DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,7,9,12,16-24,33-35,39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chan (US 20230106867 A1) (hereinafter Chan) in view of Lerzer(US 20210253119 A1) (hereinafter Lerzer) in further view of Morgan (CN 104584675 B) (hereinafter Morgan).
Regarding claim 1, Chan teaches a system comprising:
a communication module(The specification discloses the communication module refers to a system which enables the information exchange between two points. And includes a wired or wireless interface (e.g. a Universal Serial Bus (USB) port, a Bluetooth® wireless node, etc.) to connect to a mobile device. Similarly, Chan discloses Communications circuitry where a connection between two devices is established to send and receive signals. Chan, paragraph 41, Communications circuitry 227 may comprise wireless network transceiver 238 which may comprise any suitable hardware and/or software operable to send and receive wireless signals between vehicle 206 and external devices such as, for example, network or user devices. Chan, paragraph 33, user devices 102 and 104 may be configured to communicate with vehicle 106 using a short-range radio communication technique, such as, for example, Bluetooth low energy (BLE)) and a processor(Chan, paragraph 38, Vehicle 206 may comprise processing circuitry 216 which may comprise processor); and
wherein the processor storing instructions in a non-transitory memory that, when executed, cause the processor to(Chan, paragraph 38, Memory 220 may comprise hardware elements for non-transitory storage of commands or instructions, that, when executed by processor 218, cause processor 218 to operate vehicle 206 in accordance with embodiments described),
establish a first connection, by sending a first connection request via the communication module, to a first device(Chan discusses an option to pair a vehicle and a user device after receiving an input through a vehicle interface, indicating a request type signal being sent by the vehicle to establish a connection with a user device. Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface 226, and/or input interface 226 may be configured to receive selection (e.g., via haptic input or voice input) of an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle );
receive a first message from the first device, wherein the first message comprises an occupant profile comprising a vehicle setting(Similar to the message with vehicle settings for each profile, Chan discloses receiving specific settings from a profile of a user device connected to a vehicle. Chan, paragraph 53, Vehicle 406 may be configured to, based on information received from cloud 412, manage provisioned user devices, access user preferences (e.g., associated with a particular user profile, in order to provide to the user certain preferred vehicle settings));
establish a second connection, by sending a second connection request via the communication module, to a second device(The specification discloses a second device can used to identify a second occupant. Establishing a second communication is merely duplication of the first connection discussed above. Chan has secondary user profile, which is similar to the second device profile, with specific vehicle attribute settings and limited privilege. Chan, paragraph 89, the guest profile or secondary user’s profile may be loaded at vehicle 106, and the personalized driving experience of 1016 (e.g., tailored to the user and/or limiting features to the user, such as, for example, a valet mode or a showroom mode) may be provided to such user. Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface 226, and/or input interface 226 may be configured to receive selection (e.g., via haptic input or voice input) of an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle); and
receive a second message from the second device, wherein the second message comprises a limitation setting(A second message received from the second device is similar to Chan’s secondary user profile settings that are received from second user device with different vehicle settings. Chan, paragraph 66, In some embodiments, access limitations may be imposed by, e.g., a primary user on a secondary user (e.g., the first user may set a maximum speed at which the first vehicle may reach when the second user occupies the first vehicle). Chan, paragraph 89, the guest profile or secondary user’s profile may be loaded at vehicle 106, and the personalized driving experience of 1016 (e.g., tailored to the user and/or limiting features to the user).
While Chan teaches about establishing connection between a vehicle and a user device and receiving user profile information, it fails to disclose a vehicle system and method to determine an identity of an occupant; vehicle configuration that comprises a priority level.
