Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 01/10/2024 has been acknowledged
Status of Application
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 12-15, and 17-24 are pending.
Claims 1, 17, and 20 are the independent claims.
This Office Action is in response to the “Amendments and Remarks” received on 06/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-10, 15, 17-19, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-20160089694-A to Kang et. al. (“Kang”) in view of US-9330554-B2 to Calvar et. al. (“Calvar”), further in view of US-20190244524-A1 to Tanaka et. al. (“Tanaka”) and US-20220366798-A1 to Dill et. al. (“Dill”).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a driving support method of supporting driving of a watercraft, the driving support method comprising (Kang Abstract): by processing circuitry (Kang ref 120 “controller” and [0048] “controller 120 may be configured as a CPU”), receiving positional information of a point of a watercraft (Kang Claim 1 “GPS unit for obtaining the position information of the fishing vessel;”); and determining whether or not the warned watercraft is within a warning region (Kang [0016] “The location information of the fishing vessel obtained by the GPS unit is compared with the danger zone data, and in the case of the location of the danger zone data, a danger zone warning signal is generated and the GPS location information is transmitted to a remote control center.”).
Kang does not teach that the method comprises: receiving positional information of a warning point X that is a position at which a user has fallen into water from a warning watercraft different from a warned watercraft that is the watercraft, or a position of the user who has fallen into water from the warning watercraft; informing a user who operates the warned watercraft of information regarding the falling of the user of the warning watercraft into water; based on the positional information of the warning point X, setting a warning region R; and determining whether or not the warned watercraft is within the warning region R. However, Calvar teaches that the method comprises:
receiving positional information of a warning point X that is a position at which a user has fallen into water from a warning watercraft different from a warned watercraft that is the watercraft, or a position of the user who has fallen into water from the warning watercraft (Calvar (18) “From that very point when the falling of the man overboard occurs, the radio beacon starts the constant emission of an alarm signal until the final rescue of the shipwrecked person, this emission being in the frequency of 121.5/243 MHz. Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”); informing a user who operates the warned watercraft of information regarding the falling of the user of the warning watercraft into water; based on the positional information of the warning point X, setting a warning region R; and determining whether or not the warned watercraft is within the warning region R (Calvar (21) “From the first instant of activation of the radio beacon, the AIS device is also activated which starts to emit the position of the shipwrecked person, which can be seen by any vessel within the VHF range (approximately 5-10 miles), at the same time as it identifies and records the MMSI of all the ships situated within said VHF zone.” and (25) “If the own ship does not respond within a specific time period, the time established according to safety criteria, preferably 5 to 10 minutes, the system's intelligent control unit begins to select by order of proximity the MMSI of the closest ships previously identified by the AIS device, to later, through the DSC device, successively call each one of said ships, always ship-to-ship and through channel 70, as we have mentioned above. These calls to the different MMSI located in the area, shall continue constantly until receiving the ACK confirmation signal from one of them,”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the method of Kang to incorporate the teachings of Calvar such that the method comprises: receiving positional information of a warning point X that is a position at which a user has fallen into water from a warning watercraft different from a warned watercraft that is the watercraft, or a position of the user who has fallen into water from the warning watercraft; informing a user who operates the warned watercraft of information regarding the falling of the user of the warning watercraft into water; based on the positional information of the warning point X, setting a warning region R; and determining whether or not the warned watercraft is within the warning region R. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Kang as modified by Calvar does not teach informing a user who operates a vehicle located within an informing region W including the warning point X of information; and that the warning region R is within and smaller than the informing region W and surrounds a vicinity of the warning point X. However, Tanaka teaches
informing a user who operates a vehicle located within an informing region W including the warning point X of information (Tanaka Fig. 12-13 and [0134] “If the intrusion warning region monitoring section 480 determines that the occupied area of the vehicle body of the second manned working machine 70 is included in the intrusion warning region 104 for either one of the manned working machines, for example, the first manned working machine 90 (S1303/Yes), the third warning control section 1971 actuates the third warning device 1909 so that a warning is issued to the second operator (S1304).”); and
the warning region R is within and smaller than the informing region W and surrounds a vicinity of the warning point X (Tanaka Fig. 12 and [0129] “the protected region setting section 323 sets, in this embodiment, the first protected region 101 and second protected region 102 for the first manned working machine 90 as well as the intrusion warning region 104 that encompasses the first protected region 101 and second protected region 102 and also includes a region on a side outer than the second protected region 102.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Tanaka to Kang as modified by Calvar such that the method comprises: informing a user who operates a vehicle located within an informing region W including the warning point X of information; and that the warning region R is within and smaller than the informing region W and surrounds a vicinity of the warning point X. Doing so would allow for protected regions to be set up around a first vehicle, and for another vehicle to communicate with the first vehicle when inside the region (Tanaka [0129] and [0134]).
