The present application, filed on or after 16 Mar 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents Claims 1-20 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-20 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
+_+_+ Claims 1-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hofbauer et al. - U.S. Pub. 20230168349 +_+_+
As for Claim 1, Hofbauer teaches a mechanical scanner configured to move rapidly about an axis (¶70|1: “The MEMS mirror 12 is a 1D MEMS mirror configured to oscillate about its scanning axis 13 at a high frequency (e.g., a resonance frequency of 2 kHz). In this example, the MEMS mirror 12 is used for vertical scanning such that multiple light beams are steered according to a vertical beam angle. As only the outgoing laser light is being deflected, a comparatively small MEMS mirror is sufficient to transmit the light power.” Further, (¶71|1) “…the macro scanner 26 is a polygon mirror that continuously rotates 360° about its scanning axis 28, which is orthogonal to scanning axis 13.”) That is, the reference teaches two mechanical scanners, a MEMS and a rotating polygon mirror, similar to Fig. 2 in the drawings of the present application.); a detector including an array of discrete detector channels configured to convert light input into electrical signals (¶68|1: “Specifically, the signal processing circuitry of the system controller 23 may be configured to detect an object based on the electrical signals generated by the photodetectors of the photodetector array 15 [i.e., detector channels]. Based on the detection, the signal processing circuitry may determine an estimated position of the object in the field of view, including direction and depth.”); a lens configured to focus both light generated at a light source onto the mechanical scanner and returning light reflected from the mechanical scanner for reception in sequence by the detector channels (¶80|10: “As the light returns from the scene the macro scanner 26 deflects the light back onto the receiver mirror 32 from where it is deflected through receiver optics 35 onto the photodetector array 15.” Further, (¶72|1) “[t]he MEMS mirror 12 is configured to deflect the fan of laser beams towards post-scan optics 31. The post-scan optics 31 may include a beam collimator that is configured to receive the fan of laser beams and convert the diverging beams into a wider beam of parallel beams by collimating the light received from the MEMS mirror 12 and pass the wider beam to a receiver mirror 32 [which reflects the beams to macro scanner 26].” That is, the limitation recites an coaxial arrangement of the light emitter and the light detectors, while reference teaches a biaxial arrangement where the detection array and light source are on different optical paths, both well-known and obvious variations, the latter requiring an extra focusing lens, but allowing for less interference and more accurate long range detection.); an analog to digital converter (ADC) connected to each of the detector channels in the array and configured to convert the electrical signals from the detector channels into digital data signals (¶65|1: “Thus, the receiver circuit 24 may receive the analog electrical signals from the photodetectors of the photodetector array 15 and transmit the electrical signals as raw analog data to an analog-to-digital converter (ADC). Prior to the ADC receiving the electrical signals, the electrical signals may pass through an amplifier (e.g., a transimpedance amplifier (TIA)) that converts the electrical signals from, for example, current into voltage.”); and a signal processor coupled to the ADC to receive the digital data signals therefrom and configured to generate images of targets in a field of view of the LiDAR system from the digital data signals (¶67|1: “The system controller 23 includes signal processing circuitry that receives the raw digital data as well as serial data of a differential time between start and stop digital signals generated by an ADC, and uses the received data to calculate time-of-flight information for each field position within the field of view, to generate object data ( e.g., point cloud data), and to generate a 3D point cloud.”)