However, Lerzer, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about personalization device of a motor vehicle discloses a system and a method to determine an identity of an occupant(Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver of the motor vehicle is carried out, for example using a received sensor signal from a sensor device).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan with Lerzer to determine the identity of the occupant using different sensors installed on the vehicle. Even though Chan teaches identifying occupants by their profile after vehicle is connected to user device, it specifically fails to teach identifying occupant by vehicle sensors. Lerzer, however, addresses this deficiency with its plurality of occupant identifying sensors such as biometric sensors. By using Lerzer’s identification mechanism, it is possible to determine the driver’s identity using sensors installed on a vehicle. An automatic identification of the occupant saves time by reducing manual identification of a user. Additionally, the sensor identification system prohibits unauthorized users from using the vehicle by only allowing user with registered profiles.
While the combination of Chan and Lerzer teaches establishing a connection between a vehicle and device to determine personized settings, and identification of a user using vehicle sensors, it specifically fails to disclose vehicle configuration that comprises a priority level.
However, Morgan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a portable configuration device for vehicle control discloses a setting of a vehicle configuration with a priority level(According to the specification, a priority level refers to an indicator associated with retaining authority or determining the overriding capacity of certain operation. Similarly, Morgan teaches identifying priority of settings as well as overriding a setting with another priority setting. Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting 170 relative to other user vehicle configuration settings Morgan, paragraph 56, user vehicle configuration settings 170 or components thereof that have the highest (or lowest) priority identifiers may be used instead of other user vehicle configuration settings. In this way, a user may override the preferences of another user (e.g., the preferences of the child) for the preferences of the vehicle configuration settings (e.g., the preferences of the parents)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan and Lerzer with Morgan to determine priority settings and overriding settings with priority settings. Prioritization of settings is helpful in arbitrating simultaneous setting request received from different devices. For example, when a primary device and secondary device have different simultaneous setting request such as speed limit and radio preference, the speed limit takes the precedence as it is critical in the safety of a driver.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 1(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface… and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the communication module comprises a transmitter and a receiver (Chan has a transceiver that comprises both transmitter and receiver. Chan, paragraph 41, Communications circuitry 227 may comprise wireless network transceiver 238 which may comprise any suitable hardware and/or software operable to send and receive wireless signals between vehicle 206 and external devices such as, for example, network or user devices (e.g., user device 202 ).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 1(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the first device comprises one of a phone, a key fob, a smart card, a portable device with microchip, an identification card, a laptop, a personal computing device, a wearable device, and a badge(Chan, paragraph 4, the user device is a smartphone, key fob, or short-range wireless access device (e.g., key card or key wristband)).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 1(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the second device comprises one of a phone, a key fob, a smart card, a portable device with microchip, an identification card, a laptop, a personal computing device, a wearable device, and a badge(Chan, paragraph 4, the user device is a smartphone, key fob, or short-range wireless access device (e.g., key card or key wristband)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 1(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the system further comprises an application on the first device operable to store the occupant profile( Chan, paragraph 45, user device 202 may be configured to store user account information and/or user profile information, and/or execute a mobile application configured to provide various functionalities) in a database(Chan, paragraph 47, Server 212 may maintain or otherwise be associated with one or more data stores or databases to store user account information and user profile information).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 1(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the vehicle setting comprises one or more of a seat setting, mirror setting, temperature setting, radio setting(Chan, paragraph 36, user profile and/or user account may store indications of any number of preferred vehicle attributes or user settings or preferences, e.g., profile alias, different seat positions for driver area or other passenger area, different mirror positions).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 7(Chan, paragraph 36, user profile and/or user account may store indications of any number of preferred vehicle attributes or user settings or preferences, e.g., profile alias, different seat positions for driver area or other passenger area, different mirror positions; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the mirror setting comprises one or more of a mirror tilt, a mirror angle, a mirror height, a mirror position(Chan, paragraph 36, user profile and/or user account may store indications of any number of preferred vehicle attributes or user settings or preferences, e.g., profile alias, different seat positions for driver area or other passenger area, different mirror positions).