Kang as modified by Calvar and Tanaka does not teach that the method comprises: setting a travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region. However, Dill teaches that the method comprises: setting a travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region (Dill Fig. 3 and [0050] – [0052] “If the unmanned vehicle 2 has crossed the warning boundary 46, the system may issue a trigger warning as shown at 70. The warning 70 may comprise an audio or visual warning to a user (e.g., via the graphical user interface 30 and/or speakers of the base station 4). The warning 70 may also include or trigger a travel maneuver by an auto pilot system of the unmanned vehicle 2.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Dill to Kang as modified by Calvar and Tanaka such that the method comprises: setting a travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region. Doing so would allow inform and prevent/limit vehicles from traveling in certain areas (Dill [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Dill further teaches that the warning region R includes an inside warning region including the warning point X and an annular outside warning region surrounding the inside warning region, the driving support method comprising (Dill Fig. 2, [0048], and claim 1): by the processing circuitry, when the processing circuitry determines that the watercraft is within the inside warning region, outputting inside warning information as warning information; and when the processing circuitry determines that the watercraft is within the outside warning region, outputting outside warning information as the warning information, the outside warning information being different from the inside warning information (Dill [0052], [0065], [0082] – [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Dill to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the warning region R includes an inside warning region including the warning point X and an annular outside warning region surrounding the inside warning region, the driving support method comprising: by the processing circuitry, when the processing circuitry determines that the watercraft is within the inside warning region, outputting inside warning information as warning information; and when the processing circuitry determines that the watercraft is within the outside warning region, outputting outside warning information as the warning information, the outside warning information being different from the inside warning information. Doing so would allow inform and prevent vehicles from traveling in certain areas (Dill [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Kang further discloses that outputting the warning information includes outputting the warning information by using an informer mounted on the warned watercraft (Kang Claim 1 and [0042]).
Calvar further discloses outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R (Calvar col 3 lines 37-46 “From that very point when the falling of the man overboard occurs, the radio beacon starts the constant emission of an alarm signal until the final rescue of the shipwrecked person, this emission being in the frequency of 121.5/243 MHz. Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that method further comprises outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Regarding claim 5, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Calvar further discloses outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R (Calvar col 3 lines 37-46 “From that very point when the falling of the man overboard occurs, the radio beacon starts the constant emission of an alarm signal until the final rescue of the shipwrecked person, this emission being in the frequency of 121.5/243 MHz. Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”), wherein outputting the warning information includes outputting the warning information by using an informer mounted on a mobile terminal that is carried by the driver of the warned watercraft or is located at the warned watercraft (Calvar col 3 lines 29 – 59 “Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the method further comprises outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R, wherein outputting the warning information includes outputting the warning information by using an informer mounted on a mobile terminal that is carried by the driver of the warned watercraft or is located at the warned watercraft. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Regarding claim 8, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Calvar further discloses further comprising by the processing circuitry, determining whether or not the user has fallen into water from the warning watercraft, in accordance with a communication state between a watercraft communicator located at the warning watercraft and a user communicator worn by the user who has fallen into water (Calvar Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that further comprising by the processing circuitry, determining whether or not the user has fallen into water from the warning watercraft, in accordance with a communication state between a watercraft communicator located at the warning watercraft and a user communicator worn by the user who has fallen into water. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Regarding claim 9, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Calvar further discloses receiving user type information indicating a type of the user who has fallen into water, and outputting the user type information by the processing circuitry (Calvar Claim 7 and Calvar col 3 lines 4 - 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the method further comprises receiving user type information indicating a type of the user who has fallen into water, and outputting the user type information by the processing circuitry. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Regarding claim 10, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Calvar further discloses that the warning region R is a region including the warning watercraft; and the processing circuitry includes warned processing circuitry located at the warned watercraft, and warning processing circuitry located at the warning watercraft, the driving support method further comprising: by the warning processing circuitry, transmitting a warning request including the positional information of the warning point X to the warned processing circuitry in accordance with an operation of the user of the warning watercraft (Calvar Claim 7 and Calvar col 3 lines 4 – 59 “Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the warning region is a region including the warning watercraft; and the processing circuitry includes warned processing circuitry located at the warned watercraft, and warning processing circuitry located at the warning watercraft, the driving support method further comprising: by the warning processing circuitry, transmitting a warning request including the positional information of the warning point to the warned processing circuitry in accordance with an operation of the user of the warning watercraft. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Regarding claim 15, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Dill further discloses that setting the travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R comprises: by the processing circuitry, (Dill Fig. 8A and [0073] “When positional data shows the error ellipse 120 is outside of all boundaries (FIG. 8A) the boundary violation prediction and detection component 22 need not take any action, and the unmanned vehicle 2 may continue to operate in a normal manner.”); setting the travel mode to a speed limiting mode that limits a maximum speed such that the maximum speed becomes lower than a maximum speed when the travel mode is a normal traveling mode, wherein the driving support method further comprises: when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is not within the warning region R, setting the travel mode of the warned watercraft to the normal traveling mode. (Dill Fig. 3 and [0009] “The unmanned vehicle contingency maneuver may include at least one of, but is not limited to, a turn, a reduction in speed, and/or a reduction in altitude (in the case of an unmanned air vehicle).” And [0050] – [0052] “If the unmanned vehicle 2 has crossed the warning boundary 46, the system may issue a trigger warning as shown at 70. The warning 70 may comprise an audio or visual warning to a user (e.g., via the graphical user interface 30 and/or speakers of the base station 4). The warning 70 may also include or trigger a travel maneuver by an auto pilot system of the unmanned vehicle 2.” Fig. 8B and [0073] “If the error ellipse 120 crosses warning boundary 46 (FIG. 8B), the boundary violation prediction and detection component 22 may cause the auto pilot 7 to execute a contingency maneuver.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Dill to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that setting the travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R comprises: by the processing circuitry, setting the travel mode to a speed limiting mode that limits a maximum speed such that the maximum speed becomes lower than a maximum speed when the travel mode is a normal traveling mode, wherein the driving support method further comprises: when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is not within the warning region R, setting the travel mode of the warned watercraft to the normal traveling mode.. Doing so would allow inform and prevent/limit vehicles from traveling in certain areas (Dill [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Kang teaches a driving support system that supports driving of a moving machine, the driving support system comprising (Kang Abstract):
a position detection sensor that detects a position of the moving machine (Kang [0016] “GPS unit for acquiring position information of a fishing boat”);
an informer (Kang [0042]);
and processing circuitry (Kang Claim 1 and [0016] and ref 120 “controller” and [0048] “controller 120 may be configured as a CPU”),
Kang does not teach that the system comprises: an antenna that wirelessly receives a warning request including positional information of a warning point X; an informer that informs a user who operates the moving machine of information regarding falling of a user of a warning moving machine into water, the warning moving machine being different from the moving machine; based on the positional information of the warning point X, set a warning region R; and determine whether or not the position of the moving machine which has been detected by the position detection sensor is within the warning region R. However, Calvar teaches that the system comprises:
an antenna that wirelessly receives a warning request including positional information of a warning point X (Calvar col 3 lines 4 – 59 “Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”);
an informer that informs a user who operates the moving machine of information regarding falling of a user of a warning moving machine into water, the warning moving machine being different from the moving machine (Calvar (18) “From that very point when the falling of the man overboard occurs, the radio beacon starts the constant emission of an alarm signal until the final rescue of the shipwrecked person, this emission being in the frequency of 121.5/243 MHz. Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”); based on the positional information of the warning point X, set a warning region R; and determine whether or not the position of the moving machine which has been detected by the position detection sensor is within the warning region R (Calvar (21) “From the first instant of activation of the radio beacon, the AIS device is also activated which starts to emit the position of the shipwrecked person, which can be seen by any vessel within the VHF range (approximately 5-10 miles), at the same time as it identifies and records the MMSI of all the ships situated within said VHF zone.” and (25) “If the own ship does not respond within a specific time period, the time established according to safety criteria, preferably 5 to 10 minutes, the system's intelligent control unit begins to select by order of proximity the MMSI of the closest ships previously identified by the AIS device, to later, through the DSC device, successively call each one of said ships, always ship-to-ship and through channel 70, as we have mentioned above. These calls to the different MMSI located in the area, shall continue constantly until receiving the ACK confirmation signal from one of them,”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the method of Kang to incorporate the teachings of Calvar such that the system comprises: an antenna that wirelessly receives a warning request including positional information of a warning point X; an informer that informs a user who operates the moving machine of information regarding falling of a user of a warning moving machine into water, the warning moving machine being different from the moving machine; based on the positional information of the warning point X, set a warning region R; and determine whether or not the position of the moving machine which has been detected by the position detection sensor is within the warning region R. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Kang as modified by Calvar does not teach informing a user who operates a vehicle located within an informing region W including the warning point X of information; and that the warning region R is within and smaller than the informing region W and surrounds a vicinity of the warning point X. However, Tanaka teaches
