DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-25, 27-40 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Regarding the Double Patenting rejection:
Applicant has not amended the claims to be patentably distinct from the conflicting claims of United States Patent No. 11,221, 155 and 11,874,006 nor has applicant filed the appropriate terminal disclaimer. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,221,155 in view of Wan et al. CN 108759035A (“Wan”). The claims of the Patent 11,221,155 disclose all the limitation of the claimed invention except “apply an adjustment value to the second value of the second operating parameter”.
Wan teaches an air conditioner control method, device, air conditioner, electronic device and storage medium. wherein the control method of air conditioner comprises: when detecting the fault of the temperature sensor of heat exchanger of air conditioner, obtaining the current working mode of the air conditioner, according to the current work mode, obtaining the substitution temperature of temperature sensor, and control air temperature continue to run according to the replacement. Specifically, Wan teaches apply an adjustment to the second value of the second operating parameter [SEE page 6-7].
Before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Patent 11,221,155 with apply an adjustment to the second value of the second operating parameter of Wan. The motivation for doing so would has been to ensure proper/accurate operation of the air conditioner.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,874,006 in view of Wan et al. CN 108759035A (“Wan”). The claims of the Patent 11,874,006 disclose all the limitation of the claimed invention except “apply an adjustment value to the second value of the second operating parameter”.
Wan teaches an air conditioner control method, device, air conditioner, electronic device and storage medium. wherein the control method of air conditioner comprises: when detecting the fault of the temperature sensor of heat exchanger of air conditioner, obtaining the current working mode of the air conditioner, according to the current work mode, obtaining the substitution temperature of temperature sensor, and control air temperature continue to run according to the replacement. Specifically, Wan teaches apply an adjustment to the second value of the second operating parameter [SEE page 6-7].
Before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Patent 11,874,006 with apply an adjustment to the second value of the second operating parameter of Wan. The motivation for doing so would has been to ensure proper/accurate operation of the air conditioner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24, 26-29, 31-34, 36-37, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaber et al. U.S Patent No. 12,253,272 (“Jaber”) in view of Nishikawa et al. US Pub. No. 2009/0183519 (“Nishikawa”)1.
Regarding claim 21, Jaber teaches a control system for a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system [SEE fig. 1], comprising:
a plurality of refrigerant sensors, wherein the plurality of refrigerant sensors comprises a first subset of refrigerant sensors disposed withing an indoor unit [111, 120 of 104 unit] of the HVAC system and a second subset of refrigerant sensors disposed within an outdoor unit [113, 112 of 102 unit] of the HVAC system; and
outdoor metering device 120 may be configured to meter the volume and/or flow rate of refrigerant through the outdoor metering device 120 [Col. 5 lines 23-25]
HVAC system 100 may include a pressure sensor 111 configured to sense or detect a pressure of the refrigerant at the suction side of compressor 116 [Col. 6 lines 1-3]
the outdoor controller 126 may be configured to receive information related to an ambient temperature associated with the outdoor unit 104, information related to a temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger 114, and/or information related to refrigerant temperatures and/or pressures of refrigerant entering, exiting, and/or within the outdoor heat exchanger 114 [Col. 7 line 65 to Col. 8 line 4]
the indoor metering device 112 may be configured to meter the volume and/or flow rate of refrigerant through the indoor metering device 112 [Col. 4 lines 19-21]
the temperature of the coil 109 in indoor heat exchanger 108 (e.g., the temperature measured by sensor 113) may comprise the external temperature of the coil 109, the temperature of the refrigerant flowing through the coil 109 [Col. 6 lines 7-11]
the indoor EEV controller 138 may be configured to receive information regarding temperatures and pressures of refrigerant entering, exiting, and/or within the indoor heat exchanger 108 [Col. 7 lines 45-48]
a controller configured to:
operate the HVAC system to conditional an air flow based on first feedback from a first refrigerant sensor of the plurality of refrigerant sensors, wherein the first feedback comprises a first value of a first operating parameter of a refrigerant of the HVAC system;
receive second feedback from a second refrigerant sensor of the plurality of refrigerant sensors, wherein the second feedback comprises a second value of a second operating parameter of the refrigerant of the HVAC system.
