DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 19-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khare et al. (US 20250240602 A1) in view of Fei et al. (CN 117630989 A) and further in view of Tessier (US 20090284411 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Khare teaches a network device (second device 220 of Fig. 1; device 700 of Fig. 7 implementing the method of Fig. 2), comprising:
a processor (processor 710); at least one network interface controller configured to provide access to a network (communication module 730); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (memory 720), wherein the memory comprises a management logic (program 740) that is configured to:
collect a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) dataset associated with a first network device (the second device 220 may subscribes to different network functions, such as an application function (AF) or an Analytics Data Repository Function (ARDF) to obtain relevant information in order to determine the requested the indoor or outdoor analytics information of the UE 101. For example, the obtained relevant information may be shown in Table 1 such as GNSS measurements, satellite visibility patterns satellite system (GNSS), [0049]); and
determine an indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device based on the collected first GNSS dataset (the device 220 may determine the indoor or outdoor analytics information of the UE 101 based on AI or ML and additionally based on at least one of: GNSS measurements of the UE 101, [0050]).
However, Khare does not clearly teach determine one or more angle ranges within which at least one satellite is detectable; and analyze the collected GNSS dataset to identify the one or more angles at which the network device can detect satellites wherein the determined angle ranges provide data regarding visibility of the sky.
In an analogous art, Fei teaches determine one or more angle ranges within which at least one satellite is detectable (each set of satellite characteristic information may include one or more parameters such as target carrier-to-noise ratio, satellite elevation angle, and satellite azimuth angle, page 4, par 11); and analyze the collected GNSS dataset to identify the one or more angles at which the network device can detect satellites (the coverage range may be determined according to the satellite azimuth corresponding to each satellite signal received at the current detection time, and the coverage range may be the sum of the satellite azimuths corresponding to each satellite signal, or may be the union of the ranges of the satellite azimuths corresponding to each satellite signal, page 9, par 4) wherein the determined angle ranges provide data regarding visibility of the sky (when the coverage range is less than the second angle threshold, it means that the range of satellites that the electronic device can detect and track at the current detection time is narrow, page 6, par 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare with the satellite angle of Fei to provide a method to accurately recognize the positioning scene of the electronic equipment, are small in calculated amount, lower in cost and higher in applicability as suggested, Fei Abstract.
However, Khare and Fei do not clearly teach determine, from ephemeris data transmitted by a respective satellite and included in the collected first GNSS dataset, a direction of the respective satellite in relation to the first network device; and infer a respective angle range of the one or more angle ranges from the respective satellite being continuously detectable at the first network device over a corresponding period of time as the respective satellite travels along an orbit.
In an analogous art, Tessier teaches determine, from ephemeris data transmitted by a respective satellite and included in the collected first GNSS dataset, a direction of the respective satellite in relation to the first network device (GPS receiver calculates the 2 dimensional direction solution to each GPS satellite relative to the GPS receiver position in terms such as elevation degrees above the horizon and azimuth degrees from a reference point such as true north for each GPS satellite determined to be above local horizontal plane of the earth or a specified offset from the local horizontal plane of the earth, [0035]; GPS receiver calculates the position of GPS satellites around the earth using the stored ephemeris of each satellite and current time, and GPS receiver receiving GPS satellite signals determines the current position of the GPS receiver based on the GPS satellite signals received, [0034]); and infer a respective angle range of the one or more angle ranges from the respective satellite being continuously detectable at the first network device over a corresponding period of time as the respective satellite travels along an orbit (At step 29, using current time, the positions of communication satellites around the earth are determined using the stored ephemeris of each satellite. At step 30, using current position and current time, the direction solution to each communications satellite relative to the GPS receiver position is determined and the directional solution to each communication satellite is compared to the visibility mask derived from the received GPS satellites. As shown at steps 31, 32 and 33, if all communication satellites are outside the area of visibility of the visibility mask a transmission will not be attempted and thus a transmission is commenced only if the calculation prediction indicates that at least one of the satellites of the low earth orbit communication satellite system is in view, [0039]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare and Fei angle calculation of Tessier to provide a method to reduce the ratio of unsuccessful transmissions as compared to the total number of transmission attempts primarily for purposes of power saving as suggested, Tessier [0001].
