DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election of ATP and AMP as a species of ligand in the reply filed on 04/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1-28 are currently under examination and the subject of the present Office Action. However, upon further search and consideration, the examiner withdraws the species election of the of the ligand in regard to ADP, AEP, GMP, CMP, and TMP as the art includes these species as well.
As such, the restriction is made final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 01/10/2024, 08/07/2025, 02/23/2026, and 08/26/2026 have been considered here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "metal ion" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of search and examination, the claim is understood to read “iron ion”.
Claims 2-28 are indefinite as they depend on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114344471 A (Kang, 2022; machine translation provided by PE2E via FIT) in view of Liang (2016).
In regard to claims 1, 4-6, 14 and 28, Kang teaches a self-assembling and self-decomposing composite comprising a plurality of metal ions and ligands (see Kang, abstract). It is taught that the metal ion is an iron ion (see Kang, page 4, paragraph 10) and the ligand is one or more of phosphate and phosphonate, specifically ADP, AMP, ATP, and AEP (see Kang, page 5, paragraph 3).
Kang is silent on the first bond and the second bond, specifically a coordination bond and at least one of a hydrogen bond and a π-π bond.
Liang teaches magnetic iron oxide nanoparticles comprising iron ions and various nucleotides, such as AMP, ATP, GMP, CMP, and TMP (see Liang, page 15615, materials and methods) in coordination polymers (see Liang, page 15615, introduction; figures 1 and 2). It is taught that the metal ions and nucleotides coordinate with each other (i.e., form coordinate bonds) (see Liang, page 15617, Results and Discussion, paragraphs 1-4).
In regard to claim 7, the composite is shown to be spherical and the aggregate is shown to have pores and spaces between the composite particles (see Liang, abstract; figures 2 and 3).
In regards to claims 1-18 and 28, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Kang and Liang to formulate the instant composition as both references are drawn towards self-assembling compositions comprising an iron ion and a nucleotide. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kang with the teachings of Liang according to the known method of making a coordination bond between iron ions and a nucleotide such as ATP or AMP (see Liang, Materials and Methods) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further in regards to claims 1-3 and 8-18, it is noted that as the teachings of Kang and Liang would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties, such as the formation of hydrogen bonds and π-π bonds, or the first time duration and second time duration under physiologically relevant conditions, would be present since physical properties are not separable from the products themselves. While the examples listed above are from claims 2-3, the same logic is applied to the properties listed in claims 8-18, such as the self-assembly being non-toxic to normal cells, magneticity, or promotion of ferroptosis. Claims 3, 13, and 17 further claim a future intended use, however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art.
Further in regard to claim 9, a product-by-process claim drawn to a composition directed towards the composition, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. The combination of Kang and Liang teach the instantly claimed composition. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by- process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. The teachings of Kang and Liang teach the composition as instantly claimed, thus the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with evidence showing that the process of making the composition as instantly claimed produces a materially different product than the composition of Kang and Liang.
Claims 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114344471 A (Kang, 2022; machine translation provided by PE2E via FIT) in view of Liang (2016) as applied to claims 1-18 and 28 above, and further in view of Lanigan (2013).
The teachings of Kang and Liang have been described supra.
The teachings of Kang and Liang are silent on the three-dimensional aggregate having an average diameter in a range of 500µm to 10cm.
Lanigan teaches that iron ions are known to be used in self assembling ion-ligand interactions to form chain aggregates (see Lanigan, pages 8137-8139, 4. Metal coordination; Figures 13-14). These aggregates are taught to be of micron size (see Lanigan, page 8142; column 1, paragraph 1).
In regards to the claimed size of the aggregates, it is taught in the art that the metal ion-ligand coordinate aggregates have variable size that is adjusted as shown in Figure 14 of Lanigan and discussed in column 2 of page 8138 of Lanigan by controlling the concentration of the molecules present in solution. As such, the size of the aggregates would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Without showing unexpected results, the claimed size cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the concentration of molecules in solution in Lanigan to obtain the desired balance between the size of the aggregate as taught by Lanigan, Kang, and Liang (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
In regards to claims 20-27, it is noted that as the teachings of Kang, Liang, and Lanigan would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties, such as magnetism and release of AMP, would be present since physical properties are not separable from the products themselves. While the examples listed above are from claims 20 and 24, the same logic is applied to the properties listed in claims 20-27, such as the self-assembly being non-toxic to normal cells, magneticity, or promotion of ferroptosis. Claims 20-27, further claim a future intended use, however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6, 16-17, and 19-20 of copending Application No. 17989940 (reference application) in view of CN 114344471 A (Kang, 2022; machine translation provided by PE2E via FIT), Liang (2016), and Lanigan (2013).
The claims of the reference application are drawn to a self-assembled complex containing an iron ion consisting of: an iron ion; at least one ligand; and an active ingredient supported in the self-assembled complex, wherein the iron ion and ligan are reversibly self-assembled or self-disassembled, wherein the iron ion and ligan are self-assembled to form an assembled structure. The self-assembled complex comprises π-π interactions and hydrogen bonding. The ligands listed in claims 6 and 8 overlap with those of the instant application.
