DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 01/28/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 15, and 16 have been amended. Claim 2 has already been cancelled. Claim has been added. Claims 1 and 3-16 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, p. 6-9) with respect to the independent claims 1, 15, and 16, and the dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant’s arguments directed to amended limitation have been addressed in the detail rejection below with new reference by Nakamura et al.
The arguments regarding dependent claims for the virtue of their dependency are moot because the independent claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the display setting information" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites limitation “generating content data to include display setting information” (created by the first user) in line 2; and limitation “to change the display settings” (by the second user) in line 13. It is not clear the limitation “the display setting information’ in line 14 refers to the display setting information created by the first user or the changed display setting information by the second user.
Claims 2-16 are rejected as being indefinite for the same reasons cited in the rejection of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sterling et al. (US 20070291179 A1), in view of Nakamura (US 20220300239 A1), and further in view of Kobayashi (US 20190289146 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,Sterling discloses A control method (ABST reciting “A method and system”) comprising:
generating content data to include display setting information, wherein the content data is created by a first user using an information processing apparatus and the display setting information being setting information about a display of the information processing apparatus; (¶44-47 disclosing content data creation. More specifically, ¶44 disclosing the content creation step 302 of Fig. 1, and reciting “ A colorist starts with high resolution digital source content--DSC during step 302 and adjusts the color display during step 304, in conjunction with the content creator's intent, as viewed on a calibrated display device (for example, a digital projector calibrated to the P7V2 digital cinema color space).” Further, ¶46 disclosing created content including display setting information, and reciting “By way of example, the metadata can control the contrast and/or brightness of the image, as well as other parameters such as texture, noise and/or intensity. During content creation, the content creator could thus define settings for the display device to follow, assuming the device has the ability to make use of such information.” In addition, ¶47 reciting “the auxiliary data can carry dynamic range information instead of or in addition to the metadata”) and
displaying the content data based on the display setting information corresponding to the content data. (¶63 reciting “FIG. 6a shows one embodiment of the decoding 600 according the present invention. As shown and will be described, the decoded content 606 is re-combined with the decoded color difference 604 for the target color space, to reproduce the color space C corresponding to the same. The display specific metadata contained within the decoded content is also used during the decoding in order to format the new color space C for the particular consumers display device (i.e., target color space).”)
However, Sterling does not explicitly disclose displaying a screen for presetting a second user, different from the first user, to change display settings when displaying the content data, wherein the change presetting screen is determined when the content data is generated on the information processing apparatus.
Sterling teaches dynamic adjustments of the display settings of the target device in Claims 9 and 10.
In addition, Nakamura teaches “a screen sharing system, a screen sharing method, and a display apparatus.” (¶2). More specifically, Fig. 18B showing a authority setting screen 400, and ¶168 recites “The authority setting screen 400 includes an edit authority setting button 410 and a user information input area 415. The edit authority setting button 410 allows, when selected, the user A to set the editing authority of one or more other users for the handwriting input data that is input by the user A. The user information input area 415 is an area in which the user A enters a user who is to be permitted to edit the handwriting input data that is input by the user A.” In other words, Nakamura teaches displaying a screen (Fig. 17B, 100A) for presetting a second user (user B) different from the first user (user A) for editing authority.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of changing the display settings of during display (taught by Sterling) to display a screen for presetting a different user to make the change (taught by Nakamura). The suggestions/motivations would have been “to prevent unintended editing operations” (¶4), and to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
However, Sterling in view of Nakamura does not explicitly disclose wherein the content data is layout data created by the first user, the created layout data on one or a plurality of images to be laid out on a plane of paper.
The feature of the content data being images to be laid out on a plane paper is merely an intended use. The method disclosed by Sterling in view of Nakamura is capable of performing the intended use. In addition, Kobayashi recites “The application 32 is, for example, a word processing software, a spreadsheet software, a browser (web browser), and created content and display content can be printed by the printer 3.” (¶47).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings from Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi to process layout data as the content data to be printed on a plane of paper. The suggestions/motivations would have been “to reduce inconveniences that functions having contradictory content are set.” (¶4), and to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, wherein a setting related to the display of the information processing apparatus is changed to a same setting as a setting of the display setting information corresponding to the content data. (Sterling, Claim 9 reciting “one of said metadata and said auxiliary data include dynamic display information data relating to adjustments to be made to target display device settings.” Claim 10 reciting “said dynamic display information includes at least one selected from a group consisting of brightness, contrast and luminance.”)
