DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a first hole in circular top wall”. The examiner believes “a first hole in the circular top wall” are the correct words to use here.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2013/0338521 to Thompson et al. (hereinafter “Thompson”).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a nasal anchor, comprising: a circular top wall (110, Fig. 4, [0060]); a circular bottom wall substantially parallel to the circular top wall (110, Fig. 4, [0060]); a rounded wall connecting the circular top wall and the circular bottom wall (110, Fig. 4, [0060]); a first hole in circular top wall (110, Fig. 4, [0060]); a second hole in circular bottom wall (110, Fig. 4, [0060]); a channel bridging the first hole and the second hole (134, Fig. 2B, [0060]); a slit in rounded wall extending from an outer surface of the rounded wall to the channel (412, Fig. 4, [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Thompson discloses the nasal anchor of Claim 1, and Thompson further discloses comprising a foam filler ([0105]).
Regarding claim 4, Thompson discloses the nasal anchor of Claim 1, and Thompson further discloses whereby the channel is sized and shaped to at least partially surround an outer tube of a laryngoscope (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2013/0338521 to Thompson et al. (hereinafter “Thompson”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0068530 to Apolito.
Regarding claim 3, Thompson discloses the nasal anchor of Claim 2.
Thompson fails to expressly teach wherein the foam filler is memory foam.
However, Apolito teaches of an analogous device (Apolito: 1102, Fig. 11, [0068]) wherein the foam filler is memory foam (Apolito: [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the foam filler of Thompson in the manner taught by Apolito. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of providing a deformable and flexible material ([0068] of Apolito).
Conclusion
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795