DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1, light-emitting members corresponding to “flexible light strips, light strings, or light panels”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is unclear in that there appears to be a typographical error wherein the claim should be “the slots on the plate body can be arranged on [[an]] either one side or both sides of the plate body.”
Claims 5 and 8 are unclear for the uses of “can be” in combination with the open language of “comprising” of claim 1. It is unclear if the limitations are required or optional. The broadest reasonable interpretation requires that they be treated as optional. Additionally, the shapes of claim 8 appear to be aesthetic in nature. See In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) wherein the court found that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matt US 2024022667 in view of Apatini US 20160243416.
Regarding claim 1, Matt discloses a creative light-emitting racket, comprising
a plate body (111) and a grip (112), the grip is fixedly installed beneath the plate body (Fig. 1),
adapted light-emitting members (circle containing 130) are installed
However, it does not teach a set of or a plurality of sets of slots with a certain depth are formed on the plate body, and the slots are formed to be slots of any shapes or slot holes of any shapes penetrating the plate body; and light-emitters are installed inside the slots.
Apatini teaches a racket comprising a set of or a plurality of sets of slots (Fig. 5b) with a certain depth are formed on the plate body, and the slots are formed to be slots of any shapes or slot holes of any shapes penetrating the plate body; and a light-emitter (cell phone) is installed inside the slot (Fig. 3, 4 and 5c) in order to receive and secure said light-emitter ([0019]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the plate body as taught by Matt by utilizing a slot with the light-emitter installed inside the slot as taught by Apatini in order to receive and secure the light-emitter and ensure a smooth surface (Matt, [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, Matt further discloses that the lamp beads are specifically configured as single-color lamp beads (inherent) or multi-color lamp beads.
Regarding claim 7, Matt further discloses that the slots on the plate body can be arranged on [[an]] either one side (Fig. 1) or both sides of the plate body.
Regarding claim 8, Matt further discloses that 8. The creative light-emitting racket according to claim 1, wherein the slots (6) can be (optional?) configured as character- or letter-shaped slots (letter “O”, Fig. 1), heart-shaped slots, flower-shaped slots or star-shaped slots.
Regarding claim 9, Matt further discloses an adapted light-transmitting panel is arranged on the plate body (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matt US 2024022667 in view of Apatini US 20160243416 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Stark EP 1886715.
Regarding claim 2, Matt further discloses a battery (191)
Stark teaches a racket comprising a battery (24) arranged inside the grip (Fig. 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the location of the batteries as taught by Matt, but relocating them to the handle as taught by Stark, in order to yield the predictable results of powering light emitters in a racket. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), MPEP 2143 (I)(D).
Regarding claim 3, Matt further discloses that the battery and the light-emitting members are electrically connected to the circuit board (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Matt further discloses a charging socket (192) is formed on on the grip (Fig. 1), and the charging socket penetrates the corresponding grip (Fig. 1).
Applicant has not disclosed that having a charging socket formed on the circuit board solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose beyond suppling power thereto. It appears that the combination would perform equally well with the charging socket formed on the circuit board as claimed by applicant. Thus, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed limitation is significant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the charging socket and circuit board as taught by Matt by utilizing a charging socket formed on the circuit board while maintaining the charging socket penetrating the grip as claimed for the purpose of supplying power to the circuit board. See, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 5, Matt further discloses a light control chip (171) is arranged on the circuit board, and the lamp beads on the light-emitting members can be (optional?) controlled through the light control chip (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711