Regarding claim 2, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 1, wherein to determine the indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device, the management logic is further configured to identify one or more features in the collected first GNSS dataset, and the indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device is determined based on applying a machine learning process to the identified one or more features (Then, based on the location and time, the device 220 may learn the orientation or satellite visibility pattern based on AI/ML. On this basis, when the satellite visibility pattern of the UE 101 matches a certain learnt pattern, the UE the device 220 may determine that the UE 101 should be indoors or outdoors, [0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 2, wherein the one or more features comprise one or more of a signal attribute, a carrier-to-noise density ratio (C/NO), a number of observable satellites, a number of decodable satellites, pseudorange measurement noise statistics, or a pseudorange residual (the device 220 may determine the indoor or outdoor analytics information of the UE 101 based on the GNSS satellite visibility patterns. In this case, for each building or house, it has relatively fixed orientations. The UE 101 inside the building/house may show certain pattern of satellite visibility, [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 2 wherein the machine learning process is associated with a model (These images can be provided by CRM or AF (police agency) Area/Building layout AF Area map, building 3G model of the area, [0049], table 1).
9. The network device of claim 1, wherein to determine the indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device, the management logic is further configured to determine zero, one, or more angle ranges within which at least one satellite is detectable at the first network device based on the collected first GNSS dataset (when the UE 101 has visibility of satellite of various directions, it may be most likely that the UE 101 is outdoors, otherwise, the UE 101 is indoors. Then, based on the location and time, the device 220 may learn the orientation or satellite visibility pattern based on AI/ML. On this basis, when the satellite visibility pattern of the UE 101 matches a certain learnt pattern, the UE the device 220 may determine that the UE 101 should be indoors or outdoors, [0051]), and the indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device is determined based on the zero, one, or more angle ranges (Then, based on the location and time, the device 220 may learn the orientation or satellite visibility pattern based on AI/ML. On this basis, when the satellite visibility pattern of the UE 101 matches a certain learnt pattern, the UE the device 220 may determine that the UE 101 should be indoors or outdoors, [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 9, wherein the determined indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device comprises an outdoor environment status if the zero, one, or more angle ranges comprises at least one angle range that satisfies a criterion (when the UE 101 has visibility of satellite of various directions, it may be most likely that the UE 101 is outdoors, otherwise, the UE 101 is indoors. Then, based on the location and time, the device 220 may learn the orientation or satellite visibility pattern based on AI/ML. On this basis, when the satellite visibility pattern of the UE 101 matches a certain learnt pattern, the UE the device 220 may determine that the UE 101 should be indoors or outdoors, [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 9, wherein the determined indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device comprises an indoor environment status if the zero, one, or more angle ranges comprises one or more angle ranges a widest of which is less than a threshold (For example, when the UE 101 has visibility of satellite of various directions, it may be most likely that the UE 101 is outdoors, otherwise, the UE 101 is indoors. Then, based on the location and time, the device 220 may learn the orientation or satellite visibility pattern based on AI/ML. On this basis, when the satellite visibility pattern of the UE 101 matches a certain learnt pattern, the UE the device 220 may determine that the UE 101 should be indoors or outdoors, [0051]).
Regarding claim 17, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 1, wherein the network device and the first network device are co-located at a same device (Alternatively, the LCS client, the LMF 103, an AMF, a GMLC, an application function, a network function, or a fifth generation core network function may be enhanced to determine the indoor or outdoor analytics information of the UE, [0061]).
Regarding claim 18, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 1, wherein the network device and the first network device are separate devices (the first device 210 may comprise a 5G core network function, and the second device 220 may comprise the NWDAF 105, a MDAS or an analytics function, [0060]).