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Hofbauer teaches further comprising a transimpedance amplifier interposed between and connected to each of the detector channels and the ADC to amplify a voltage of the electrical signals from the detector channels before input into the ADC (¶65|1: “Thus, the receiver circuit 24 may receive the analog electrical signals from the photodetectors of the photodetector array 15 and transmit the electrical signals as raw analog data to an analog-to-digital converter (ADC). Prior to the ADC receiving the electrical signals, the electrical signals may pass through an amplifier (e.g., a transimpedance amplifier (TIA)) that converts the electrical signals from, for example, current into voltage.”)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 1, Hofbauer teaches further comprising a plurality of transimpedance amplifiers corresponding to and connected respectively to each of the detector channels, and interposed between the detector channels and the ADC to amplify a voltage of the electrical signals from the detector channels before input into the ADC (¶65|1: “Thus, the receiver circuit 24 may receive the analog electrical signals from the photodetectors of the photodetector array 15 and transmit the electrical signals as raw analog data to an analog-to-digital converter (ADC). Prior to the ADC receiving the electrical signals, the electrical signals may pass through an amplifier (e.g., a transimpedance amplifier (TIA)) that converts the electrical signals from, for example, current into voltage.”)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 1, Hofbauer teaches further comprising a plurality of voltage adders interposed between and connected between the plurality of transimpedance amplifiers and the ADC, wherein a number of the voltage adders is one less than a number of the transimpedance amplifiers; connection between the voltage adders and the transimpedance amplifiers is arranged such that an output of each adjacent pair of the transimpedance amplifiers is an input to a respective one of the voltage adders; and outputs from each of the voltage adders are transmitted to the ADC (¶65|1: “Thus, the receiver circuit 24 may receive the analog electrical signals from the photodetectors of the photodetector array 15 and transmit the electrical signals as raw analog data to an analog-to-digital converter (ADC). Prior to the ADC receiving the electrical signals, the electrical signals may pass through an amplifier (e.g., a transimpedance amplifier (TIA)) that converts the electrical signals from, for example, current into voltage.”)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 1, Hofbauer teaches further comprising a local oscillator that receives a portion of the light emitted by the light source and produces a complementary frequency local light output; and an optical mixer that receives input of both the returning light from the lens before reception by the detector channels and the local light output from the local oscillator, mixes the returning light with the local light output from the local oscillator to create a heterodyne light signal, and transmits the heterodyne light signal to the detector channels (¶25|10: “As noted above, the transmitted light could also be a continuous wave and other means of calculating time-of-flight is possible.” That is, the limitations describe the well-known elements of an FMCW LiDAR.)
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 5, Hofbauer teaches further comprising an optical switch interposed between the local oscillator and the optical mixer that is synchronized with an angle lag of the mechanical scanner to direct the local light output to one or more of the detector channels discretely and in sequence corresponding in time to returning light directed to respective ones of the detector channels in sequence by the mechanical scanner (¶84|5: “Each photodetector 15-1 to 15-16 is arranged to receive one of the laser beams B1 to BN that makes up the received fan or laser beams (i.e., the receiving line RL). The crossing points of the received fan or laser beams onto the photodetector array 15 are shown. The received fan or laser beams moves vertically across the photodetector array 15 based on the deflection angle of the MEMS mirror 12. The timing of incidence ( e.g., with respect to the trigger time of the TX beam) and the detected light intensity at each crossing point can be used by the receiver to determine the directions of distance measurement and thus those points/ direction of the scene which are currently acquired.”)