The system controller 106 may generally be configured to selectively communicate with an indoor controller 124 of the indoor unit 102, an outdoor controller 126 of the outdoor unit 104, and/or other components of the HVAC system 100. In some embodiments, the system controller 106 may be configured to control operation of the indoor unit 102 and/or the outdoor unit 104. In some embodiments, the system controller 106 may be configured to monitor and/or communicate, directly or indirectly, with a plurality of sensors associated with components of the indoor unit 102, the outdoor unit 104, etc. The sensors may measure or detect a variety of parameters, such as, for example, pressure, temperature, and flow rate of the refrigerant as well as pressure and temperature of other components or fluids of or associated with HVAC system 100. [Col. 5 lines 42-56]
[READ further Col. 7 line 42 to Col. 8 line 16; Col. 8 lines 39-56; and Fig. 3]
Jaber further teaches the current temperature of coil 109 may be indirectly measured or estimated from other measured values or parameters at 210. For instance, in some embodiments, a pressure of the refrigerant may be measured or detected at any suitable location within HVAC system 100 (e.g., within outdoor unit 104, indoor unit 102, etc.), and then the temperature of coil 109 may then be calculated or estimated based on known relationships and variables. Specifically, in some embodiments, pressure sensor 111 may measure a pressure of the refrigerant at the suction side of compressor 116. This measured pressure may be converted (e.g., via a look up table or suitable calculation, etc.) into a saturated suction temperature (SST) of the refrigerant at the measured pressure. However, it should be noted that the pressure of the refrigerant at the suction side of the compressor 116 (e.g., the pressure measured by sensor 111) may be slightly lower than the pressure of the refrigerant within coil 109. This is driven by a number of factors (e.g., the length of the flow path between the coils, the relative diameters of flow paths within HVAC system 100, etc.). As a result, the derived value of SST may be less than the actual vaporization temperature of the refrigerant when it was flowing within the coil 109 (i.e., the coil temperature). Therefore, in some embodiments, an offset may be applied to the derived value of SST based on a known (or estimated) pressure difference of the refrigerant between coil 109 and compressor 116 to thereby give the coil temperature [Col. 12 line 39 to Col. 13 line 26]. In other words, Jaber teaches the coil temperature may be calculated from refrigerant suction pressure by deriving a saturated suction temperature and applying an offset to account for pressure differences between the coil and compressor.
However, Jaber does not teach in response to a determination that the first feedback from the first refrigerant sensor is unavailable; apply an adjustment value to the second value of the second operating parameter; and operate the HVAC system to conditional the air flow based on the second value instead of the first value.
Nishikawa teaches a cooling system [SEE fig. 1] is provided in which an integrated controller controls the compressor for compressing a refrigerant and at least one constituent device which is a separate device from the compressor and that constitutes a refrigerant circulation circuit together with the compressor. The integrated controller has a control data generation unit that controls the compressor using a compressor sensor for detecting a first physical value, which is a physical value of the refrigerant at the time of normal operations. Specifically, Nishikawa teaches in response to a determination that the first feedback from the first refrigerant sensor is unavailable, apply an adjustment value to the second value of the second operating parameter, and operate the cooling system to conditional the air flow based on the second value instead of the first value.
[0069] while a configuration utilizing the suction pressure sensor 51d will be described below, a suction temperature sensor for detecting the temperature of the refrigerant being taken in by the compressors 51a to 51c also may be used as the compressor sensor in place of the suction pressure sensor 51d. Alternatively, either a discharge pressure sensor for detecting the pressure of the refrigerant being discharged by the compressors 51a to 51c or a discharge temperature sensor for detecting the temperature of the refrigerant discharged by the compressors 51a to 51c also may be used as the compressor sensor.
[0073] As such, when the suction pressure or the suction temperature of the compressor 51 is the first physical value, as the second physical value having a close relationship with the first physical value, such physical values as the inside temperature of the showcase 53, the temperature of the refrigerant flowing in the showcase 53, or the pressure of the refrigerant flowing in the showcase 53 can be listed.
