DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (US 2025/0106878 A1). Regarding claim 11, Kumar et al. discloses a method, of a first device for performing sidelink reference signal transmission, comprising: receiving configuration for configuring a first dedicated sidelink resource pool for transmitting Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL-PRS) (Para 188 teaches of configuring separate resource pool for SL-PRS), wherein each slot in the first dedicated sidelink resource pool comprises Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) (Para 167 teaches of OFDM symbol for PSCCH) and OFDM symbols for SL-PRS (Para 160 teaches of OFDM symbol for SL-PRS); and determining an SL-PRS-Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) based on an SL-PRS resource in OFDM symbols configured for the SL-PRS resource and corresponding PSCCH in the OFDM symbols for PSCCH in a slot. (Para 163 teaches “ Each configured resource pool indicates the PSCCH used to reserve one or more SL-PRS configurations, the parameters of the one or more SL-PRS configurations” and Para 166-167 teaches of determining the SL-RSSI measurement for the configured OFDM symbol for the slot for PSCCH). Regarding claim 12, Kumar et al. discloses a method, wherein: one SL-PRS resource with one Resource Element (RE) or comb offset spreads bandwidth of the first dedicated sidelink resource pool; and/or each SL-PRS resource in the first dedicated sidelink resource pool spreads bandwidth of the first dedicated sidelink resource pool; and/or OFDM symbols for PSCCH and OFDM symbols for SL-PRS are separated in one slot (Para 163 teaches of comb offset of the SL-PRS). Regarding claim 13, Kumar et al. discloses a method, wherein: the determination of the SL-PRS-RSSI is based on linear average signal strength of the SL-PRS resource in OFDM symbols configured for the SL-PRS resource and corresponding PSCCH in the OFDM symbols for PSCCH in a slot. (Para 167 teaches “SL-RSSI is defined as the linear average of the total received power (e.g., in Watts) observed in the configured sub-channel in OFDM symbols of a slot configured for PSCCH and PSSCH, starting from the second OFDM symbol. “). Regarding claim 14, Kumar et al. discloses a method, further comprising: determining SL-PRS-Channel Occupancy Ratio (CR) in a slot based on a first ratio, wherein the first ratio is a first number of SL-PRS resources, granted or used by the first device in a first time interval, divided by a total number of SL-PRS resources in the first time interval; and/or determining SL-PRS-Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) in a slot based on a second ratio, wherein the second ratio is a second number of SL-PRS resources, corresponding to an SL-PRS-RSSI larger than a threshold in a second time interval, divided by a total number of SL-PRS resources in the second time interval. (Para 166 teaches “A UE may use two types of measurements to detect and mitigate the effect of congestion when Mode 2 resource allocation is applied: sidelink channel busy ratio (SL CBR) and sidelink channel occupancy ratio (SL CR). More specifically, the SL CBR (or simply CBR) can be used by UEs and other network entities (if reported) to manage the channel load and, if necessary, adapt the resources dedicated to sidelink. The CBR measured in a slot n is defined as the portion of sub-channels in the resource pool whose sidelink received signal strength indication (SL-RSSI) measured by the UE exceeds a (pre-) configured threshold sensed over a CBR measurement window [n-a, n−1], where a is equal to 100 or 100.Math.2.sup.μ slots, according to the higher layer parameter “sl-Time WindowSizeCBR.” As such, CBR measurements reflect the congestion on the medium. CBR measurements are applicable for RRC IDLE intra-frequency, RRC IDLE inter-frequency, RRC CONNECTED intra-frequency, and RRC CONNECTED inter-frequency.”) Regarding claim 16, Kumar et al. discloses a method, wherein: the received configuration further configures a second sidelink resource pool for PSSCH and optionally for SL-PRS; and/or the first device determines SL RSSI based on sub-channels of PSSCH in OFDM symbols and sub- channels of a corresponding PSCCH in OFDM symbols in a slot. (Para 167 teaches “ SL-RSSI is defined as the linear average of the total received power (e.g., in Watts) observed in the configured sub-channel in OFDM symbols of a slot configured for PSCCH and PSSCH, starting from the second OFDM symbol.”). Regarding claim 17, Kumar et al. discloses a method, further comprising: determining SL CR in a slot based on a first ratio, wherein the first ratio is a first number of sub- channels, granted or used by the first device in a first time interval, divided by a total number of sub-channels in the first time interval; and/or determining SL CBR in a slot based on a second ratio, wherein the second ratio is a second number of sub-channels, corresponding to an SL RSSI larger than a threshold in a second time interval, divided by a total number of sub-channels in the second time interval. (Para 166 teaches “A UE may use two types of measurements to detect and mitigate the effect of congestion when Mode 2 resource allocation is applied: sidelink channel busy ratio (SL CBR) and sidelink channel occupancy ratio (SL CR). More specifically, the SL CBR (or simply CBR) can be used by UEs and other network entities (if reported) to manage the channel load and, if necessary, adapt the resources dedicated to sidelink. The CBR measured in a slot n is defined as the portion of sub-channels in the resource pool whose sidelink received signal strength indication (SL-RSSI) measured by the UE exceeds a (pre-) configured threshold sensed over a CBR measurement window [n-a, n−1], where a is equal to 100 or 100.Math.2.sup.