DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240114449 A1 to Elshafie et al. (hereinafter “Elshafie”).
As per claim 1, 15, Elshafie discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Elshafie Fig. 3), the UE comprising: a transceiver configured to receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Elshafie Fig. 3 and [0060]); a low-power receiver (LR) (Elshafie Fig. 3 and [0027]); and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver and the LR (Elshafie Fig. 3 and [0026-0027]), the processor configured to: determine, based on the PDCCH, a downlink control information (DCI) format including an indication on whether to activate the LR to receive a low-power wake up signal (LP-WUS) (Elshafie [0060] and [0077] An LP signal may be any signal that may be received by the radio 408, for example a signal transmitted in a frequency band that the radio 408 is configured to monitor or a signal transmitted at a time that the radio 408 is configured to periodically monitor. The radio 408 may be configured to periodically monitor for an LP signal, such as an LP-WUS, a paging indicator, a LP synchronization signal (LP-SS), an LP synchronization preamble signal (LP-sync-preamble signal), or an LP reference signal (LP-RS), in accordance with a schedule, for example in accordance with a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycle or in accordance with a configured period. The period may be configured by a network node, for example a serving cell of the UE 402, via the TRP 404. The LP-WUS may be an on-off keying (OOK) signal, a sequence-based signal, a coded signal (e.g., PDCCH-based DCI). The LP-WUS or the paging indicator may schedule an LP-RS for the radio 408 to receive. The LP-RS may be any reference signal that may be measured by the radio 408, for example a CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal (PRS), or a synchronization signal. The TRP 404 may transmit DCI, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or an RRC configuration including an indicator of the periodic cycle to the radio 406 or the radio 408. The indicator may be used to configure the period which the radio 408 may use to periodically monitor for a LP-RS from a network node, such as the TRP 404, or from another UE, such as the UE 401, when the radio 408 is in a periodically active mode. In some aspects, the TRP 404 may transmit an RRC configuration to the radio 406 to configure the periodic cycle before the UE 402 switches the radio 406 to a sleep mode.); determine, based on the indication in the DCI format, to activate the LR (Elshafie [0077] An LP signal may be any signal that may be received by the radio 408, for example a signal transmitted in a frequency band that the radio 408 is configured to monitor or a signal transmitted at a time that the radio 408 is configured to periodically monitor. The radio 408 may be configured to periodically monitor for an LP signal, such as an LP-WUS, a paging indicator, a LP synchronization signal (LP-SS), an LP synchronization preamble signal (LP-sync-preamble signal), or an LP reference signal (LP-RS), in accordance with a schedule, for example in accordance with a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycle or in accordance with a configured period. The period may be configured by a network node, for example a serving cell of the UE 402, via the TRP 404. The LP-WUS may be an on-off keying (OOK) signal, a sequence-based signal, a coded signal (e.g., PDCCH-based DCI). The LP-WUS or the paging indicator may schedule an LP-RS for the radio 408 to receive. The LP-RS may be any reference signal that may be measured by the radio 408, for example a CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal (PRS), or a synchronization signal. The TRP 404 may transmit DCI, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or an RRC configuration including an indicator of the periodic cycle to the radio 406 or the radio 408. The indicator may be used to configure the period which the radio 408 may use to periodically monitor for a LP-RS from a network node, such as the TRP 404, or from another UE, such as the UE 401, when the radio 408 is in a periodically active mode. In some aspects, the TRP 404 may transmit an RRC configuration to the radio 406 to configure the periodic cycle before the UE 402 switches the radio 406 to a sleep mode.); and determine monitoring occasions for the LP-WUS, wherein the LR is configured to receive the LP-WUS based on the monitoring occasions (Elshafie [0077] An LP signal may be any signal that may be received by the radio 408, for example a signal transmitted in a frequency band that the radio 408 is configured to monitor or a signal transmitted at a time that the radio 408 is configured to periodically monitor. The radio 408 may be configured to periodically monitor for an LP signal, such as an LP-WUS, a paging indicator, a LP synchronization signal (LP-SS), an LP synchronization preamble signal (LP-sync-preamble signal), or an LP reference signal (LP-RS), in accordance with a schedule, for example in accordance with a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycle or in accordance with a configured period. The period may be configured by a network node, for example a serving cell of the UE 402, via the TRP 404. The LP-WUS may be an on-off keying (OOK) signal, a sequence-based signal, a coded signal (e.g., PDCCH-based DCI). The LP-WUS or the paging indicator may schedule an LP-RS for the radio 408 to receive. The LP-RS may be any reference signal that may be measured by the radio 408, for example a CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal (PRS), or a synchronization signal. The TRP 404 may transmit DCI, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or an RRC configuration including an indicator of the periodic cycle to the radio 406 or the radio 408. The indicator may be used to configure the period which the radio 408 may use to periodically monitor for a LP-RS from a network node, such as the TRP 404, or from another UE, such as the UE 401, when the radio 408 is in a periodically active mode. In some aspects, the TRP 404 may transmit an RRC configuration to the radio 406 to configure the periodic cycle before the UE 402 switches the radio 406 to a sleep mode.).