Regarding claim 19, Khare teaches a network device (second device 220 of Fig. 2, device 700 of Fig. 7 implementing the method of Fig. 2), comprising: a processor (processor 710); at least one network interface controller configured to provide access to a network (communication module 730); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (memory 720), wherein the memory comprises a management logic (program 740) that is configured to:
collect a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) dataset associated with a first network device (the second device 220 may subscribes to different network functions, such as an application function (AF) or an Analytics Data Repository Function (ARDF) to obtain relevant information in order to determine the requested the indoor or outdoor analytics information of the UE 101. For example, the obtained relevant information may be shown in Table 1 such as GNSS measurements, satellite visibility patterns satellite system (GNSS), [0049]);
identify one or more features in the collected first GNSS dataset (Then, based on the location and time, the device 220 may learn the orientation or satellite visibility pattern based on AI/ML. On this basis, when the satellite visibility pattern of the UE 101 matches a certain learnt pattern, the UE the device 220 may determine that the UE 101 should be indoors or outdoors, [0051]); and
determine an indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device based on applying a machine learning process to the identified one or more features (the device 220 may determine the indoor or outdoor analytics information of the UE 101 based on AI or ML and additionally based on at least one of: GNSS measurements of the UE 101, [0050]).
However, Khare does not clearly teach determine one or more angle ranges within which at least one satellite is detectable; and analyze the collected GNSS dataset to identify the one or more angles at which the network device can detect satellites wherein the determined angle ranges provide data regarding visibility of the sky.
In an analogous art, Fei teaches determine one or more angle ranges within which at least one satellite is detectable (each set of satellite characteristic information may include one or more parameters such as target carrier-to-noise ratio, satellite elevation angle, and satellite azimuth angle, page 4, par 11); and analyze the collected GNSS dataset to identify the one or more angles at which the network device can detect satellites (the coverage range may be determined according to the satellite azimuth corresponding to each satellite signal received at the current detection time, and the coverage range may be the sum of the satellite azimuths corresponding to each satellite signal, or may be the union of the ranges of the satellite azimuths corresponding to each satellite signal, page 9, par 4) wherein the determined angle ranges provide data regarding visibility of the sky (when the coverage range is less than the second angle threshold, it means that the range of satellites that the electronic device can detect and track at the current detection time is narrow, page 6, par 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare with the satellite angle of Fei to provide a method to accurately recognize the positioning scene of the electronic equipment, are small in calculated amount, lower in cost and higher in applicability as suggested, Fei Abstract.
However, Khare and Fei do not clearly teach determine, from ephemeris data transmitted by a respective satellite and included in the collected first GNSS dataset, a direction of the respective satellite in relation to the first network device; and infer a respective angle range of the one or more angle ranges from the respective satellite being continuously detectable at the first network device over a corresponding period of time as the respective satellite travels along an orbit.
In an analogous art, Tessier teaches determine, from ephemeris data transmitted by a respective satellite and included in the collected first GNSS dataset, a direction of the respective satellite in relation to the first network device (GPS receiver calculates the 2 dimensional direction solution to each GPS satellite relative to the GPS receiver position in terms such as elevation degrees above the horizon and azimuth degrees from a reference point such as true north for each GPS satellite determined to be above local horizontal plane of the earth or a specified offset from the local horizontal plane of the earth, [0035]; GPS receiver calculates the position of GPS satellites around the earth using the stored ephemeris of each satellite and current time, and GPS receiver receiving GPS satellite signals determines the current position of the GPS receiver based on the GPS satellite signals received, [0034]); and infer a respective angle range of the one or more angle ranges from the respective satellite being continuously detectable at the first network device over a corresponding period of time as the respective satellite travels along an orbit (At step 29, using current time, the positions of communication satellites around the earth are determined using the stored ephemeris of each satellite. At step 30, using current position and current time, the direction solution to each communications satellite relative to the GPS receiver position is determined and the directional solution to each communication satellite is compared to the visibility mask derived from the received GPS satellites. As shown at steps 31, 32 and 33, if all communication satellites are outside the area of visibility of the visibility mask a transmission will not be attempted and thus a transmission is commenced only if the calculation prediction indicates that at least one of the satellites of the low earth orbit communication satellite system is in view, [0039]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare and Fei angle calculation of Tessier to provide a method to reduce the ratio of unsuccessful transmissions as compared to the total number of transmission attempts primarily for purposes of power saving as suggested, Tessier [0001].