[0097] When the abnormality of the suction pressure sensor 51d was detected by the abnormality detection unit 13, the substitute sensor selection unit 14 selects a substitute sensor for controlling the compressor 51 in place of the suction pressure sensor 51d from the temperature sensors 53b, 54b, and 55b . . . using the correlation coefficient between the suction pressure sensor value and the temperature sensor values.
[0099] The control data generation unit 16 generates control data being sent to and set at the device controllers. Also, when the abnormality of the suction pressure sensor 51d was detected by the abnormality detection unit 13, the control data generation unit 16 generates a supplementation value for the suction pressure sensor value ("suction pressure sensor supplementation value") based on the temperature sensor value from the substitute sensor selected by the substitute sensor selection unit 14. Then, the communication control unit 12 sends and sets the suction pressure sensor supplementation value via the communication I/F unit 11 to control the compressor 51.
[0117] Once the substitute sensor is selected, the control data generation unit 16 computes the suction pressure sensor value of the suction pressure sensor 51d from the temperature sensor value of the substitute sensor. In particular, the control data generation unit 16 converts the temperature sensor value x newly obtained from the substitute sensor to the suction pressure sensor supplementation value using the regression line y corresponding to the substitute sensor. In other words, in the formula (2), by substituting x with the sensor value x newly obtained from the substitute sensor, the suction pressure sensor supplementation value is computed.
Accordingly, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Jaber with those of Nishikawa to arrive at the claimed invention. Specifically, it would have been obvious to modify Jaber’s system, which already teaches calculating coil temperature from refrigerant pressure and applying offsets, to further include the fallback and substitution mechanism taught by Nishikawa – i.e., substituting second feedback from another refrigerant sensor, applying an adjustment value, and continuing system operation based on the adjusted second feedback because doing so would have predictable improved reliability and robustness of HVAC operation in the event of unavailable or filed sensor data.
Regarding claim 22, Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches wherein the controller is configured to apply the adjustment to the second value of the second operating parameter to approximate the first value of the first operating parameter [SEE par. 0117 of Nishikawa].
Regarding claim 23, Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches the controller is configured to add the adjustment value to the second value of the second operating parameter or subtract the adjustment value from the second value of the second operating parameter to approximate the first value of the first operating parameter [SEE formula (2) of Nishikawa].
Regarding claim 24, Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches the adjustment value is based on an equipment specification of the HVAC system, testing data of the HVAC system,
Regarding claim 26, Jaber teaches the current temperature of coil 109 may be indirectly measured or estimated from other measured values or parameters at 210. For instance, in some embodiments, a pressure of the refrigerant may be measured or detected at any suitable location within HVAC system 100 (e.g., within outdoor unit 104, indoor unit 102, etc.), and then the temperature of coil 109 may then be calculated or estimated based on known relationships and variables [Col. 12 lines 38-46]. Therefore, it is obvious to one skill in the art that Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches the first operating parameter of is a temperature of the refrigerant in an indoor coil of the indoor unit and the second operating parameter is a temperature of the refrigerant on a suction side of a compressor the outdoor unit [SEE Nishikawa’s paragraph in claim 21].
Regarding claim 27, Jaber teaches the current temperature of coil 109 may be indirectly measured or estimated from other measured values or parameters at 210. For instance, in some embodiments, a pressure of the refrigerant may be measured or detected at any suitable location within HVAC system 100 (e.g., within outdoor unit 104, indoor unit 102, etc.), and then the temperature of coil 109 may then be calculated or estimated based on known relationships and variables [Col. 12 lines 38-46]. Therefore, it is obvious to one skill in the art that Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches the first operating parameter is a temperature of the refrigerant on a suction side of a compressor of the outdoor unit, and the second operating parameter is a temperature of the refrigerant exiting an indoor coil of the indoor unit [SEE Nishikawa’s paragraph in claim 21].