μ slots, according to the higher layer parameter “sl-Time WindowSizeCBR.” As such, CBR measurements reflect the congestion on the medium. CBR measurements are applicable for RRC IDLE intra-frequency, RRC IDLE inter-frequency, RRC CONNECTED intra-frequency, and RRC CONNECTED inter-frequency.”). Regarding claim 18, Kumar et al. discloses a method, wherein: when the first device attempts to or has or determines to perform sidelink transmission in the first dedicated sidelink resource pool for SL-PRS, wherein the sidelink transmission is associated with a first priority, the first device utilizes the first priority for checking CR limit; and/or when the first device attempts to or has or determines to transmit a PSSCH and an SL-PRS in a same 65slot in the second sidelink resource pool, the first device utilizes a higher priority between PSSCH priority and SL-PRS priority for checking CR limit. (Para 166-168 and Para 172-173 teaches of UE in mode 2 and UE may list the resources reserving it in priority order ). Regarding claim 19, Kumar et al. discloses a method, wherein: the OFDM symbols for SL-PRS in a slot comprises one or more SL-PRS occasions in the slot wherein the one or more SL-PRS occasions comprises at least a first SL-PRS occasion and a second SL-PRS occasion, which are separated in different OFDM symbols; and/or a first SL-PRS resource in the first SL-PRS occasion is configured with a same or different comb size than a second SL-PRS resource in the second SL-PRS occasion; and/or a first SL-PRS resource in the first SL-PRS occasion is configured with same or different contiguous OFDM symbols than a second SL-PRS resource in the second SL-PRS occasion; and/or a first SL-PRS resource in the first SL-PRS occasion is configured with a same or different starting OFDM symbol than a second SL-PRS resource in the second SL-PRS occasion. (Para 163 The one or more SL-PRS configurations within the resource pool specify the number of symbols occupied by the SL-PRS, the comb type of the SL-PRS, the comb offset of the SL-PRS, the number of subchannels occupied by the SL-PRS, the subchannel size, and the starting resource block (RB). Para 189 teaches ” More specifically, a conflict with a periodic SL-PRS resource occasion (or repetition) may be automatically addressed by the next SL-PRS occasion (repetition). That is, if one occasion of a periodic SL-PRS resource cannot be measured because of a conflict, the receiver can simply measure the next occasion of the periodic SL-PRS resource”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-10 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: As per independent claim 1, the art of the record fails to teach nor would it have been obvious that the combination of the prior art teach these limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the claim of:
using, when the first device attempts to transmit PSSCH and a second SL-PRS in the second sidelink resource pool in slot m, Sidelink Channel Occupancy Ratio (SL CR) and Sidelink Channel Busy Ratio (SL CBR) evaluated or measured or determined in slot m-k2 for the PSSCH and the second SL-PRS,
wherein k2 corresponds to a second congestion control processing time; and using, when the first device attempts to transmit a first SL-PRS in the first dedicated sidelink resource pool in slot n, SL-PRS-CR and SL-PRS-CBR evaluated or measured or determined in slot n-kl for the first SL-PRS, wherein k1 corresponds to a first congestion control processing time which is larger than or equal to k2. As per independent claim 20, the art of the record fails to teach nor would it have been obvious that the combination of the prior art teach these limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the claim of: use, when the first device attempts to transmit PSSCH and a second SL-PRS in the second sidelink resource pool in slot m, Sidelink Channel Occupancy Ratio (SL CR) and Sidelink Channel Busy Ratio (SL CBR) evaluated or measured or determined in slot m-k2 for the PSSCH and the second SL-PRS, wherein k2 corresponds to a second congestion control processing time; and use, when the first device attempts to transmit a first SL-PRS in the first dedicated sidelink resource pool in slot n, SL-PRS-CR and SL-PRS-CBR evaluated or measured or determined in slot n-kl for the first SL-PRS, wherein k1 corresponds to a first congestion control processing time which is larger than or equal to k2.
The closes prior art is Kumar et al. US 2025/0324222 A1 teaches of the first resource pool for SL-PSR and second resource pool for PSSCH. Kumar et al. also teaches of performing SL-CR and SL-CBR on two slot n and slot n-N. Where N is the congestion control processing time.
Conclusion
/AJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467