informing a user who operates a vehicle located within an informing region W including the warning point X of information (Tanaka Fig. 12-13 and [0134] “If the intrusion warning region monitoring section 480 determines that the occupied area of the vehicle body of the second manned working machine 70 is included in the intrusion warning region 104 for either one of the manned working machines, for example, the first manned working machine 90 (S1303/Yes), the third warning control section 1971 actuates the third warning device 1909 so that a warning is issued to the second operator (S1304).”); and
the warning region R is within and smaller than the informing region W and surrounds a vicinity of the warning point X (Tanaka Fig. 12 and [0129] “the protected region setting section 323 sets, in this embodiment, the first protected region 101 and second protected region 102 for the first manned working machine 90 as well as the intrusion warning region 104 that encompasses the first protected region 101 and second protected region 102 and also includes a region on a side outer than the second protected region 102.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Tanaka to Kang as modified by Calvar such that the system comprises: informing a user who operates a vehicle located within an informing region W including the warning point X of information; and that the warning region R is within and smaller than the informing region W and surrounds a vicinity of the warning point X. Doing so would allow for protected regions to be set up around a first vehicle, and for another vehicle to communicate with the first vehicle when inside the region (Tanaka [0129] and [0134]).
Kang as modified by Calvar and Tanaka does not teach that the system comprises: setting a travel mode of the moving machine when it is determined that the position of the moving machine is within the warning region R. However, Dill teaches that the system comprises: setting a travel mode of the moving machine when it is determined that the position of the moving machine is within the warning region R (Dill Fig. 3 and [0050] – [0052] “If the unmanned vehicle 2 has crossed the warning boundary 46, the system may issue a trigger warning as shown at 70. The warning 70 may comprise an audio or visual warning to a user (e.g., via the graphical user interface 30 and/or speakers of the base station 4). The warning 70 may also include or trigger a travel maneuver by an auto pilot system of the unmanned vehicle 2.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Dill to Kang as modified by Calvar and Tanaka such that the system comprises: setting a travel mode of the moving machine when it is determined that the position of the moving machine is within the warning region R. Doing so would allow inform and prevent/limit vehicles from traveling in certain areas (Dill [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 17. Calvar further discloses that when the processing circuitry acquires separating information indicating that a user of the moving machine has separated from the moving machine during traveling of the moving machine, the processing circuitry wirelessly transmits to another moving machine the warning request received by the antenna that includes as the positional information of the warning point X the position of the moving machine or a position of the user who has separated from the moving machine (Calvar Claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that when the processing circuitry acquires separating information indicating that a user of the moving machine has separated from the moving machine during traveling of the moving machine, the processing circuitry wirelessly transmits to another moving machine the warning request received by the antenna that includes as the positional information of the warning point X the position of the moving machine or a position of the user who has separated from the moving machine. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Regarding claim 19, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 17. Calvar further discloses that the antenna, the position detection sensor, and the processing circuitry are included in a mobile terminal carried by a user on the moving machine (Calvar claim 7 and col 3 lines 4 - 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the antenna, the position detection sensor, and the processing circuitry are included in a mobile terminal carried by the user on the moving machine. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Regarding claim 21, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Dill further discloses outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R, wherein the warning information is information that urges the driver to leave the warning region R, or is information that urges the driver to travel at a slow speed (Dill Fig. 3 and [0063] “For example, the graphical user interface 30 may display a message indicating that the travel path will violate a boundary,”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Dill to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the method comprises: outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R, wherein the warning information is information that urges the driver to leave the warning region R, or is information that urges the driver to travel at a slow speed. Doing so would allow inform and prevent/limit vehicles from traveling in certain areas (Dill [0005]).
