DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing on 8/27/2026. Since the previous filing, claims 1 and 12 have been amended and no claims have been added or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
In regards to the previous 103 Rejections, Applicant has amended to overcome these rejections, but not the art previously applied, and they are therefore withdrawn with new rejections entered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mooney (US 2020/0016020) in view of Njalsson (US 2024/0261127).
In regards to claim 1, Mooney discloses a method of integrating bipedalism augmentation components, comprising: providing footwear comprising a sole formed of an insole and an outsole (Fig 6A and 6B); selecting, based on a size of the footwear, a footplate having a length that is less than the size of the footwear (footplate insert into the shoe, paragraph 36, Fig 6A and 6B), the footplate comprising: a first portion of the footplate to extend along at least a first portion of the sole; a second portion of the footplate to extend along at least a second portion of the sole, and a mounting component connected to the first portion of the footplate (see Annotated Fig 8); inserting the footplate between the insole and the outsole of the footwear such that the mounting component protrudes at least partially from the footwear (paragraph 38 and 41, Fig 6B and 8); and coupling a bracket to the mounting component, the bracket configured to receive force from an actuator and apply the force to the first portion of the footplate via an axis of rotation about an ankle to augment motion (paragraph 55, see Annotated Fig 6B).
Annotated Fig 6B
Annotated Fig 8
Mooney does not disclose wherein the first portion of the footplate has greater rigidity than the second portion of the footplate, and wherein the second portion of the footplate comprises a compliant composite material mechanically attached to the first portion of the footplate; the first portion of the footplate with greater rigidity is located proximate to a heel of the footwear.
However, Njalsson teaches wherein the first portion of the footplate has greater rigidity than the second portion of the footplate (reinforced connection 312 more rigid than rest of footplate 305, paragraph 87), and wherein the second portion of the footplate comprises a compliant composite material mechanically attached to the first portion of the footplate (reinforced connection 312 comprises plantar and dorsal segments 320 and 322 which sandwich footplate 304, paragraph 83, footplate 304 being flexible compared to the reinforced connection, paragraph 84); the first portion of the footplate with greater rigidity is located proximate to a heel of the footwear (Fig 6A-6C and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mooney the first portion of the footplate has greater rigidity than the second portion of the footplate, and wherein the second portion of the footplate comprises a compliant composite material mechanically attached to the first portion of the footplate; the first portion of the footplate with greater rigidity is located proximate to a heel of the footwear as taught by Njalsson as this would ensure that the connection between the footplate and the rest of the exoskeleton would be strong and stable.
In regards to claim 8, Mooney in view of Njalsson teaches the method of claim 1 and the combination further teaches wherein the second portion of the footplate is thinner than the first portion of the footplate, and the second portion of the footplate at least partially overlaps with the first portion of the footplate (Njalsson: reinforced connection 312 more rigid than rest of footplate 305, paragraph 87, Fig 6C and 7).
In regards to claim 9, Mooney in view of Njalsson teaches the method of claim 1 and Mooney further discloses wherein the mounting component protrudes from a rear of the footwear (Fig 13).
In regards to claim 10, Mooney in view of Njalsson teaches the method of claim 1 and Mooney further discloses wherein the mounting component protrudes from a side at a heel of the footwear that is different from a rear of the footwear (Fig 6B).
In regards to claim 11, Mooney in view of Njalsson teaches the method of claim 1 and Mooney further discloses comprising: coupling the actuator to a lower limb of a subject wearing the footwear, the actuator coupled below a knee of the lower limb of the subject (paragraph 24, Fig 1 and see Annotated Fig 6B).
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mooney (US 2020/0016020) in view of Njalsson (US 2024/0261127) and in further view of Lerner (US 2022/0000703) and Angold (US 2018/0243155) as evidenced by Horst (US 2004/0102723).
In regards to claim 2, Mooney in view of Njalsson teaches the method of claim 1.
Mooney does not disclose identifying, by a data processing system comprising one or more processors and memory, a type of the footwear; determining, by the data processing system prior to insertion, the length for the footplate based on the type of the footwear; and selecting, by the data processing system, the footplate with the length for insertion into the sole of the footwear.
However, Lerner teaches wherein the size of the footplate is based on the size of the footwear (paragraph 84).