Regarding claim 28, Jaber teaches the current temperature of coil 109 may be indirectly measured or estimated from other measured values or parameters at 210. For instance, in some embodiments, a pressure of the refrigerant may be measured or detected at any suitable location within HVAC system 100 (e.g., within outdoor unit 104, indoor unit 102, etc.), and then the temperature of coil 109 may then be calculated or estimated based on known relationships and variables [Col. 12 lines 38-46]. Therefore, it is obvious to one skill in the art that Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches the first operating parameter is a temperature of the refrigerant discharged by a compressor of the outdoor unit, and the second operating parameter is a pressure of the refrigerant discharged by the compressor of the outdoor unit, and the controller is configured to:
in response to the determination that the first feedback from the first refrigerant sensor is unavailable:
receive a third feedback from an additional sensor of the outdoor unit, wherein the third feedback comprises a temperature of an ambient environment of the outdoor unit [SEE col. 4 lines 28-35; col. 5 lines 55-67; col. 7 line 55 to col. 8 line 16 of Jaber]; and
operate the HVAC system to condition the airflow based on the second value instead of the first value and based on the temperature of the ambient environment [SEE discussion in claim 21]
Regarding claim 29, Jaber teaches the current temperature of coil 109 may be indirectly measured or estimated from other measured values or parameters at 210. For instance, in some embodiments, a pressure of the refrigerant may be measured or detected at any suitable location within HVAC system 100 (e.g., within outdoor unit 104, indoor unit 102, etc.), and then the temperature of coil 109 may then be calculated or estimated based on known relationships and variables [Col. 12 lines 38-46]. Therefore, it is obvious to one skill in the art that Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches the first operating parameter is a pressure of the refrigerant, and the controller is configured to:
in response to the determination that the first feedback from the first refrigerant sensor is unavailable:
receive a third feedback from an additional sensor of the outdoor unit, wherein the third feedback comprises a temperature of an ambient environment of the outdoor unit [SEE col. 4 lines 28-35; col. 5 lines 55-67; col. 7 line 55 to col. 8 line 16 of Jaber]; and
operate the HVAC system to condition the airflow based on the second value instead of the first value and based on the temperature of the ambient environment [SEE discussion in claim 21].
Regarding claim 31, it is directed to a system comprises a non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer executable instruction to implement the system as set forth in claim 21. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 32, Jaber teaches the current temperature of coil 109 may be indirectly measured or estimated from other measured values or parameters at 210. For instance, in some embodiments, a pressure of the refrigerant may be measured or detected at any suitable location within HVAC system 100 (e.g., within outdoor unit 104, indoor unit 102, etc.), and then the temperature of coil 109 may then be calculated or estimated based on known relationships and variables [Col. 12 lines 38-46] and Nishikawa teaches the controller 10 has a control data generation unit 16 that controls the compressor using a compressor sensor for detecting a first physical value, which is a physical value of the refrigerant at the time of normal operations, and an abnormality detection unit 13 for detecting an abnormality of the compressor sensor. The control data generation unit 16 controls the compressor using a constituent device sensor for detecting a second physical value that is a physical value having a close correlation with the first physical value in place of the compressor sensor when the abnormality was detected by the abnormality detection unit 13. Therefore, it is obvious to one of skill in the art that Jaber in view of Nishikawa teach the first operating parameter is a temperature of the refrigerant within the outdoor unit, and the second operating parameter is a temperature of the refrigerant within the indoor unit.
Regarding claim 33, Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches the temperature of the refrigerant within the outdoor unit is a suction temperature of the refrigerant received by compressor of the outdoor unit [SEE par. 0006 and fig. 18 of Nishikawa], and the temperature of the refrigerant within the indoor unit is an evaporation temperature of the refrigerant discharged from an indoor coil of the indoor unit [SEE Col. 12 lines 38-54].
Regarding claim 34, Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches the first operating parameter is a pressure of the refrigerant at a suction side of a compressor the outdoor unit [SEE par. 12 and fig. 18 of Nishikawa], and the second operating parameter is a pressure of the refrigerant exiting an indoor coil of the indoor unit [SEE col. 7 lines 41-54; col. 8 line 57 to col. 9 line 21 of Jaber].
Regarding claim 36, SEE discussion in claim 23.