Regarding claim 12. The system of claim 7(Chan, paragraph 36, user profile and/or user account may store indications of any number of preferred vehicle attributes or user settings or preferences, e.g., profile alias, different seat positions for driver area or other passenger area, different mirror positions; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the radio setting comprises one or more of preferred genres of content, audio playback settings, and a volume(Morgan, paragraph 38, comfortable control may include, but is not limited to: Temperature control, radio control, window control, volume control).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 1(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the occupant comprises one of a non-owner driver, an owner driver, and a passenger(Chan, paragraph 59, a user (e.g., John) associated with a particular user account may desire to allow a friend to drive vehicle 406, where John may be assigned a role of the owner of vehicle 406).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 1(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the occupant profile is stored in one or more of a local storage, a remote storage, and a cloud storage(Chan, paragraph 56, Cloud 412 may store multiple user profiles associated with the user account).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 1(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the system further determines the identity of the occupant via one or more sensors(Lerzer, paragraph 16,identifying a driver of the motor vehicle is carried out, for example using a received sensor signal from a sensor device).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 18(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the one or more sensors comprise a video camera, an RFID reader, a motion sensor, a weight sensor, a proximity sensor, a biometric scanner, a lidar sensor, a radar sensor, a light sensor, and an audio sensor(Lerzer, paragraph 04, A driver's identity can be detected and determined, for example, by various means or a combination of these means. Exemplary means are a key that is assigned to a user, logging in with a password and/or a personal identification number (“pin”), or by biometric identification or authentication of the user, for example by capturing a fingerprint).
Regarding claim 20, Chan teaches a method comprising: establish a first connection, by sending a first connection request via a communication module, to a first device(Chan discusses an option to pair a vehicle and a user device after receiving an input through a vehicle interface, indicating a request type signal being sent by the vehicle to establish a connection with a user device. Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface 226, and/or input interface 226 may be configured to receive selection (e.g., via haptic input or voice input) of an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle ); receiving a first message from the first device, wherein the first message comprises an occupant profile comprising a vehicle setting(Similar to the message with vehicle settings for each profile, Chan discloses receiving specific settings from a profile of a user device connected to a vehicle. Chan, paragraph 53, Vehicle 406 may be configured to, based on information received from cloud 412, manage provisioned user devices, access user preferences (e.g., associated with a particular user profile, in order to provide to the user certain preferred vehicle settings)); establishing a second connection, by sending a second connection request via the communication module, to a second device(The specification discloses a second device can used to identify a second occupant. Establishing a second communication is merely duplication of the first connection discussed above. Chan has secondary user profile, which is similar to the second device profile, with specific vehicle attribute settings and limited privilege. Chan, paragraph 89, the guest profile or secondary user’s profile may be loaded at vehicle 106, and the personalized driving experience of 1016 (e.g., tailored to the user and/or limiting features to the user, such as, for example, a valet mode or a showroom mode) may be provided to such user. Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface 226, and/or input interface 226 may be configured to receive selection (e.g., via haptic input or voice input) of an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle); and receiving a second message from the second device, wherein the second message comprises a limitation setting(A second message received from the second device is similar to Chan’s secondary user profile settings that are received from second user device with different vehicle settings. Chan, paragraph 66, In some embodiments, access limitations may be imposed by, e.g., a primary user on a secondary user (e.g., the first user may set a maximum speed at which the first vehicle may reach when the second user occupies the first vehicle). Chan, paragraph 89, the guest profile or secondary user’s profile may be loaded at vehicle 106, and the personalized driving experience of 1016 (e.g., tailored to the user and/or limiting features to the user).
While Chan teaches about establishing connection between a vehicle and a user device and receiving user profile information, it fails to disclose a vehicle system and method to determine an identity of an occupant; vehicle configuration that comprises a priority level.
