DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to claims 1-2 in the response filed on 04/23/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 remain pending in the application
Claims 1-4 are examined.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims. The applicant has modified claim 1 to require “the channel sized and shaped to grip an outer surface of a laryngoscope tube, and a compressible filler material filling the nasal anchor, the compressible filler material being configured to be temporarily compressed for insertion of the nasal anchor into a nostril of a patient and to subsequently expand within the nostril”, limitations heretofore not presented for examination in this application. As such, the scope of the claims was substantially changed and new grounds for rejection are presented.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, recites “a second hole in circular bottom wall”. The examiner believes “a second hole in the circular bottom wall” are the correct words to use here.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2012/0071824 to Chang et al. (hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 1, A nasal anchor, comprising :a circular top wall (top surface of 104, Fig. 2B, [0141]); a circular bottom wall substantially parallel to the circular top wall (bottom surface of 104, Fig. 2B, [0141]); a rounded wall (outer wall surface of 104, Fig. 2B, [0141]) connecting the circular top wall and the circular bottom wall (Fig. 2B); a first hole in the circular top wall (top hole of 104, Fig. 2B, [0141]); a second hole in circular bottom wall (bottom hole of 104, Fig. 2B, [0141]); a channel bridging the first hole and the second hole (channel of 104 Fig. 2B, [0141]), the channel sized and shaped to grip an outer surface of a laryngoscope tube (100, Fig. 2B, [0141]); a slit in rounded wall extending from an outer surface of the rounded wall to the channel (hole connecting 306 to 302, Figs. 4a-4b, [0154]); and a compressible filler material filling the nasal anchor ([0141]-[0147]), the compressible filler material being configured to be temporarily compressed for insertion of the nasal anchor into a nostril of a patient and to subsequently expand within the nostril ([0141]-[0147]).
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses the nasal anchor of Claim 1, and Chang further discloses whereby the filler material comprises a foam filler (Chang: [0141]-[0147]).
Regarding claim 3, Chang, discloses the nasal anchor of Claim 2, and Chang further discloses wherein the foam filler is memory foam (Chang: [0141]-[0147]).
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses the nasal anchor of anchor of Claim 1, and Chang further disclose whereby the channel is sized and shaped to at least partially surround an outer tube of a laryngoscope (104, Fig. 2B, [0141]- the examiner notes that the channel is sized and shaped to have this ability).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795