Regarding claim 37, Jaber teaches a control system for a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a plurality of refrigerant sensors, wherein the plurality of refrigerant sensors comprises a first subset of refrigerant sensors disposed within an indoor unit of the HVAC system and a second subset of refrigerant sensors disposed within an outdoor unit of the HVAC system [SEE discussion in claim 21];
and a controller communicatively coupled to the plurality of refrigerant sensors [Col. 5 lines 42-56], wherein the controller is configured to:
operate the HVAC system to condition an air flow based on first feedback from a first refrigerant sensor [111 - HVAC system 100 may include a pressure sensor 111 configured to sense or detect a pressure of the refrigerant at the suction side of compressor 116] of the plurality of refrigerant sensors, wherein the first feedback is indicative of a first parameter of a refrigerant of the HVAC system;
receive second feedback from a second refrigerant sensor [113 - the temperature of the coil 109 in indoor heat exchanger 108 (e.g., the temperature measured by sensor 113) may comprise the external temperature of the coil 109, the temperature of the refrigerant flowing through the coil 109] of the plurality of refrigerant sensors wherein the second feedback comprises a second parameter of the refrigerant of the HVAC system;
receive third feedback from an ambient sensor of the outdoor unit wherein the third feedback comprises a temperature of an ambient environment of the outdoor unit [the outdoor controller 126 may be configured to receive information related to an ambient temperature associated with the outdoor unit 104 – col. 7 lines 65-67];
Jaber does not teach in response to a determination that the first feedback is unavailable, operate the HVAC system to condition the air flow based on the second feedback
Nishikawa teaches a cooling system [SEE fig. 1] is provided in which an integrated controller controls the compressor for compressing a refrigerant and at least one constituent device which is a separate device from the compressor and that constitutes a refrigerant circulation circuit together with the compressor. The integrated controller has a control data generation unit that controls the compressor using a compressor sensor for detecting a first physical value, which is a physical value of the refrigerant at the time of normal operations. Specifically, Nishikawa teaches in response to a determination that the first feedback is unavailable, operate the HVAC system to condition the air flow based on the second feedback.
[0069] while a configuration utilizing the suction pressure sensor 51d will be described below, a suction temperature sensor for detecting the temperature of the refrigerant being taken in by the compressors 51a to 51c also may be used as the compressor sensor in place of the suction pressure sensor 51d. Alternatively, either a discharge pressure sensor for detecting the pressure of the refrigerant being discharged by the compressors 51a to 51c or a discharge temperature sensor for detecting the temperature of the refrigerant discharged by the compressors 51a to 51c also may be used as the compressor sensor.
[0073] As such, when the suction pressure or the suction temperature of the compressor 51 is the first physical value, as the second physical value having a close relationship with the first physical value, such physical values as the inside temperature of the showcase 53, the temperature of the refrigerant flowing in the showcase 53, or the pressure of the refrigerant flowing in the showcase 53 can be listed.
[0097] When the abnormality of the suction pressure sensor 51d was detected by the abnormality detection unit 13, the substitute sensor selection unit 14 selects a substitute sensor for controlling the compressor 51 in place of the suction pressure sensor 51d from the temperature sensors 53b, 54b, and 55b . . . using the correlation coefficient between the suction pressure sensor value and the temperature sensor values.
[0099] The control data generation unit 16 generates control data being sent to and set at the device controllers. Also, when the abnormality of the suction pressure sensor 51d was detected by the abnormality detection unit 13, the control data generation unit 16 generates a supplementation value for the suction pressure sensor value ("suction pressure sensor supplementation value") based on the temperature sensor value from the substitute sensor selected by the substitute sensor selection unit 14. Then, the communication control unit 12 sends and sets the suction pressure sensor supplementation value via the communication I/F unit 11 to control the compressor 51.
[0117] Once the substitute sensor is selected, the control data generation unit 16 computes the suction pressure sensor value of the suction pressure sensor 51d from the temperature sensor value of the substitute sensor. In particular, the control data generation unit 16 converts the temperature sensor value x newly obtained from the substitute sensor to the suction pressure sensor supplementation value using the regression line y corresponding to the substitute sensor. In other words, in the formula (2), by substituting x with the sensor value x newly obtained from the substitute sensor, the suction pressure sensor supplementation value is computed.
