DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 11/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “With Awaji’s configuration, for a large-size medium S, the air 8 is blown off from inside to outside of the widthwise direction. This differs from the configuration claimed in claim 1, where the air flow is blown off diagonally downward from outside to inside of the widthwise direction of the sheet”. In response, the Examiner notes that Awaji teaches the air being blown off from inside to outside of the widthwise direction of the sheet (see fig.1,5) diagonally downward. The diagonally downward direction of the air flow (8) is affected by air blowing direction changing members (81,82) from air blow holes (6), as the Examiner believes is shown in figure 5. Furthermore, it is noted that the changing members are adjustable to change the direction of the air in accordance with the side of the sheet so as to direct the air flow at any angle (see at least ¶0109).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1,4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keiichi JP 2017-129807 A in view of Awaji et al. PGPub 2023/0257223.
Tanida discloses, regarding claim 1, A sheet discharge device comprising:
a sheet discharge port which allows sheets to be discharged therethrough (adjacent discharge member 14; fig.2);
a discharge member (14) which is placed at the sheet discharge port and which conveys the sheets in a discharge direction;
a sheet discharge tray (15) which is placed on a downstream side of the sheet discharge port in the discharge direction and on which the sheets discharged through the sheet discharge port are stacked; and
a blower mechanism (16a) for blowing off an air flow to the sheets discharged through the sheet discharge port, wherein
the blower mechanism includes:
an air blow hole (162a,163a) for blowing off an air flow from upward against the sheets discharged through the sheet discharge port (fig.7); and
a blower device (161) coupled to the air blow hole to generate the air flow, and the air blow hole, being provided upward of the sheet discharge port (fig.7).
Keiichi does not expressly disclose the remaining limitations of the claims.
Awaji teaches [regarding claim 1] the blower device and the air blow hole placed in at least one pair (91,92) or more on both sides of a center of the sheet in a widthwise direction perpendicular to the discharge direction, and the air flow derived from the air blow hole is blown off against the sheets diagonally downward from outside to inside of the widthwise direction, the air flow being blown against widthwise inner-side regions of the sheets inside of side edges of a maximum-size sheet discharged through the sheet discharge port (see at least fig.1,5; ¶0109).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the blower device and the air blow hole placed in at least one pair or more on both sides of a center of the sheet in a widthwise direction perpendicular to the discharge direction, and the air flow derived from the air blow hole is blown off against the sheets diagonally downward from outside to inside of the widthwise direction, the air flow being blown against widthwise inner-side regions of the sheets inside of side edges of a maximum-size sheet discharged through the sheet discharge port, as taught by Awaji, in the device of Keiichi, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of changing positions where the air is applied according to the size of the medium and appropriately adjust the suppression effect of curl (¶0108).
Regarding claim 4, Keiichi, as modified above, does not expressly disclose the air blow hole placed in plural pairs on both sides of a center in the widthwise direction; however, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to place the air blow hole in plural pairs on both sides of a center in the widthwise direction since duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art (see MPEP 2144.04 VI B).
5. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keiichi JP 2017-129807 A in view of Awaji et al. PGPub 2023/0257223 further in view of Sakagami USP 11,447,357.
Keiichi as modified above discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶4 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 2.
Sakagami teaches the use of a controller for controlling the blower device, wherein the controller starts blowoff of the air flow by the blower device at a timing or later when a fore end of the sheet has come into contact with the sheet discharge tray or the sheets stacked on the sheet discharge tray (C5/L45-51).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller for controlling the blower device, wherein the controller starts blowoff of the air flow by the blower device at a timing or later when a fore end of the sheet has come into contact with the sheet discharge tray or the sheets stacked on the sheet discharge tray, as taught by Sakagami, in the device of Keiichi as modified above, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of unnecessarily blowing air on the discharged sheets since deformation of the sheets hardly occurs (C5/L56-57).
6. Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keiichi JP 2017-129807 A in view of Awaji et al. PGPub 2023/0257223 further in view of Hoshino et al. USP 9,561,927.
Keiichi discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶4 above), and further discloses [regarding claims 6,7] an image forming system comprising an image forming apparatus (13) for forming an image on a sheet (fig.1) and [regarding claim 8] an image forming part for forming an image on a sheet (fig.1), but does not expressly disclose the remaining limitations of claims 5-9.
Hoshino teaches the use of [regarding claim 5] a sheet postprocessing device comprising a postprocessing part (S1) for performing specified postprocessing on a sheet, [regarding claims 6,8] the sheet postprocessing device according to claim 5 for performing specified postprocessing on the sheet subjected to image formation by the image forming apparatus (see at least C5/L64-C6/L12), [regarding claim 7] wherein the image forming apparatus is an inkjet recording apparatus for performing image recording by jetting out ink onto the sheet (C5/L40-41), and [regarding claim 9] wherein the image forming part performs image recording by jetting out ink onto the sheet (C5/L40-41).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a sheet postprocessing device comprising a postprocessing part for performing specified postprocessing on a sheet, the sheet postprocessing device according to claim 5 for performing specified postprocessing on the sheet subjected to image formation by the image forming apparatus, wherein the image forming apparatus is an inkjet recording apparatus for performing image recording by jetting out ink onto the sheet, and wherein the image forming part performs image recording by jetting out ink onto the sheet, as taught by Hoshino, in the device of Keiichi as modified above, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing image forming that produces high-quality photos and images, and for the purpose of providing desired finishing to the image-formed sheets.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 12/8/2025