DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
This action is responsive to a preliminary amendment filed 10 January 2024. Claims 1-23 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 11-14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US 2020/0374895 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses a method to reduce interference between communications performed by a Wi-Fi transceiver and coexisting wireless communications performed by a second transceiver in a dual wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, by a controller of the second transceiver (Fig. 1 BT Module 110)), a Wi-Fi state signal from the Wi-Fi transceiver (Fig. 1, Wi-Fi module 120), the Wi-Fi state signal indicating timing of a transmit mode and a receive mode of the Wi-Fi transceiver (Fig. 2, [0016] disclosing “the Wi-Fi module 120 sends the frame exchange information to the BT [BluetoothTM] module 110” comprising “a signal transmission (TX) activity indicator, a signal reception (RX) indicator (predicted RX indicator), a TX remaining physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) when TX activity is on, a prediction of a next stage [sic] and a response RX remaining PPDU when the RX activity is on.”); and
outputting, by the controller of the second transceiver, a control signal for a switch or adjustable gain amplifier radio-frequency (RF) component to cause switching between a first mode of the RF component, corresponding to a transmit mode, and a second mode of the RF component, corresponding to a receive mode or a low power transmit mode, based at least in part on the Wi-Fi state signal and a transmit or receive mode status of the second transceiver ([0016] disclosing “the BT module 110 refers to the frame exchange information to schedule its signal transmission time and signal reception time” and the BT module 110 has signal transmission during the signal transmission of the Wi-Fi module and “In addition, the BT module 110 can start the signal reception at the beginning of the signal reception of the Wi-Fi module 120, that is the beginning of the signal reception of the BT module 110 aligns the beginning of the signal reception of the Wi-Fi module 120.” Implicitly disclosing some kind of control signal to cause switching) to reduce interference with the receive mode of the Wi-Fi transceiver ([0002]-[0003] disclosing the intent of the system is to solve the problem of interference caused by coexisting wireless modules in a single device).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu appears to disclose the method of claim 1,further comprising generating a second transceiver mode signal to control timing of the transmit mode and the receive mode of the second transceiver, wherein, in said outputting, the control signal for the RF component is output with a timing based at least in part on the Wi-Fi state signal and the second transceiver mode signal (Fig. 2, 0016] disclosing “Specifically, the BT module 110 can start the signal transmission during the signal transmission of the Wi-Fi module 120…In addition, the BT module 110 can start the signal reception at the beginning of the signal reception of the Wi-Fi module 120”).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu appears to disclose the method of claim 4, wherein, in said outputting, the controller of the second transceiver outputs the control signal with a timing to cause the RF component to:
maintain the first mode of the RF component when the second transceiver mode signal indicates the transmit mode of the second transceiver and the Wi-Fi state signal indicates the transmit mode of the Wi-Fi transceiver ([0016] disclosing “the BT module 110 have the signal transmission during the signal transmission of the Wi-Fi module 120.”), and
maintain the second mode of the RF component when the second transceiver mode signal indicates the receive mode of the second transceiver ([0016] disclosing “In addition, the BT module 110 can start the signal reception at the beginning of the signal reception of the Wi-Fi module 120”).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the controller of the second transceiver outputs the control signal for the RF component with a timing to switch temporarily from the first mode of the RF component to the second mode for a defined time period when the Wi-Fi state signal indicates a transition from the transmit mode to the receive mode of the Wi-Fi transceiver ([0016] disclosing “the BT module 110 can start the signal reception at the beginning of the signal reception of the Wi-Fi module 120, that is the beginning of the signal reception of the BT module 110 aligns the beginning of the signal reception of the Wi-Fi module 120. Similarly, the BT module 110 may refer to the frame exchange information of the Wi-Fi module 120 to have the signal transmission when the Wi-Fi module 120 transmits a null data packet announcement (NDPA) and a null data packet (NDP); and the BT module 110 may further refer to the frame exchange information of the Wi-Fi module 120 to have the signal reception when the Wi-Fi module 120 receives a report in response to the NDP.”).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu discloses the method of claim 1,wherein the Wi-Fi transceiver and the second transceiver have operational frequencies that at least partially overlap ([0002] disclosing the devices may select non-overlapping channels which implies the device may select overlapping channels and “a transmitting signal of one wireless module will degrade a receiving signal of another wireless module, even if the wireless modules work on non-overlapping channels” implicitly disclosing the interference occurs when on overlapping channels).
Regarding claims 11 and 17-19, the claims are directed towards a dual wireless communication system configured to reduce interference between communications performed by a Wi-Fi transceiver and coexisting wireless communications performed by a second transceiver, the system comprising:
a Wi-Fi transceiver (Hsu: Fig. 1 Wi-Fi module 120; [0014], [0016] disclosing the Wi-Fi module as a wireless device that transmits and receives); a second transceiver having a controller, wherein the controller of the second transceiver is configured to (Hsu: Fig. 1, BT Module 110, [0014], [0016] disclosing the BT module as a wireless device that transmits and receives and performing operations implicitly disclosing a controller configured to perform the operations) perform the method of claims 1 and 4-6. Accordingly, claims 11 and 17-19 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 1 and 4-6.