As for Claim 7, Hofbauer teaches a light source configured to emit light (); a mechanical scanner configured to move rapidly about an axis (¶70|1: “The MEMS mirror 12 is a 1D MEMS mirror configured to oscillate about its scanning axis 13 at a high frequency (e.g., a resonance frequency of 2 kHz). In this example, the MEMS mirror 12 is used for vertical scanning such that multiple light beams are steered according to a vertical beam angle. As only the outgoing laser light is being deflected, a comparatively small MEMS mirror is sufficient to transmit the light power.” Further, (¶71|1) “…the macro scanner 26 is a polygon mirror that continuously rotates 360° about its scanning axis 28, which is orthogonal to scanning axis 13.”) That is, the reference teaches two mechanical scanners, a MEMS and a rotating polygon mirror, similar to Fig. 2 in the drawings of the present application.); a detector including an array of discrete detector channels configured to convert light input into electrical signals (¶68|1: “Specifically, the signal processing circuitry of the system controller 23 may be configured to detect an object based on the electrical signals generated by the photodetectors of the photodetector array 15 [i.e., detector channels]. Based on the detection, the signal processing circuitry may determine an estimated position of the object in the field of view, including direction and depth.”); a lens that focuses both light emitted at the light source onto the mechanical scanner and returning light reflected from the mechanical scanner for reception in sequence by the detector channels (¶80|10: “As the light returns from the scene the macro scanner 26 deflects the light back onto the receiver mirror 32 from where it is deflected through receiver optics 35 onto the photodetector array 15.” Further, (¶72|1) “[t]he MEMS mirror 12 is configured to deflect the fan of laser beams towards post-scan optics 31. The post-scan optics 31 may include a beam collimator that is configured to receive the fan of laser beams and convert the diverging beams into a wider beam of parallel beams by collimating the light received from the MEMS mirror 12 and pass the wider beam to a receiver mirror 32 [which reflects the beams to macro scanner 26].” That is, the limitation recites an coaxial arrangement of the light emitter and the light detectors, while reference teaches a biaxial arrangement where the detection array and light source are on different optical paths, both well-known and obvious variations, the latter requiring an extra focusing lens, but allowing for less interference and more accurate long range detection.); a first analog to digital converter (ADC) connected to a first subset of the detector channels in the array and configured to convert the electrical signals from the first subset of the detector channels into digital data signals; a second ADC positioned in parallel with the first ADC, connected to a second subset of the detector channels in the array, and configured to convert the electrical signals from the second subset of the detector channels into digital data signals (¶49|1: “The signal processing chain of the receiver may also include an ADC [first and second ADC] for each photodiode or for a group [first and second subsets] of photodiodes. The ADC is configured to convert the analog electrical signals from the photodiodes or group of photodiodes into a digital signal that is used for further data processing.”); and a signal processor coupled to both the first ADC and the second ADC to receive the digital data signals therefrom and configured to generate images of targets in a field of view of the LiDAR system from the digital data signals (¶52|1: “The photodetector array 15 is configured to generate measurement signals (electrical signals) used for generating a 3D map of the environment based on the reflected light (e.g., via TOF calculations and processing). For example, as noted above, the photodetector array 15 may be an array of photodiodes or other light detection component capable of detecting and measuring light, and generating electrical signals therefrom.”)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 7, Hofbauer teaches wherein the first subset of the detector channels comprises a first series of adjacent detector channels within a first contiguous portion of the array of discrete detector channels; and the second subset of the detector channels comprises a second series of adjacent detector channels within a second contiguous portion of the array of discrete detector channels (¶49|1: “The signal processing chain of the receiver may also include an ADC [first and second ADC] for each photodiode or for a group [first and second subsets] of photodiodes. The ADC is configured to convert the analog electrical signals from the photodiodes or group of photodiodes into a digital signal that is used for further data processing.”)
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 7, Hofbauer teaches further comprising a plurality of transimpedance amplifiers corresponding to and connected respectively to each of the detector channels, arranged in corresponding subsets to the first subset and the second subset of the detector channels, and interposed between the detector channels and the first ADC and second ADC to amplify a voltage of the electrical signals from the detector channels before input into the first ADC and the second ADC (¶49|1: “The signal processing chain of the receiver may also include an ADC [first and second ADC] for each photodiode or for a group [first and second subsets] of photodiodes. The ADC is configured to convert the analog electrical signals from the photodiodes or group of photodiodes into a digital signal that is used for further data processing.”)
Claims 10-11 recite substantially the same subject matter as Claims 5-6, respectively, and stand rejected on the same basis accordingly.