Regarding claim 20, Khare teaches a method for managing a network device (method of Fig. 2), comprising: collecting a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) dataset associated with the network device ((the second device 220 may subscribes to different network functions, such as an application function (AF) or an Analytics Data Repository Function (ARDF) to obtain relevant information in order to determine the requested the indoor or outdoor analytics information of the UE 101. For example, the obtained relevant information may be shown in Table 1 such as GNSS measurements, satellite visibility patterns satellite system (GNSS), [0049]); and determine an indoor-or-outdoor status of the network device based on the collected first GNSS dataset (the second device 220 may subscribes to different network functions, such as an application function (AF) or an Analytics Data Repository Function (ARDF) to obtain relevant information in order to determine the requested the indoor or outdoor analytics information of the UE 101. For example, the obtained relevant information may be shown in Table 1 such as GNSS measurements, satellite visibility patterns satellite system (GNSS), [0049]).
However, Khare does not clearly teach determine one or more angle ranges within which at least one satellite is detectable; and analyze the collected GNSS dataset to identify the one or more angles at which the network device can detect satellites wherein the determined angle ranges provide data regarding visibility of the sky.
In an analogous art, Fei teaches determine one or more angle ranges within which at least one satellite is detectable (each set of satellite characteristic information may include one or more parameters such as target carrier-to-noise ratio, satellite elevation angle, and satellite azimuth angle, page 4, par 11); and analyze the collected GNSS dataset to identify the one or more angles at which the network device can detect satellites (the coverage range may be determined according to the satellite azimuth corresponding to each satellite signal received at the current detection time, and the coverage range may be the sum of the satellite azimuths corresponding to each satellite signal, or may be the union of the ranges of the satellite azimuths corresponding to each satellite signal, page 9, par 4) wherein the determined angle ranges provide data regarding visibility of the sky (when the coverage range is less than the second angle threshold, it means that the range of satellites that the electronic device can detect and track at the current detection time is narrow, page 6, par 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare with the satellite angle of Fei to provide a method to accurately recognize the positioning scene of the electronic equipment, are small in calculated amount, lower in cost and higher in applicability as suggested, Fei Abstract.
However, Khare and Fei do not clearly teach determine, from ephemeris data transmitted by a respective satellite and included in the collected first GNSS dataset, a direction of the respective satellite in relation to the first network device; and infer a respective angle range of the one or more angle ranges from the respective satellite being continuously detectable at the first network device over a corresponding period of time as the respective satellite travels along an orbit.
In an analogous art, Tessier teaches determine, from ephemeris data transmitted by a respective satellite and included in the collected first GNSS dataset, a direction of the respective satellite in relation to the first network device (GPS receiver calculates the 2 dimensional direction solution to each GPS satellite relative to the GPS receiver position in terms such as elevation degrees above the horizon and azimuth degrees from a reference point such as true north for each GPS satellite determined to be above local horizontal plane of the earth or a specified offset from the local horizontal plane of the earth, [0035]; GPS receiver calculates the position of GPS satellites around the earth using the stored ephemeris of each satellite and current time, and GPS receiver receiving GPS satellite signals determines the current position of the GPS receiver based on the GPS satellite signals received, [0034]); and infer a respective angle range of the one or more angle ranges from the respective satellite being continuously detectable at the first network device over a corresponding period of time as the respective satellite travels along an orbit (At step 29, using current time, the positions of communication satellites around the earth are determined using the stored ephemeris of each satellite. At step 30, using current position and current time, the direction solution to each communications satellite relative to the GPS receiver position is determined and the directional solution to each communication satellite is compared to the visibility mask derived from the received GPS satellites. As shown at steps 31, 32 and 33, if all communication satellites are outside the area of visibility of the visibility mask a transmission will not be attempted and thus a transmission is commenced only if the calculation prediction indicates that at least one of the satellites of the low earth orbit communication satellite system is in view, [0039]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare and Fei angle calculation of Tessier to provide a method to reduce the ratio of unsuccessful transmissions as compared to the total number of transmission attempts primarily for purposes of power saving as suggested, Tessier [0001].
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khare in view of Fei and further in view of Tessier and Venkatraman et al. (US 20160066844 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 4.
However, Khare, Fei and Tessier do not teach wherein the model comprises a classifier.
