DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-final Office Action dated 06/10/2026, filed with the office on 09/10/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 8 and 10 are amended. Claims 15-20 are non-elected. Claims 21-26 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of independent Claims 1 and 8, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a multilabel classifier” in claims 2, 9 and 21; and “at least one processing device” in claims 8-14.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, these are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structures described in the applicant’s drawings: schematics depicted in Fig. 1, and applicant’s specification: ¶0004: “at least one processor of an electronic device to perform the method”; and ¶0124: “applications or other software instructions that are executed by the processor 120 of the electronic device” as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11, 21, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (Hierarchical Masked 3D Diffusion Model for Video Outpainting) in view of Han et al. (US 12,579,703 B1) and in further view of Elyahu et al. (US 2024/0355017 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fan teaches, A method comprising: adding an outpaint (Fan, page 7896, col. 2, ¶02: “methods for horizontal video outpainting”) mask to an image to generate a masked image; (Fan, page 7894, col. 1, ¶03: “generate masked guide frames”) processing the image using an encoder neural network to generate an image representation of the image in a latent space; (Fan, page 7891, col. 1, ¶03: “encode the video frames in the latent space instead of the pixel space”) processing the masked image using a convolution neural network and adding the image representation to generate an image embedding; (Fan, page 7899, col. 2, ¶03: “2D conv layer is followed by a temporal 1D conv layer. We not only add the timestep embeddings of the noise to each layer but also add the fps rate embeddings”) processing the image representation and the image embedding using at least one of a diffusion model and an interpolation process to generate a noisy latent image representation; (Fan, page 7899, col. 2, ¶03: “utilizing Pseudo-3D convolutional and attention layers to lever age pre-trained text-to-image models within the latent diffusion models”) (Fan, page 7893, col. 2, ¶02: “the decoder D is used to map 𝑧0 back to the pixel space”) to generate an outpainted image. (Fan, page 7893, col. 2, ¶03: “the generated clips are stitched together to form the final outpainting result”). However, Fan does not explicitly teach, using a large language model based on one or more user personalization features, an outpainting prompt for generation of a denoised latent image representation with consideration of one or more user tastes or preferences; denoising the noisy latent image representation based on the contextualized outpainting prompt to generate the denoised latent image representation.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Han teaches, using a large language model to contextualize, (Han, col. 18, lines 55-56: “Low-Rank Adaptation of Large Language Models (LoRA) is used”) based on one or more user personalization features, an outpainting prompt (Han, Col. 2, lines 47-49: “a set of descriptors that the user can choose from to generate a prompt for the trained AI model(s)”) ; (Han, Col. 2, lines 47-49: “Customer profiles can store… customer preferences (e.g., learned or customer-specified”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan using the teachings of Han to introduce user personalized prompt. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of generating a user-specific optimized prompt. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Fan and Han to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Fan and Han does not explicitly teach an outpainting prompt for generation of a denoised latent image representation denoising the noisy latent image representation based on the contextualized outpainting prompt to generate the denoised latent image representation.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Elyahu teaches, an outpainting prompt for generation (Elyahu, ¶0026: “generate realistic high-resolution images using only a text prompt describing the scene”) denoising the noisy latent image representation based on the contextualized outpainting prompt (Elyahu, ¶0029: “Parameters of the pre-trained diffusion model 105 are then frozen and the target text embedding 120 is optimized using a denoising diffusion objective”) to generate the denoised latent image representation. (Elyahu, ¶0051: “latent representation of the input image, which can then be manipulated to obtain an output image with the desired edit specified by the given text”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Han using the teachings of Elyahu to introduce denoising an image by contextualizing a prompt. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of generating a desired denoised image using an optimized text prompt. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Fan, Han and Elyahu to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu teaches, The method of Claim 1, wherein a multilabel classifier is employed to contextualize the outpainting prompt. (Elyahu, ¶0069: “process the text or natural language data to generate a classification output. As another example, the machine-learned model(s) can process the text or natural language data to generate a textual segmentation output”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu using the additional teachings of Elyahu to introduce context classification. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of contextualizing a text prompt using natural language processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Fan in view of Elyahu to obtain the invention in claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu teaches, The method of Claim 1, wherein: the masked image is processed multiple times (Fan, page 7895, col. 1, ¶01: “perform video outpainting by combining infilling and interpolation”) using an outpainting model; (Fan, page 7895, col. 2, ¶02: “masked 3D diffusion model for video outpainting”) and the outpainting model comprises the encoder neural network, (Fan, page 7893, col. 2, ¶02: “LDMs[28] additionally trained an encoder”) the convolution neural network, (Fan, page 7899, col. 2, ¶03: “Pseudo-3D convolutional and attention layers to lever age pre-trained text-to-image models”) the diffusion model, (Fan, page 7899, col. 1, ¶02: “utilizing the diffusion model”) the large language model, (Elyahu, ¶0026: “incorporating knowledge from large language models”) and the decoder neural network. (Fan, page 7893, col. 2, ¶02: “the decoder D is used to map 𝑧0 back to the pixel space”). The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Fan, Han and Elyahu references presented in the rejection of claim 1, apply to claim 4 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 4 is met by Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu.
