part 231 (induction needle of circuit), and the signal transmission component 22 and the holder 23 are connected in the axial center direction. (Kamiyama Figs. 2-3; [0033]-[0034]). Also in this electronic pen of the active capacitive coupling system, the coil 221 wound around the ferrite core 222 can be configured as a circuit for obtaining a charging current to charge an electricity storing element by the electromagnetic induction system. Further, a configuration of an electrical connection for supplying the signal from the signal transmitting circuit of the circuit board to the shaft body may be added in the trough/opening for ferritic core and coil fitted to holder (Kamayama [0150]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have had a holder and coupling part opposite to the pen tip side that secured the elements of Yang with writing pressure detection and paired electromagnetic induction system as taught by Kamiyama. One having ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have the circuit board 70 held by the holder 23, and the main unit casing component 24 while applying writing pressure (Kamiyama Fig. 3, [0065]-[0066] and [0070]).
Regarding claim 5, Yang of the combination of references further teaches the active capacitive pen with magnetic rail cap said according to claim 4, characterized in that the said magnet set (12) includes magnet a(121) and magnet b(122), the said magnet a(121) is set into the end groove of the main bracket (4), the two said magnets b(122) are respectively set into the root of the guide rail part (42), and they are located in the same horizontal plane as magnet a(121) but their magnetism repels each other (Fig. 12, [0033], A magnetic component 626 is provided at one side of the first mounting bracket 624 away from the connection module 4 and also tube 222. The seat 62 is magnetically attached to the connection module 4 by the magnetic force between the magnetic component 626 and the cap 42. The magnetic component 626 has a side corresponding to first terminal/connector and left side of the mounting bracket 624 and a side corresponding to the second terminal and other side of the mounting bracket where they would be biased the same way (repelling each other) to attract the other sides of the cap corresponding to the left side of cap 42 corresponding to the first terminal and other side of the cap 42 corresponding to the second terminal).
Regarding claim 6, Yang of the combination of references further teaches the active capacitive pen with magnetic rail cap said according to claim 1, characterized in that there is buffer cushion between the protecting crust (45) and guide rail part (42), and crust cap (46) covers the exterior of the said guide rail part (42) (Fig. 12, [0039], The (guiding) groove 6242 receives the (protecting) cap 42’. The cap 42″ is defined with apertures 422 corresponding to the first terminal 44 and the second terminal 46. A seat 62″ is connected to the connection module 4″ by a magnetic connection as in [0041] and the first connector 644’ providing charge from the battery was seated/mounted in the seat 62’’ by the first mounting bracket 624’’ with cap 622’’ surrounding it as in [0042]-[0043]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0278389 A1 by Yang in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0382569 A1 by Kamiyama, and further in view of US 2021/0255716 A1 by Jin.
Regarding claim 7, Yama in view of Kamiyama does not teach the active capacitive pen with magnetic rail cap said according to claim 4, characterized in that there is battery in the said battery trough (10), there is rectangular hole below the said battery trough (10) and there is iron block (11) in the rectangular hole.
However, in the analogous art of active/powered stylus pens, Jin teaches a microUSB charging port was formed in the magnetic attraction iron piece 16. The micro-usb when the charging port is located inside the tail cap closer to tail than battery 11. Additionally, there was another magnet A 10 that was in a hole in the PCB 9 where the battery 11 was coupled with. The magnet A 10 is mounted on a side of the main PCB 9 corresponding to a flat part of the aluminum holder shell 1 holding the battery 11; (Jin Fig. 2 and [0030]; [0035]; [0032]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had battery trough mechanics as taught by Jin in the stylus of Yang in view of Kamiyama. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have proper positioning and connections of the head portion of the main PCB in the aluminum holder shell through magnets and with respect to the battery. (Jin Fig. 2 and [0015]; [0032]).
Conclusion
US 2020/0033964 A1 by Aoki et al. teaches rechargeable electronic pen includes: a casing; a storage element disposed within the casing; a charging connection terminal disposed within the casing so as to expose a charging contact to an outside of the electronic pen via an opening of the casing.
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621