However, Lerzer, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about personalization device of a motor vehicle discloses a system and a method to determine an identity of an occupant(Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver of the motor vehicle is carried out, for example using a received sensor signal from a sensor device).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan with Lerzer to determine the identity of the occupant using different sensors installed on the vehicle. Even though Chan teaches identifying occupants by their profile after vehicle is connected to user device, it specifically fails to teach identifying occupant by vehicle sensors. Lerzer, however, addresses this deficiency with its plurality of occupant identifying sensors such as biometric sensors. By using Lerzer’s identification mechanism, it is possible to determine the driver’s identity using sensors installed on a vehicle. An automatic identification of the occupant saves time by reducing manual identification of a user. Additionally, the sensor identification system prohibits unauthorized users from using the vehicle by only allowing user with registered profiles.
While the combination of Chan and Lerzer teaches establishing a connection between a vehicle and device to determine personized settings, and identification of a user using vehicle sensors, it specifically fails to disclose vehicle configuration that comprises a priority level.
However, Morgan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a portable configuration device for vehicle control discloses a setting of a vehicle configuration with a priority level(According to the specification, a priority level refers to an indicator associated with retaining authority or determining the overriding capacity of certain operation. Similarly, Morgan teaches identifying priority of settings as well as overriding a setting with another priority setting. Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting 170 relative to other user vehicle configuration settings Morgan, paragraph 56, user vehicle configuration settings 170 or components thereof that have the highest (or lowest) priority identifiers may be used instead of other user vehicle configuration settings. In this way, a user may override the preferences of another user (e.g., the preferences of the child) for the preferences of the vehicle configuration settings (e.g., the preferences of the parents)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan and Lerzer with Morgan to determine priority settings and overriding settings with priority settings. Prioritization of settings is helpful in arbitrating simultaneous setting request received from different devices. For example, when a primary device and secondary device have different simultaneous setting request such as speed limit and radio preference, the speed limit takes the precedence as it is critical in the safety of a driver.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the method of claim 20(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface… and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the communication module comprises a transmitter and a receiver(Chan has a transceiver that comprises both transmitter and receiver. Chan, paragraph 41, Communications circuitry 227 may comprise wireless network transceiver 238 which may comprise any suitable hardware and/or software operable to send and receive wireless signals between vehicle 206 and external devices such as, for example, network or user devices (e.g., user device 202).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the method of claim 20(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the first device comprises any one of a phone, a key fob, an infotainment system, a portable device with microchip, an identification card, a laptop, a personal computing device, a wearable device and a badge(Chan, paragraph 4, the user device is a smartphone, key fob, or short-range wireless access device (e.g., key card or key wristband)).
Regarding claim 23, , the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the method of claim 20(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the second device comprises one of a phone, a key fob, a smart card, a portable device with microchip, an identification card, a laptop, a personal computing device, a wearable device, and a badge(Chan, paragraph 4, the user device is a smartphone, key fob, or short-range wireless access device (e.g., key card or key wristband)).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the method of claim 20(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the method further comprises an application on the first device, to store the occupant profile(Chan, paragraph 45, user device 202 may be configured to store user account information and/or user profile information, and/or execute a mobile application configured to provide various functionalities)in a database(Chan, paragraph 47, Server 212 may maintain or otherwise be associated with one or more data stores or databases to store user account information and user profile information).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the method of claim 20(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the occupant comprises one of a non-owner driver, an owner driver, and a passenger(Chan, paragraph 59, a user (e.g., John) associated with a particular user account may desire to allow a friend to drive vehicle 406, where John may be assigned a role of the owner of vehicle 406).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the method of claim 20(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the occupant profile is stored in one or more of a local storage, a remote storage, and a cloud storage(Chan, paragraph 56, Cloud 412 may store multiple user profiles associated with the user account).
