DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to claims filed on 08/06/26.
3. Claims 9-22 & 31-46 are presented for examination.
4. Claims 19 & 33 are amended.
5. Claims 1-8 & 23-30 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant remarks filed on 08/06/26, with regarding a specification objection (title) has been fully considered and is acknowledged. Therefore, the specification objection is withdrawn.
7. Applicant amendment filed on 08/06/26, with regarding a claim objection (33-42) has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the objection to the claim is withdrawn.
8. Applicant arguments filed on 08/10/26, with regarding a 102 & 103 rejection has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the 102 & 103 rejection is withdrawn. See the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 9-22 & 33-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chadi et al. (hereinafter referred as Chadi) International Publication No. WO 2024/010340 A1, in view of Stephane et al. (hereinafter referred as Stephane) International Publication No. WO 2022/223499 A1.
Regarding claims 9 & 33: Chadi discloses an apparatus/a method (See FIG. 4 & Para. 0173; a User Equipment (UE)) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (See FIG. 4 & Para. 0173; a User Equipment (UE) is equipped with a memory/storage); and
one or more processors (See FIG. 4 & Para. 0173; a User Equipment (UE) includes a processor), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a core network entity, a model query (See Para. 0122-0124, 0127, 0133 & 0136; establish UE→CN AI/ML information and NAS signaling);
receive, from the AMF, a model query response (See Para. 0152-0153 & 0155-0161; the network (i.e., CN) provides supported/available model information to the UE); and
Chadi does not explicitly disclose select a model based at least in part on the model query response.
However, Stephane from the same field of endeavor discloses select a model based at least in part on the model query response (See Para. 0063, 0066-0070 & 0073-0075; UEs run an AI/ML application requesting an event manifest for downloading an event model and the UE obtains at least an event/model identifier required for further subscription. changing conditions trigger the server for selecting a relevant AI/ML model. UE establishes communication with the AI/ML server and performs model subscription using model information, UE profile and network information. the Manifest Application Server builds the manifest for the UE and selects resources according to UE capabilities/profile).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include select a model based at least in part on the model query response as taught by Stephane in the system of Chadi in order to select an AI/ML model subscription information (See Para. 0004; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 10 & 34: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Chadi discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit to a central network entity, UE capability information associated with the model (See Para. 0135-0136 & 0142-0143; identifies UE capability information carried in an IE and the CN/AMF may forward it to another core-network node).
Regarding claims 11 & 35: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Chadi discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the model query includes at least one of user equipment (UE) capability information or UE area information (See Para. 0125-0136 & 0153-0157; for location/cell/TA/country information).
Regarding claims 12 & 36: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Chadi discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the model query response includes at least one of meta information associated with the model or a model identifier associated with the model (See Para. 0152-0158; available models and model-related information) OR (See Stephane; Para. 0066; event/model identifier).
Regarding claims 13 & 37: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Chadi discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the model query is included in an uplink non-access stratum (NAS) transport message, a class 1 NAS message, a class 2 NAS message, a class 1 message, or a class 2 message (See Para. 0127, 0129 & 0133; NAS signaling).
Regarding claims 14 & 38: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Chadi discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit to the AMF, model management function (MMF) information (See Para. 0136 & 0143; AMF/CN forwarding UE information to another core-network node).
Regarding claims 15 & 39: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Chadi discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the model query response is included in a registration accept message, a downlink non-access stratum (NAS) transport message, a class 1 NAS message, a class 2 NAS message, a class 1 message, or a class 2 message (See Para. 0159-0163 & 0160-0161; dedicated NAS signaling/messages and AMF providing the information to the UE via NAS).