Accordingly, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Jaber with the steps of in response to a determination that the first feedback is unavailable, operate the HVAC system to condition the air flow based on the second feedback of Nishikawa. The motivation for doing so would has been to improved reliability and robustness of HVAC operation in the event of unavailable or filed sensor data.
Regarding claim 39, SEE discussion in claims 22-24.
Claim(s) 30, 35, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaber/Nishikawa as applied to claim 21 or 31+34, 37 above, and further in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 30, Nishikawa teaches the display unit 15 displays the effect that the abnormality was detected. At step S401, the display unit 15 displays the effect that it is under emergency operations. At step S402, the display unit 15 displays identifying information of the substitute sensor selected by the substitute sensor selection unit 14. However, Jaber/Nishikawa does not teach controller is configured to limit operation of a compressor of the HVAC system to a reduced capacity in response to the determination that the first feedback from the first sensor is unavailable and during operation of the HVAC system to condition the air flow based on the second feedback, the third feedback, or both.
Wang teaches a control system for a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a controller [SEE page 9] configured to:
The invention relates to intelligent control field, especially refers to a kind of air conditioner control method, device, air conditioner, electronic device and storage medium.
Therefore, it is an object of the present invention is to provide a control method of the air conditioner to realize when the temperature sensor goes wrong, the air conditioner can obtain substitute temperature of temperature sensor, temperature is maintained based on the replace air conditioner continue to work and improve the use experience of the user. [SEE page 2]
operate the HVAC system to condition an air flow based on first feedback from a first sensor of the HVAC system, wherein the first feedback is indicative of a first value of a first operating parameter of the HVAC system [temperature sensor of heat exchanger of air conditioner – See page 2]; and
In practical air conditioner, heat exchanger of air conditioner comprises an indoor heat exchanger and outdoor heat exchanger, namely the type of heat exchanger of air conditioner comprises an indoor and outdoor. In order to be able to precisely control air conditioner running, it is necessary to distinguish the type heat exchanger of air conditioner. FIG. 2 is the control method of the other air conditioner provided in the embodiment of the invention disclosure. [SEE page 5]
in response to a determination that the first feedback from the first sensor is unavailable:
In the embodiment of the present invention, capable of performing fault detection for the
temperature sensor of the air conditioner heat exchanger is the temperature sensor fault detection can be obtained by the sensor feedback, and also can analyze the degree of the sensor obtained by air conditioner. when detecting that the temperature sensor goes wrong, it can identify the current working mode of the air conditioner. As a possible mode, the air conditioner can be recorded before receiving the mode selection command, determining the working mode according to the mode selection instruction condition present. As another possible implementation, the capable of collecting air of operating parameters, analyzing the work mode of the air current according to the operating parameter of the air conditioner. It should be noted that, the working mode may include refrigeration working mode and heating mode of operation. [SEE page 4]
receive second feedback from a second sensor [pressure sensor] of the HVAC system, wherein the second feedback is indicative of a second value of a second operating parameter of the HVAC system;
S102. The current working mode, obtaining substitute temperature of the temperature sensor and controlling air conditioner temperature according to replace and continue to operate.
In the embodiment of the invention, alternative temperature may be different for different preset working mode. Because the detection of the temperature sensor of the air conditioner heat exchanger is already in the failure state, in order not to disturb the air conditioner operation, after determining the current work mode, obtaining the substitute temperature matching with the current working mode of the temperature by the substitute to replace the temperature detected by the temperature sensor, then controlling air conditioner temperature continue to run according to the substitute. [SEE page 4]
In order to more accurately control the air conditioner, respectively with different alternative temperature under different working mode of indoor and outdoor heat exchanger. In order to realize different operating parameters, requiring different alternative temperature, in the embodiment of the present invention, may be based on the ambient temperature of the environment present condensing temperature or the evaporation temperature, and the fault of the air conditioner when the temperature sensor is determined to replace the failed temperature sensor corresponding to the temperature.
firstly, according to the type of heat exchanger of air conditioner and a current operating mode, determining the air conditioning condensing temperature or evaporation temperature of under the current working mode. when the air-conditioning heat exchanger is outdoor heat exchanger and the current work is a cooling mode, according to the exhaust pressure of the compressor, determining the condensation temperature. Alternatively, can be provided with a pressure sensor at the outlet of the compressor through the pressure sensor detects an exhaust pressure Pc of the compressor based on the exhaust pressure Pc, it can get the condensation temperature. For example, it can set the mapping relation or comparison between exhaust pressure Pc and the condensation temperature, according to said mapping relation or table, obtaining the condensation temperature.