Regarding claim 35, Chan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions executable by a computer system to perform operations comprising(Chan, paragraph 38, Memory 220 may comprise hardware elements for non-transitory storage of commands or instructions, that, when executed by processor 218, cause processor 218 to operate vehicle 206 in accordance with embodiments); establish a first connection, by sending a first connection request via a communication module, to a first device(Chan discusses an option to pair a vehicle and a user device after receiving an input through a vehicle interface, indicating a request type signal being sent by the vehicle to establish a connection with a user device. Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface 226, and/or input interface 226 may be configured to receive selection (e.g., via haptic input or voice input) of an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle ); receiving a first message from the first device, wherein the first message comprises an occupant profile comprising a vehicle setting(Similar to the message with vehicle settings for each profile, Chan discloses receiving specific settings from a profile of a user device connected to a vehicle. Chan, paragraph 53, Vehicle 406 may be configured to, based on information received from cloud 412, manage provisioned user devices, access user preferences (e.g., associated with a particular user profile, in order to provide to the user certain preferred vehicle settings)); establishing a second connection, by sending a second connection request via the communication module, to a second device(The specification discloses a second device can used to identify a second occupant. Establishing a second communication is merely duplication of the first connection discussed above. Chan has secondary user profile, which is similar to the second device profile, with specific vehicle attribute settings and limited privilege. Chan, paragraph 89, the guest profile or secondary user’s profile may be loaded at vehicle 106, and the personalized driving experience of 1016 (e.g., tailored to the user and/or limiting features to the user, such as, for example, a valet mode or a showroom mode) may be provided to such user. Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface 226, and/or input interface 226 may be configured to receive selection (e.g., via haptic input or voice input) of an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle); and receiving a second message from the second device, wherein the second message comprises a limitation setting(A second message received from the second device is similar to Chan’s secondary user profile settings that are received from second user device with different vehicle settings. Chan, paragraph 66, In some embodiments, access limitations may be imposed by, e.g., a primary user on a secondary user (e.g., the first user may set a maximum speed at which the first vehicle may reach when the second user occupies the first vehicle). Chan, paragraph 89, the guest profile or secondary user’s profile may be loaded at vehicle 106, and the personalized driving experience of 1016 (e.g., tailored to the user and/or limiting features to the user).
While Chan teaches about establishing connection between a vehicle and a user device and receiving user profile information, it fails to disclose a vehicle system and method to determine an identity of an occupant; vehicle configuration that comprises a priority level.
However, Lerzer, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about personalization device of a motor vehicle discloses a system and a method to determine an identity of an occupant(Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver of the motor vehicle is carried out, for example using a received sensor signal from a sensor device).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan with Lerzer to determine the identity of the occupant using different sensors installed on the vehicle. Even though Chan teaches identifying occupants by their profile after vehicle is connected to user device, it specifically fails to teach identifying occupant by vehicle sensors. Lerzer, however, addresses this deficiency with its plurality of occupant identifying sensors such as biometric sensors. By using Lerzer’s identification mechanism, it is possible to determine the driver’s identity using sensors installed on a vehicle. An automatic identification of the occupant saves time by reducing manual identification of a user. Additionally, the sensor identification system prohibits unauthorized users from using the vehicle by only allowing user with registered profiles.
While the combination of Chan and Lerzer teaches establishing a connection between a vehicle and device to determine personized settings, and identification of a user using vehicle sensors, it specifically fails to disclose vehicle configuration that comprises a priority level.
However, Morgan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a portable configuration device for vehicle control discloses a setting of a vehicle configuration with a priority level(According to the specification, a priority level refers to an indicator associated with retaining authority or determining the overriding capacity of certain operation. Similarly, Morgan teaches identifying priority of settings as well as overriding a setting with another priority setting. Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting 170 relative to other user vehicle configuration settings Morgan, paragraph 56, user vehicle configuration settings 170 or components thereof that have the highest (or lowest) priority identifiers may be used instead of other user vehicle configuration settings. In this way, a user may override the preferences of another user (e.g., the preferences of the child) for the preferences of the vehicle configuration settings (e.g., the preferences of the parents)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan and Lerzer with Morgan to determine priority settings and overriding settings with priority settings. Prioritization of settings is helpful in arbitrating simultaneous setting request received from different devices. For example, when a primary device and secondary device have different simultaneous setting request such as speed limit and radio preference, the speed limit takes the precedence as it is critical in the safety of a driver.