Further, Angold teaches wherein a data processing system determines the size of the footplate (computer models size of user to determine size of exoskeleton components including footplate, paragraph 8-13 and 47; Horst: computers commonly contain memory and processors, paragraph 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mooney wherein identifying, by a data processing system comprising one or more processors and memory, a type of the footwear; determining, by the data processing system prior to insertion, the length for the footplate based on the type of the footwear; and selecting, by the data processing system, the footplate with the length for insertion into the sole of the footwear as taught by Lerner and Angold and evidenced by Horst as this would ensure that the footplate fit the user to provide the most effective and comfortable assistance.
In regards to claim 4, Mooney in view of Njalsson, Lerner and Angold as evidenced by Horst teaches the method of claim 2 and the combination further teaches determining, by the data processing system based on the type of the footwear, the length of the footplate (see Rejection of Claim 2).
Mooney does not disclose wherein the footplate terminates behind a metatarsal joint of a foot on which the footwear is worn.
However, Lerner teaches wherein the footplate terminates behind a metatarsal joint of a foot on which the footwear is worn (Fig 10 shows placement of end of plate 622 behind a metatarsal joint of a foot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mooney wherein the footplate terminates behind a metatarsal joint of a foot on which the footwear is worn as taught by Lerner as this would allow the toes of the user to flex comfortably during walking.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mooney (US 2020/0016020) in view of Njalsson (US 2024/0261127), Lerner (US 2022/0000703) and Angold (US 2018/0243155) as evidenced by Horst (US 2004/0102723) and in further view of Caputo (US 12127995).
In regards to claim 3, Mooney in view of Njalsson, Lerner and Angold as evidenced by Horst teaches the method of clam 2.
Mooney does not disclose wherein the type of the footwear comprises at least one of a running footwear, a hiking footwear, a cross-training footwear, a basketball footwear, a boot, or a dress footwear.
However, Caputo teaches wherein the type of the footwear comprises at least one of a running footwear, a hiking footwear, a cross-training footwear, a basketball footwear, a boot, or a dress footwear (column 21 line 3-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mooney wherein the type of the footwear comprises at least one of a running footwear, a hiking footwear, a cross-training footwear, a basketball footwear, a boot, or a dress footwear as taught by Caputo as these are commonly used types of footwear.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mooney (US 2020/0016020) in view of Njalsson (US 2024/0261127) and in further view of Angold (US 2018/0243155) as evidenced by Horst (US 2004/0102723).
In regards to claim 5, Mooney in view of Njalsson teaches the method of claim 1 and Mooney further discloses identifying an activity to be performed with the footwear; determining the size for the footplate based on the activity; and selecting the footplate with the size for insertion into the sole of the footwear (paragraph 44).
Mooney does not disclose wherein identifying, determining and selecting are performed by a data processing system comprising one or more processors and memory.
However, Angold teaches wherein a data processing system determines the size of the footplate (computer models size of user to determine size of exoskeleton components including footplate, paragraph 8-13 and 47; Horst: computers commonly contain memory and processors, paragraph 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mooney wherein identifying, determining and selecting are performed by a data processing system comprising one or more processors and memory as taught by Angold as this would be an efficient and known manner by which to fit an exoskeleton to a user.
In regards to claim 6, Mooney in view of Njalsson and Angold as evidenced by Horst teaches the method of claim 5 and Mooney further discloses wherein the activity comprises at least one of running, walking, or hiking (paragraph 44).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mooney (US 2020/0016020) in view of Njalsson (US 2024/0261127) and in further view of Lerner (US 2022/0000703) and Angold (US 2018/0243155) as evidenced by Horst (US 2004/0102723) and in further view of Caputo (US 12127995).
In regards to claim 7, Mooney in view of Njalsson teaches the method of claim 1 and the combination further teaches identifying an activity to be performed with the footwear, an amount of rigidity for the second portion of the footplate based on the activity, determining an amount of rigidity based on the footwear (Mooney: multiple plates may be bonded together, paragraph 44; Njalsson: reinforcement increases rigidity, paragraph 87).
Mooney does not disclose comprising: identifying, by a data processing system comprising one or more processors and memory, a type of the footwear; determining, by the data processing system prior to insertion, a length for the first portion of the footplate and a length for the second portion of the footplate; and selecting, by the data processing system for insertion into the sole, the footplate having the determined length for the first portion, the determined length for the second portion, and the determined amount of rigidity for the second portion.