Regarding claim 22, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Dill further discloses that setting the travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R comprises: in response to determining that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R, changing a control mode of controlling a prime mover that is a traveling driving source of the warned watercraft from a normal traveling mode to a speed limiting mode (Dill [0009] “The unmanned vehicles may include an auto-pilot system or other suitable control feature that causes the unmanned vehicle to perform a contingency maneuver (e.g., turn the vehicle around, stop the vehicle, land the vehicle, turn off an engine of the vehicle) if a warning signal is generated by the enforcement system. The unmanned vehicle contingency maneuver may include at least one of, but is not limited to, a turn, a reduction in speed, and/or a reduction in altitude (in the case of an unmanned air vehicle).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Dill to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that setting the travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R comprises: in response to determining that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R, changing a control mode of controlling a prime mover that is a traveling driving source of the warned watercraft from a normal traveling mode to a speed limiting mode. Doing so would allow inform and prevent/limit vehicles from traveling in certain areas (Dill [0005]).
Regarding claim 23, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Calvar further discloses that the warning region R is a circular region including the warning point X as a center thereof (Calvar col 4 lines 7-11 “emit the position of the shipwrecked person, which can be seen by any vessel within the VHF range (approximately 5-10 miles), at the same time as it identifies and records the MMSI of all the ships situated within said VHF zone.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the warning region R is a circular region including the warning point X as a center thereof. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Regarding claim 24, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Calvar further discloses that the warning region R is a circular region that includes the warning point X as a center thereof and has a radius of 50 meters or more (Calvar col 4 lines 7-11 “emit the position of the shipwrecked person, which can be seen by any vessel within the VHF range (approximately 5-10 miles), at the same time as it identifies and records the MMSI of all the ships situated within said VHF zone.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the warning region R is a circular region that includes the warning point X as a center thereof and has a radius of 50 meters or more. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Calvar, further in view of Tanaka, Dill, and US-20180165945-A1 to McClendon et. al. (“McClendon”).
Regarding claim 14, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill does not teach that the method further comprising switching the warning region R between a validated state and an invalidated state by the processing circuitry in accordance with an operation of the user of the warning watercraft. However, McClendon teaches that the method further comprising switching the warning region R between a validated state and an invalidated state by the processing circuitry in accordance with an operation of the user of the warning watercraft (McClendon [0082] – [0083] & [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of McClendon to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the method further comprising switching the warning region R between a validated state and an invalidated state by the processing circuitry in accordance with an operation of the user of the warning watercraft. Doing so would allow the alert to only be activated when someone is in the area of concern (McClendon Abstract).
Claim(s) 12-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Calvar, further in view of Tanaka, Dill, and US-20130271301-A1 to Kabel et. al. (“Kabel”).