[SEE page 5-6]
apply an adjustment to the second value of the second operating parameter [calculate T3new]; and
when the air-conditioning heat exchanger is outdoor heat exchanger and the current work is the heating mode, according to the return pressure Pe of the compressor, determining the evaporation temperature. Optionally, the can at the inlet of the compressor is provided with a pressure sensor, the pressure sensor detects the return pressure Pe of the compressor based on the return pressure Pe can be obtained evaporating temperature. For example, it can set the mapping relation or comparison between return pressure Pe and the evaporation temperature, according to said mapping relation or table, obtaining the evaporation temperature. [SEE page 6]
when the air conditioner heat exchanger when air conditioner or heat exchanger is the indoor heat exchanger and the current work is the heating mode is cooling mode is the outdoor heat exchanger and the current calculation formula of pre-set work, is:
T3new = a) Re + b *T4.
wherein a and b are adjustable preset value, a, b can be pre-stored in the air conditioner, but also can be used in the calculation to obtain the operation period before and stored in the air conditioner. T3 represents the temperature of air conditioner heat exchanger detected by the temperature sensor when it is not fault, substitute temperature T3new represents a temperature sensor fault, Tc represents the condensation temperature, T4 is outdoor or indoor ambient temperature (heat exchanger as outdoor heat exchanger, T4 is the outdoor environment temperature; the heat exchanger is the indoor heat exchanger, T4 is the indoor environment temperature).
when the air-conditioning heat exchanger is outdoor heat exchanger and the current working mode or when the air conditioner is heating heat exchanger is the indoor heat exchanger and the current work is refrigerating mode, the preset calculation formula of is as follows:
T3new= c *Te + d *T4. [READ page 6-7]
operate the HVAC system to condition the air flow based on the second value instead of the first value.
Specifically, Wang teaches discloses controller is configured to limit operation of a compressor of the HVAC system to a reduced capacity in response to the determination that the first feedback from the first sensor is unavailable and during operation of the HVAC system to condition the air flow based on the second feedback, the third feedback, or both [SEE page 7 – Steps S302 and S303; or page 9 - when detecting the failure of the temperature sensor, or long accumulated operation reaches the preset duration, control air conditioner stops operation according to replace temperature].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Jaber/Nishikawa with the feature of Wang. The motivation for doing so would has been to prevent damage to the HVAC system.
Regarding claim 35, Jaber in view of Nishikawa teaches in response to the determination that the first feedback from the first refrigerant sensor is unavailable:
Receive third feedback from an additional sensor of the outdoor unit, wherein the third feedback corresponds to a temperature of an ambient environment of the outdoor unit [SEE discussion in claim 29]. Jaber/Nishikawa does not teach determine the adjusted value based on the temperature of the ambient environment.
Wang teaches in response to the determination that the first feedback from the first sensor is unavailable: receive third feedback from a third sensor of the plurality of sensors, wherein the third feedback corresponds to a temperature of an ambient environment of the HVAC system; and determine the adjusted value based on the temperature of the ambient environment [SEE page 6-7].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with the adjusted value based on the temperature of the ambient environment of Wang. The motivation for doing so would have to improved reliability and robustness of HVAC operation in the event of unavailable or filed sensor data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim, any intervening claims, and with the filing of a Terminal Disclaimer
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims is considered allowable since, when reading the claims in light of the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of subject matter specified in the dependent claim(s) “adjust the value of the second parameter of the refrigerant based on the temperature of the ambient environment to determine an adjusted value of the second parameter of the refrigerant; and operate the HVAC system to condition the air flow based on the adjusted value wherein the first parameter of the refrigerant is a temperature of the refrigerant within the outdoor unit, and the second parameter of the refrigerant is a pressure of the refrigerant within the outdoor unit”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VINCENT H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Cited by examiner on 05/29/2025