In an analogous art, Venkatraman teaches wherein the model comprises a classifier (The machine learning system may then return a stroke classification for each detected stroke, [0358]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare, Fei and Tessier with the indoor/outdoor classification of Venkatraman to provide a method to determine whether the lighting conditions indicate that the biometric monitoring device is likely indoors as opposed to outdoors as suggested, Venkatraman [0466].
Regarding claim 6, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 4.
However, Khare, Fei and Tessier do not teach wherein the model is pretrained based on supervised learning.
In an analogous art, Venkatraman teaches wherein the model is pretrained based on supervised learning (The extracted features may then be put through a machine learning system where the system coefficients are computed off-line (supervised learning) or are adapted as the user uses the biometric monitoring device (unsupervised learning). The machine learning system may then return a stroke classification for each detected stroke, [0358]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare, Fei and Tessier with the indoor/outdoor classification of Venkatraman to provide a method to determine whether the lighting conditions indicate that the biometric monitoring device is likely indoors as opposed to outdoors as suggested, Venkatraman [0466].
Regarding claim 7, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 4.
However, Khare, Fei and Tessier do not teach wherein the model is pretrained based on unsupervised learning.
In an analogous art, Venkatraman teaches wherein the model is pretrained based on unsupervised learning (The extracted features may then be put through a machine learning system where the system coefficients are computed off-line (supervised learning) or are adapted as the user uses the biometric monitoring device (unsupervised learning). The machine learning system may then return a stroke classification for each detected stroke, [0358].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare, Fei and Tessier with the indoor/outdoor classification of Venkatraman to provide a method to determine whether the lighting conditions indicate that the biometric monitoring device is likely indoors as opposed to outdoors as suggested, Venkatraman [0466].
Regarding claim 8, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 4.
However, Khare, Fei and Tessier do not teach wherein the management logic is further configured to update the model based on locally collected data.
In an analogous art, Venkatraman teaches wherein the management logic is further configured to update the model based on locally collected data (a database of SSID's and their associated vehicles may be created or updated with the user of a biometric monitoring device or through portable communication device data, [0418].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare, Fei and Tessier with the indoor/outdoor classification of Venkatraman to provide a method to determine whether the lighting conditions indicate that the biometric monitoring device is likely indoors as opposed to outdoors as suggested, Venkatraman [0466].
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khare in view of Fei and further in view of Tessier and Chhokra et al. (US 20190094379 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 9.
However, Khare, Fei and Tessier do not teach wherein the determined indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device comprises an indoor environment status if the zero, one, or more angle ranges comprises zero angle range.
In an analogous art, Chhokra teaches wherein the determined indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device comprises an indoor environment status if the zero, one, or more angle ranges comprises zero angle range (If the user's observation point for testing satellite visibility is at a higher altitude, the satellite visibility may change. In the example shown, the elevation mask angle θ.sub.M1 calculated at street level is greater than the elevation mask angle θ.sub.M2 calculated on the 10.sup.th floor of building 307, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare, Fei and Tessier with the indoor/outdoor classification of Chhokra to provide a method using 3D city maps and shadow mapping to improve altitude fixes in urban environments a suggested, Chhokra [0003].
Regarding claim 13, Khare as modified by Fei and Tessier teaches the network device of claim 1.
However, Khare, Fei and Tessier do not teach wherein to determine the indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device, the management logic is further configured to: collect a second GNSS dataset associated with a second network device; identify one or more satellites that are simultaneously detectable by the first network device and the second network device based on the collected first GNSS dataset and the collected second GNSS dataset; determine one or more unobstructed zones based on each of the one or more satellites being simultaneously detectable by the first network device and the second network device; and construct an obstacle profile based on a plurality of unobstructed zones, the plurality of unobstructed zones comprising the one or more unobstructed zones determined based on each of the one or more satellites, wherein the indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device is determined based on the constructed obstacle profile.