As per claim 2, 16, Elshafie discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the PDCCH is received based on a common search space (CSS) set (Elshafie [0060] FIG. 2B illustrates an example of various DL channels within a subframe of a frame. The physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carries DCI within one or more control channel elements (CCEs) (e.g., 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 CCEs), each CCE including six RE groups (REGs), each REG including 12 consecutive REs in an OFDM symbol of an RB. A PDCCH within one BWP may be referred to as a control resource set (CORESET). A UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space (e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space) during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels. Additional BWPs may be located at greater and/or lower frequencies across the channel bandwidth. A primary synchronization signal (PSS) may be within symbol 2 of particular subframes of a frame. The PSS is used by a UE 104 to determine subframe/symbol timing and a physical layer identity. A secondary synchronization signal (SSS) may be within symbol 4 of particular subframes of a frame. The SSS is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing. Based on the physical layer identity and the physical layer cell identity group number, the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI, the UE can determine the locations of the DM-RS. The physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), may be logically grouped with the PSS and SSS to form a synchronization signal (SS)/PBCH block (also referred to as SS block (SSB)). The MIB provides a number of RBs in the system bandwidth and a system frame number (SFN). The physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carries user data, broadcast system information not transmitted through the PBCH such as system information blocks (SIB s), and paging messages.).
As per claim 5, 19, Elshafie discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the monitoring occasions for the LP-WUS are located in active portions of discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles for the LR (Elshafie [0077] An LP signal may be any signal that may be received by the radio 408, for example a signal transmitted in a frequency band that the radio 408 is configured to monitor or a signal transmitted at a time that the radio 408 is configured to periodically monitor. The radio 408 may be configured to periodically monitor for an LP signal, such as an LP-WUS, a paging indicator, a LP synchronization signal (LP-SS), an LP synchronization preamble signal (LP-sync-preamble signal), or an LP reference signal (LP-RS), in accordance with a schedule, for example in accordance with a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycle or in accordance with a configured period. The period may be configured by a network node, for example a serving cell of the UE 402, via the TRP 404. The LP-WUS may be an on-off keying (OOK) signal, a sequence-based signal, a coded signal (e.g., PDCCH-based DCI). The LP-WUS or the paging indicator may schedule an LP-RS for the radio 408 to receive. The LP-RS may be any reference signal that may be measured by the radio 408, for example a CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal (PRS), or a synchronization signal. The TRP 404 may transmit DCI, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or an RRC configuration including an indicator of the periodic cycle to the radio 406 or the radio 408. The indicator may be used to configure the period which the radio 408 may use to periodically monitor for a LP-RS from a network node, such as the TRP 404, or from another UE, such as the UE 401, when the radio 408 is in a periodically active mode. In some aspects, the TRP 404 may transmit an RRC configuration to the radio 406 to configure the periodic cycle before the UE 402 switches the radio 406 to a sleep mode.).