However, Lerner teaches wherein the size of the footplate is based on the size of the footwear (paragraph 84).
Additionally, Caputo teaches wherein the type of the footwear comprises at least one of a running footwear, a hiking footwear, a cross-training footwear, a basketball footwear, a boot, or a dress footwear (column 21 line 3-7).
Further, Angold teaches wherein a data processing system determines the size of the footplate (computer models size of user to determine size of exoskeleton components including footplate, paragraph 8-13 and 47; Horst: computers commonly contain memory and processors, paragraph 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mooney wherein identifying, by a data processing system comprising one or more processors and memory, a type of the footwear; determining, by the data processing system prior to insertion, a length for the first portion of the footplate and a length for the second portion of the footplate; and selecting, by the data processing system for insertion into the sole, the footplate having the determined length for the first portion, the determined length for the second portion, and the determined amount of rigidity for the second portion as taught by Lerner, Caputo and Angold and evidenced by Horst as this would ensure that the footplate fit the user to provide the most effective and comfortable assistance.
Claim(s) 12, 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angold (US 2018/0243155) as evidenced by Horst (US 2004/0102723) and in view of Mooney (US 2020/0016020) and Njalsson (US 2024/0261127).
In regards to claim 12, Angold discloses a system that integrates bipedalism augmentation components, comprising: a data processing system comprising memory and one or more processors to: receive a request to modify a footwear for augmentation, select a footplate based on a size of the footwear to have a length that is less than the size of the footwear (computer models size of user to determine size of exoskeleton components including footplate, paragraph 8-13 and 47; Horst: computers commonly contain memory and processors, paragraph 15).
Angold does not disclose the footwear comprising a sole formed of an insole and an outsole; the footplate comprising: a first portion of the footplate to extend along at least a first portion of the sole; a second portion of the footplate to extend along at least a second portion of the sole, wherein the first portion of the footplate has greater rigidity than the second portion of the footplate; and a mounting component connected to the first portion of the footplate, and wherein the second portion of the footplate comprises a compliant composite material mechanically attached to the first portion of the footplate; provide an indication of the selected the footplate for insertion between the insole and the outsole of the footwear such that the first portion of the footplate with greater rigidity is located proximate to a heel of the footwear and the mounting component protrudes at least partially from the sole, wherein the mounting component is configured to couple to a bracket to receive force from an actuator and apply the force to the first portion of the footplate via an axis of rotation about an ankle to augment motion.
However, Mooney teaches the footwear comprising a sole formed of an insole and an outsole (Fig 6A and 6B); the footplate comprising: a first portion of the footplate to extend along at least a first portion of the sole; a second portion of the footplate to extend along at least a second portion of the sole; and a mounting component connected to the first portion of the footplate (see Annotated Fig 8); provide an indication of the selected the footplate for insertion between the insole and the outsole of the footwear such that the mounting component protrudes at least partially from the sole (paragraph 38 and 41, Fig 6B and 8), wherein the mounting component is configured to couple to a bracket to receive force from an actuator and apply the force to the first portion of the footplate via an axis of rotation about an ankle to augment motion (paragraph 55, see Annotated Fig 6B).
Further, Njalsson teaches wherein the first portion of the footplate has greater rigidity than the second portion of the footplate, and wherein the second portion of the footplate comprises a compliant composite material mechanically attached to the first portion of the footplate (reinforced connection 312 comprises plantar and dorsal segments 320 and 322 which sandwich footplate 304, paragraph 83); the first portion of the footplate with greater rigidity is located proximate to a heel of the footwear (footplate 304 more flexible than reinforced connection, paragraph 84, reinforced connection 312 more rigid than rest of footplate 305, paragraph 87, Fig 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Angold wherein the footwear comprising a sole formed of an insole and an outsole; the footplate comprising: a first portion of the footplate to extend along at least a first portion of the sole; a second portion of the footplate to extend along at least a second portion of the sole, wherein the first portion of the footplate has greater rigidity than the second portion of the footplate, and wherein the second portion of the footplate comprises a compliant composite material mechanically attached to the first portion of the footplate; and a mounting component connected to the first portion of the footplate; provide an indication of the selected the footplate for insertion between the insole and the outsole of the footwear such that the first portion of the footplate with greater rigidity is located proximate to a heel of the footwear and the mounting component protrudes at least partially from the sole, wherein the mounting component is configured to couple to a bracket to receive force from an actuator and apply the force to the first portion of the footplate via an axis of rotation about an ankle to augment motion as taught by Mooney and Njalsson as this would provide a secure and comfortable wearable interface for an exoskeleton.