Regarding Claim 4, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, wherein a setting related to display of an area where the content data is displayed is changed, and a setting related to display of an area where the content data is not displayed is not changed. (Sterling, ¶14 reciting “The mastering includes adjusting the color rendition within the content for each target color space with respect to a reference color space.” ¶17 reciting “When received, the encoded content, having color information indicative of the adjusted color rendition and the color display properties of the target display device, are adjusted according to the decoded color rendition information. The result is displayed on the viewer's target display device.”)
Regarding Claim 5, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, wherein a user operation for selecting whether to change a setting related to the display is accepted, and the setting related to the display is changed based on selection to change the setting related to the display being made by the user operation. (Sterling, ¶14 reciting “the method for modifying content to obtain enhanced color rendition for a target color space of a target display device includes the step of mastering the content in accordance with instructions from at least one content creator. ”)
Regarding Claim 6, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1 further comprising, if a change in a setting related to the display fails, displaying a message indicating a failure in changing the setting related to the display. (Kobayashi, Figs. 6A and 6B showing a message indicating a failure in setting functions; and ¶72 reciting “As illustrated in FIG. 6A, within a display frame 61 of the balloon help 60A, a sentence indicating that the function cannot be selected and other functions causing the prohibition are listed.” In other words, Kobayashi teaches if a setting change fails, displaying a message indicating the failure. The suggestions/motivations would have been the same as that of Claim 1 rejections.)
Regarding Claim 7, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, further comprising:
accepting a user operation for making presetting as to whether to change a setting related to the display in displaying the content data, and including the presetting made by the user operation into the content data; and
if the presetting included in the content data is to change the setting related to the display, controlling a change of the setting related to the display.
(Sterling, ABST reciting “The content creator(s) establishes base or reference color space and enhanced color space data for each target color space. The enhanced color space data is stored as metadata and transmitted over an enhanced color channel separately from the base/reference color space. Both the base/reference data and metadata are encoded before transmission and decoded on the consumer side either by a separate decoder or a display device having an integrated decoder. In other aspects of the invention, auxiliary data relating to the target color space, such as, for example, brightness, luminance, contrast and other display settings can be transmitted over the enhanced color channel and decoded to control the target color space settings (i.e., display settings). The color adjustment metadata could be included in the auxiliary data or maintained separate from the same depending on the desired implementation.” Further, ¶22 reciting “The system for modifying video to obtain enhanced color rendition for a target color space of a target display device includes means for adjusting the color rendition within the content in accordance with instruction from at least one content creator, and means for encoding the content having color information indicative of the adjusted color rendition to enable display of the content with the enhanced color rendition on the target display device.”)
Regarding Claim 8, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, further comprising:
accepting a user operation for making presetting as to whether to change a setting related to the display in displaying the content data, and including the presetting made by the user operation into the content data; (Nakamura, ¶168 reciting “The edit authority setting button 410 allows, when selected, the user A to set the editing authority of one or more other users for the handwriting input data that is input by the user A. The user information input area 415 is an area in which the user A enters a user who is to be permitted to edit the handwriting input data that is input by the user A.”) and
if user information included in the presetting included in the content data and user information about a user requesting display of the content data are same, controlling a change of the setting related to the display. (Nakamura, ¶205 reciting “the determination unit 14C refers to the authority information set by the setting unit 17C, to determine whether the user B has the edit authority for the user A who has input the handwriting input data to be edited. When the determination unit 14B determines that the user B has the edit authority for the handwriting input data to be edited (YES in step S102), the operation proceeds to step S103. Then, the display control unit 13B performs an edit operation on the handwriting input data, and displays the edited handwriting input data on the display screen 100B (step S103).” The suggestions/motivations would have been the same as that of Claim 1 rejections.)