Regarding claim 8, it recites an electronic device with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited elements of electronic device claim 8 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han and Elyahu presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. In addition, Elyahu teaches, An electronic device comprising: (Elyahu, ¶0007: “Other aspects of the present disclosure are directed to various systems, apparatuses, non-transitory computer-readable media, user interfaces, and electronic devices”) at least one processing device configured to: (Elyahu, ¶0006: “present disclosure is directed to a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu using the additional teachings of Elyahu to introduce a device with a processor. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of automatically performing the steps of the method disclosed in Fan using the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Fan, Han and Elyahu to obtain the invention in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, it recites an electronic device with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 2. Therefore, the recited elements of electronic device claim 9 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 2. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han and Elyahu presented in rejection of claim 2, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 11, it recites an electronic device with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 4. Therefore, the recited elements of electronic device claim 11 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 4. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han and Elyahu presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 21, it recites a non-transitory machine readable medium containing instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited instructions of the non-transitory machine readable medium claim 21 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han and Elyahu presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. In addition, Elyahu teaches, A non-transitory machine readable medium containing instructions that when executed cause at least one processor of an electronic device to: at least one processing device configured to: (Elyahu, ¶0005: “a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu using the additional teachings of Elyahu to introduce a machine-readable storage. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of storing the instruction of the method disclosed in Fan to automatically performing instructed steps using a processor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Fan, Han and Elyahu to obtain the invention in claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, it recites a non-transitory machine readable medium containing instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 2. Therefore, the recited instructions of the non-transitory machine readable medium claim 22 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 2. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han and Elyahu presented in rejection of claim 2, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 24, it recites a non-transitory machine readable medium containing instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 2. Therefore, the recited instructions of the non-transitory machine readable medium claim 24 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 4. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han and Elyahu presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Claims 3, 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (Hierarchical Masked 3D Diffusion Model for Video Outpainting) in view of Han et al. (US 12,579,703 B1), in further view of Elyahu et al. (US 2024/0355017 A1) and still in further view of Cragg et al. (US 2024/0273670 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu teaches, The method of Claim 1. However, the combination of Fan, Han and Elyahu does not explicitly teach, wherein denoising the noisy latent image representation is based on the one or more user personalization features.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Cragg teaches, wherein denoising the noisy latent image representation (Cragg, ¶0066: “a reverse diffusion process 325 (e.g., a U-Net ANN) gradually removes the noise from the noisy images”) is based on the one or more user personalization features. (Cragg, ¶0067: “guidance features 345 can be combined with the noisy images 320 at one or more layers of the reverse diffusion process”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu using the teachings of Cragg to introduce denoising based on personalized features. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of optimizing the denoising process for a personalized denoised output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Fan, Han, Elyahu and Cragg to obtain the invention in claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, it recites an electronic device with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 3. Therefore, the recited elements of electronic device claim 10 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 3. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han, Elyahu and Cragg presented in rejection of claim 3, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 23, it recites a non-transitory machine readable medium containing instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 2. Therefore, the recited instructions of the non-transitory machine readable medium claim 23 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 3. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han, Elyahu and Cragg presented in rejection of claim 3, apply to this claim.
