CTNF 18/409,558 CTNF 85594 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 12 May 2026 has been entered. Response to Amendment This action is in reply to the Applicant’s amendments filed on 29 April 2026. Claims 1, 16, 29, and 30 has been amended. Claims 1-30 are currently pending and have been examined. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 15-20, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. PGPub. No. 20230421207 to Ellenbeck et al . As to Claims 1, 16, 29, and 30 , Ellenbeck discloses a network entity, non-transitory computer readable medium storing code, and method for wireless communication system, comprising (Fig. 1, Fig. 10, paragraph [0033, 0084, 0149]): one or more processors (Fig. 1, Fig. 10, paragraph [0033, 0084, 0149], where devices implemented in software, firmware, and hardware comprising processor, non-transitory computer readable storage media and codes); one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors and storing one or more processor readable instructions executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to (Fig. 1, Fig. 10, paragraph [0033, 0084, 0149], where devices implemented in software, firmware, and hardware comprising processor, non-transitory computer readable storage media and codes executed by the processors); output an array configuration to a configurable reflective device, wherein the array configuration defines a first angle of reflection or refraction at a first frequency and a second angle reflection or refraction at a second frequency for a reflective array of the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, Fig. 17, Fig. 19, paragraph [0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0126, 0127, 0142], claim 12, where the suitable beam configuration (first frequency and angle for first user and second frequency and angle for second user) for the reflective intelligent surface including antenna arrays is communicated through the control channel); output a first transmission, to a first user equipment (UE) via the configurable reflective device, at the first frequency according to the array configuration, the first frequency selected based in part on the first angle of flection or refraction at the first frequency and a first location of the first UE relative to the configuration reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, Fig. 17, Fig. 19, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127, 0142], claim 12, where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle for the first user different from second user relative to RIS) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of multiple UE devices); output a second transmission, to a second user equipment (UE) via the configurable reflective device, at the second frequency according to the array configuration, the second frequency selected based in part on the second angle of flection or refraction at the second frequency and a second location of the second UE relative to the configuration reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, Fig. 17, Fig. 19, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127, 0142], claim 12, where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (second frequency and angle for the second user different from other users relative to RIS) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of multiple UE devices). As to Claims 2 and 17 , Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity and method wherein one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to: select the first UE for communicating the first transmission at the first frequency based at least in part on the first location of the first UE relative to the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the first user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS); select the second UE for communicating the second transmission at the second frequency based at least in part on the second location of the second UE relative to the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (second frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the second user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS). As to Claims 3 and 18 , Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity and method wherein one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to: select the first UE for communicating the first transmission at the first frequency based at least in part on the first angle of reflection or refraction of the first UE relative to the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the first user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS); select the second UE for communicating the second transmission at the second frequency based at least in part on the second angle of reflection or refraction of the second UE relative to the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (second frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the second user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS). As to Claims 4 and 19 , Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity and method wherein one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to: select the first frequency for communicating the first transmission to first UE based at least in part on the location of the first UE relative to the configuration reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the first user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS); select the second frequency for communicating the second transmission to second UE based at least in part on the location of the second UE relative to the configuration reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (second frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the second user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS). As to Claims 5 and 20 , Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity and method wherein one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to: select the array configuration based at least in part on the first location of the first UE relative to the configuration reflective device, on the first angle of reflection or refraction, on the second location of the second UE relative to the configurable reflective device, on the second angle of reflection or refractions, or any combination thereof (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams (using antenna arrays) transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the first user and second frequency and angle relative to RIS for second user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS). As to Claim 15 , Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity wherein the first transmission to the first UE and the second transmission to the second UE comprises overlapping transmission in a time domain (Fig. 14 (152), paragraph [0113, 0114], where the RIS signal beams (using antenna arrays) transmitted to multiple users overlapping in same time domain) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6-14 and 21-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fail to anticipate or render obvious step of perform a set of pilot transmissions via the configurable reflective device using a set of available array configurations and at different frequencies; obtain, based on the set of pilot transmissions, a first feedback report from the first UE indicating the array configuration, the first frequency, the first angle of reflection or refraction, a first measurement value associated with the array configuration and the first frequency, or any combination thereof; and obtain, based on the set of pilot transmissions, a second feedback report from the second UE indicating the array configuration, the second frequency, the second angle of reflection angle, a second measurement value associated with the array configuration and the second frequency, or any combination thereof . Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUNG S AHN whose telephone number is (571)270-3706. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9-6. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hannah Wang can be reached on 571-272-9018. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to Patent Center, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. /SUNG S AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2631 (571)-270-3706 sung.ahn@uspto.gov Application/Control Number: 18/409,558 Page 2 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/409,558 Page 3 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/409,558 Page 4 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/409,558 Page 5 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/409,558 Page 6 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/409,558 Page 7 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/409,558 Page 8 Art Unit: 2631