Regarding claim 12, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Calvar further discloses outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R (Calvar col 3 lines 37-46 “From that very point when the falling of the man overboard occurs, the radio beacon starts the constant emission of an alarm signal until the final rescue of the shipwrecked person, this emission being in the frequency of 121.5/243 MHz. Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the method further comprises outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill does not teach that outputting the warning information includes displaying a positional relation between a position of the watercraft and the warning region R on a display by the processing circuitry. However, Kabel teaches that outputting the warning information includes displaying a positional relation between a position of the watercraft and the warning region R on a display by the processing circuitry (Kabel [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Kabel to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that outputting the warning information includes displaying a positional relation between a position of the watercraft and the warning region R on a display by the processing circuitry. Doing so would allow the operators to see if someone may have fallen overboard (Kabel [0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Calvar further discloses outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R (Calvar col 3 lines 37-46 “From that very point when the falling of the man overboard occurs, the radio beacon starts the constant emission of an alarm signal until the final rescue of the shipwrecked person, this emission being in the frequency of 121.5/243 MHz. Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Calvar to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the method further comprises outputting warning information for warning a driver of the warned watercraft when the processing circuitry determines that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill does not teach that outputting the warning information includes displaying a positional relation between a position of the warning point X and the warning region R on a display by the processing circuitry. However, Kabel teaches that outputting the warning information includes displaying a positional relation between a position of the warning point X and the warning region R on a display by the processing circuitry (Kabel [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Kabel to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that outputting the warning information includes displaying a positional relation between a position of the warning point X and the warning region R on a display by the processing circuitry. Doing so would allow the operators to see if someone may have fallen overboard (Kabel [0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Kang teaches a driving support system that supports driving of a watercraft, the driving support system comprising (Kang Abstract):
Kang does not teach that the system comprises: an antenna which is located at a warned watercraft and wirelessly receives falling information indicating that a user has fallen into water from a warning watercraft different from the warned watercraft that is the watercraft, the warning watercraft being another watercraft, the falling information including information regarding a warning point X that is a falling position or a position of the user who has fallen into water; based on the positional information of the warning point X, set a warning region R; and determine whether or not the warned watercraft is within the warning region R. However, Calvar teaches that the system comprises:
an antenna which is located at a warned watercraft and wirelessly receives falling information indicating that a user has fallen into water from a warning watercraft different from the warned watercraft that is the watercraft, the warning watercraft being another watercraft (Calvar claim 7 and col 3 lines 4 – 59 “Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”), the falling information including information regarding a warning point X that is a falling position or a position of the user who has fallen into water (Calvar col 3 lines 37-46 “From that very point when the falling of the man overboard occurs, the radio beacon starts the constant emission of an alarm signal until the final rescue of the shipwrecked person, this emission being in the frequency of 121.5/243 MHz. Said radio beacon alerts of the emergency situation both to aircraft and vessels equipped with receivers in this frequency and situated within the range of said alarm signal, also acting as “radio beacon” frequency for the onboard receivers of said vessels or aircraft, guiding them to the position of the shipwrecked person.”)
based on the positional information of the warning point X, set a warning region R; and determine whether or not the warned watercraft is within the warning region R (Calvar (21) “From the first instant of activation of the radio beacon, the AIS device is also activated which starts to emit the position of the shipwrecked person, which can be seen by any vessel within the VHF range (approximately 5-10 miles), at the same time as it identifies and records the MMSI of all the ships situated within said VHF zone.” and (25) “If the own ship does not respond within a specific time period, the time established according to safety criteria, preferably 5 to 10 minutes, the system's intelligent control unit begins to select by order of proximity the MMSI of the closest ships previously identified by the AIS device, to later, through the DSC device, successively call each one of said ships, always ship-to-ship and through channel 70, as we have mentioned above. These calls to the different MMSI located in the area, shall continue constantly until receiving the ACK confirmation signal from one of them,”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the method of Kang to incorporate the teachings of Calvar such that the system comprises: an antenna which is located at a warned watercraft and wirelessly receives falling information indicating that a user has fallen into water from a warning watercraft different from the warned watercraft that is the watercraft, the warning watercraft being another watercraft, the falling information including information regarding a warning point X that is a falling position or a position of the user who has fallen into water; based on the positional information of the warning point X, set a warning region R; and determine whether or not the warned watercraft is within the warning region R. Doing so would allow other vessels to receive a warning request and provide an optimized rescue (Calvar col 1 line 15 – col 2 line 55).