In an analogous art, Chhokra teaches wherein to determine the indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device, the management logic is further configured to:
collect a second GNSS dataset associated with a second network device (The location of mobile device 102a can be estimated precisely using GNSS signals if observable… GNSS signals 108b, 109b (albeit weaker) can still be received by mobile device 102b when operating on the fourth floor of building, [0019]);
identify one or more satellites that are simultaneously detectable by the first network device and the second network device based on the collected first GNSS dataset and the collected second GNSS dataset (It is noted that mobile device 102a may observe or receive NLOS GNSS signals, which are diffracted or reflected off surfaces of buildings and other objects in GNSS signal environment 100, [0018] and Fig. 1), each of the one or more satellites being simultaneously detectable by the first network device and the second network device over a respective period of time (we assume that GNSS signals 108b, 109b (albeit weaker) can still be received by mobile device 102b when operating on the fourth floor of building 103. For example, mobile device 102b may be operating close to a window, or in an open-air atrium, terrace or balcony, [0019]);
determine one or more unobstructed zones based on each of the one or more satellites being simultaneously detectable by the first network device and the second network device (If the user's observation point for testing satellite visibility is at a higher altitude, the satellite visibility may change, [0036]); and
construct an obstacle profile based on a plurality of unobstructed zones, the plurality of unobstructed zones comprising the one or more unobstructed zones determined based on each of the one or more satellites (3D diffraction zone can be modeled for building boundaries both horizontally and vertically by modelling the buildings as lower and narrower than their actual height and width, [0037]),
wherein the indoor-or-outdoor status of the first network device is determined based on the constructed obstacle profile (If the improved position fix P.sub.est2 has an estimated altitude below a threshold value (e.g., zero), location analyzer 202 assumes that the mobile device is located outdoors, [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare, Fei and Tessier with the indoor/outdoor classification of Chhokra to provide a method using 3D city maps and shadow mapping to improve altitude fixes in urban environments a suggested, Chhokra [0003].
Regarding claim 14, Khare as modifies by Fei, Tessier and Chhokra teaches the network device of claim 13, wherein based on each of the one or more satellites being simultaneously detectable by the first network device and the second network device, the one or more unobstructed zones are determined based further on satellite location data, a distance between the first network device and the second network device, and a triangulation technique (To identify candidate buildings where the mobile device is most likely located, in an embodiment, in an embodiment location analyzer 202 determines the distance between the improved position fix P.sub.est2 and the locations of each building that is abutting the footprint of the 3D CPG, such as the candidate positions (including candidate position 303) that are shaded in FIG. 3A. In an embodiment, the building determined to be nearest to the improved position fix P.sub.est2 can be selected as the building where the mobile device is most likely located. In our example, this would be building 301a, [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare, Fei and Tessier with the indoor/outdoor classification of Chhokra to provide a method using 3D city maps and shadow mapping to improve altitude fixes in urban environments a suggested, Chhokra [0003].
Regarding claim 15, Khare as modifies by Fei, Tessier and Chhokra teaches the network device of claim 14, wherein the distance between the first network device and the second network device is based on a radio frequency ranging measurement between the first network device and the second network device (the mobile device may cache a history of frequented locations by the user, which can be used to adjust the score. If the candidate building is a frequented location by the user, the weight of this factor can be higher, [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare, Fei and Tessier with the indoor/outdoor classification of Chhokra to provide a method using 3D city maps and shadow mapping to improve altitude fixes in urban environments a suggested, Chhokra [0003].
Regarding claim 16, Khare as modifies by Fei, Tessier and Chhokra teaches the network device of claim 13, wherein the obstacle profile is constructed based further on one or more first satellites that are successively but not simultaneously detectable by the first network device and the second network device (see SV 101a, 101b and 101c of Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the indoor/outdoor state detection of Khare, Fei and Tessier with the indoor/outdoor classification of Chhokra to provide a method using 3D city maps and shadow mapping to improve altitude fixes in urban environments a suggested, Chhokra [0003].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Muntaz et al. (US 20240137843 A1): A method and system for computing the geolocation of UEs in a communication system by using LEO satellites. The satellites in this method and system combine only the signals that are transmitted by the communicating endpoints with the information of time of arrival and ephemeris data. A minimum of three or four satellites, based on the method used for computing the geolocation, are required to receive and append the signals transmitted by a UE. An access server of an LBS provider uses the information in the signals to compute the geolocation coordinates of UEs of its client users. Similarly, a UE of a client can also compute the geolocation coordinates of an access server of an LBS provider; as a consequence, both can authenticate each other using a location-based access control method. As a result, both UE and access server can directly authenticate each other using a suitable immutable factor.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641