Regarding claim 12, Hsu appears to disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the second transceiver is connected to an antenna via the RF component ([0014] disclosing wireless devices implicitly disclosing an antenna, see [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, Hsu appears to disclose the system of claim 11 ,wherein the second transceiver is a Time Division Multiple Access (TDMA) transceiver ([0002], [0014] wireless Bluetooth Module. Bluetooth inherently utilizes the TDMA protocol).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu appears to disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the Wi-Fi transceiver and the second transceiver have operational frequencies that at least partially overlap ([0002] disclosing the devices may select non-overlapping channels which implies the device may select overlapping channels and “a transmitting signal of one wireless module will degrade a receiving signal of another wireless module, even if the wireless modules work on non-overlapping channels” implicitly disclosing the interference occurs when on overlapping channels).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2020/0374895 A1).
Regarding claim 23, the claim is directed towards one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media, having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause said at least one processor to carry out the method of claim 1. Hsu does not disclose expressly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage media; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the method of claim 1 as one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media, having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause said at least one processor to carry out the method of claim 1 because it provides a flexibly configured system that can be easily reprogrammed as technical specifications evolve.
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2020/0374895 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent No. 8,442,016 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu does not expressly disclose the following; however, Lee suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the RF component comprises an RF switch configured to pass RF signals substantially in an output direction in the first mode and substantially in an input direction in the second mode (Fig. 6, Front end processing system 600, SP3T switch 650, Col. 8, lines 38-55 disclosing when SP3T switch 650 is set to position 654 transmission of BT [BluetoothTM] packets and when SP3T switch 650 is set to position 652 reception of BT packets simultaneously with reception of WLAN packets is achieved; Fig. 12a, Col. 12, lines 57-65 disclosing similar techniques to Hsu for switching form simultaneous transmission to simultaneous receptions)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Hsu as taught by Lee because this can overcome coexistence issues between WLAN and BT when faced with size and power constraints the require sharing of one or more common antennas and/or common front end processors.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is directed towards the system that performs the method of claim 2, accordingly, claim 15 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 2.
Claim(s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2020/0374895 A1) in view of Su et al. (US 2005/0215284 A1) in view of Behzad (US 2006/0223466 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu does not expressly disclose the following; however, Su suggests the method of claim 1,wherein the RF component transmits with a substantially higher power in the first mode and with a substantially lower power in the second mode ([0032] disclosing coexistence solution for 802.11 (i.e., WLAN) and BluetoothTM signals; Fig. 7, wireless interface devices 57 and 59, [0050], [0056] disclosing when a conflict between simultaneous transmission and reception occurs, one solution is to reduce transmit power of a BluetoothTM device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the invention to modify the invention of Hsu with the techniques disclosed by Su because the teaching lies in Su that these techniques are readily applicable to the field of endeavor of Hsu which provides an improvement over the invention of Hsu to better coordinate competing wireless data transmissions so that real time operations are not impaired ([0010]).
Behzad suggest the RF component comprises an adjustable gain amplifier configured to pass RF signals in an output direction with to achieve desired power (Fig. 3, power amplifier (PA) 83, [0038]-[0039], [0041] disclosing the power amplifier 83 has a controllable adjustable gain for amplifying RF signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hsu with the adjustable power gain amplifier of Behzad because the multi-stage amplifier of Behzad can enhance performance, reduce costs, reduce size, and/or enhance broadband applications ([0026]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is directed towards the system that performs the method of claim 3, accordingly, claim 16 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 3.
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2020/0374895 A1) in view of Desai et al. (US 2008/0123610 A1) in view of Hieda et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,592,483).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu does not disclose the following; however, Desai suggests the method of claim 6, wherein the defined time period greater than a length of Acknowledge (ACK) signals received by the Wi-Fi transceiver ([0081] disclosing the BluetoothTM packet is 366 µs compared to an ACK packet of 24 µs).
Heida discloses the defined time period is greater than a length of Clear to Send (CTS) signals (Col. 12, lines 28-38 disclosing the length of CTS signals as 160 µs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hsu to allow reception for a defined period of time equal to the duration of the BluetoothTM packet as disclosed by Desai using common sense as a guide because this would allow for reception of the entire packet instead of wasting energy to receive only a portion of a packet during reception of CTS or ACK durations when the portion of the packet would likely need to be discarded due to the incomplete reception.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is directed towards the system that performs the method of claim 7, accordingly, claim 20 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 7.
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US 2020/0374895 A1) in view of Bae et al. (US 2008/0205370 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu suggests the method of claim 1, wherein, in said outputting, the control signal for the RF component is output with a timing to cause switching from the first mode to the second mode of the RF component in a time period shorter than the time between the transmit mode and the receive mode of the Wi-Fi transceiver ([0016] disclosing “the BT module 110 can start the signal reception at the beginning of the signal reception of the Wi-Fi module 120, that is the beginning of the signal reception of the BT module 110 aligns the beginning of the signal reception of the Wi-Fi module 120.”; examiner takes official notice that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art that in order to align the receptions as taught by Hsu, the switch from transmission to reception has to occur before the reception can start).
Hsu does not disclose the following; however, Bae discloses the time between the transmit mode and the receive mode of the Wi-Fi transceiver is a Short Inter-frame Space (SIFS) of the Wi-Fi transceiver (Fig. 2 SIFS 260, [0029], [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the SIFS taught by Bae in the invention of Hsu because this allows the transmit node to transmit packets having the highest priority when necessary ([0032]).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is directed towards the system that performs the method of claim 10, accordingly, claim 22 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 10.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461