DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims:
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “a proximate and distal end” (line 4) should be rewritten as: “a proximate end and a distal end.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “said each” (line 4, 12, & 16) is unclear and should be rewritten. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “to proximate end” (line 10 & 15) should be rewritten as: “to said proximate end”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “pivotable” (line 12) should be rewritten as: “pivotably.” Appropriate correction is required
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “at least one sliding joint member” (line 14) should be rewritten as: “at least one of said sliding joint members.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the user” (line 15) should be rewritten as: “a user”. Appropriate correction is required
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “lock assembly” (line 2) should be rewritten as: “the lock assembly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the top” (line 2) should be rewritten as: “a top”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “to opposite end” (line 4-5) should be rewritten as: “to an opposite end”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “said handles wheel” should most likely be rewritten as: “said handles”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 and 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “attached from” should be rewritten as: “attached to”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1/2/3/4/5/6, the claim recites the limitation: "constructed and arranged" (Claim 1, line 6 & 15 & 18; & Claim 2-6), which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1 and 3, the claims recites the limitations: "predetermined point" (Claim 1, line 8) & “predetermined edge” (Claim 3), which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation: "said support structures", which is of unclear antecedent basis (Claim 1, line 2, only provides “a support structure”), and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gale (US 7,306,246 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Gale discloses: A foldable rollator assembly (See, e.g., Fig.1-19, 10) comprising:
a support structure (See, e.g., Fig.1-19, 10) comprised of two spaced apart front support members (See, e.g., Fig.1-19, 100+150) each having a proximate end and a distal end and two rear support members (See, e.g., Fig.1-19, 400+450) each having a proximate and distal end (See, e.g., Fig.1-19);
said each rear support member proximate ends pivotally attached to said proximate ends of said front support members (See, e.g., Fig.1-19), said front support members each having a sliding joint member (See, e.g., Fig.1-19, 113+163+200+250+300) constructed and arranged to slide between said front support members proximate and distal ends (See, e.g., Fig.1-19),
a set of crossbar members (See, e.g., Fig.1-19, 500+510+560) pivotally connected at a predetermined point each having a proximate end and a distal end (See, e.g., Fig.1-19), said proximate end of said set of crossbar members pivotally connected to proximate end of said front support members (See, e.g., Fig.1-19) and said distal ends of said crossbar members pivotally attached to said sliding joint members (See, e.g., Fig.1-19), pivotally attached to said each sliding joint member (See, e.g., Fig.1-19) and pivotable attached to said two rear support members are two stabilizing support members (See, e.g., Fig.1-19),
at least one sliding joint member is comprised of a locking mechanism (See, e.g., Fig.1-19, 300) constructed and arranged to be operated by the user (See, e.g., Fig.1-19), attached to proximate end of said front support members are handles (See, e.g., Fig.1-19, 730+780), attached to said distal end of said each front support are at least one wheel (See, e.g., Fig.1-19, 710+760),
wherein said support structure is constructed and arranged to be pivotably operable between an open locked position and a closed storage position (See, e.g., Fig.1-19).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, Gale discloses: wherein said support structures are constructed and arranged to be stored in a compact configuration (See, e.g., Fig.1-19).
[Claim 6] Regarding Claim 6, Gale discloses: wherein said locking mechanism is constructed and arranged to lock said foldable rollator assembly in the operational position and the storage position (See, e.g., Fig.1-19).
[Claim 7] Regarding Claim 7, Gale discloses: wherein said front support members are hollow tubular structures (See, e.g., Fig.1-19).
[Claim 8] Regarding Claim 8, Gale discloses: wherein said handles wheel are removably attached from said front support members, thereby allowing a more compact storage profile (See, e.g., Fig.1-19).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, Gale discloses: wherein said at least one wheel is removably attached from said support member, thereby allowing a more compact storage profile (See, e.g., Fig.1-19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record when taken alone or in combination with another does not teach or fairly suggest at this time at least, among other limitations: wherein said sliding joint member locking mechanism is comprised of lock assembly having an outer support plate with an aperture, a cam pivotably attached to said sliding joint member constructed and arranged to pivot through said aperture between a locked and unlocked position, a first spring is attached to said cam constructed and arranged to rotate said cam between a locked and unlocked position, a second spring constructed and arranged with a spring bias of a magnitude required to return said cam to a locked position, as claimed in Claim 2 (emphasis added to allowable limitations not suggested or taught by the prior art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613