The reference application is silent on the size of the assembled structure (i.e., aggregate).
The teachings of Kang, Liang, and Lanigan have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-28, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan to formulate the instant composition as all references are drawn towards self-assembling compositions comprising an iron ion and a ligand. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan according to the known method of making a coordination bond between iron ions and a nucleotide such as ATP or AMP (see Liang, Materials and Methods) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further in regards to claims 1-3, 8-18, and 20-27, it is noted that as the teachings of Kang and Liang would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties, such as the formation of hydrogen bonds and π-π bonds, or the first time duration and second time duration under physiologically relevant conditions, would be present since physical properties are not separable from the products themselves. While the examples listed above are from claims 2-3, the same logic is applied to the properties listed in claims 8-18 and 20-27, such as the self-assembly being non-toxic to normal cells, magneticity, or promotion of ferroptosis. Claims 3, 13, 17 and 20-27 further claim a future intended use, however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art.
Further in regard to claim 9, a product-by-process claim drawn to a composition directed towards the composition, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. The combination of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan teach the instantly claimed composition. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by- process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. The teachings of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan teach the composition as instantly claimed, thus the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with evidence showing that the process of making the composition as instantly claimed produces a materially different product than the composition of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-20 of copending Application No. 18538082 (reference application) in view of CN 114344471 A (Kang, 2022; machine translation provided by PE2E via FIT), Liang (2016), and Lanigan (2013).
The claims of the reference application are drawn to a self-assembled complex composed of substances existing in a body and using the same as ligands, the self-assembled complex comprising: metal ions comprising one or more of cobalt (Co), silver (Ag), gadolinium (Gd), or iron (Fe); and one or more ligands that are self-assembled with the metal ions, wherein: the self-assembled complex is reversibly self-assembled or self-disassembled; self-assembly is performed by one or more of a concentration of the metal ions or a concentration of the ligand; and a form of the self-assembled complex is controlled depending on a combination of the ligands.
The reference application is silent on the size of the assembled structure (i.e., aggregate).
The teachings of Kang, Liang, and Lanigan have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-28, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan to formulate the instant composition as all references are drawn towards self-assembling compositions comprising an iron ion and a ligand. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan according to the known method of making a coordination bond between iron ions and a nucleotide such as ATP or AMP (see Liang, Materials and Methods) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further in regards to claims 1-3, 8-18, and 20-27, it is noted that as the teachings of Kang and Liang would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties, such as the formation of hydrogen bonds and π-π bonds, or the first time duration and second time duration under physiologically relevant conditions, would be present since physical properties are not separable from the products themselves. While the examples listed above are from claims 2-3, the same logic is applied to the properties listed in claims 8-18 and 20-27, such as the self-assembly being non-toxic to normal cells, magneticity, or promotion of ferroptosis. Claims 3, 13, 17 and 20-27 further claim a future intended use, however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art.
Further in regard to claim 9, a product-by-process claim drawn to a composition directed towards the composition, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. The combination of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan teach the instantly claimed composition. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by- process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. The teachings of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan teach the composition as instantly claimed, thus the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with evidence showing that the process of making the composition as instantly claimed produces a materially different product than the composition of the reference application and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12303565 (reference patent) in view of CN 114344471 A (Kang, 2022; machine translation provided by PE2E via FIT), Liang (2016), and Lanigan (2013).
The claims of the reference patent are drawn to a self-assembled complex, comprising: one or more metal ions and ligands that are ion-bonded with the metal ion, the one or more metal ions and the ligands being coagulated, and one or more effective components contained by the one or more metal ions and ligands, wherein the one or more effective components is any one or more of adenosine, guanosine, uridine, cytidine, and dexamethasone, wherein the metal ions include ions of any one or more of magnesium, strontium, cobalt, and nickel.
The teachings of Kang, Liang, and Lanigan have been described supra.
In regards to claims 1-28, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the reference patent and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan to formulate the instant composition as all references are drawn towards self-assembling compositions comprising an iron ion and a ligand. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference patent and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan according to the known method of making a coordination bond between iron ions and a nucleotide such as ATP or AMP (see Liang, Materials and Methods) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further in regards to claims 1-3, 8-18, and 20-27, it is noted that as the teachings of Kang and Liang would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties, such as the formation of hydrogen bonds and π-π bonds, or the first time duration and second time duration under physiologically relevant conditions, would be present since physical properties are not separable from the products themselves. While the examples listed above are from claims 2-3, the same logic is applied to the properties listed in claims 8-18 and 20-27, such as the self-assembly being non-toxic to normal cells, magneticity, or promotion of ferroptosis. Claims 3, 13, 17 and 20-27 further claim a future intended use, however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art.
Further in regard to claim 9, a product-by-process claim drawn to a composition directed towards the composition, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. The combination of the reference patent and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan teach the instantly claimed composition. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by- process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. The teachings of the reference patent and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan teach the composition as instantly claimed, thus the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with evidence showing that the process of making the composition as instantly claimed produces a materially different product than the composition of the reference patent and Kang, Liang, and Lanigan.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1611