DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Response to Amendment
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s amendments filed on 13 November 2025.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 13 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 12-13 of the Applicant’s Response, applicant argues that Ellenbeck does not anticipate “output an array configuration to a configurable reflective device, wherein the array configuration defines a first angle of reflection or refraction at a first frequency and a second angle of reflection or refraction at a second frequency for a reflective array of the configurable reflective device,” as recited in claims 1, 16, 29, and 30. Ellenbeck describes that the RIS 96 is programmed to reflect the incident THF signals 32 at an angle alpha towards a UE, but does not anticipate that a network entity outputs an array configuration to a configurable reflect device. Rather, Ellenbeck suggest that the RIS 96 configures itself separate from any communication with other devices. In addition, Ellenbeck fails to anticipate that the array configuration defines a first angle and a second angle. Rather, Ellenbeck seems to describe that the RIS 96 is programmed for just one angle, alphas.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because Ellenbeck disclose communication network (Fig. 1) communicating between the Access Point and User Equipment communicating tremendously high frequency (THF) signal through the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) (Fig. 8). Further, Access Point may implemented with dedicated controller for configuration the RIS’s (with array antenna) for beam configuration (first frequency and angle for first user and second frequency and angle for second user) to provide dynamic capacity of the environment (Fig. 17, Fig. 14, abstract, paragraph [0121, 0127, 0126, 0110, 0114, 0120]). The RIS configuration its own or preconfigured at installation is one of option of the invention (paragraph [0083, 0125]). Therefore, Ellenbeck disclose the “output an array configuration to a configurable reflective device, wherein the array configuration defines a first angle of reflection or refraction at a first frequency and a second angle of reflection or refraction at a second frequency for a reflective array of the configurable reflective device,” as recited in claims 1, 16, 29, and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 15-20, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. PGPub. No. 20230421207 to Ellenbeck et al.
As to Claims 1, 16, 29, and 30, Ellenbeck discloses a network entity, non-transitory computer readable medium storing code, and method for wireless communication system, comprising (Fig. 1, Fig. 10, paragraph [0033, 0084, 0149]):
one or more processors (Fig. 1, Fig. 10, paragraph [0033, 0084, 0149], where devices implemented in software, firmware, and hardware comprising processor, non-transitory computer readable storage media and codes);
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors and storing one or more processor readable instructions executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to (Fig. 1, Fig. 10, paragraph [0033, 0084, 0149], where devices implemented in software, firmware, and hardware comprising processor, non-transitory computer readable storage media and codes executed by the processors);
output an array configuration to a configurable reflective device, wherein the array configuration defines a first angle of reflection or refraction at a first frequency and a second angle reflection or refraction at a second frequency for a reflective array of the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, Fig. 17, paragraph [0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0126, 0127], where the suitable beam configuration (first frequency and angle for first user and second frequency and angle for second user) for the reflective intelligent surface including antenna arrays is communicated through the control channel);
output a first transmission, to a first user equipment (UE) via the configurable reflective device, at the first frequency according to the array configuration, the first frequency selected based in part on the first angle of flection or refraction and a first location of the first UE (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, Fig. 17, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle for the first user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices);
output a second transmission, to a second user equipment (UE) via the configurable reflective device, at the second frequency according to the array configuration, the second frequency selected based in part on the second angle of flection or refraction and a second location of the first UE (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, Fig. 17, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (second frequency and angle for the second user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices).
As to Claims 2 and 17, Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity and method wherein one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to:
select the first UE for communicating the first transmission at the first frequency based at least in part on the first location of the first UE relative to the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the first user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS);
select the second UE for communicating the second transmission at the second frequency based at least in part on the second location of the second UE relative to the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (second frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the second user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS).
As to Claims 3 and 18, Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity and method wherein one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to:
select the first UE for communicating the first transmission at the first frequency based at least in part on the first angle of reflection or refraction of the first UE relative to the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the first user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS);
select the second UE for communicating the second transmission at the second frequency based at least in part on the second angle of reflection or refraction of the second UE relative to the configurable reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (second frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the second user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS).
As to Claims 4 and 19, Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity and method wherein one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to:
select the first frequency for communicating the first transmission to first UE based at least in part on the location of the first UE relative to the configuration reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the first user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS);
select the second frequency for communicating the second transmission to second UE based at least in part on the location of the second UE relative to the configuration reflective device (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams transmitted to each user (second frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the second user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS).
As to Claims 5 and 20, Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity and method wherein one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to:
select the array configuration based at least in part on the first location of the first UE relative to the configuration reflective device, on the first angle of reflection or refraction, on the second location of the second UE relative to the configurable reflective device, on the second angle of reflection or refractions, or any combination thereof (Fig. 8, Fig. 14, paragraph [0006, 0080, 0084, 0110, 0113, 0114, 0122, 0126, 0127], where the RIS signal beams (using antenna arrays) transmitted to each user (first frequency and angle relative to the RIS for the first user and second frequency and angle relative to RIS for second user) based on the suitable beam configuration based on the location of UE devices relative to RIS).
As to Claim 15, Ellenbeck further discloses the network entity wherein the first transmission to the first UE and the second transmission to the second UE comprises overlapping transmission in a time domain (Fig. 14 (152), paragraph [0113, 0114], where the RIS signal beams (using antenna arrays) transmitted to multiple users overlapping in same time domain).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-14 and 21-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fail to anticipate or render obvious step of perform a set of pilot transmissions via the configurable reflective device using a set of available array configurations and at different frequencies; obtain, based on the set of pilot transmissions, a first feedback report from the first UE indicating the array configuration, the first frequency, the first angle of reflection or refraction, a first measurement value associated with the array configuration and the first frequency, or any combination thereof; and obtain, based on the set of pilot transmissions, a second feedback report from the second UE indicating the array configuration, the second frequency, the second angle of reflection angle, a second measurement value associated with the array configuration and the second frequency, or any combination thereof.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SUNG S AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2631 (571)-270-3706
sung.ahn@uspto.gov