As for Claim 12, which depends on Claim 7, Hofbauer teaches further comprising an encoder configured to transform the emitted light into light pulses, wherein the light source is configured to emit two light pulses within a period such that light emitted as a second light pulse begins travel toward targets in a field of view of the LiDAR system while returning light from a prior emitted first light pulse reflected by targets in the field of view is received at the detector; and returning light from the second light pulse reflected by close targets in the field of view is received within the first subset of the detector channels during the period while returning light from the first light pulse reflected by more distant targets in the field of view is received within the second subset of the detector channels during the period due to angle lag effects of the mechanical scanner (¶48|1: “A comparator IC recognizes the pulse and sends a digital signal to the TDC to stop the timer. The TDC uses a clock frequency to calibrate each measurement. The TDC sends the serial data of the differential time between the start and stop digital signals to the processing circuitry, which filters out any error reads, averages multiple time measurements, and calculates the distance to the target at that particular field position. By emitting successive light pulses in different directions established by the MEMS mirror 12, an area (i.e., a field of view) can be scanned, a three-dimensional image can be generated, and objects within the area can be detected.”)
As for Claim 13, which depends on Claim 12, Hofbauer teaches wherein the signal processor is further configured to disambiguate returning light emitted as the first light pulse from returning light emitted as the second light pulse based, at least in part, upon whether the returning light is received within the first subset of the detector channels and converted by the first ADC and whether the returning light is received within the second subset of the detector channels and converted by the second ADC (¶48|1: “A comparator IC recognizes the pulse and sends a digital signal to the TDC to stop the timer. The TDC uses a clock frequency to calibrate each measurement. The TDC sends the serial data of the differential time between the start and stop digital signals to the processing circuitry, which filters out any error reads, averages multiple time measurements, and calculates the distance to the target at that particular field position. By emitting successive light pulses in different directions established by the MEMS mirror 12, an area (i.e., a field of view) can be scanned, a three-dimensional image can be generated, and objects within the area can be detected.”)
As for Claim 15, which depends on Claim 7, Hofbauer teaches wherein the first subset of the detector channels and the second subset of the detector channels are configured with respect to each other to prevent phase cancellation between light input in adjacent detector channels in the array of discrete detector channels (¶49|1: “The signal processing chain of the receiver may also include an ADC [first and second ADC] for each photodiode or for a group [first and second subsets] of photodiodes. The ADC is configured to convert the analog electrical signals from the photodiodes or group of photodiodes into a digital signal that is used for further data processing.”)
As for Claim 16, which depends on Claim 7, Hofbauer teaches wherein the first subset of the detector channels comprises an alternating series of the odd positioned detector channels in the array of discrete detector channels; and the second subset of the detector channels comprises an alternating series of the even-positioned detector channels in the array of discrete detector channels (¶91|1: “FIG. 7 illustrates a plot of discrete transmission (TX) directions in a portion of a field of view according to one or more embodiments. Each TX direction has a horizontal beam angle component and a vertical beam angle component. In particular, the plot shows available transmission directions according to a preconfigured scanning pattern. Each available transmission direction corresponds to a trigger time at which the light sources are triggered to produce the laser fan relative to the position of the MEMS mirror 12 and the macro scanner 26 about their scanning axes. The available transmission directions make up a grid of rows and columns.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
+_+_+ Claims 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofbauer in view of Keilaf et al. - U.S. Pub. 20190271767 +_+_+
As for Claim 14, which depends on Claim 7, Hofbauer does not explicitly teach using different frequencies or phases for the light pulses.
But Keilaf teaches wherein the encoder is further configured to impart frequency or phase characteristics to the two light pulses such that the frequency or phase characteristics of the first light pulse differ from the frequency or phase characteristics of the second light pulse; and the signal processor is further configured to disambiguate returning light emitted as the first light pulse from returning light emitted by the second light pulse based, at least in part, upon the differences in frequency or phase characteristics between the first light pulse and the second light pulse (¶77|1: “According to some embodiments, scanning the environment around LIDAR system 100 may include illuminating field of view 120 with light pulses. The light pulses may have parameters such as: pulse duration, pulse angular dispersion, wavelength, instantaneous power, photon density at different distances from light source 112, average power, pulse power intensity, pulse width, pulse repetition rate, pulse sequence, pulse duty cycle, wavelength, phase, polarization, and more. Scanning the environment around LIDAR system 100 may also include detecting and characterizing various aspects of the reflected light. Characteristics of the reflected light may include, for example: time-of-flight (i.e., time from emission until detection), instantaneous power (e.g., power signature), average power across entire return pulse, and photon distribution/signal over return pulse period. By comparing characteristics of a light pulse with characteristics of corresponding reflections, a distance and possibly a physical characteristic, such as reflected intensity of object 212 may be estimated.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Hofbauer and Keilaf because emitting different frequencies can allow for detecting objects at different distances more effectively as well as detecting other attributes of the objects.