As per claim 8, Elshafie discloses a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (Elshafie Fig. 3), the BS comprising: a processor (Elshafie Fig. 3) configured to: determine a downlink control information (DCI) format including an indication on whether to activate a low-power receiver and transmit a low-power wake up signal (LP-WUS) (Elshafie [0060] and [0077] An LP signal may be any signal that may be received by the radio 408, for example a signal transmitted in a frequency band that the radio 408 is configured to monitor or a signal transmitted at a time that the radio 408 is configured to periodically monitor. The radio 408 may be configured to periodically monitor for an LP signal, such as an LP-WUS, a paging indicator, a LP synchronization signal (LP-SS), an LP synchronization preamble signal (LP-sync-preamble signal), or an LP reference signal (LP-RS), in accordance with a schedule, for example in accordance with a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycle or in accordance with a configured period. The period may be configured by a network node, for example a serving cell of the UE 402, via the TRP 404. The LP-WUS may be an on-off keying (OOK) signal, a sequence-based signal, a coded signal (e.g., PDCCH-based DCI). The LP-WUS or the paging indicator may schedule an LP-RS for the radio 408 to receive. The LP-RS may be any reference signal that may be measured by the radio 408, for example a CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal (PRS), or a synchronization signal. The TRP 404 may transmit DCI, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or an RRC configuration including an indicator of the periodic cycle to the radio 406 or the radio 408. The indicator may be used to configure the period which the radio 408 may use to periodically monitor for a LP-RS from a network node, such as the TRP 404, or from another UE, such as the UE 401, when the radio 408 is in a periodically active mode. In some aspects, the TRP 404 may transmit an RRC configuration to the radio 406 to configure the periodic cycle before the UE 402 switches the radio 406 to a sleep mode.); and determine monitoring occasions for the LP-WUS (Elshafie [0077] An LP signal may be any signal that may be received by the radio 408, for example a signal transmitted in a frequency band that the radio 408 is configured to monitor or a signal transmitted at a time that the radio 408 is configured to periodically monitor. The radio 408 may be configured to periodically monitor for an LP signal, such as an LP-WUS, a paging indicator, a LP synchronization signal (LP-SS), an LP synchronization preamble signal (LP-sync-preamble signal), or an LP reference signal (LP-RS), in accordance with a schedule, for example in accordance with a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycle or in accordance with a configured period. The period may be configured by a network node, for example a serving cell of the UE 402, via the TRP 404. The LP-WUS may be an on-off keying (OOK) signal, a sequence-based signal, a coded signal (e.g., PDCCH-based DCI). The LP-WUS or the paging indicator may schedule an LP-RS for the radio 408 to receive. The LP-RS may be any reference signal that may be measured by the radio 408, for example a CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal (PRS), or a synchronization signal. The TRP 404 may transmit DCI, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or an RRC configuration including an indicator of the periodic cycle to the radio 406 or the radio 408. The indicator may be used to configure the period which the radio 408 may use to periodically monitor for a LP-RS from a network node, such as the TRP 404, or from another UE, such as the UE 401, when the radio 408 is in a periodically active mode. In some aspects, the TRP 404 may transmit an RRC configuration to the radio 406 to configure the periodic cycle before the UE 402 switches the radio 406 to a sleep mode.); and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor (Elshafie Fig. 3), the transceiver configured to: transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including the DCI format (Elshafie [0060] and [0077] An LP signal may be any signal that may be received by the radio 408, for example a signal transmitted in a frequency band that the radio 408 is configured to monitor or a signal transmitted at a time that the radio 408 is configured to periodically monitor. The radio 408 may be configured to periodically monitor for an LP signal, such as an LP-WUS, a paging indicator, a LP synchronization signal (LP-SS), an LP synchronization preamble signal (LP-sync-preamble signal), or an LP reference signal (LP-RS), in accordance with a schedule, for example in accordance with a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycle or in accordance with a configured period. The period may be configured by a network node, for example a serving cell of the UE 402, via the TRP 404. The LP-WUS may be an on-off keying (OOK) signal, a sequence-based signal, a coded signal (e.g., PDCCH-based DCI). The LP-WUS or the paging indicator may schedule an LP-RS for the radio 408 to receive. The LP-RS may be any reference signal that may be measured by the radio 408, for example a CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal (PRS), or a synchronization signal. The TRP 404 may transmit DCI, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or an RRC configuration including an indicator of the periodic cycle to the radio 406 or the radio 408. The indicator may be used to configure the period which the radio 408 may use to periodically monitor for a LP-RS from a network node, such as the TRP 404, or from another UE, such as the UE 401, when the radio 408 is in a periodically active mode. In some aspects, the TRP 404 may transmit an RRC configuration to the radio 406 to configure the periodic cycle before