DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-19 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 1/10/24.
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/10/24 has been considered.
4. The oath filed on 1/10/24 has been entered.
7. Claims 1- 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. 8,382,987 as is evidenced by the specification of the instant application p.9.
The ‘987 patent teaches methods of capturing conjugated analyte using multimodal media comprising acrylamide and polysaccharides serving size exclusion and capture (claims 1-4).
The harvested analyte includes protein, antibody and nanoparticles are conjugated (col. 14-15) and the capture particles and molecular sieves (e.g. size exclusion) include various resins including acrylamide, hydrogels and baits for positively and negatively charged moieties (col. 27-29).
The ‘987 patent further discloses the capture particles and purification methods (col. 22).
As is evidenced in the instant specification in p. 9, multimodal modes comprise acrylamide and dye based affinity ligands include hydrogels and captocore, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
9. Claims 1 -19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub 2013/0034854 (IDS reference) in view of U.S. Pub. 2010/0204455 (IDS reference) and U.S, Pat. 8,382,987 (IDS reference).
The ‘854 publication teaches conjugation of nanoparticles with antibodies and the nanaoparticles including polymer dot (p. 6-10). The claimed polymer dot is readable upon semiconducting colloidal polymers with fluorescence (p. 8-9, [109-111]) with the diameter 5-100nm as is evidenced in claims 13-14.
The disclosure of the ‘854 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the purification methods with multimodal of SEC and capture and/or surfactant as in claims 1-8 of the instant application.
The teachings of the ‘987 patent have been discussed, supra.
The ‘455 publication teaches use of PEG surfactants in phosphate buffer in antibody purification for using SEC in preparation comprises impurities and discloses further optimization of antibody purification (p. 8-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to isolate nanoparticle conjugated antibodies as taught by the ‘854 publication and '455 publication with the nanoparticle conjugate antibodies generated by the ‘987 patent with the known method and conditions.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the isolation of the nanoparticle conjugated antibody improves purity and the known method with known concentrations will initiate purification method for further optimization.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
11. Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Pat 12,409,441.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘515 application recites methods of purifying protein comprising polymer filled chromatography (e.g. column) of resins of agarose and hydroxyapatite. The method further comprising use of surfactants. Given that two mixed resins that are identical to the claimed medium and it acts as multimodal and meets the limitations.
12. Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Pat. 10,934,366.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘366 patent teaches methods of purifying protein conjugated nanoparticles by mixed modal size exclusion and hydroxyapatite resins and column.
13. Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Pat. 10,814,305.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘305 patent recites methods of purifying protein comprising polymer filled chromatography (e.g. column) of resins of agarose and hydroxyapatite. The method further comprising use of surfactants. Given that two mixed resins that are identical to the claimed medium and it acts as multimodal and meets the limitations.
14. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
July 24, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641