As for Claim 17, which depends on Claim 16, Keilaf teaches wherein a first portion of the detector channels comprises a first sequential series of the detector channels in the array of the discrete detector channels; a second portion of the detector channels comprises a second sequential series of the detector channels in the array of the discrete detector channels; the encoder is configured to emit two light pulses within a period such that light emitted as a second light pulse begins travel toward targets in a field of view of the LiDAR system while returning light from a prior emitted first light pulse reflected by targets in the field of view is received at the detector; and returning light from the second light pulse reflected by close targets in the field of view is received within the first portion of the detector channels during the period while returning light from the first light pulse reflected by more distant targets in the field of view is received within the second portion of the detector channels during the period due to angle lag effects of the mechanical scanner (¶143|24: “FIG. SC uses number of pulses as an example of light flux allocation, it is noted that light flux allocation to different parts of the field of view may also be implemented in other ways such as: pulse duration, pulse angular dispersion, wavelength, instantaneous power, photon density at different distances from light source 112, average power, pulse power intensity, pulse width, pulse repetition rate, pulse sequence, pulse duty cycle, wavelength, phase, polarization, and more. The illustration of the light emission as a single scanning cycle in FIG. SC demonstrates different capabilities of LIDAR system 100. In a first embodiment, processor 118 is configured to use two light pulses to detect a first object (e.g., the rounded-square object) at a first distance, and to use three light pulses to detect a second object (e.g., the triangle object) at a second distance greater than the first distance. This embodiment is described in greater detail below with reference to FIGS. 11-13.”)
As for Claim 18, which depends on Claim 17, Hofbauer teaches further comprising a plurality of free space couplers corresponding respectively to each of the detector channels in the array and interposed between the lens and the detector to receive the focused returning light from the lens in sequence and transmit the received returning light sequentially to respective detector channels in the array (¶68|1: “Specifically, the signal processing circuitry of the system controller 23 may be configured to detect an object based on the electrical signals generated by the photodetectors of the photodetector array 15 [i.e., detector channels]. Based on the detection, the signal processing circuitry may determine an estimated position of the object in the field of view, including direction and depth.”)
As for Claim 19, which depends on Claim 18, Hofbauer teaches wherein one of the free space couplers corresponding to one of the detector channels in the first portion of the detector channels is configured as a first transceiver; one of the free space couplers corresponding to one of the detector channels in the second portion of the detector channels is configured as a second transceiver; the first transceiver is configured to receive the first light pulse from the encoder and emit the first light pulse to the lens; and the second transceiver is configured to receive the second light pulse from the encoder and emit the second light pulse to the lens (¶68|1: “Specifically, the signal processing circuitry of the system controller 23 may be configured to detect an object based on the electrical signals generated by the photodetectors of the photodetector array 15 [i.e., detector channels]. Based on the detection, the signal processing circuitry may determine an estimated position of the object in the field of view, including direction and depth.”)
As for Claim 20, which depends on Claim 18, Hofbauer teaches wherein a position of the second transceiver is determined by translation of a time delay between emission by the light source of the first light pulse and the second light pulse, such that a location of returning light from the first light pulse on one of the free space couplers at time of emission of the second light pulse corresponding to angle lag of the mechanical scanner is the position of the second transceiver (¶68|1: “Specifically, the signal processing circuitry of the system controller 23 may be configured to detect an object based on the electrical signals generated by the photodetectors of the photodetector array 15 [i.e., detector channels]. Based on the detection, the signal processing circuitry may determine an estimated position of the object in the field of view, including direction and depth.”)
Conclusion
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645