Kang as modified by Calvar does not teach informing a user who operates a vehicle located within an informing region W including the warning point X of information; and that the warning region R is within and smaller than the informing region W and surrounds a vicinity of the warning point X. However, Tanaka teaches
informing a user who operates a vehicle located within an informing region W including the warning point X of information (Tanaka Fig. 12-13 and [0134] “If the intrusion warning region monitoring section 480 determines that the occupied area of the vehicle body of the second manned working machine 70 is included in the intrusion warning region 104 for either one of the manned working machines, for example, the first manned working machine 90 (S1303/Yes), the third warning control section 1971 actuates the third warning device 1909 so that a warning is issued to the second operator (S1304).”); and
the warning region R is within and smaller than the informing region W and surrounds a vicinity of the warning point X (Tanaka Fig. 12 and [0129] “the protected region setting section 323 sets, in this embodiment, the first protected region 101 and second protected region 102 for the first manned working machine 90 as well as the intrusion warning region 104 that encompasses the first protected region 101 and second protected region 102 and also includes a region on a side outer than the second protected region 102.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Tanaka to Kang as modified by Calvar such that the system comprises: informing a user who operates a vehicle located within an informing region W including the warning point X of information; and that the warning region R is within and smaller than the informing region W and surrounds a vicinity of the warning point X. Doing so would allow for protected regions to be set up around a first vehicle, and for another vehicle to communicate with the first vehicle when inside the region (Tanaka [0129] and [0134]).
Kang as modified by Calvar and Tanaka does not teach that the system comprises: setting a travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R. However, Dill teaches that the system comprises: setting a travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R (Dill Fig. 3 and [0050] – [0052] “If the unmanned vehicle 2 has crossed the warning boundary 46, the system may issue a trigger warning as shown at 70. The warning 70 may comprise an audio or visual warning to a user (e.g., via the graphical user interface 30 and/or speakers of the base station 4). The warning 70 may also include or trigger a travel maneuver by an auto pilot system of the unmanned vehicle 2.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Dill to Kang as modified by Calvar and Tanaka such that the system comprises: setting a travel mode of the warned watercraft when it is determined that the warned watercraft is within the warning region R. Doing so would allow inform and prevent/limit vehicles from traveling in certain areas (Dill [0005]).
Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill does not teach a display located at the warned watercraft and processing circuitry configured to display, on the display, information regarding the falling of the user of the warning watercraft into water to a user who operates the warned watercraft and display the warning region R on the display. However, Kabel teaches a display located at the warned watercraft and processing circuitry configured to display, on the display, information regarding the falling of the user of the warning watercraft into water to a user who operates the warned watercraft and display the warning region R on the display (Kabel [0050] “The processing system 20 may also implement a man-overboard mode in which information representative of personnel location data and navigation data is presented on the display 18. The man-overboard mode displays an alert and/or sounds an alarm when any of the personnel location devices indicate that a person is distanced from the vessel 12 and may have fallen over-board. The mode may also record and display the last recorded coordinates for the person when he or she left the marine vessel 12 and may automatically send such data to the Coast Guard or other marine rescue authority.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Kabel to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that the system includes a display located at the warned watercraft and processing circuitry configured to display, on the display, information regarding the falling of the user of the warning watercraft into water to a user who operates the warned watercraft and display the warning region R on the display. Doing so would allow the operators to see if someone may have fallen overboard (Kabel [0050]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Calvar, further in view of Tanaka, Dill, and TW-I757964-B (“Wei-Chung”).
Regarding claim 3, Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 2. Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill does not teach that a degree of warning of an output form of the inside warning information is higher than a degree of warning of an output form of the outside warning information. However, Wei-Chung teaches a degree of warning of an output form of the inside warning information is higher than a degree of warning of an output form of the outside warning information (Wei-Chung Claims “the first sub-condition includes that the number of times the target object enters and exits the first sub-area within a predetermined period of time reaches a first threshold, and the second sub-condition includes the The number of times the target object enters and leaves the second sub-area within the predetermined time period reaches a second threshold value, and the first threshold value is lower than the second threshold value.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Wei-Chung to Kang as modified by Calvar, Tanaka, and Dill such that a degree of warning of an output form of the inside warning information is higher than a degree of warning of an output form of the outside warning information. Doing so would allow the warning system to dynamically adjust area sizes (Wei-Chung Disclosure).
Response to Arguments/Remarks
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 06/03/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Office Note: Claim 16 has been cancelled, therefore any rejection or objection pertaining thereupon is now considered moot.
With respect to the claim rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103, applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicants have amended the independent claim and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application and the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached below in the office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject matter and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
/J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666