DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 05/06/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li (US 20160286230 A1) in view of GOTO (US 20140219355 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20160286230 A1) in view of GOTO (US 20140219355 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a video decoding method, the method comprising:
deriving a merge candidate list of a current block (merge candidate list. [0195] [0196]);
deriving a first prediction direction motion vector and a second prediction direction motion vector from the merge candidate list (A set of motion information contains motion information for forward and backward prediction directions. Here forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bidirectional prediction mode [0062]);
deriving a first prediction block direction search area based on the first prediction direction motion vector (Fig. 9);
deriving a second prediction direction search area based on the second prediction direction motion vector (Fig. 9); and
deriving a first prediction direction refined motion vector and a second prediction direction refined motion vector based on the first prediction direction search area and the second prediction direction search area ([0165] The example of FIG. 9 includes current picture 140 having current block 142 (the block currently being coded), a first candidate motion vector PMV0 that identifies a first template block 144 of a first reference picture 146 (L0 ref), and a second candidate motion vector PMV1 that identifies a second template block 148 of a second reference picture 150. The video coder may apply dMV as an offset to locate a first reference block 152 in search window 154 of first reference picture 146 and to locate a second reference block 156 in search window 158 of second reference picture 150.),
wherein the first prediction direction is different from the second prediction direction (Fig. 9),
Li does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, GOTO teaches wherein the first prediction direction search area is an area having square shape centered on a pixel position of a reference picture indicated by the first prediction direction motion vector and the second prediction direction search area is an area having square shape centered on a pixel position of a reference picture indicated by the second prediction direction motion vector (Fig. 1-4: block search means for searching for a reference block, that most approximates the prediction target block of the prediction target frame, within a predetermined search range in a frame in the past direction relative to the prediction target frame or within a predetermined search range in a frame in the future direction relative to the prediction target frame; search center setting means for setting a search center when the block search means performs a search regarding the prediction target block in the frame in the past direction and in the frame in the future direction [0039]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of GOTO and apply them to Li. One would be motivated as such as to improve the performance of the full-search ME of a comparatively small search range.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches a video encoding method, the method comprising:
deriving a merge candidate list of a current block (merge candidate list. [0195] [0196]);
deriving a first prediction direction motion vector and a second prediction direction motion vector from the merge candidate list (A set of motion information contains motion information for forward and backward prediction directions. Here forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bidirectional prediction mode [0062]);
deriving a first prediction block direction search area based on the first prediction direction motion vector (Fig. 9);
deriving a second prediction direction search area based on the second prediction direction motion vector (Fig. 9); and
deriving a first prediction direction refined motion vector and a second prediction direction refined motion vector based on the first prediction direction search area and the second prediction direction search area ([0165] The example of FIG. 9 includes current picture 140 having current block 142 (the block currently being coded), a first candidate motion vector PMV0 that identifies a first template block 144 of a first reference picture 146 (L0 ref), and a second candidate motion vector PMV1 that identifies a second template block 148 of a second reference picture 150. The video coder may apply dMV as an offset to locate a first reference block 152 in search window 154 of first reference picture 146 and to locate a second reference block 156 in search window 158 of second reference picture 150.),
wherein the first prediction direction is different from the second prediction direction (Fig. 9),
Li does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, GOTO teaches wherein the first prediction direction search area is an area having square shape centered on a pixel position of a reference picture indicated by the first prediction direction motion vector and the second prediction direction search area is an area having square shape centered on a pixel position of a reference picture indicated by the second prediction direction motion vector (Fig. 1-4: block search means for searching for a reference block, that most approximates the prediction target block of the prediction target frame, within a predetermined search range in a frame in the past direction relative to the prediction target frame or within a predetermined search range in a frame in the future direction relative to the prediction target frame; search center setting means for setting a search center when the block search means performs a search regarding the prediction target block in the frame in the past direction and in the frame in the future direction [0039]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of GOTO and apply them to Li. One would be motivated as such as to improve the performance of the full-search ME of a comparatively small search range.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recoding medium storing a bitstream encoded by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising:
deriving a merge candidate list of a current block (merge candidate list. [0195] [0196]);
deriving a first prediction direction motion vector and a second prediction direction motion vector from the merge candidate list (A set of motion information contains motion information for forward and backward prediction directions. Here forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bidirectional prediction mode [0062]);
deriving a first prediction block direction search area based on the first prediction direction motion vector (Fig. 9);
deriving a second prediction direction search area based on the second prediction direction motion vector (Fig. 9); and
deriving a first prediction direction refined motion vector and a second prediction direction refined motion vector based on the first prediction direction search area and the second prediction direction search area ([0165] The example of FIG. 9 includes current picture 140 having current block 142 (the block currently being coded), a first candidate motion vector PMV0 that identifies a first template block 144 of a first reference picture 146 (L0 ref), and a second candidate motion vector PMV1 that identifies a second template block 148 of a second reference picture 150. The video coder may apply dMV as an offset to locate a first reference block 152 in search window 154 of first reference picture 146 and to locate a second reference block 156 in search window 158 of second reference picture 150.),
wherein the first prediction direction is different from the second prediction direction (Fig. 9),
Li does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, GOTO teaches wherein the first prediction direction search area is an area having square shape centered on a pixel position of a reference picture indicated by the first prediction direction motion vector and the second prediction direction search area is an area having square shape centered on a pixel position of a reference picture indicated by the second prediction direction motion vector (Fig. 1-4: block search means for searching for a reference block, that most approximates the prediction target block of the prediction target frame, within a predetermined search range in a frame in the past direction relative to the prediction target frame or within a predetermined search range in a frame in the future direction relative to the prediction target frame; search center setting means for setting a search center when the block search means performs a search regarding the prediction target block in the frame in the past direction and in the frame in the future direction [0039]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of GOTO and apply them to Li. One would be motivated as such as to improve the performance of the full-search ME of a comparatively small search range.
Conclusion
/HESHAM K ABOUZAHRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486