Regarding Claim 9, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, further comprising:
storing, in a storage unit, a setting related to the display before changing the setting; and
in ending display of the content data, changing the setting related to the display of the information processing apparatus based on the setting, stored in the storage unit.
(Sterling, ABST reciting “The content creator(s) establishes base or reference color space and enhanced color space data for each target color space. The enhanced color space data is stored as metadata and transmitted over an enhanced color channel separately from the base/reference color space. Both the base/reference data and metadata are encoded before transmission and decoded on the consumer side either by a separate decoder or a display device having an integrated decoder. In other aspects of the invention, auxiliary data relating to the target color space, such as, for example, brightness, luminance, contrast and other display settings can be transmitted over the enhanced color channel and decoded to control the target color space settings (i.e., display settings). The color adjustment metadata could be included in the auxiliary data or maintained separate from the same depending on the desired implementation.”)
Regarding Claim 10, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, wherein the display setting information is information about a setting of a display unit to reduce blue light, the display unit being configured to display the content data. (Sterling, ABST disclosing display setting information such as color space, and reciting “auxiliary data relating to the target color space, such as, for example, brightness, luminance, contrast and other display settings can be transmitted over the enhanced color channel and decoded to control the target color space settings (i.e., display settings).” The features of the setting of reducing blue light appear to be mere design choices and a question of an obvious and consequently non-inventive selection among a number of known possibilities, depending on the circumstances.)
Regarding Claim 11, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, wherein the display setting information is information about a setting indicating a color space set in a display unit configured to display the content data. (Sterling, ABST reciting “auxiliary data relating to the target color space, such as, for example, brightness, luminance, contrast and other display settings can be transmitted over the enhanced color channel and decoded to control the target color space settings (i.e., display settings).”)
Regarding Claim 12, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, wherein the display setting information is information about a model of a display unit configured to display the content data. (Sterling, ABST disclosing display setting information such as color space, and reciting “auxiliary data relating to the target color space, such as, for example, brightness, luminance, contrast and other display settings can be transmitted over the enhanced color channel and decoded to control the target color space settings (i.e., display settings).” The features of the setting of a display unit model appear to be mere design choices and a question of an obvious and consequently non-inventive selection among a number of known possibilities, depending on the circumstances. In addition, ¶58 reciting “For example, when addressing both a standard video system (e.g. NTSC) and one enhanced video system (e.g. a type High Dynamic Range display), the original digital source content would be stored along with the standard video system color metadata and the enhanced video system metadata (i.e. DSC+NTSC metadata+HDR metadata).”)
Regarding Claim 13, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, wherein the display setting information is setting information about an operating system (OS) of the information processing apparatus. (Sterling, ABST disclosing display setting information such as color space, and reciting “auxiliary data relating to the target color space, such as, for example, brightness, luminance, contrast and other display settings can be transmitted over the enhanced color channel and decoded to control the target color space settings (i.e., display settings).” The features of the setting of an operating system (OS) appear to be mere design choices and a question of an obvious and consequently non-inventive selection among a number of known possibilities, depending on the circumstances.)
Regarding Claim 14, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses The control method according to claim 1, wherein the display setting information is a display setting used by a plurality of applications for a general purpose. (Sterling, ¶47 reciting “the auxiliary data can carry dynamic range information instead of or in addition to the metadata”)
Regarding Claim 15, Sterling in view of Nakamura and Kobayashi discloses A device comprising: at least one memory device that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor that executes the set of instructions, the instructions, when executed, causing the device to perform operations comprising: (Sterling, ¶40)
generating content data to include display setting information, wherein the content data is generated by an information processing apparatus and the display setting information being setting information about a display of the information processing apparatus; displaying a screen for presetting a user or users to change the display settings of during display, the change presetting screen is determined when the content data is generated on the information processing apparatus, and displaying the content data based on the display setting information corresponding to the content data, wherein the content data is layout data created by the user, the created layout data on one or a plurality of images to be laid out on a plane of paper. (See Claim 1 rejections for detailed analysis)
Regarding Claim 16, See Claim 15 rejections for detailed analysis.
Conclusion
/YI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619