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 35(Chan, paragraph 38, Memory 220 may comprise hardware elements for non-transitory storage of commands or instructions; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the occupant comprises one of a non-owner driver, an owner driver, and a passenger(Chan, paragraph 59, a user (e.g., John) associated with a particular user account may desire to allow a friend to drive vehicle 406, where John may be assigned a role of the owner of vehicle 406).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 35(Chan, paragraph 38, Memory 220 may comprise hardware elements for non-transitory storage of commands or instructions; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the occupant profile is stored in one or more of a local storage, a remote storage, and a cloud storage(Chan, paragraph 56, Cloud 412 may store multiple user profiles associated with the user account).
Claims 6,25, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chan (US 20230106867 A1) (hereinafter Chan) in view of Lerzer(US 20210253119 A1) (hereinafter Lerzer) in further view of Morgan (CN 104584675 B) (hereinafter Baur) in further view of Baur (DE 102018210902 A1) (hereinafter Baur).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 1(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the occupant profile further comprises occupant data comprising an age of the occupant(Lerzer , paragraph 32,the determination of a property of the at least one additional occupant, for example the determination of an age and/or a gender of the at least one additional occupant. Lerzer, paragraph 34, the determination of the classification of the at least one additional occupant can take place as a function of: a determined age. Lerzer, paragraph 31, user profiles can be provided that are tailored to a composition of specific people).
While the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches about the establishing of connections, identification of an occupant, and the receiving of settings from user device, it specifically fails to disclose a profile comprising a height of the occupant, a weight of the occupant, and body size of the occupant.
However, Baur, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about automatically determining a setting value of a vehicle component, discloses a profile where it comprises height of the occupant(Baur, Paragraph 12, the body measurements preferably include the hip point (H point), the body height. Baur, Paragraph 28 , the user ID is preferably in the form of a profile which comprises further information of the use), a weight of the occupant (Baur, Paragraph 27, the vehicle either receives the user-specific body data from a peripheral device or detects it itself, for example a driver's weight), and body size of the occupant(Baur, Paragraph 11 , the user-specific body data is a whole body picture, a body size, a weight, a dress size and / or a BMI of the user).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan, Lerzer, Morgan, with Baur’s profile information to include the height, weight, and body size to adjust vehicle settings for each occupants with different body frame. By including the height of the occupant, it is possible to adjust seat distance from pedals for proper leg extension. Additionally, mirror positioning can be configured based in the specific height of the occupant. Inclusion of body size of the occupant ensures optimal reach to steering wheel for different body frames. Furthermore, based in the body frame, it is possible to adjust the lumbar support that can assist in the comfort level of the occupant.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the method of claim 20(Chan, paragraph 39, a driver of vehicle 206 may be permitted to select certain settings in connection with the operation of vehicle 206 via input interface…and an option to pair user device 202…with vehicle; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the occupant profile further comprises occupant data comprising an age of the occupant(Lerzer , paragraph 32,the determination of a property of the at least one additional occupant, for example the determination of an age and/or a gender of the at least one additional occupant. Lerzer, paragraph 34, the determination of the classification of the at least one additional occupant can take place as a function of: a determined age. Lerzer, paragraph 31, user profiles can be provided that are tailored to a composition of specific people).
While the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches about the establishing of connections, identification of an occupant, and the receiving of settings from user device, it specifically fails to disclose a profile comprising a height of the occupant, a weight of the occupant, and a body size of the occupant.