In regards to claim 15, Angold in view of Horst and in view of Mooney and Njalsson teaches the system of claim 12 and the combination further discloses the data processing system configured to select the footplate based on type of footwear and activity (see Claim 12 Rejection).
Angold does not disclose altering the length of the footplate based on an activity to be performed with the footwear, the activity comprising at least one of running, walking, or hiking.
However, Mooney teaches customizing the footplate based on an activity to be performed with the footwear, the activity comprising at least one of running, walking, or hiking (paragraph 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Angold wherein altering the length of the footplate based on an activity to be performed with the footwear, the activity comprising at least one of running, walking, or hiking as taught by Mooney as this would help ensure the system is designed to suit the needs of the user.
In regards to claim 17, Angold in view of Horst and in view of Mooney and Njalsson teaches the system of claim 12 and the combination further discloses the data processing system configured to select the footplate based on type of footwear and activity (see Claim 12 Rejection) and wherein the second portion of the footplate that is thinner than the first portion of the footplate, wherein the second portion of the footplate at least partially overlaps with the first portion of the footplate (Njalsson: reinforced connection 312 more rigid than rest of footplate 305, paragraph 87, Fig 6C and 7).
In regards to claim 18, Angold in view of Horst and in view of Mooney and Njalsson teaches the system of claim 12 and the combination further discloses the data processing system configured to select the footplate based on type of footwear and activity (see Claim 12 Rejection).
Angold does not disclose wherein the mounting component configured to protrude from a rear of the footwear.
However, Mooney teaches the mounting component configured to protrude from a rear of the footwear (Fig 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Angold wherein the mounting component is configured to protrude from a rear of the footwear as taught by Mooney as this is a known configuration for attaching an assistance system to a footwear.
In regards to claim 19, Angold in view of Horst and in view of Mooney and Njalsson teaches the system of claim 12 and the combination further discloses the data processing system configured to select the footplate based on type of footwear and activity (see Claim 12 Rejection).
Angold does not disclose wherein the mounting component configured to protrude from a side at a heel of the footwear that is different from a rear of the footwear.
However, Mooney teaches wherein the mounting component configured to protrude from a side at a heel of the footwear that is different from a rear of the footwear (Fig 6B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Angold wherein the mounting component configured to protrude from a side at a heel of the footwear that is different from a rear of the footwear as taught by Mooney as this is a known configuration for attaching an assistance system to a footwear.
In regards to claim 20, Angold in view of Horst and in view of Mooney and Njalsson teaches the system of claim 12 and the combination further discloses the data processing system configured to select the footplate based on type of footwear and activity (see Claim 12 Rejection).
Angold does not disclose the actuator configured to couple to a lower limb of a subject wearing the footwear, the actuator configured to couple below a knee of the lower limb of the subject.
However, Mooney teaches the actuator configured to couple below a knee of the lower limb of the subject (paragraph 24, Fig 1 and see Annotated Fig 6B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Angold wherein the actuator configured to couple below a knee of the lower limb of the subject as taught by Mooney as this would provide a link to provide assistance to the user.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angold (US 2018/0243155) as evidenced by Horst (US 2004/0102723) and in view of Mooney (US 2020/0016020) and Njalsson (US 2024/0261127) and in further view of Caputo (US 12127995).
In regards to claim 13, Angold in view of Horst and in view of Mooney and Njalsson teaches the system of claim 12 and the combination further discloses the data processing system configured to select the footplate based on type of footwear and activity (see Claim 12 Rejection).
Angold does not disclose wherein the type of the footwear comprises at least one of a running footwear, a hiking footwear, a cross-training footwear, a basketball footwear, a boot, or a dress footwear.