the UE 402 switches the radio 406 to a sleep mode.); and transmit the LP-WUS based on the monitoring occasions for the LP-WUS (Elshafie [0060] and [0077] An LP signal may be any signal that may be received by the radio 408, for example a signal transmitted in a frequency band that the radio 408 is configured to monitor or a signal transmitted at a time that the radio 408 is configured to periodically monitor. The radio 408 may be configured to periodically monitor for an LP signal, such as an LP-WUS, a paging indicator, a LP synchronization signal (LP-SS), an LP synchronization preamble signal (LP-sync-preamble signal), or an LP reference signal (LP-RS), in accordance with a schedule, for example in accordance with a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycle or in accordance with a configured period. The period may be configured by a network node, for example a serving cell of the UE 402, via the TRP 404. The LP-WUS may be an on-off keying (OOK) signal, a sequence-based signal, a coded signal (e.g., PDCCH-based DCI). The LP-WUS or the paging indicator may schedule an LP-RS for the radio 408 to receive. The LP-RS may be any reference signal that may be measured by the radio 408, for example a CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal (PRS), or a synchronization signal. The TRP 404 may transmit DCI, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or an RRC configuration including an indicator of the periodic cycle to the radio 406 or the radio 408. The indicator may be used to configure the period which the radio 408 may use to periodically monitor for a LP-RS from a network node, such as the TRP 404, or from another UE, such as the UE 401, when the radio 408 is in a periodically active mode. In some aspects, the TRP 404 may transmit an RRC configuration to the radio 406 to configure the periodic cycle before the UE 402 switches the radio 406 to a sleep mode.).
As per claim 9, Elshafie discloses the BS of claim 8, wherein the PDCCH is transmitted based on a common search space (CSS) set (Elshafie [0060] FIG. 2B illustrates an example of various DL channels within a subframe of a frame. The physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carries DCI within one or more control channel elements (CCEs) (e.g., 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 CCEs), each CCE including six RE groups (REGs), each REG including 12 consecutive REs in an OFDM symbol of an RB. A PDCCH within one BWP may be referred to as a control resource set (CORESET). A UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space (e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space) during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels. Additional BWPs may be located at greater and/or lower frequencies across the channel bandwidth. A primary synchronization signal (PSS) may be within symbol 2 of particular subframes of a frame. The PSS is used by a UE 104 to determine subframe/symbol timing and a physical layer identity. A secondary synchronization signal (SSS) may be within symbol 4 of particular subframes of a frame. The SSS is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing. Based on the physical layer identity and the physical layer cell identity group number, the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI, the UE can determine the locations of the DM-RS. The physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), may be logically grouped with the PSS and SSS to form a synchronization signal (SS)/PBCH block (also referred to as SS block (SSB)). The MIB provides a number of RBs in the system bandwidth and a system frame number (SFN). The physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carries user data, broadcast system information not transmitted through the PBCH such as system information blocks (SIB s), and paging messages.).
As per claim 12, Elshafie discloses the BS of claim 8, wherein the monitoring occasions for the LP-WUS are located in active portions of discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles for the LR (Elshafie [0077] An LP signal may be any signal that may be received by the radio 408, for example a signal transmitted in a frequency band that the radio 408 is configured to monitor or a signal transmitted at a time that the radio 408 is configured to periodically monitor. The radio 408 may be configured to periodically monitor for an LP signal, such as an LP-WUS, a paging indicator, a LP synchronization signal (LP-SS), an LP synchronization preamble signal (LP-sync-preamble signal), or an LP reference signal (LP-RS), in accordance with a schedule, for example in accordance with a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) cycle or in accordance with a configured period. The period may be configured by a network node, for example a serving cell of the UE 402, via the TRP 404. The LP-WUS may be an on-off keying (OOK) signal, a sequence-based signal, a coded signal (e.g., PDCCH-based DCI). The LP-WUS or the paging indicator may schedule an LP-RS for the radio 408 to receive. The LP-RS may be any reference signal that may be measured by the radio 408, for example a CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal (PRS), or a synchronization signal. The TRP 404 may transmit DCI, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or an RRC configuration including an indicator of the periodic cycle to the radio 406 or the radio 408. The indicator may be used to configure the period which the radio 408 may use to periodically monitor for a LP-RS from a network node, such as the TRP 404, or from another UE, such as the UE 401, when the radio 408 is in a periodically active mode. In some aspects, the TRP 404 may transmit an RRC configuration to the radio 406 to configure the periodic cycle before the UE 402 switches the radio 406 to a sleep mode.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476