Regarding claims 16 & 40: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Stephane discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to select the model based at least in part on the model query response, are configured to cause the apparatus to select the model based at least in part on meta information included in the model query response (See Para. 0066-0070 & 0073-0075; establishes model identification/subscription, server processing according to UE/model information, manifest generation and model download).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to select the model based at least in part on the model query response, are configured to cause the apparatus to select the model based at least in part on meta information included in the model query response as taught by Stephane in the system of Chadi in order to select an AI/ML model subscription information (See Para. 0004; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 17 & 41: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Stephane discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a central network entity, user equipment (UE) capability information; receive, from the central network entity, a model download request that includes an indication of a model; and transmit, to the central network entity, a model download complete message (See Para. 0066-0070 & 0073-0076; requesting a manifest for downloading a model. model subscription and UE1 model download).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a central network entity, user equipment (UE) capability information; receive, from the central network entity, a model download request that includes an indication of a model; and transmit, to the central network entity, a model download complete message as taught by Stephane in the system of Chadi in order to select an AI/ML model subscription information (See Para. 0004; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 18 & 42: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Stephane discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the model download request includes a model identifier or UE assistance information for supporting model selection at a model management function (MMF) of the core network entity, wherein the UE assistance information includes at least one of a carrier frequency indication, a sub-carrier spacing indication, a bandwidth part indication, an antenna tilt indication, an antenna pattern indication, or a scenario, configuration, or zone identifier (See Para. 0066; a model identifier or UE-assistance information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the model download request includes a model identifier or UE assistance information for supporting model selection at a model management function (MMF) of the core network entity, wherein the UE assistance information includes at least one of a carrier frequency indication, a sub-carrier spacing indication, a bandwidth part indication, an antenna tilt indication, an antenna pattern indication, or a scenario, configuration, or zone identifier as taught by Stephane in the system of Chadi in order to select an AI/ML model subscription information (See Para. 0004; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 19 & 43: Chadi discloses an apparatus/a method (See FIG. 4 & Para. 0173; CN) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (See FIG. 4 & Para. 0173; CN is equipped with storage/memory); and
one or more processors (See FIG. 4 & Para. 0173; CN includes a processor), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, by an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a core network entity from a user equipment (UE), a model query (See Para. 0122-0124, 0127, 0133 & 0136; establish UE→CN AI/ML information and NAS signaling);
transmit, by the AMF to a mobility management function (MMF) of the core network entity, the model query (See Para. 0152-0153 & 0155-0161; a first network entity, e.g., AMF, may forward the received information to a second network entity, and gives LMF/SMF as examples. It further states that the CN/AMF may forward UE capability information to “any other core network node); and
and transmit, by the AMF to the UE, the model query response (See Para. 0122-0124, 0127, 0133 & 0136. It teaches reporting network AI/ML capability to the UE, including information identifying supported/available AI/ML models and model IDs. It further specifically teaches. the AMF may provide the information to the UE via NAS signaling. It expressly establishes the claimed AMF → UE return path for AI/ML/model-related information).
Chadi does not explicitly disclose select, by the MMF and transmit, by the MMF to the AMF, a model query response.
However, Stephane from the same field of endeavor discloses select, by the MMF, a model (See Para. 0067-0070 & claim 14; the UE providing model information, UE profile, network information, environmental information, etc. Manifest Application Server computing the subscription profile and selecting AI/ML resources based on UE capabilities and profile. Claim 14 expressly characterizes environmental information as information useful to a server for determining a “choice of said AI/ML model”); and
transmit, by the MMF to the AMF, a model query response (See Para. 0067-0070; a request/response or subscribe/notify communication pattern for its AI/ML model-distribution mechanism. After receiving the UE's ModelSubscribe request in, the server builds a UE-specific manifest in containing the resulting AI/ML network/model-resource information. In Chadi's architecture, model-related information can pass between the AMF and other core-network entities. Thus, applying Stéphane's known model-selection/request-response mechanism to Chadi's AMF-mediated core-network signaling would result in the model-management entity returning the resulting model information toward the AMF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include select, by the MMF and transmit, by the MMF to the AMF, a model query response as taught by Stephane in the system of Chadi in order to select an AI/ML model subscription information (See Para. 0004; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 20 & 44: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Chadi discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the model query includes at least one of UE capability information or UE area information (See Para. 0135-0136 & 0142-0143; identifies UE capability information carried in an IE and the CN/AMF may forward it to another core-network node).
Regarding claims 21 & 45: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Chadi discloses the apparatus/method, wherein the model query response includes at least one of meta information associated with the model or a model identifier associated with the model (See Para. 0152-0158; available models and model-related information) OR (See Stephane; Para. 0066; event/model identifier).
Regarding claims 22 & 46: The combination of Chadi and Stephane disclose the apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Chadi discloses the apparatus/method, wherein receiving the model query comprises receiving, from the UE, an uplink non-access stratum (NAS) transport message, a class 1 NAS message, a class 2 NAS message, a class 1 message, or a class 2 message, and wherein transmitting the model query response comprises transmitting, to the UE, a registration accept message, a downlink NAS transport message, the class 1 NAS message, the class 2 NAS message, the class 1 message, or the class 2 message (See Para. 0127, 0129 & 0133; NAS signaling).
Conclusion
11. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Kim et al. 2024/0292272 A1 (Title: Intelligent, policy based network selection ) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Pick et al. 2023/0035125 A1 (Title: Machine learning based dynamic demodulator selection) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Soryal et al. 2022/0174587 A1 (Title: Network slicing security…) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEWALE A AMBAYE whose telephone number is (571)270-1076. The examiner can normally be reached on M.F 6a.m.-2p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469