However, Caputo teaches wherein the type of the footwear comprises at least one of a running footwear, a hiking footwear, a cross-training footwear, a basketball footwear, a boot, or a dress footwear (column 21 line 3-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Angold wherein the type of the footwear comprises at least one of a running footwear, a hiking footwear, a cross-training footwear, a basketball footwear, a boot, or a dress footwear as taught by Caputo as these are commonly used types of footwear.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angold (US 2018/0243155) as evidenced by Horst (US 2004/0102723) and in view of Mooney (US 2020/0016020), Njalsson (US 2024/0261127) and Caputo (US 12127995) in further view of Lerner (US 2022/0000703).
In regards to claim 14, Angold as evidenced by Horst and in view of Mooney, Njalsson and Caputo teaches the system of claim 13.
Angold does not disclose wherein the footplate terminates behind a metatarsal joint of a foot on which the footwear is worn.
However, Lerner teaches wherein the footplate terminates behind a metatarsal joint of a foot on which the footwear is worn (Fig 10 shows placement of end of plate 622 behind a metatarsal joint of a foot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Angold wherein the footplate terminates behind a metatarsal joint of a foot on which the footwear is worn as taught by Lerner as this would allow the toes of the user to flex comfortably during walking.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angold (US 2018/0243155) as evidenced by Horst (US 2004/0102723) and in view of Mooney (US 2020/0016020) and Njalsson (US 2024/0261127) and in further view of Lerner (US 2022/0000703).
In regards to claim 16, Angold in view of Horst and in view of Mooney and Njalsson teaches the system of claim 12 and the combination further discloses the data processing system configured to select the footplate based on type of footwear and activity (see Claim 12 Rejection).
Angold does not disclose wherein the data processing system is further configured to: receive an indication of a type of the footwear and an activity to be performed with the footwear; determine, prior to insertion, a length for the first portion of the footplate and a length for the second portion of the footplate; determine, prior to insertion, an amount of rigidity for the second portion of the footplate based on the type of the footwear and the activity; and select, for insertion into the sole, the footplate having the determined length for the first portion of the footplate, the determined length for the second portion of the footplate, and the determined amount of rigidity for the second portion.
However, Mooney and Njalsson teaches identifying an activity to be performed with the footwear, an amount of rigidity for the second portion of the footplate based on the activity (multiple plates may be bonded together based on activity and need of footwear, paragraph 44; Njalsson: reinforcement increases rigidity, paragraph 87).
Further, Lerner teaches wherein the size of the footplate is based on the size of the footwear (paragraph 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Angold wherein the data processing system is further configured to: receive an indication of a type of the footwear and an activity to be performed with the footwear; determine, prior to insertion, a length for the first portion of the footplate and a length for the second portion of the footplate; determine, prior to insertion, an amount of rigidity for the second portion of the footplate based on the type of the footwear and the activity; and select, for insertion into the sole, the footplate having the determined length for the first portion of the footplate, the determined length for the second portion of the footplate, and the determined amount of rigidity for the second portion as taught by Mooney, Njalsson and Lerner as this would ensure that the system is fit properly for the user and their needs.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the arguments concerning the independent claims, these arguments are partially in regards to the amendments made to the claims and addressed in part by the new rejections entered above. Applicant argues against the combination of Mooney with Njalsson by alleging that the combination cannot yield a footplate having a second portion mechanically attached to the first. Examiner disagrees, and would note that there is no provided structure or method described with respect to the “mechanically” attaching. As described in the new rejection above, Njalsson teaches a portion of the footplate having greater rigidity, the reinforced heel section, and a portion of lesser rigidity and greater flexibility, the non-reinforced front portion, wherein the attachment of these two sections is described as two segments sandwiching a third between them, that third segment extending beyond the sandwiched portion, r.e.: the reinforced heel, to form the front portion (paragraph 83 and 84). This sandwiching may be considered a mechanical connection, lacking any specific description which would require a more detailed or specific method of attachment. Applicant further argues against the combination based on Angold by alleging that Angold fails to provide teaching of selecting a footplate based on sizing. Examiner disagrees. As seen in the above rejections, Angold teaches selection of exoskeleton components, including footplates, based on size of user. Further details regarding the footplate and exoskeleton construction are addressed with secondary references.
In regards to the arguments concerning the dependent claims, these arguments are in regards to the dependency on above argued independent claims and are addressed in the response above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLE WOLFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785