Claims 5, 12 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (Hierarchical Masked 3D Diffusion Model for Video Outpainting) in view of Han et al. (US 12,579,703 B1), in further view of Elyahu et al. (US 2024/0355017 A1) and still in further view of Lin et al. (US 2025/0104195 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu teaches, The method of Claim 1, further comprising: detecting an image quality of the outpainted image; and (Fan, page 7899, table 3: “Evaluate the performance of video outpainting”). However, the combination of Fan, Han and Elyahu does not explicitly teach, reprocessing the outpainted image based on the detected image quality.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Lin teaches, reprocessing the outpainted image based on the detected image quality. (Lin, ¶0105: “If the quality of the image is insufficient, based on specific enhancement requirements such as line continuity, contrast, and smoothness, multiple second processed image files (Y2) will be reprocessed”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu using the teachings of Lin to introduce reprocessing low-quality images. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of ensure high quality image output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Fan, Han, Elyahu and Lin to obtain the invention in claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, it recites an electronic device with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 5. Therefore, the recited elements of electronic device claim 12 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 5. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han, Elyahu and Lin presented in rejection of claim 5, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 25, it recites a non-transitory machine readable medium containing instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 5. Therefore, the recited instructions of the non-transitory machine readable medium claim 25 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 5. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han, Elyahu and Lin presented in rejection of claim 5, apply to this claim.
Claims 6, 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (Hierarchical Masked 3D Diffusion Model for Video Outpainting), in view of Han et al. (US 12,579,703 B1), in further view of Elyahu et al. (US 2024/0355017 A1), still in further view of Lin et al. (US 2025/0104195 A1) and yet in further view of Zhang et al. (US 12,475,565 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu and in further view of Lin teaches, The method of Claim 5 wherein detecting the image quality of the outpainted image comprises. However, the combination of Fan, Han, Elyahu and Lin does not explicitly teach, processing a linear projection of image patches of the outpainted image using a transformer encoder; processing an output of the transformer encoder using a multi-layer perceptron (MLP); and applying a sigmoid function to an output of the MLP.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Zhang teaches, processing a linear projection of image patches of the outpainted image (Zhang, col. 11, lines 15-18: “A linear embedding layer can be applied to this raw-valued feature. In various embodiments, each window can contain M×M image patches”) using a transformer encoder; (Zhang, col.11, lines 4-6: “the image encoder 720 can have an architecture, including, but not limited to, ResNET, ResNeXT, Mask2Former, Swin Transformers”) processing an output of the transformer encoder using a multi-layer perceptron (MLP); (Zhang, col. 11, lines 47-50: “output of the transformer decoder 730 can be fed to output heads including one or more neural network layers 750. The neural network layers 750 can include one or more multilayer perceptrons”) and applying a sigmoid function to an output of the MLP. (Zhang, col. 13, lines 40-41: “a sigmoid activation function can be used to map the output”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Han, in further view of Elyahu and still in further view of Lin using the teachings of Zhang to introduce applying a sigmoid function to a processed output of an MLP. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of determining the quality of the outpainting task using a probability score. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Fan, Han, Elyahu, Lin and Zhang to obtain the invention in claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, it recites an electronic device with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 6. Therefore, the recited elements of electronic device claim 13 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 6. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han, Elyahu, Lin and Zhang presented in rejection of claim 6, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 26, it recites a non-transitory machine readable medium containing instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 6. Therefore, the recited instructions of the non-transitory machine readable medium claim 26 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 6. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han, Elyahu, Lin and Zhang in rejection of claim 6, apply to this claim.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (Hierarchical Masked 3D Diffusion Model for Video Outpainting), in view of Han et al. (US 12,579,703 B1), in further view of Elyahu et al. (US 2024/0355017 A1), still in further view of Lin et al. (US 2025/0104195 A1) and yet in further view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0148293 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Fan in view of Han and in further view of Elyahu and in further view of Lin teaches, The method of Claim 5, wherein detecting the image quality of the outpainted image comprises: using. However, the combination of Fan, Han, Elyahu and Lin does not explicitly teach, a generative adversarial network (GAN) that includes (i) a generator configured to generate negative training examples and (ii) a discriminator trained on the negative training examples.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Wang teaches, a generative adversarial network (GAN) that includes (Wang, ¶0035: “first aspect involves training of a GAN (Generative Adversarial Network”) (i) a generator configured to generate negative training examples (Wang, ¶0020: “obtain fictitious training data with negative samples output by the mapping generator”) and (ii) a discriminator trained on the negative training examples. (Wang, ¶0020: “input training data with negative samples into the discriminator that is to be trained to obtain the discrimination result output by the discriminator”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Han, in further view of Elyahu and still in further view of Lin using the teachings of Wang to introduce training a generative adversarial network discriminator. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of improving the identification capabilities of the GAN discriminator. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Fan, Han, Elyahu, Lin and Wang to obtain the invention in claim 7.
Regarding claim 14, it recites an electronic device with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 7. Therefore, the recited elements of electronic device claim 14 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 7. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Fan, Han, Elyahu, Lin and Wang presented in rejection of claim 7, apply to this claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662