However, Baur, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about automatically determining a setting value of a vehicle component, discloses a profile where it comprises height of the occupant(Baur, Paragraph 12, the body measurements preferably include the hip point (H point), the body height. Baur, Paragraph 28 , the user ID is preferably in the form of a profile which comprises further information of the use), a weight of the occupant (Baur, Paragraph 27, the vehicle either receives the user-specific body data from a peripheral device or detects it itself, for example a driver's weight), and body size of the occupant(Baur, Paragraph 11 , the user-specific body data is a whole body picture, a body size, a weight, a dress size and / or a BMI of the user).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan, Lerzer, Morgan, with Baur’s profile information to include the height, weight, and body size to adjust vehicle settings for each occupants with different body frame. By including the height of the occupant, it is possible to adjust seat distance from pedals for proper leg extension. Additionally, mirror positioning can be configured based in the specific height of the occupant. Inclusion of body size of the occupant ensures optimal reach to steering wheel for different body frames. Furthermore, based in the body frame, it is possible to adjust the lumbar support that can assist in the comfort level of the occupant.
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 35(Chan, paragraph 38, Memory 220 may comprise hardware elements for non-transitory storage of commands or instructions; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver), wherein the occupant profile further comprises occupant data comprising an age of the occupant(Lerzer , paragraph 32,the determination of a property of the at least one additional occupant, for example the determination of an age and/or a gender of the at least one additional occupant. Lerzer, paragraph 34, the determination of the classification of the at least one additional occupant can take place as a function of: a determined age. Lerzer, paragraph 31, user profiles can be provided that are tailored to a composition of specific people).
While the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches about the establishing of connections, identification of an occupant, and the receiving of settings from user device, it specifically fails to disclose a profile comprising a height of the occupant, a weight of the occupant, and a body size of the occupant.
However, Baur, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about automatically determining a setting value of a vehicle component, discloses a profile where it comprises height of the occupant(Baur, Paragraph 12, the body measurements preferably include the hip point (H point), the body height. Baur, Paragraph 28 , the user ID is preferably in the form of a profile which comprises further information of the use), a weight of the occupant (Baur, Paragraph 27, the vehicle either receives the user-specific body data from a peripheral device or detects it itself, for example a driver's weight), and body size of the occupant(Baur, Paragraph 11 , the user-specific body data is a whole body picture, a body size, a weight, a dress size and / or a BMI of the user).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan, Lerzer, Morgan, with Baur’s profile information to include the height, weight, and body size to adjust vehicle settings for each occupants with different body frame. By including the height of the occupant, it is possible to adjust seat distance from pedals for proper leg extension. Additionally, mirror positioning can be configured based in the specific height of the occupant. Inclusion of body size of the occupant ensures optimal reach to steering wheel for different body frames. Furthermore, based in the body frame, it is possible to adjust the lumbar support that can assist in the comfort level of the occupant.
Claims 8,11,13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chan (US 20230106867 A1) (hereinafter Chan) in view of Lerzer(US 20210253119 A1) (hereinafter Lerzer) in further view of Morgan (CN 104584675 B) (hereinafter Baur) in further view Penilla (US 20180059913 A1) (hereinafter Penilla).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches the system of claim 7(Chan, paragraph 36, user profile and/or user account may store indications of any number of preferred vehicle attributes or user settings or preferences, e.g., profile alias, different seat positions for driver area or other passenger area, different mirror positions; Morgan, paragraph 73, the priority identifier identifies the priority of the user vehicle configuration setting; Lerzer, paragraph 16, identifying a driver),
While the combination of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan teaches about the establishing of connections, identification of an occupant, and the receiving of settings from user device, it fails to disclose a seat setting wherein the seat setting comprises one or more of a setting for a height of a seat, a recline of the seat, a lumbar support of the seat, an armrest height, and a temperature setting
However, Penilla , which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about vehicle data sharing with mobile devices, discloses a seat setting that includes adjusting a lumbar support of the seat (Penilla, paragraph 323, the control settings control one or more of seat positioning controls of the selected passenger seat…or lumbar support of the selected passenger seat).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Chan, Lerzer, and Morgan with Penilla to include the adjustment of a lumbar support of the seat for a user profile. By including lumba